Trade deficit down by more than $3.8 billion since PTI took over

Slowly but surely, the results of the difficult decisions taken by PTI are started to bear fruit. These results will be spread out over the course of the next 2 years, so its not like there will be a sudden turn in figures, but anyone iwth basic knowledge of economy knows how important it is to keep our trade deficit down. Thanks to the sensible policies of the 'parha likha jahil and club cricketer', who has put everyone to shame.
The only noise coming out is from the opposition and media...and they too are found parroting the same rubbish day in day out. The public at large is fully prepared to give PTI a fair chance.
https://twitter.com/x/status/1115586558814576640
Trade deficit dips 14 percent

ISLAMABAD: The government’s battle against bloated trade deficit is finally bearing fruit as it shrank by 14 per cent to $23.45 billion in the first nine months of the current fiscal year from $27.29bn in the corresponding period last year.

The decline in deficit — down $3.84bn in the July-March period — is estimated to be in the range of $5-6bn at the end of ongoing fiscal year. This contraction is mainly attributable to a steep fall in overall import bill even though export proceeds posted a mixed trend during the period under review.

On a month-on-month basis, the trade deficit fell by 37.74pc to $1.93bn in March from $3.1bn over the corresponding month last year.

Official figures available with Dawn show that the country’s exports fell by 4.54pc in March; making it the second consecutive month in which export proceeds have posted a decline. In absolute terms, the exports fell to $2.1bn in March from $2.2bn over the corresponding month last year. In February, exports edged lower by 0.37pc year-on-year to $1.88bn.

The massive 33pc rupee devaluation since July, 2018 coupled with cash assistance to major sectors, mainly textile and clothing wasn’t enough to boost the country’s exports as they grew by a marginal 1.05pc to $17.21bn during the July-March period 2018-19, from $17.03bn in the corresponding period last year.

The government had earlier claimed that the impact of currency devaluation will be visible in the export trajectory, anticipating a pickup in foreign sales and a steep decline in imports during the months ahead.

The value of imported goods in the nine-month period was recorded at $40.66bn, down 8.25pc, from $44.32bn. The decline was even steeper in March, falling by 23.96pc to $4.03bn, from $5.3bn in the same month last year.

According to the government reports, the decline in imports is mainly due to the imposition of regulatory duties on luxury items and automobiles. Moreover, the government also slapped a ban on import of furnace oil last month.

The Commerce Division also claimed that imports have begun their downward journey due to a number of policy interventions by the government such as improved energy supply, import substitution drive, economic stabilisation, and currency devaluation.

The curtailment in import flows is manifest in the statistics that the twenty-foot equivalent unit, an approximate unit of cargo capacity used to describe the capacity of container ships and container terminals, has dropped by almost 10pc between July-March 2018-19 from a year ago.

The trend of compression is even more pronounced in imports under regulatory duty regime, where the value has declined from $7.9bn in July-March to $6.6bn in July-March 2018, showing a contraction of 16pc. The government has imposed regulatory duties on around 1,194 tariff lines.

The decline in deficit shows that the government’s interventions have started bearing fruits. Data indicates that measures taken in the two supplementary Finance Acts have firmly taken hold and are now effectively curtailing imports as per the policy regime of the government.

Urdu speaking

Stock exchange sinking 50 billions rupees took out since Asad umer took over and International debt reached from $97 Billion dollars to $107 Billion Dollars . 1 million people lost their jobs...Rs 495 billion revenue short fall in FBR... Inflation is Record break in Pakistan in last 8 months....Imran khan illegal VVIP Grand Hayat and Bani gala apartments got regularised since he came in power but in Karachi 3.5 lakhs people unemployed in a seconds on the name of encroachment who were doing business and paying rent to KDA for the last 45 years

Reason

PTI's economic policy:
"The siphoned $200 billion amount was revised to $11 billion. None of the money has been brought back and after borrowing heavily and being supported financially by Saudi Arabia, the UAE and China, there still remains the need for an IMF bailout."

Now P0T!ans will label me as nawaz or zardari supporter. But the problem is, every government that comes in, blames predecessors, begs foreigners, etc. This has become cycle now.

Nadir Bashir

The indicators are good..............but we still have a huge deficit in trade................We will be happy if in next 4 years, Government is able to bring it to zero........................

0 $ trade deficit..........................

islamabadi

Imports down yes.....but exports also down despite the 3 devaluations by this khota government.....that you conveniently omitted to earn your brownie points.

Wake Up Pakistan

Stock exchange sinking 50 billions rupees took out since Asad umer took over and International debt reached from $97 Billion dollars to $107 Billion Dollars . 1 million people lost their jobs...Rs 495 billion revenue short fall in FBR... Inflation is Record break in Pakistan in last 8 months....Imran khan illegal VVIP Grand Hayat and Bani gala apartments got regularised since he came in power but in Karachi 3.5 lakhs people unemployed in a seconds on the name of encroachment who were doing business and paying rent to KDA for the last 45 years

YEAH FIGURES KALIYAA NAY SEND KEE HAI?

sawan1

او بے شرم چوتیو ڈالر کب سستا ہوگا ادویات پیٹرول ضروریات زندگی کا ریٹ کب کم ہو گا کسانوں کو بجلی کھاد فری کب ملے گی اگر یہ نہیں ہو سکتا تو سارے اعدادو شمار ایک دھوکا ہے جیسے پہلی حکومتیں دیتی آی ہیں

ealtaf

There is a reason that $ value did show increase. It is directly linked to the volume of exports Pakistan is doing in each product category. As the volumes of exports has not shown the increase to offset the difference of $ value thats why this 1% is there. In my view the exports have increased in volumes but I do not have statistical data to support my claim. I can say that coming months which is May and June the exports will show increase in $ terms also as the international buyers will start more purchases of our cheap exports in all products categories.

Formula is simple.

1. vloume x $ value = $ export value
  2. vloume x $ value (devaluation 33%) = $ export value (decrease 33%)
  3. vloume (increase 33%) x $ value (same devalued rate) = $ export value (at par)
  4. vloume (increase 10%) x $ value (same devalued rate) = $ export value (increase 10%)

I hope it will make sense.

OSP

PTI's economic policy:
"The siphoned $200 billion amount was revised to $11 billion. None of the money has been brought back and after borrowing heavily and being supported financially by Saudi Arabia, the UAE and China, there still remains the need for an IMF bailout."

Now P0T!ans will label me as nawaz or zardari supporter. But the problem is, every government that comes in, blames predecessors, begs foreigners, etc. This has become cycle now.
$200 billion figure was given by ishaq dar not pti, please check again. Bringing back that money has not happened "yet" because our ladli govts of past never made any deals with those countries on these issues, now its not a two day vacation that ur HR manager will immediately sign its a new law making between Pakistan n several countries that takes time. Plz follow govts press releases on the progress.
We dont need IMF bailout,perse, but we do need loan so we can invest in projects of cpec specially to have some ownership, otherwise we become just a rental space while others make money on ur soil, same goes for major saudi n uae investments coming in. U need to b a part of them not just a rental shop n salesman.
U dont have to listen to govts blaming previous govts, just look at ur reserves n calculate how much did u have to pay loan installments n how much did u have to invest to b a partener in those projects?
Answer is simple, u didnt have enough to make even immediate payments, investing was way out of questions.
See? This potian didnt call u a patwari or pipliya, rest is on u if u can really look into those things or just criticizing is ur motto.......

Stock exchange sinking 50 billions rupees took out since Asad umer

So when stock market falls, money disappears? And when it rises?
Stock market is a rolling market. Capitalization changes due to various factors, but does not define the state of the economy.

International debt reached from $97 Billion dollars to $107 Billion Dollars .

That loan was taken to plug the deficit left behind by PMLN, in case you missed.

1 million people lost their jobs...Rs 495 billion revenue short fall in FBR... Inflation is Record break in Pakistan in last 8 months.
So which industries were these where people lost 1 million jobs?
And tax revenue shortfall is because of a variety of factors, including the fact that PMLN presented an election oriented 6th budget illegally.

PTI's economic policy:
$200 billion figure was floated by Ishaq Dar. Not PTI.
PTI presented the 11 billion figure after getting verifiable information. Borrowing from Saudi and UAE is in order to plug the $19 billion deficit left behind by PMLN, IMF loan is needed because even after Saudi andUAE support, the deficit will remain.

hawkinthesky111

haan ji aajaao saray changrooo thread per dendenay..
you guys are talking about middle class such as they were enjoying their life before Khan came to power ..
you rascals...

kakamuna420

taxation is the key. Cruel taxation of what one's owe and heavy penalties. IRS in United States doesn't even leave 5 dollars.

MainBaghiHon

او بے شرم چوتیو ڈالر کب سستا ہوگا ادویات پیٹرول ضروریات زندگی کا ریٹ کب کم ہو گا کسانوں کو بجلی کھاد فری کب ملے گی اگر یہ نہیں ہو سکتا تو سارے اعدادو شمار ایک دھوکا ہے جیسے پہلی حکومتیں دیتی آی ہیں
Sawan Kay Andhay Sabr Kerlay, Choron Say 50 Billion$ Aanay Walay Hain. Insha Allah, Sabse Pehlay tere Motiyay Ka opertaion kerwaingay.

MainBaghiHon

So when stock market falls, money disappears? And when it rises?
Stock market is a rolling market. Capitalization changes due to various factors, but does not define the state of the economy.

That loan was taken to plug the deficit left behind by PMLN, in case you missed.

So which industries were these where people lost 1 million jobs?
And tax revenue shortfall is because of a variety of factors, including the fact that PMLN presented an election oriented 6th budget illegally.
Even Tax on Mobile Card also the factor of less collection of Tax.

umer_javed

taxation is the key. Cruel taxation of what one's owe and heavy penalties. IRS in United States doesn't even leave 5 dollars.

Yes very good suck all the remaining blood of poor people by very crushing Tax system.

Even after collecting all Tax can you please advise what is current debt of USA?

Regards,

kakamuna420

Yes very good suck all the remaining blood of poor people by very crushing Tax system.

Even after collecting all Tax can you please advise what is current debt of USA?

Regards,

Two answers
  1. In US, poor don't pay a dime in tax. If you are earning less than 50k houshold, you may hardly pay a penny plus get extra benefits.
  2. The debt of USA is due to military adventures and heavy government structure. In small cities of 20k peope, you will see a big local govt sucking up all the money.

kakamuna420

We should see people like Imran khan, they have a history to lead from the front. In the world cup that he won, he was coming earlier in the batting line, taking off pressure from others and then playing big sixes, those sixes were not of cricket art but shows his determination, honesty and fire in him. Dushman ki phaat gaye thi us waqt.
Time is coming when Imran khan will rise like a shaheen and then this world will tremble

umer_javed

Two answers
  1. In US, poor don't pay a dime in tax. If you are earning less than 50k houshold, you may hardly pay a penny plus get extra benefits.
  2. The debt of USA is due to military adventures and heavy government structure. In small cities of 20k peope, you will see a big local govt sucking up all the money.

O really?

That's why trump announced in his first speech that there are 45 million home less people in USA.

So the military adventure is will of people of USA right? and they don't pull any resources from occupied countries right? and they don't kill and rape innocent people in occupied countries right?

Last but not least +21 Trillion was spent only on Army right?

Regards,

kakamuna420

O really?

That's why trump announced in his first speech that there are 45 million home less people in USA.

So the military adventure is will of people of USA right? and they don't pull any resources from occupied countries right? and they don't kill and rape innocent people in occupied countries right?

Last but not least +21 Trillion was spent only on Army right?

Regards,
I am just telling my opinion. What trump says is not relevant for me.
US case is living beyond means. Now if like to divide the 22 trillion per expense then it is a long academic debate.