As China looms, US tells India to lead Asia

IndiaGuy

"It's time to lead." With these four words Hillary Clinton underlined why the relationship with the US is so important for India. Among all emerging economies, India is the one whose potential as a global player commands the most enthusiasm from Washington.
Speaking in Chennai, the US

[h=2]related stories[/h]

secretary of state said, "Much of the history of the 21st century will be written in Asia which, in turn, will be influenced by the partnership between the US and India and its relationship with neighbours."Hinting at Washington's concerns about the Manmohan Singh government's foreign policy lassitude, she said, "This is not a time when any of us can afford to look inward at the expense of looking outward. This is a time to seize the opportunities of the 21st century and it is a time to lead."
She brushed aside the bilateral problems in the nuclear and defence areas: Like two different individuals, two different countries will have their differences.
Clinton, who has indicated that she will not be the US' face to the world after the Obama administration completes its first term next year, gave examples of where India could assert itself.
She said India could build a leadership role in the Asia-Pacific in forums like the East Asia Summit and the Asian Regional Forum, contribute more to maritime security, democracy promotion, "explore a new Silk Route" into Central Asia, support rebuilding Afghanistan and even help stabilise Pakistan.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/As-China-looms-US-tells-India-to-lead-Asia/H1-Article1-723313.aspx

fahid_asif

lead kernay ki koi 1 khoobi ha aap main? hamesha qamar main khnjar ghonpnay ki aadat ha. apnay androni masayal se to nikal jao. abi kal maos na congress k logon ko qatal ker diya ha. koi aap ko qabel e aitbaar nhi samjhta , kis se doosti kro gay? china se , jis sa phanti kha chukay ho 60's main? Pakistan se? Srilanka se? koi 1 doost to btao. andhay ko andharay main bhari door ki soojhi...............

FaisalKh

"It's time to lead." With these four words Hillary Clinton underlined why the relationship with the US is so important for India. Among all emerging economies, India is the one whose potential as a global player commands the most enthusiasm from Washington.

[h=2]related stories[/h]

secretary of state said, "Much of the history of the 21st century will be written in Asia which, in turn, will be influenced by the partnership between the US and India and its relationship with neighbours."Hinting at Washington's concerns about the Manmohan Singh government's foreign policy lassitude, she said, "This is not a time when any of us can afford to look inward at the expense of looking outward. This is a time to seize the opportunities of the 21st century and it is a time to lead."
She brushed aside the bilateral problems in the nuclear and defence areas: Like two different individuals, two different countries will have their differences.
Clinton, who has indicated that she will not be the US' face to the world after the Obama administration completes its first term next year, gave examples of where India could assert itself.
She said India could build a leadership role in the Asia-Pacific in forums like the East Asia Summit and the Asian Regional Forum, contribute more to maritime security, democracy promotion, "explore a new Silk Route" into Central Asia, support rebuilding Afghanistan and even help stabilise Pakistan.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/As-China-looms-US-tells-India-to-lead-Asia/H1-Article1-723313.aspx

Dont be an ostrich or live in fools paradise... Know ur enemy or most appropriate friend like enemy... We Pakistanis are ur open enemy becoz these so called ur ally and friends has been playing with both of us... Dont u think why something worse happens whenever Pakistan and India gets close? and who is doing it... It is not only with Pakistan but look how US is in a way pushing u to confront China.... US will never ever want a country or economy that can threaten US's power... nd think what would they get if China and India fight each other or even India fights with Pakistan... It would weaken and stop development of whatever country it is and think who is going to be benefited from all this... Same game US played with USSR and now look what have they become today...Simple example there are 3 middle class neighbours and they all have one distant friend who is very rich... now these 3 three are also getting rich and that the distant friend does not like or want... now that distant friend would play a game among these 3 neighbors and turn them against each other they will fight and would get weaken and weaken.... and u know the rest....

bons

[h=2]related stories[/h]

what a joke. It seems that defeat in Afghanistan has affected Americans' mental abilities. Indian are always ready to dance on madari's dugdugi.

zaat di korh kirli tay shehteeran nu japhay.

abay bolne se pehle apni oqaat to dekh lo.

anees1980

Time to lead....lols, pehle apne logo ko to lead kar lo, Kashmir, Moist rebels, sikhs in Panjab, ......long list of people turning against the establishment, and you want to lead.......!!! Its more like they want you guys to confront their enemies so that they can maintain their influence in the region.

shamsheer

One thing that is noticeable time and again that although it has been more than 60 years since independence Indians are still proud about their patronage at the hands of Gora sahab. We pakistanies are miserable due to our slave mentality politicians but are never proud of these gora sahab. They are proud to be dictated by the gori chamri in their internal as well as external matters.

Why you guys are jumping up and down? Hillary Clinton said what she wanted to say, did any statement came from the Indian side acknowledging her views and saying yes we are ready for this and that?

only_truths

She is right. India has the potential to lead in many areas without fledgling its muscles e.g. entrepreneurship and culture (yoga is already doing it, many people belonging to other religion are practicing in their daily life, more importantly without changing their religion).

Aage Aage dekho ho tha hai kya.

Why you guys are jumping up and down? Hillary Clinton said what she wanted to say, did any statement came from the Indian side acknowledging her views and saying yes we are ready for this and that?

Bro why can't you just sit back and just enjoy the reaction?[hilar]

only_truths

This is her full speech on the subject:

[video]http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/news/us-betting-on-india-says-hillary-in-chennai/205644?from=NDTV[/video]

chandbibi

For my learned Pakistani friends I quote mirza ghalib.
"Har ek baat pe kehte ho tum, ke tu kya hai.
Tumhi kaho ki yeh andaze guftgu kya hai."

On topic: I don't know if India can lead Asia or not, but Yes India can once again become a shining star that it once was. When a country has the potential, nothing can stop it from reaching there. Pakistanis should be happy about this outlook for India, because we share similar geography. There is no reason why Pakistan can also not become a shining star in the future. What you perceive, you achieve. So Aim high and think big.:)

student

India jee jaag jao, China is real leader of region, and going to be super power... pehlay he afghanistan mai apna paisa barbaad ker chukay ho.. American leader keh keh ker marwa dain ge tum logo ko :D
Under the widely held assumption that 70 percent of China’s $2.4 trillion in foreign exchange reserves is invested in dollar-denominated bonds, Mr. Prasad told the commission that China probably holds about $1.7 trillion in U.S. government debt.That would include the more than $400 billion in debt issued by U.S. government agencies, such as Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, whose obligations are liabilities of the U.S. government, Mr. Prasad said.Derek Scissors, a China scholar at the Heritage Foundation, described as “unusable” the official U.S. government data on foreign holdings of Treasury debt.China’s mercantilist policies generate “by far the world’s largest balance of payment surpluses” and contributed to China’s $453 billion increase in foreign exchange reserves last year — surpluses that “are too large to put anywhere other than the United States. No other country has financial markets capable of absorbing them,” Mr. Scissors said.

The questions in my mind are
1- Does india wait for approval from USA?
2- Does US push india's buttons?
3-Why is hillary's statement so important for either of us if we are claim to be our own masters?