Zaid Hamid meets with President Ahmedinejad!

Typhoon

What a small minded bunch of people. When our nation and state is facing tough time still some morons decide to stand in the way of people who want to bring a change.
Indians here are projecting their insanity by pretending being pakistanis. We can smell your curry breath.
Zaid Hamid is a great personality and is doing a wonderful job.

youth are with Zaid hamid.

The exposition seems to be drafted in Binory Town.

(i) Is the marriage a crime?
(ii) Doesn't a women have right to marry the person of her choice after the break up?
(iii) Is khula haram in Islam, though separation between husband and wife is the most unliked thing in Shariah?
(iv) Whose choice about husband shall override in case of a Mohsina women who is not Bakirah--Her wali, or her own?
(v) Is it crime to marry a women with five children?
(vi) Have you any proofs that women was under trans or hypnotized at the time of nikah?
(vi) If Mr. zaid is a Kazab, why don't you drag him in court instead of putting bohtaan on him?
(vii) If Mr. Zaid has done something wrong or violated Shariah Law why don't U people get him punished through Sharia Law?

This could be another effort by the stooges and parasites CIA under false flag to silent and defame the person who is challenging them. See the previous efforts in the following video.

دین ملّہ فی سبیل الله فساد
Look at the lies of the "Mujahdeen" of Takfeeri Brigade, the supporters of TTP, the people who perhaps has leased Jannat and declaring others kazab and kafir. Aren't they themselves proved Kazib?????????

http://www.siasat.pk/forum/showthread.php?68672-Zaid-Hamid-meets-with-President-Ahmedinejad!/page6

Zindabad4u

Well this is some thing rear moments that Pakistani Sunni Muslim giving advice to Shia Iranian president and he is caring his Brass-tacks booklet hmmm Dal main kuch Kala hai ;)

H ei sthe one, he is the one, get him, the white beard guy on the left

he is the one who said about Zahid hamid 'America ko badnam kar raha hai'

why does it bother him if ZH is badmouthing US unless he is pro-american or reciving funds for his mission or hurting Pakistan.

humein to yeh shakal hi badma'ash lgta hai. sorry if someone is offended.

There are too types of maulana:

1. Areal one, such Ashraf Ali Thanvi, Maudoodi and Dr Israr Ahmad etc

2. Traditionally in old India, any one with bear on face was instantly labelled as 'molvi' or 'maulana'. Same attitude in East Pakistan.

The guy on the left fits in criterion # 2

M Ali Khan

If you boys really think some populist naray baaz troll like Ahmedinejad is a 'hero' then please remember what his boys did when the people of Iran rose up against the rigged elections of 2009!

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x9o3tn_neda-soltani-martyred_news

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vig3qxFuKnY

The fact that this laal topi wala baloongra and ISI batman Zaid Hamid is already a certified insane man that can speak a lot about such idiots like Ahmedinejad shows how deluded us Pakistanis and our comical 'Ummah' is!

same bullshit stupid questions...................Mr .Wadaich meree kisi relative k saath koi aisee krey...........i would put a bullet in the head of such a b@stard.............

Tumharey case me tum dua kia karo k tumharee maan ko bai aisa koi zaid hamid mil jaey jo uska hasta basta ghar ujaar k usko verghala k us se shadi kr leee.

only explain your(zaid hamids) stance you cannot get away by pointing fingers at mullas.
[MENTION=11004]braveheart[/MENTION], [MENTION=12948]sdmuashr[/MENTION] [MENTION=8825]gazoomartian[/MENTION], [MENTION=15403]PkRevolution[/MENTION], [MENTION=20741]Bilsher007[/MENTION], [MENTION=5021]biomat[/MENTION], [MENTION=5038]karachiwala[/MENTION], [MENTION=9183]casper[/MENTION], [MENTION=10116]kj_gee[/MENTION]

Could U please point out the stupidity out of the questions. Haven't U got the courage to engage in argument? I believe anybody who ever have been sitting in the company of Ulama must know the answers to these very simple questions until your heart is filled with bughz and keena. None of the Ulama's haq teaches to use such an abusive language.

Your Frustration reflects that U are victim of such incident. Some Zaid Hamid have done it to you. I would pray for you that U come out of such a psychological trauma. May Allah (SWT) protect everybody from the humiliation and agony U are facing by being the victim. Moreover, people like U with such mental disorder and abusive language may stay away from such forums so that argument goes on in a graceful manner. The type of language People with damaged personalities use reflects their family background and brought up. I would only sympathize with U and pray for your mental piece. By the way I would rather pay Salam to You and walk away gracefully and Allah (SWT) has taught us through Nabi-e-Akhruzaman pbuh. This is the best policy.

@braveheart , @sdmuashr @gazoomartian , @PkRevolution , @Bilsher007 , @biomat , @karachiwala , @casper , @kj_gee

Could U please point out the stupidity out of the questions. Haven't U got the courage to engage in argument? I believe anybody who ever have been sitting in the company of Ulama must know the answers to these very simple questions until your heart is filled with bughz and keena. None of the Ulama's haq teaches to use such an abusive language.

Your Frustration reflects that U are victim of such incident. Some Zaid Hamid have done it to you. I would pray for you that U come out of such a psychological trauma. May Allah (SWT) protect everybody from the humiliation and agony U are facing by being the victim. Moreover, people like U with such mental disorder and abusive language may stay away from such forums so that argument goes on in a graceful manner. The type of language People with damaged personalities use reflects their family background and brought up. I would only sympathize with U and pray for your mental piece. By the way I would rather pay Salam to You and walk away gracefully and Allah (SWT) has taught us through Nabi-e-Akhruzaman pbuh. This is the best policy.

I second that.

Wadaich, isnt samar a MQM or PML-N believer? Leave him alone. I very rarely reply to him.

If you boys really think some populist naray baaz troll like Ahmedinejad is a 'hero' then please remember what his boys did when the people of Iran rose up against the rigged elections of 2009!

The fact that this laal topi wala baloongra and ISI batman Zaid Hamid is already a certified insane man that can speak a lot about such idiots like Ahmedinejad shows how deluded us Pakistanis and our comical 'Ummah' is!

Dear sir!

I have a question for you or even two. In the world today CIA/Mossad/RAW are engaged in a continuous propaganda against all Muslim countries specially Iran because Iran has not given in to the yahood's agenda. In this context what do you base your claim that the Iranian election in 2009 was rigged. US has claimed it 'rigged' because Iranian people rejected US prepared candidate vis-a-vis a 'more moderate Iranian Muslim - meaning a person who was ready to lick to US boots.

We know very well that US or more specially Jews have full control the Western media and now Pakistani too. Isn't it obvious that you have based the accusation of rigged election based on bias reporting from the West?

Do you not agree that West is meddling in the affairs of the middle east, such as Tunisia, Egypt, Syria and now Libya. Do you not see these unrest and revolt within a short period of 6 to 12 month in 4 or 5 Muslim countries an unusual phenomenon? Do you really think that Libyans, financially happy as they were, suddenly woke up one morning and realized that brother Qaddafi was no good?
Or Egypt, Syria for that matter. Granted they do not have western democrazy, but is the western democrazy really that good? What has it offered to the westerners themselves? Nothing but social problems, debts, unemployment, job export, fahashi, awargi etc.

I hope you remember the famous statement by former Sec of State Condaliza Rice
' we will rewrite map of the middle east'

This entire episode of the revolt in ME countries is nothing but the sequel of the Rice drama and agenda. Fortunately Iran escaped it.

Elections in 2009 was NOT rigged. But it definitely did not bring to power the US man for sure and that's what pissing off the US.

Its AAAAAALLLLLLLLLLL western propaganda

may Allah give Ahmadine longest and healthiest life possible for he IS THE only who has stood up to the west

Wadaich, night hawk and others. please read below and see if you share my thoughts.

To me, this video seems like manufactured just like many other videos. What I cant figure out that the woman is being killed but she is not struggling. She appears to be cool and somewhat smiling. Would you not have any pain and agony when you see death 10 seconds away? Would you not struggle to your most to cut loose and escape the death? Do you agree with me that video is fake regardless who made it?

please be objective and only honest reply... thank you

Wadaich, night hawk and others. please read below and see if you share my thoughts.

To me, this video seems like manufactured just like many other videos. What I cant figure out that the woman is being killed but she is not struggling. She appears to be cool and somewhat smiling. Would you not have any pain and agony when you see death 10 seconds away? Would you not struggle to your most to cut loose and escape the death? Do you agree with me that video is fake regardless who made it?

To loose the credibility it is enough that it is run on CNN,BBC,ABC,FOX and the likes.

M Ali Khan

She was shot by a Basiji sniper right in the chest. Instantaneous death because of severe blood loss and trauma to the heart.

To say that just because the whole world covered this event and broadcasted it worldwide without you lot even trying to remember the carnage caused in Iran by the rigged elections and violence by the Basiji militia against the Green Movement (torture, mass rapes, beatings, shooting into crowds) back in 2009 goes to show Pakistanis tend to have short term memories, and what they try to make up the details is simple:

"It was a conspiracy and Western propaganda"

keep making a joke of yourselves to the entire world.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gFw8OqCmSc&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pOCTHIziKAE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bm31kpjBiFQ&feature=related

M Ali Khan

Dear sir!

I have a question for you or even two. In the world today CIA/Mossad/RAW are engaged in a continuous propaganda against all Muslim countries specially Iran because Iran has not given in to the yahood's agenda. In this context what do you base your claim that the Iranian election in 2009 was rigged. US has claimed it 'rigged' because Iranian people rejected US prepared candidate vis-a-vis a 'more moderate Iranian Muslim - meaning a person who was ready to lick to US boots.

We know very well that US or more specially Jews have full control the Western media and now Pakistani too. Isn't it obvious that you have based the accusation of rigged election based on bias reporting from the West?

Do you not agree that West is meddling in the affairs of the middle east, such as Tunisia, Egypt, Syria and now Libya. Do you not see these unrest and revolt within a short period of 6 to 12 month in 4 or 5 Muslim countries an unusual phenomenon? Do you really think that Libyans, financially happy as they were, suddenly woke up one morning and realized that brother Qaddafi was no good?
Or Egypt, Syria for that matter. Granted they do not have western democrazy, but is the western democrazy really that good? What has it offered to the westerners themselves? Nothing but social problems, debts, unemployment, job export, fahashi, awargi etc.

I hope you remember the famous statement by former Sec of State Condaliza Rice
' we will rewrite map of the middle east'

This entire episode of the revolt in ME countries is nothing but the sequel of the Rice drama and agenda. Fortunately Iran escaped it.

Elections in 2009 was NOT rigged. But it definitely did not bring to power the US man for sure and that's what pissing off the US.

Its AAAAAALLLLLLLLLLL western propaganda

may Allah give Ahmadine longest and healthiest life possible for he IS THE only who has stood up to the west
Of course the US Govt has been interfering with local regimes and governments for decades, but guess what they also do BIG BUSINESS with these regimes as well behind the scenes!

So just because someone is Anti-West and is a constant drama-baz in media with insane statements and manners, makes it OKAY for him to be forgiven for the brutality, violence, torture, censorship, intolerance totalitarianism towards his own people?

Being anti-West is just a fashion statement for dictators, despots, mullahs, and thugs to justify anything and everything they do to keep power.

The election was rigged in Iran. People were sick of Ahmedinejad's thuggery and monkey acting in world media and for him being the ultimate chamcha to the brute Ayatollah Khamenei. They wanted change, they wanted to stop living in fear of mullahcracy. They voted for the only alternatives they had: Mir Hossein Mousavi and Mehdi Karoubi. But the mullahs and their Basiji allies wanted to remain in power and they used the typical 'its a western conspiracy' to justify their brutalities.

You think that scene of that Karachi shooting by Rangers was bad, that happened everyday in the streets of Tehran, Esfahan, Shiraz, etc thanks to Basiji violence! Like I said, pandering to useless and bogus conspiracies of 'its the Jews fault! its americas fault! it cannot be our fault!' shows how mentally sick and deluded our so-called awam and Ummah is!

If you really want to understand how Iranians (esp. educated Iranians) feel about the regime, just watch/read Marjane Satrapi's "Persepolis".

also please show where did Condoleeza Rice said about 'changing the map of Middle East' as you say..

Of course the US Govt has been interfering with local regimes and governments for decades, but guess what they also do BIG BUSINESS with these regimes as well behind the scenes!

So just because someone is Anti-West and is a constant drama-baz in media with insane statements and manners, makes it OKAY for him to be forgiven for the brutality, violence, torture, censorship, intolerance totalitarianism towards his own people?

Being anti-West is just a fashion statement for dictators, despots, mullahs, and thugs to justify anything and everything they do to keep power.

The election was rigged in Iran. People were sick of Ahmedinejad's thuggery and monkey acting in world media and for him being the ultimate chamcha to the brute Ayatollah Khamenei. They wanted change, they wanted to stop living in fear of mullahcracy. They voted for the only alternatives they had: Mir Hossein Mousavi and Mehdi Karoubi. But the mullahs and their Basiji allies wanted to remain in power and they used the typical 'its a western conspiracy' to justify their brutalities.

You think that scene of that Karachi shooting by Rangers was bad, that happened everyday in the streets of Tehran, Esfahan, Shiraz, etc thanks to Basiji violence! Like I said, pandering to useless and bogus conspiracies of 'its the Jews fault! its americas fault! it cannot be our fault!' shows how mentally sick and deluded our so-called awam and Ummah is!

If you really want to understand how Iranians (esp. educated Iranians) feel about the regime, just watch/read Marjane Satrapi's "Persepolis".

also please show where did Condoleeza Rice said about 'changing the map of Middle East' as you say..

You are far away from facts. I think you have been on long holidays when western countries were attacking with all bullshit efforts to the muslim Ummah.

So just because someone is Anti-West and is a constant drama-baz in media with insane statements and manners, makes it OKAY for him to be forgiven for the brutality, violence, torture, censorship, intolerance totalitarianism towards his own people? .

When own people work to support dirty foreign Agenda against own country then it is big crime.

Libya is not a Revolution. It is western Crime.

Ahmedi Nejad is a very well educated person and a great leader, fully aware of western dirty compaigns.

Do you really think that Condoliza, paul, dick cheney, tony blair, Rumsfeld, bush are educated people?? What do you think about Palastine issue? Wake up. These basterds killed millions muslims and we did not forget it.

M Ali Khan

You are far away from facts. I think you have been on long holidays when western countries were attacking with all bullshit efforts to the muslim Ummah.
And I think you have your head in the sand and ignoring the massive corruption, religious intolerance, resistance to change, and of course Muslim-Muslim violence caused by Muslims on Muslims for Muslims!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxinAxWxXo8

When own people work to support dirty foreign Agenda against own country then it is big crime.

Libya is not a Revolution. It is western Crime.

Ahmedi Nejad is a very well educated person and a great leader, fully aware of western dirty compaigns.

Do you really think that Condoliza, paul, dick cheney, tony blair, Rumsfeld, bush are educated people?? What do you think about Palastine issue? Wake up. These basterds killed millions muslims and we did not forget it.
Wrong. The millions of Muslims were killed mostly by Muslims themselves and Muslims caused their own problems themselves and would rather blame the West than themselves for it!

and as far as Palestine goes, if you have noticed my posts here: http://www.siasat.pk/forum/showthread.php?67328-Israel-Origins-and-Evolutions I am actually strongly anti-Zionist and pro-Palestine! and yet all the Muslims can do is be disunited, loud mouthed angry boys in the streets that do NOTHING to stop Israel and help the Palestinians in any way. with the ones who actually help them are praised from a distance!

Remember how Saudi mullahs declared it was HARAM to pray for Hezbollah just because they were Shia when Israel attacked south Lebanon barely a few years back?? Remember how the Saudis have been the first to send troops to crush the majority Shia protests against the Bahraini dictators but will NEVER do anything against Israel??

THAT IS YOUR UMMAH!

Thats why the Muslim 'Ummah' is a bad joke! All their problems are self-caused and all they do is hate and kill each other for sectarian, tribal, religious nonsense. And THAT is what the West exploits in supporting the repressive regimes of the region! And when people dare challenge the rule, they are called 'agents, traitors' etc!

First sort the nonsense in your own homeland and your own region rather than worrying about the problems of this incompetent Ummah!
DR. KHALID ALNOWAISER | ARAB NEWS Let’s stop blaming America

We are still the prisoners of a culture of conspiracy and inferiority
I AM a proud and loyal Saudi citizen, but I am tired of hearing constant criticism from most Arabs of everything the United States does in its relations with other countries and how it responds to global crises. No nation is perfect, and certainly America has made its share of mistakes such as Vietnam, Cuba and Iraq. I am fully aware of what happened when the atomic bombs were dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki and the unprecedented abuses at Guantanamo and Abu Ghraib. However, what would we do if America simply disappeared from the face of the earth such as what happened to the Soviet Union and ancient superpowers like the Roman and Greek empires? These concerns keep me up day and night. It’s frustrating to hear this constant drumbeat of blame directed toward the United States for everything that is going wrong in the world. Who else do we think of to blame for our problems and failures? Do we take personal responsibility for the great issues that affect the security and prosperity of Arab countries? No, we look to America for leadership and then sit back and blame it when we don’t approve of the actions and solutions it proposes or takes.
For instance, if a dictator seizes and holds power such as Egypt’s Mubarak and Libya’s Qaddafi, fingers are pointed only at America for supporting these repressive leaders. If the people overthrow a dictator, fingers are pointed at America for not having done enough to support the protestors. If a nation fails to provide its people with minimum living standards, fingers are pointed at America. If a child dies in an African jungle, America is criticized for not providing necessary aid. If someone somewhere sneezes, fingers are pointed at America. Many other examples exist, too numerous to mention.
I am not pro-American nor am I anti-Arab, but I am worried that unless we wake up, the Arab world will never break out of this vicious and unproductive cycle of blaming America. We must face the truth: Sadly, we are still the prisoners of a culture of conspiracy and cultural inferiority. We have laid the blame on America for all our mistakes, for every failure, for every harm or damage we cause to ourselves. The US has become our scapegoat upon whom our aggression and failures can be placed. We accuse America of interfering in all our affairs and deciding our fate, although we know very well that this is not the case as no superpower can impose its will upon us and control every aspect of our lives. We must acknowledge that every nation, no matter how powerful, has its limitations.
Moreover, we conveniently forget that America’s role is one of national self-interest, not to act as a Mother Teresa. Every great nation throughout history has used its power and gained ascendancy in order to serve its own strategic interests. America is not just its foreign policy. We must not forget who promoted education and respected learning, who took on research as a way to discovery, who made the airplane that carries us to our destination and the luxurious car we want to own, who created the Internet and developed social media that has transformed the way we do business and interact with one another, who conducted the scientific research that has saved lives and treated cancer, renal failure, AIDS, malaria, poliomyelitis, and who discovered genetic engineering. When man walked on the Moon, it was an American. Who did Japan turn to for help after the devastating earthquake and tsunami? America that led and organized the international relief effort of the Red Cross. Who do people turn to for support when their leaders seek to brutalize them? Who organized NATO air cover and saved the Libyan city of Benghazi from certain destruction by Qaddafi’s brutal armed forces?
Anyone who is a student of history knows that America is simply doing what all other civilizations before it have done for thousands of years, which is to protect and further its own self-interest. The Greek civilization could not have lasted had it not served its own interests, and the same applies to the Persian, Roman, and Chinese civilizations. All of these civilizations put their own welfare before all others, and by doing so, they strived to achieve great things. The truth is that no nation can ever become great without understanding this reality. Indeed, the Islamic civilization has been through horrible and cruel phases. Hideous events that send goose bumps up one’s spine can be extracted from Islamic history, such as that of As-Saffah (The Shedder of Blood), founder of the Abbasid Caliphate, who took out the remains of the caliphs of Bani Umayyah, one after the other, but found nothing but the tip of a nose from the remains of Hisham Bin Abdul Malak. He took him out and whipped him. He then crucified and burned him and sprinkled his ashes in the wind, without mercy, oblivious to any religious or moral restraints.
There are many other similar examples. But does this mean that Islam is unholy? Of course not. Does this imply that Islamic civilization only had Saffahs? Absolutely not. Islamic civilization has given the world brilliant examples in the areas of art and education and promoted a culture of forgiveness, peace and love. However, today, we as people, not Islam, are in desperate need of an intellectual earthquake, a cultural tsunami to get us back on track, to revive Islam’s cultural intellect and combat our undeniable inferiority complex.
The Holy Qur’an states Allah will not change the condition of a people until they change what is in themselves. He has the power to change them, but He prefers that they change with their own will power which He respects.
What we are seeing now in the Arab streets is a new hope and a step forward to change what is in ourselves. I remain very optimistic because we have now begun to realize that simply blaming the United States for our problems will not help us progress toward great personal freedoms. Our enemy is not America but an inferiority complex from which I am sure the Arab world with its rich culture and history will eventually recover.
— Dr. Khalid Alnowaiser is a columnist and a Saudi attorney with offices in Riyadh and Jeddah. He can be reached at: [email protected] and/or Twitter (kalnowaiser).
http://www.arabnews.com/opinion/columns/article434844.ece?comments=all

and while you are at it about Ahmedinejad, I suggest you give this analysis of his blunders and stupidity that has even made his own ally Khamenei get angry at him!

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/front...inejad-khamenei-rift-deepens-to-an-abyss.html

And I think you have your head in the sand and ignoring the massive corruption, religious intolerance, resistance to change, and of course Muslim-Muslim violence caused by Muslims on Muslims for Muslims!

I never said Pakistan or arab countries are corruption free.

You are telling me about religious intolerance. Pakistan is one best example for western countries to follow religious tolerance. Christians, hindu and many others pratice their religion freely in a muslim state. Sikh comes from Indian Punjab to visit their holy places in pakistan.

Do you know how difficult is a process to build a new mosque in European countries? Do you know in Pakistan huge Curchs exist.

Do you know that Minar (Minarates) are not allowed in Germany and few EU states for mosques?

Do you know that in some european countries Hijab is banned? Do you know what challenges muslims are facing in western countries.

I bet you don't know.

Wrong. The millions of Muslims were killed mostly by Muslims themselves and Muslims caused their own problems themselves and would rather blame the West than themselves for it!

I was right. You were on long holidays when they were bombing muslims.

DR. KHALID ALNOWAISER | ARAB NEWS Let’s stop blaming America

This is most stupid and ridiculous report i have ever read. I think this Dr. was paid very well for this report. But he failed.

I want to repeat here again:

M Ali Khan

You are telling me about religious intolerance. Pakistan is one best example for western countries to follow religious tolerance. Christians, hindu and many others pratice their religion freely in a muslim state. Sikh comes from Indian Punjab to visit their holy places in pakistan.
YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME!!!!

Pakistan is filled with a bloody history of non-Muslims being attacked on bogus blasphemy charges, churches set on fire, Gojra burning, raping kidnapping and forced conversions of Hindus, slaughter of Ahmedis, Aasia Bibi case where she was falsely accused of blasphemy AFTER she had an argument with villagers who called her '*****' for drinking water!!!

attacks on Shia masajids and Muharram processions EVERY YEAR, open calls to kill the 'infidels' in our masjid khutbas forcing many Ahmedis, Sikhs, Hindus etc to flee Pakistan and take asylum in other countries!

http://www.massviolence.org/Thematic-Chronology-of-Mass-Violence-in-Pakistan-1947-2007 take a read here pappu. and this is not even complete!

3. Religious Violence

Religion-related violence has been widespread in Pakistan since Independence. 96.28% of the Pakistani population are Muslims, 1.85% Hindus, 1.59% Christians, and 0.22% Ahmadis (Government of Pakistan, Statistics Division, No. SD. PER.E (53)/99-449, Islamabad, 16 July 2001). Religious violence can be divided into two kinds of violence: one directed against religious minorities such as Ahmadis, Christians and Hindus, and one between Islamic sects, especially between Sunnis (75-80%) and Shias (15-20%) but also within Sunnis sects as well. In fact, the violence against Ahmadis could be conceived as sectarian violence as they were originally considered as an Islamic sect. However, the main reason for the violence against them was that they were not considered as Muslims by Muslim orthodox, and they were later declared a non-Muslim minority. Then, the violence between Sunnis and Shias could also be interpreted as violence against a religious minority since Shias were first targeted by Sunni militant groups. Most of those killed in sectarian violence, around 70%, were Shias (ICG, 2005: 4). However, the subsequent level of militarization and retaliation by Shia militant groups is significant and necessitates distinguishing sectarian violence from violence against religious minorities who have never been able to retaliate.
3.1. Anti-Religious minorities Violence
3.1.1. The Anti-Ahmadi Movement and Riots
Ahmadis, also known as Qadiyanis or Mirza’is, belong to an Islamic sect founded in the mid-19th century by Mirza Ghulam Ahmad in Qadian, Sialkot district of Punjab, now in India, and are approximately two million. At Partition, they moved to Pakistan and most of them settled in Rabwah and around, in West Punjab. The main cause of controversy is that Ahmadis believed that Muhammad’s revelation could be completed and perfected by their founder’s interpretations, hence disregarding a fundamental pillar of Islam that is the end of the prophethood with Muhammad. They were thus considered as heretics by Muslim orthodox, who have continuously asked for them to be declared non-Muslims. Moreover, the general welfare of the Ahmadis, secured mainly due to their pro-British stance before Independence, was also a reason for the hatred they faced. Religious parties have constantly demanded the removal of the Ahmadis in post in the administration and the government, especially Zafaru’llah Khan, the Pakistani foreign minister.
The Islamization process undertaken during General Zia ul-Haq rule proved to be critical for the Ahmadis. The climax was reached in the early months of 1984 when the Ahmadis were then forbidden to pray openly, to spread their beliefs and to call Azan or use any Islamic expressions. It took place through the Anti-Ahmadi Ordinance XX that added Sections 298-B and 298-C in the Pakistan criminal code. Then, in 1986, the Blasphemy law, PPC 295-C, was passed. It prohibits Ahmadis from calling themselves Muslims or posing as Muslims, from referring to their faith as Islam, from preaching or, propagating their faith, from using words and salutations from the Holy Quran and from injuring the religious feelings of Muslims. Any transgression of this law results in a death sentence for the offender.
Since its promulgation, this law has been widely used in order to oppress the Ahmadi community. Generally, Ahmadis faced minor acts of violence such as killings, arson, destruction and desecration of mosques, internment on false grounds, torture, and social and economic boycott (as documented in the annual reports of the Human Rights Commission of Pakistan (HRCP) since its inception in 1986). From 1987 to 2004 included, 4,000 people were accused under the Blasphemy law and 560 formally charged mostly Ahmadis and Christians (ICG, 2005: 26).As soon as 1949, in the context of the release of the Objectives Resolution, the Majlis-I Ahrar-I Islam (Society of Free Muslims), a populist Islamic party created in 1930 and led by Taju’ddin Ansari, and the Majlis-e Khatlme Nabuwwat (Society for the finality of prophethood), launched an anti-Ahmadi agitation in order to test the professed loyalty to Islam of the government. In May 1951, the Ahrar used the West Punjab elections as a platform for their anti-Ahmadi propaganda. They found a strong support in the new Chief Minister of Punjab and leader of the Punjab Muslim League, Main Mumtaz Daultana, who was eager to raise support among the religious electorate, hence allowing the Ahrar to pursue their anti-Ahmadi agitation. A first riot was launched by the Ahrar following Zafaru’llah Khan’s speech at an Ahmadi public session in Karachi on May 17, 1952. The Ahrar’s anti-Ahmadi agitation was later joined, albeit reluctantly, by the Jamaat-i-Islami, another religious party led by Mawdudi. The anti-Ahmadi agitation climaxed in March, 1953, when riots broke out throughout Punjab. Later, in May 1974, another round of riots broke out in Rabwah. Following this incident, 18 religious groups renewed their demand for declaring Ahmadis non-Muslims which was finally granted by Prime Minister Zulfikar Ali Bhutto in September 1974.
1953; March, The Punjab Disturbances: The anti-Ahmadi movement strengthened over the years and turned violent, resulting in riots, first in Karachi on February 27, 1953, following the rejection by the Pakistan government of the All-Parties Muslim Convention’s demand that the Ahmadis should be treated non-Muslims, then, more dramatically, in Punjab, particularly in Lahore which became “the scene of a vast hunt where thousands of citizens rioted murderously... in almost pogrom-like fashion” (The Munir Report, 1954: 35). The Army had to intervene to restore law and order in the province and martial law was imposed on March 5. Firing by police that day left 10 people dead and 74 injured, and there were 11 more casualties before the situation got stabilized (Irfani, 2004: 153). On the whole, more than 300 people died in the riots (James, 1993: 14). The root cause for these riots was political opportunism by religious parties, especially the Majlis-e-Ahrar and other like-minded groups of Ulemas such as the Jamaat-i-Islami (Horowitz, 2001: 213-214; Kennedy, 1989: 87). Moreover, the administrative incompetence and collusion of Punjab government allowed the situation to degenerate (The Munir Report, 1954: 9-10). ** (The Munir Report, 1954;Kennedy, 1989;James, 1993; Horowitz, 2001; Irfani, 2004)
1974; May 22-29, The Rabwah incident: The controversy has resurfaced in 1974 under Bhutto’s regime and again turned violent with the Rabwah incident. On May 22, a train full of students from Nishtar Medical College passed through Rabwah, the headquarters of the Ahmadis, shouting insulting slogans. A week later, when the students came on their way back, a mob of Ahmadis were waiting for them with light arms. Ahmadis beat up the students but no casualties happened. Then, violence spread from Rabwah to the whole province of Punjab. During the riot, 42 persons died, 27 of who were Ahmadis. **(Kennedy, 1989: 90).

3.1.2 The Persecutions against Christians
The tiny Christian minority settled in Pakistan also suffered from recurrent and severe discrimination and harassment. They regularly suffer from killings, arson, desecration and destruction of churches, seizure of land and properties, forced conversions, rape, etc. These acts of violence against the Pakistani Christian community have only been systematically and precisely documented since the publication of the HRCP annual report in 1992 onwards. The Christians as well as the Ahmadis were frequently targeted through the drastic Blasphemy laws.
However, since the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, and the subsequent American military intervention in Afghanistan, Christians have become the target of several major acts of violence such as gun firing, grenade launching, and bombing, sometimes by suicide bombers, on churches or other locations. The anti-Christian militant violence peaked in 2002 but then gradually receded to the kind of isolated acts of violence the Christians were used to face before the end of 2001.
2001; October 28: Eighteen Christians were gunned down when six assailants opened fire inside the St. Dominic Church at Bahalwalpur. The dead included women and small children and at least a dozen other worshippers were seriously injured. The attack was allegedly linked to the US action against the Taliban in Afghanistan, which had begun a few weeks earlier (HRCP, 2001: 156).
2002; March 17: Four grenades were thrown inside a church located in Islamabad’s heavily protected diplomatic enclave. Only two of the grenades exploded, killing five people and causing injury to over forty, many from among the diplomatic community. *** (HRCP, 2002: 166).
2002; May 8: A suicide bomber rammed a car full of explosive into a Pakistan Navy bus, as it was leaving the Sheraton Hotel in Karachi. Fourteen people were killed, among whom eleven French naval engineers, who were working on a submarine project with the Pakistan Navy. According to the HRCP, the French nationals were the main target. *** (HRCP, 2002: 166).
2002; June 14: A suicide car-bomb attack on the US Consulate in Karachi killed 12 persons, all of them Pakistanis and none of them Christians. The targeting of the US Consulate is nonetheless seen as a part of the continuing militant action directed against Western and Christian targets.

3.1.3. The Anti-Hindu Pogroms

The situation of the Hindu minority, particularly concentrated in East Pakistan (now Bangladesh) was tensed since Independence. They generally lived the life of second-class citizens and were occasionally targeted in major pogroms. The first case of mass violence against Hindus occurred in East Pakistan at the beginning of 1950. It was started by the spread of false rumors, somewhat encouraged by the official media, and degenerated into retaliatory violence between West and East Bengal.
Then, a new pogrom occurred in 1964 again in East Pakistan allegedly due to the loss of Prophet Mohammad’s hair from the Hazratbal mosque in Kashmir, India. There was however also a strong economic incentive as the attacks were originally directed toward the Hindu-owned cotton mills located nearby non-Bengali Muslim, mostly Bihari, factories. In 1971, during the civil war between the Pakistani army and the Bengali Mukti Bahini, the former organized massacres against the Hindus in East Pakistan as it was documented in the previous section dealing with the East Pakistan civil war.
Since the break-up of Pakistan and the creation of Bangladesh, the Hindu community, which remained in Pakistan, most of them concentrated in small pockets in Baluchistan and Sindh, though not suffering from acts of mass violence, has been constantly discriminated and harassed as it was the case with Ahmadis. These acts of violence against Hindus in Pakistan have been systematically and precisely detailed in the successive annual reports of the HRCP since 1992.

The Great Anti-Hindu Pogrom of 1950

1950; January: A clash broke out between Communists and the police in the Kalshira village of the Bagerhat area of Khulna district during which some policemen were killed. The police then retaliated by destroying some houses in the village some of which belonged to Hindus. The latter decided to migrate to India and spread a rumor of atrocities on Hindus, which was relayed by the West Bengal press. This rumor generated attacks on Muslims in West Bengal. In retaliation, Muslims from Kalshira and the neighboring villages began to target Hindus in the area.
1950; February: Atrocities against Hindus went on especially in Dhaka and Khulna from the second week of February. These atrocities mainly took the shape of murder, arson and forcible conversion. Violence then spread to the coastal district of Barisal where five to seven thousand Hindus were said to be killed. *(Roy, 2007: 202).
1950; February 12, The Meghna Bridge Massacre: The Meghna Bridge, also known as the Bhairab Bridge and the Anderson Bridge, is a one-kilometer long bridge, which spans the wide Meghna river between Bhairab Bazar Junction on the Dhaka-Mymensingh eastern line and Ashganj near Brahmanbaria. Assailants boarded both sides of the train just before it got on the bridge and blocked the doors. They then stopped the train once it was fully on the bridge. Finally, they methodically picked out all the Hindus that were on the train and systematically killed them. *(Roy, 2007: 211).
The Hazratbal-inspired Anti-Hindu Pogrom, 1964
1964; January 3: A protest day was observed following the loss of Prophet Mohammad’s hair from Hazratbal Mosque in Kashmir, India. On that day, at Daulatpur, Khulna district, Sabdul Khan made an inflammatory speech to a crowd of non-Bengali, mostly Bihari, Muslim factory workers, who immediately thereafter took out a procession, looted and set fire to Hindu houses, raped women and killed them indiscriminately without any interference from the police.
1964; January 13 to 17: The anti-Hindu attacks of January 3 generated retaliatory attacks on Muslims in West Bengal. In spite of the fact that the Indian army quickly quelled the riot, it was subsequently used as an excuse for further violence against Hindus in East Pakistan. The violence was particularly gruesome in the Adamji Mill area of Narayangunge, Nishat Mill area of Tongi, north of Dhaka, and the Mohammedpur colony of Tezgaon, Dhaka city and the Nawabpur area of old Dhaka. The common thread among them is that they were dominated by non-Bengali Muslim workers of non-Bengali-Muslim-owned factories. Following a meeting with the Chief Secretary of East Pakistan on January 13, the owners of these factories decided to declare January 14 and 15 as holidays. They supplied their workers with motor vehicles, iron rods, daggers, firearms, petrol cans and sprayers and summoned them to attack the Hindus in their area. There was an obvious economic incentive for this pogrom as the Muslim workers started to attack the Hindu-owned factories of Dhakeswari Cotton Mill, Chittaranjan Cotton Mill and Laxminarayan Cotton Mill. Their Hindu workers were killed indiscriminately and the factories were set ablaze. The Muslim rioters then turned to the village of Golkandayal where many Hindus had gathered for a fair at the occasion of the Hindu festival of Makar Sankranti. In Dhaka, at the same time, arson, loot and rampage occurred without any initiative from the government to prevent it till January 16. **(Roy, 2007: 271-74).

3.2. Sectarian Violence
3.2.1. Sunni/Shia Violence
Sectarian violence is amongst the most lethal in Pakistan since the mid-eighties. It opposes mostly Sunnis and Shias. Actually, it would be more accurate to describe this conflict as a Deobandi-Shia conflict since the former somehow appropriated the term Sunni for themselves and is supported in its anti-Shia struggle by Ahle Hadit organizations. Between 1985 and 1989, over 300 Shias were killed in sectarian incidents in Jhang district, Southern Punjab, the birthplace of organized sectarian militancy, the two sub-sects now living in separate parts of the city (ICG, 2005: 14).
Then, between 1989 and 2003 (July 6), 1,468 persons were killed and 3,370 injured in some 1,813 sectarian incidents (Lakshman, 2003: 1). Till the mid-nineties, most of the killings remained concentrated in Punjab. 700 people were killed in this province alone between 1989 and 2001 (Zaman, 1998: 712; Abbas, 2001: 24). But then, sectarian violence spread to the whole of Pakistan, first in the Northern Areas and the North West Frontier Province (NWFP), then in Sindh, causing 1850 dead in total (Abbas, 2001: 24). In Karachi alone, 293 people died between 1994 and June 2002, of whom approximately 200 were Shias (HRCP, 2002: 7). The sectarian violence peaked in Karachi in 1994-95 as 103 Shias and 28 Sunnis died during this period (ibid.).
Among those that have gained prominence are the Sipah-i Muhammad Pakistan (SMP; the Army of Muhammad), an off-shoot created in 1991 of the Tehreek-Nifaz-i-Fiqh-e-Jafaria (TNFJ) the main politico-religious Shia party in Pakistan, later renamed Tehreek-e-Jafaria Pakistan (TJP) formed in 1979; and on the Sunni side the Anjuman Sipah-i Sahaba, later renamed Sipah-i Sahaba Pakistan (SSP; the Sunni Pakistan’s Army of the Prophet’s Companions) established in Jhang in 1985 by Maulana Haq Nawaz Jhangvi, an off-shot of the Jamiat-e-Ulema-e-Islam (JUI), a leading politico-religious Sunni Deobandi party. A further militant off-shot of the SSP is the even more violent Lashkar-e-Jhangvi (The Army of Jhangvi), formed in 1990. Two other prominent militant Sunni Deobandi outfit are Tehrik Nifaz Shariat-I Muhammadi (TNSM; Movement for Protection of Muhammad’s Religious Law) created in 1994, and the Lashkar-e-Taiba (The Army of the Pure) formed in 1997-1998.
The present state of organized sectarian conflict can be traced to the murder of TNJF leader Arif Hussain Al-Hussaini in 1988. Others date it to 1987 when Ahl-e-Hadith leaders, Allama Ehsan Elahi Zaheer and Maulana Habib ur Rehman Yazdani, were killed, along with six others, at a meeting in Lahore.
From 1985 to 1995, the dominant pattern of sectarian violence was targeted killings of leaders and militants of each other’s sects. The spiral of violence registered a sharp rise in February 1990 with the murder of Maulana Haq Nawaz Jhangvi, founder of the SSP. This led to violent clashes resulting in dozens of casualties and burning down of many houses and shops in Jhang. Then, by the mid-nineties, the pattern of sectarian violence shifted to targeted attacks on religious gatherings and mosques, even with hand grenades and time bombs. At that time, office bearers and government officials also became targeted. Since 1997, a new feature of sectarian violence appeared with indiscriminate gunfire on ordinary citizens not involved in sectarian activity, and tit-for-tat killings targeting doctors, lawyers and traders (Abou-Zahab, 2002: 78). Finally, in the post September 11, 2001 context, suicide bombing tends to become the dominant pattern of sectarian violence.
Several regional and international dynamics (Abou-Zahab, 2002: 115-128; Nasr, 2000: 171-190), such as the Iranian Revolution in 1979, the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan between 1979 and 1988, the Iran-Iraq war between 1980 and 1988, and Jihad in Kashmir since 1989, contributed indirectly to exacerbate the sectarian tensions in Pakistan and to radicalize the members of these sects. Furthermore, the direct financial support of Saudi Arabia and Irak to Pakistani Sunni organizations and of Iran to Pakistani Shia organizations allowed them to build a wide network of madressahs and to buy arms.
Some parallel domestic dynamics also contributed to the rise of sectarian violence. The main domestic reasons for the escalation of violence between Shias and Sunnis are, from a national point of view, the policy of islamization undertaken by General Zia Ul-Haq, which alienated the Shia community. The emergence of sectarian politics linked to factionalism within religious parties and militant organizations must also be pointed out as it radicalized the tensions between Shias and Sunnis. The multiplication of madressahs (it is believed that there are currently between 10,000 and 15,000 madressahs in Pakistan, their number increasing between 10 and 15 times during the last two decades, with an enrolment of about 200,00 students) must also be taken into account. Though it does not explain the rise of sectarian violence as such and despite the fact that they often despise the other sects, at least a 100 of them provide military training, which constituted important grounds of recruitment for the militantorganizations (HRCP, 2002: 12-14).
Besides, the crosscutting dynamics of ethnic, sectarian and criminal (drugs and arms) violence exacerbated an unstable situation. The spread of the so-called “drug and Kalashnikov culture” in Pakistan made drug money (especially from the culture of opium and heroin) and arms (it is said that there are approximately 20 million illegal weapons in the country) easily available (Samad, 2007: 173-77). Finally, local dynamics must not be undermined. Local politics that is the political rivalry and socio-economic competition at the local level are important incentives for sectarian conflicts (Abou-Zahab, 2004). For instance, the sectarian conflict in Jhang can be interpreted as the outcome of a struggle for political power between the traditional feudal families who are primarily feudal families and rural-based and the emergent middle class which is largely Deobandi or Ahl-i-Hadith and urban-based (Abou-Zahab, 2004: 136). In this local context, anti-Shia rhetoric proved to be a useful instrument of mobilization towards other ends.
While episodic violence between Shias and Sunnis was a recurrent phenomenonin South Asia, especially during Muharram-Ashura processions, even before Partition, it has become increasingly frequent and violent in Pakistan since the mid-eighties. One significant exception was the killing of more than 100 Shias in the Tehri village of the Khairpur district, Sindh, in June 1963 (ICG, 2005: 9). Pakistan is currently experiencing a full-scale sectarian conflict, which began in the mid-eighties, spreading throughout the country from Punjab to Northern areas and NWFP to Sindh and Baluchistan.
1988; May 17, The Gilgit Massacre: In Gilgit, the main city of the Northern Areas of Pakistan, a predominantly Shia and Ismaeli area, Sunnis, who were still fasting, attacked Shias while celebrating Eid ul-Fitr, in the wake of a theological quarrel between Shias and Sunnis over the starting date of Ramadan. Official sources said 200 people were killed but it was closer to 800 according to unofficial estimates (Aase, 1999: 60; ICG, 2005: 19), in a raid on the city by Sunni activists, mostly from North West Frontier Province (NWFP) tribal areas. These were assisted by local Sunnis from Chilas, Darel and Tangir, with the compliance of the Central government, which intended to build a Sunni mosque in the center of the city and ultimately to alter the demographic balance in favor of Shias in Gilgit and the rest of the Northern Areas. *** (Aase, 1999; ICG, 2005).
1992; July: A three-day riot occurred in the NWFP, particularly in Peshawar,between Shias and Sunnis. It caused the death of seven Sunnis and three Shias, and 49 people were injured. *** (Haleem, 2003: 469).
1996; September: A sectarian clash turned in a nine-day communal “war”, following an incident of wall chalking by sectarian students, involving mortars, rocket launchers and anti-aircraft missiles, between Sunni Orakzai and Shia Bangash tribe in Parachinar, the capital of Kurram Agency of the Federally-Administrated Tribal Areas (FATA). It caused the death of more than 200 people (Nasr, 2002: 85; ICG, 2005: 18). This event set up the “Parachinar paradigm of sectarian violence”, dominant in the Tribal areas and marked by the use of heavy weapons by both sides, support of Afghan settlers and Taliban for local Sunnis, and the deployment of the army for restoring order. ***(Nasr, 2002; ICG, 2005).
1997; August 1-10: More than 100 people, mostly Shias, died in sectarian riots during ten days throughout Punjab in an unprecedented wave of sectarian strife, a few days before the anniversary of 50th year of Independence. *** (ICG, 2005: 13).
1998; January 11, The Mominpura Graveyard Massacre: Twenty-five Shias were killed and 50 others injured in Lahore when three gunmen, allegedly from the Lashkar-e-Jhangvi, fired upon a crowd gathered, as every Sunday, in the Mominpura cemetery for Qurankhwani (Quranic recitals) and Majlis rituals. This event propelled a new wave of sectarian violence resulting in 78 dead and some 80 injured in Punjab, and an estimated 150 in all of Pakistan. *** (Nasr, 2002: 86).
1998; March: Twenty-one Shias were killed in Hangu, NWFP, during an attack by Sunni militant organizations. *** (Abou-Zahab, 2002: 124).
1999; January: Seventeen Shias were killed in Karamdad Qureshi, a small village near Multan. Punjab. *** (Abou-Zahab, 2002: 119).
2002; February 26: The attack on the Shah Najaf mosque in Rawalpindi resulted in the death of 11 people and over 19 wounded when three militants opened indiscriminate fire on worshippers.
2003; July 4, The Jama Masjid-o-Imambargah Massacre: Some 53 people were killed and 57 injured when two men opened fire and one blew himself up in a Shia mosque, the Jama Masjid-o-Imambargah Kalaan Isna Ashri in Quetta, capital of Baluchistan, during the Friday prayers. *** (Lakshman, 2003: 1; HRCP, 2003: 101).
2004; March 2: On the day of Ashura, SSP activists in connivance with police officers attacked a procession of Shias, killing 47 of them (especially from the anti-Taliban Shia Hazara community) and injuring 150 others, at Liaquat Bazaar in Quetta. *** (ICG, 2005: 21, 24).
2004; May 7 and 31: Two suicide bombings, both executed by members of LeJ, respectively on the Shia Hyderi Masjid on May 7 in Karachi and at Imambargah Ali Raza also in Karachi on May 31, killed 47 people. *** (ICG, 2005: 24).
2004; October 1 and 7: Two bomb blasts killed at least 71 people and injured 200 others in Punjab at a Shia mosque at Sialkot during the Friday prayers and at a large gathering assembled to mark the first anniversary of the killing of Sunni leader and SSP chief Maulana Azim Tariq in Multan. *** (SATP, 2007).
2005; May 27: Bari Imam Shrine Blast: Around 25 people died in a suicide bomb attack and over 100 others were injured during a crowed Majlis, where Barelvi Sunnis were also present at the Bari Imam shrine of the Shia sect located in the vicinity of the diplomatic enclave in Islamabad. *** (SATP, 2007).
2005; March 19: At least 50 people were killed and approximately 100 others suffered injuries during a bomb explosion at a crowded gathering near the shrine of a Shia saint at Fatehpur village in the Jhal Magsi district of Baluchistan. *** (SATP, 2007).
2007; April 6-11: Around 55 people were killed during sectarian clashes in the Kurram Agency of FATA as Shia and Sunni militants attacked each other’s village with heavy weapons. The violence broke out when Shias were attacked in an Imambargah in the morning while they were staging a demonstration outside their mosque against local Sunnis who allegedly chanted anti-Shias slogans during a religious rally the week before. *** (SATP, 2007).
2007; November 16-20: Sectarian violence in Parachinar, the capital of Kurram agency, FATA, erupted after unidentified people hurled a hand-grenade at the central mosque in the town, where hundreds of Sunnis were offering Friday prayers. State-run television has put the number of deaths in the violence to 91, and has reported that another 150 people have been injured. *** (SATP, 2007).
2007; December 22-27: The alleged incursion of Taliban fighters in the Kurram Agency of FATA in order to back Sunni militant organizations flared up sectarian clashes between rival Sunni and Shia groups resulting in at least 70 dead and several injured. *** (SATP, 2007).
3.2.2. Intra-Sunni Violence
Not only is there violence between Sunnis and Shias but there is also numerous intra-Sunni conflicts, especially between the Barelvis and the Deobandis. Sunnis in Pakistan can be broadly divided into four categories: Deobandis, Barelvis, Ahle Hadit, and revivalist, modernist movements. The first two Sunni sub-sects are products of 19th century Indo-Muslim reform movements that emerged from religious seminaries, one located at Deoband in 1867, and the other at Bareilly in 1897, both now in India.
Although they both follow the Hanafi school of Sunni Jurisprudence, their interpretations of it radically differ. The main controversy between them deals with the Barelvis’ promotion of the Sufi Islamic tradition of hereditary saints and shrine culture which is rejected by Deobandis who dismiss these practices as idolatry and favor a strict adherence to the classical texts of Islam. The third category is a small, ultra-orthodox and puritanical sect inspired by the purist Wahabi tradition originating from Saudi Arabia. The latter group is composed of modernist movements, which emerged during the 1940s such as the Jamaat-i-Islami (JI).
The main intra-Sunni conflict is the one opposing Deobandis and Barelvis, the two main Sunni sub-sects.The situation deteriorated into large scale violence when the major Barelvi sectarian outfit, the Sunni Tehreek (ST), an off-shot of the Jamaat—Ulema Pakistan (JUP), was created by Mohammad Saleem Qadri in 1990, with its stronghold and headquarters in Karachi, to counter the increasing hegemony of Ahle Hadees and Deobandi organizations over the Pakistani government. The pattern of intra-Sunni violence follows more or the less the same evolution as described in the case of sectarian violence. Beginning by aggressive occupation of mosques, it then moved to targeted killings of the organizations’ respective leaders (Saleem Qadri was hence assassinated in 2001) to finally suicide bombing as in the case of the Nishtar Park bombing in Karachi in 2006.
Initially, the ST essentially targeted the Sipah-i-Sahaba and the Lashkar-e-Taiba. From 1990 to 2002, it especially resorted to aggressive occupation of mosques in Sindh and Punjab that were thought to have been taken over from their control by Ahle Hadit and Deobandi organizations (Rana, 2006: 374-75). It would have lost approximately 30 militants in these operations since 1990 (Shahid Gauri quoted in Boivin and Gayer, 2007: 52).
Since 2002, a few months after the targeted assassination of its leader and founder Saleem Qadri on May 18, 2001, the Sunni Tehreek entered politics. This politization of the Sunni Tehreek propelled a conflict with the MQM, the major political party in Karachi, though it is said that an agreement was reached between the two in 1995 when the federal State cracked down MQM’s militants according to which these latter were offered protection in the ranks of the Sunni Tehreek. Between 2004 and 2006, the Sunni Tehreek said it lost 75 militants and accused the MQM for most of them (ibid.: 52). Sunni Tehreek’s militants mostly suffered from targeted killings but violence climaxed during the Nishtar Park Bombing on April 11, 2006, when the entire leadership of the organization died (SATP, 2007).
2006; April 11, The Nishtar Park Bombing: At least 57 people, including prominent clerics, among whom the top leadership of the Sunni Tehreek and the Jamaat Ahl-e Sunnat, were killed and more than 200 people sustained injuries in a suicide bomb attack at Nishtar Park in Karachi. It is believed members of the Sunni Tehreek were outwardly targeted. However, it remains unclear whether the bombing should be attributed to Deobandi organizations or the MQM. ** (SATP, 2007).
Of course hate-crimes in Europe exist towards minorities, but tell me how exactly can Pakistan be better given the amount of blood shed like a flood in the name of Allah here???!!!

Do you know how difficult is a process to build a new mosque in European countries? Do you know in Pakistan huge Curchs exist.
Those churches in Pakistan were primarily created by the British and have been victims of attacks and even demolition by greedy qabza groups who combine with local mullahs to forcibly evict and demolish them! Imagine how difficult it is to create new churches or temples here!
http://www.assistnews.net/Stories/2011/s11060029.htm

and lets not forget what Hindus tend to face in Pakistan
http://pakistaniat.com/2006/06/14/hindu-temple-in-lahore-demolished/

woh sab chorro, remember how Pakistan Youth Parliamentarian Prem Chand's coffin was treated when he died in the Airblue crash?
http://pakistaniat.com/2010/08/01/prem-chand-coffin-kafir/

Do you know that Minar (Minarates) are not allowed in Germany and few EU states for mosques?
The only EU state that has banned a minar, is SWITZERLAND. And the ban has been heavily criticised by EU states (incl the Swiss Federal Government, which cannot directly over-turn rulings by Swiss cantons/provinces) and leaders and it is expected that appeals to repeal the ban will take place.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minaret_controversy_in_Switzerland#Opposition

Last I checked, there is NO REQUIREMENT in Islam for mosques or a Muslim place of worship to have a minaret!

Do you know that in some european countries Hijab is banned? Do you know what challenges muslims are facing in western countries.
The only country is France and it is NOT banned the hijab, but the niqab/burka (and last I checked, there is no obligation for women to wear a niqab or burka!)

THIS is NOT BANNED
hijab+wallpapers%252843%2529.jpg

THIS IS BANNED
burka12.jpg

Only University campuses in TURKEY, SYRIA, MORROCCO, TUNISIA have banned these scarves though, and last i checked none of them are 'European' and are our 'muslim brothers'.

and frankly speaking, while I strongly oppose the ban, I also strongly oppose telling women to walk around like some human tent!

I bet you don't know.
Speak for yourself pappu.

All you can do is stick your head in the sand, close your eyes and ears and say LALALLAALALALA ALL IS WELL ITS A CONSPIRACY LALALALALALALA

This is most stupid and ridiculous report i have ever read. I think this Dr. was paid very well for this report. But he failed.
citizen-kane-clapping-gif.gif

YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME!!!!

Pakistan is filled with a bloody history of non-Muslims being attacked on bogus blasphemy charges, churches set on fire, Gojra burning, raping kidnapping and forced conversions of Hindus, slaughter of Ahmedis, Aasia Bibi case where she was falsely accused of blasphemy AFTER she had an argument with villagers who called her '*****' for drinking water!!!

attacks on Shia masajids and Muharram processions EVERY YEAR, open calls to kill the 'infidels' in our masjid khutbas forcing many Ahmedis, Sikhs, Hindus etc to flee Pakistan and take asylum in other countries!

http://www.massviolence.org/Thematic-Chronology-of-Mass-Violence-in-Pakistan-1947-2007 take a read here pappu. and this is not even complete!

Of course hate-crimes in Europe exist towards minorities, but tell me how exactly can Pakistan be better given the amount of blood shed like a flood in the name of Allah here???!!!

Those churches in Pakistan were primarily created by the British and have been victims of attacks and even demolition by greedy qabza groups who combine with local mullahs to forcibly evict and demolish them! Imagine how difficult it is to create new churches or temples here!
http://www.assistnews.net/Stories/2011/s11060029.htm

and lets not forget what Hindus tend to face in Pakistan
http://pakistaniat.com/2006/06/14/hindu-temple-in-lahore-demolished/

woh sab chorro, remember how Pakistan Youth Parliamentarian Prem Chand's coffin was treated when he died in the Airblue crash?
http://pakistaniat.com/2010/08/01/prem-chand-coffin-kafir/

The only EU state that has banned a minar, is SWITZERLAND. And the ban has been heavily criticised by EU states (incl the Swiss Federal Government, which cannot directly over-turn rulings by Swiss cantons/provinces) and leaders and it is expected that appeals to repeal the ban will take place.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minaret_controversy_in_Switzerland#Opposition

Last I checked, there is NO REQUIREMENT in Islam for mosques or a Muslim place of worship to have a minaret!

The only country is France and it is NOT banned the hijab, but the niqab/burka (and last I checked, there is no obligation for women to wear a niqab or burka!)

THIS is NOT BANNED
hijab+wallpapers%252843%2529.jpg

THIS IS BANNED
burka12.jpg

Only University campuses in TURKEY, SYRIA, MORROCCO, TUNISIA have banned these scarves though, and last i checked none of them are 'European' and are our 'muslim brothers'.

and frankly speaking, while I strongly oppose the ban, I also strongly oppose telling women to walk around like some human tent!

Speak for yourself pappu.

All you can do is stick your head in the sand, close your eyes and ears and say LALALLAALALALA ALL IS WELL ITS A CONSPIRACY LALALALALALALA

citizen-kane-clapping-gif.gif

I am proud to be Muslim and Pakistani, Allhamdulillah.

May Allah shows you right path.

In Germany new mosques with minars are banned. In Austria and switzerland same. Please if you don't know correct, do not misguide people.

http://www.welt.de/politik/deutschl...rbot-loest-Diskussion-in-Deutschland-aus.html

'We Want the Cathedral, Not Minarets'

Far-Right Mobilizes against Cologne Mega-Mosque

By Anna Reimann
A right-wing citizens' initiative is protesting against Germany's largest mosque, which is being built in Cologne. They have enlisted the efforts of the far-right from Austria and Belgium in their fight against the "Islamization of Europe."

http://www.spiegel.de/international/germany/0,1518,489257,00.html

You think you can turn the facts as you want. Bullshit

These Minars heart Europeans. That is why banned and not because it is not necessary.

Islam is a peacefull religion and it is taught to us to respect minorities and their religions.

Rest stuff is from Propaganda sites you are promoting.

If you shame to be Pakistani than leave it. Adnan Sami Khan did also. May be he has another tent free for you.

M Ali Khan

Nice way of ignoring the religiously-motivated mess in Pakistan's entire history I mentioned with verifiable sources and instead focusing on your paranoia towards Europe ;)

In Germany new mosques with minars are banned. In Austria and switzerland same. Please if you don't know correct, do not misguide people.

http://www.welt.de/politik/deutschl...rbot-loest-Diskussion-in-Deutschland-aus.html

'We Want the Cathedral, Not Minarets'

Far-Right Mobilizes against Cologne Mega-Mosque

By Anna Reimann
A right-wing citizens' initiative is protesting against Germany's largest mosque, which is being built in Cologne. They have enlisted the efforts of the far-right from Austria and Belgium in their fight against the "Islamization of Europe."

http://www.spiegel.de/international/germany/0,1518,489257,00.html
Hey Einstein, do you know the difference in PROTESTS by a group of people and the imposition of an actual ban by the government??

There is NO OFFICIAL BAN on minarets in Germany or Austria!

Right wing groups (comparable to our Jamaat-e-Islami and JUI fat mullahs who do more than just protest given their actual support to terrorists and jihadi killers!) want a ban but they do not have the electoral strength or power to force the government to do so!

The right wing parties want a ban, but they cannot force the government to do so and neither is the government interested!

As far as Austria goes read this:
http://europenews.dk/en/node/28347

Austria
A Gallup survey published in the sterreich newspaper shows that 60% of Austrians oppose a minaret ban. Just 31% said they would welcome such a measure. Even among FP (Freedom Party) voters, just 44% supported a ban, 47% are opposed. Among BZ (Alliance for the Future of Austria) voters, 70% want a ban on building minarets.
The least approval for such a ban was among Greens voters (4%). 24% of SP (Social Democratic Party) voters support a ban, and 35% of VP (People's Party) voters.
The 400 Austrians questioned were more agreeable to a full-veil (Burka) ban: 53% supported it, 40% opposed it, and 7% had no opinion.
According to the survey fear of Islam among Austrians is limited: 83% of respondents said that they had no unpleasant experiences with Muslims.
did you even READ the translation of this article you quoted? http://www.welt.de/politik/deutschl...rbot-loest-Diskussion-in-Deutschland-aus.html

Minaret ban triggers debate in Germany

In Switzerland, the building of minarets banned. The result of the referendum in Germany provides for a policy debate. While many politicians are frightened and worried, warns unions-politician Wolfgang Bosbach, the Swiss decision to take seriously.
The Swiss people vote against the construction of minarets has triggered a fundamental debate in Germany. They thus represent the Turkish community, religious scholars and politicians warned against such action or negative impact on the integration of foreigners. At the same time also came as the consent of the Central Council of Ex-Muslims who saw the minarets no to a voice against Islamism, Sharia and compulsory headscarf. On Sunday, had a referendum in Switzerland particularly surprising 57.5 percent against the building of minarets in their country.
The chairman of the Turkish community in Germany, Kenan Kolat, called the result "very regrettable". Have a basic right such as freedom of religion should not be allowed to vote. "Belongs to a minaret of a mosque," said Kolat. Similar sentiments were expressed the Cologne Katajun Amirpur Islamic scholar who was shocked by the outcome of the referendum.
Meanwhile, the chairman of the Bundestag Committee on Internal Affairs, Wolfgang Bosbach (CDU), not to take seriously the Swiss decision. The result of the referendum was an expression of a well in Germany's widespread fear of Islamization of society. Moreover, the German building laws offer sufficient opportunities to reach a reasonable balance of interests. Referenda on the building of mosques in Germany were neither possible nor necessary.
In recent years, were in most cases built without conflict mosques in Germany."But there are spectacular large-scale construction projects, as in Cologne-Ehrenfeld or Duisburg-Marxloh against which it is only because of the dimension of the project a lot of resistance," said Bosbach. He considers it "quite possible that some large construction projects are planned to to show how much Islam in Germany has now become. "
The Green Party politician Karin Gring-Eckardt said to Bosbach would have to consider what he said. "The situation in Germany but that we have too little integration," Gring-Eckardt said. She herself was on the voting results "pretty shaken. That is to say yes first time, non-Muslims are welcome in Switzerland. "This signal is relying on a Christian majority. "It saddens me especially." When "absolutely racist" condemned Gring-Eckardt, the poster with the initiators of the referendum had advertised. It displays a Swiss flag, are on the black minarets, and a veiled woman. "This fear is fueled something that has to do with Islam really nothing at all."
For the SPD politician Sebastian Edathy is the minaret of the Swiss decision "very problematic". Who would guarantee religious freedom, the followers of different religions also give the opportunity to build places of worship. A decision as in Switzerland would not be compatible with the Basic Law, said Edathy. He does not believe that the result will have negative impact on the integration debate in Germany.
The Islamic scholar Katajun Amirpur was shocked by the result: "If this initiative trigger a dynamic in other European countries - and the risk - then the Muslims at the end have no place in Europe," said Amirpur. She was shocked and now I have fear.
CSU General Secretary Alexander Dobrindt, however, warned against comparing the situation in Switzerland with Germany. "One must not overstate this result," said Dobrindt Bayerischer Rundfunk. The reasons which led to this vote in Switzerland would have to be analyzed. "But it's certainly nothing that would transfer to Germany in this form," added the CSU politicians.
The architect of the controversial mosque in Cologne, Paul Boehm, called a ban on minarets "undemocratic". The Swiss result was "primarily a dumb decision that scares me and I would not have expected," he said. The last word should not be dropped.
In contrast, welcomed the Central Council of Ex-Muslims of the decision. "No to the minarets is actually a signal against Islamism, Sharia and compulsory headscarf. The minaret stands only as a symbol of a well-founded fear of political Islam, "said the Central Council, Mina Ahadi. It was good that the Swiss people have intervened in this development and would have clearly said no.
In Switzerland, has about 400,000 Muslims. Participation in the referendum was above average at 54 percent.
Read it and you will see that many people outside the far-right OPPOSE any calls for a ban and will NOT entertain any demands for it!

You think you can turn the facts as you want. Bullshit
I am stating actual facts and being as close to the truth as possible, but YOU on the other hand have a very paranoid look at issues

These Minars heart Europeans. That is why banned and not because it is not necessary.
There are 27 EU members states + Switzerland. Only SWITZERLAND has banned the minaret construction, while the other countries are REFUSING to do so despite calls from the far-right minority!

GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT!

Islam is a peacefull religion and it is taught to us to respect minorities and their religions.
Looks like Muslims are the first one to conveniently ignore that statement, esp. in Pakistan ;)

Rest stuff is from Propaganda sites you are promoting.
I have cited verifiable websites and sources, you on the other hand do not even bother reading and believe in the same propaganda nonsense.

You are sounding like a broken record and like the Islamists in Europe who cause more problems to ordinary Muslims by using Islam for their own pathetic political agenda and demanding special treatment just because of it!

You and self-declared Muslims like you are just as silly to believe in baseless propaganda as the scumbag European far-right.

While the far-right there demands silly bans on objects and veils, the far-right in Pakistan actively seeks to HARM and ATTACK minorities and anyone who dare opposes them!

If you shame to be Pakistani than leave it. Adnan Sami Khan did also. May be he has another tent free for you.
As a Pakistani I have the RIGHT to protest at the stupidity going on in my country and I have the RIGHT to feel ashamed of bad things that we are told to not even question! I have the RIGHT to express my view and I have the right to declare my opposition to the lunacy here!

If you dont like it, then it is YOU who has the problem, not me.

I am proud to be Muslim and Pakistani, Allhamdulillah.
Good for you.
May Allah shows you right path.
and may Allah bestow some AQAL upon you and your fellow brethren. You need it.