Three Guilty of Airline Bomb Plot

contra

Source: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/8242238.stm
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Three men have been found guilty of plotting to kill thousands of people by blowing up planes flying from London to America with home-made liquid bombs.

A Woolwich Crown Court jury convicted
a) :evil: Abdulla Ahmed Ali :evil: , 28;
b) :evil: Tanvir Hussain :evil: , 28; and
c) :evil: Assad Sarwar :evil: , 29,
of conspiring to activate bombs disguised as drinks. :shock:

Four other men were found not guilty of involvement in the suicide bomb plot.

The arrests in August 2006 caused chaos to international aviation and prompted the current restrictions on liquids.

The jury heard that at the time of his arrest, plot ringleader :evil: Ahmed Ali :evil: had identified seven US and Canada-bound flights to blow up over the Atlantic within a two-and-a-half-hour period.

They were flights from London's Heathrow airport to
a) San Francisco,
b) Washington,
c) New York,
d) Chicago,
e) Toronto, and
f) Montreal.
Had the planes taken to the air with bombers on board, there would have been little chance of saving them. :o :(

His "quartermaster", Sarwar, had secured bomb ingredients at his home and in woods in High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire. A flat in the Walthamstow area of east London became the bomb factory. :evil:

There the men put together a special home-made mixture of chemicals that they planned to take onto planes in ordinary sports drinks bottles stored within hand luggage. Ahmed Ali, of Walthamstow, Hussain, of Leyton, east London, and Sarwar had been found guilty previously of a conspiracy to murder involving liquid bombs. :x

The jury in that first trial could not decide whether their plans extended to detonating the devices on planes. But a second jury was convinced. :D :P

The plot became the biggest terror investigation in the UK and intelligence officers believe it was directed by al-Qaeda figures in Pakistan ;) .

The BBC understands that the key contact for the plotters was a British man, :evil: Rashid Rauf :evil: , now thought to be dead.

'Daring plot'

Security officials on both sides of the Atlantic believe the men wanted to kill thousands in the air and possibly more on the ground in a wave of attacks causing more devastation - and political fall-out - than the 11 September attacks. :o :shock: :(

Home Secretary Alan Johnson welcomed the verdicts, saying: "This case reaffirms that we face a real and serious threat from terrorism."

"This was a particularly complex and daring plot which would have led to a terrible attack resulting in major loss of life. :(

"The police, security services and CPS have done an excellent job in bringing these people to justice." 8-) :P :) :D

Sue Hemming, from the Crown Prosecution Service (CPS), said the plot had been sophisticated and calculated to create a terrorist attack event of "global proportions".

"The CPS is committed to prosecuting to the full extent of the law those who would use terror to try to achieve their aims, whatever their motivation and their perceived justification," she said. 8-) :!:

"This trial has been another demonstration of that commitment." :P 8-)

Other defendants

Umar Islam, 31, from Plaistow, east London, was convicted of conspiracy to murder :evil: , but the jury failed to reach a verdict on whether he was involved in a plot to blow up aircraft :o :x . He, like the ringleaders, faces life imprisonment. :P

Three others were found not guilty of plotting to bomb aircraft: Ibrahim Savant, 28, Arafat Khan, 28, Waheed Zaman, 25.

The jury failed to reach verdicts on a more general conspiracy to murder charges against Mr Savant, from Stoke Newington, east London, and Mr Khan and Mr Zaman, both from Walthamstow. The CPS has a week to decide whether to try the men for a third time.

An eighth man, Donald Stewart-Whyte, 23, of High Wycombe, was cleared of all charges. His lawyers have called for an inquiry into why the Muslim convert was prosecuted.

The security services installed a hidden camera 8-) in the Walthamstow bomb factory and saw both Ahmed Ali and Hussain preparing devices and making arrangements for the jihadist suicide videos, recorded in the same property.

The men's defence was that they had been planning a political stunt, including small explosions intended only to frighten people at airports. :lol: :lol: :lol:

These political demonstrations :roll: , they said, would be backed up by a :shock: documentary :shock: they were making about western injustices. :lol: :lol: :lol:

The videos they had made were part of that documentary, they said. No other material from the alleged documentary was ever uncovered. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ok guys challenge from our darling beloved friend Contra.

Now let me ask you all, our friend have a mind set, which shows very clearly, either we accept what he has brought forward on the basis of evidences, which he some how pull up from net or any source, just for the purpose of disturbing few of our friends.

Or

We reply to him not in his language, "which actually expressing, how simple is for him to disturb our friends at any time" but so politely and friendly language , which will not find him any escape, except feel him sorry for this aggression.

Ball in your court.

Regards.

contra said:
Source: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/8242238.stm
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Three men have been found guilty of plotting to kill thousands of people by blowing up planes flying from London to America with home-made liquid bombs.

A Woolwich Crown Court jury convicted
a) :evil: Abdulla Ahmed Ali :evil: , 28;
b) :evil: Tanvir Hussain :evil: , 28; and
c) :evil: Assad Sarwar :evil: , 29,
of conspiring to activate bombs disguised as drinks. :shock:

Four other men were found not guilty of involvement in the suicide bomb plot.

The arrests in August 2006 caused chaos to international aviation and prompted the current restrictions on liquids.

The jury heard that at the time of his arrest, plot ringleader :evil: Ahmed Ali :evil: had identified seven US and Canada-bound flights to blow up over the Atlantic within a two-and-a-half-hour period.

They were flights from London's Heathrow airport to
a) San Francisco,
b) Washington,
c) New York,
d) Chicago,
e) Toronto, and
f) Montreal.
Had the planes taken to the air with bombers on board, there would have been little chance of saving them. :o :(

His "quartermaster", Sarwar, had secured bomb ingredients at his home and in woods in High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire. A flat in the Walthamstow area of east London became the bomb factory. :evil:

There the men put together a special home-made mixture of chemicals that they planned to take onto planes in ordinary sports drinks bottles stored within hand luggage. Ahmed Ali, of Walthamstow, Hussain, of Leyton, east London, and Sarwar had been found guilty previously of a conspiracy to murder involving liquid bombs. :x

The jury in that first trial could not decide whether their plans extended to detonating the devices on planes. But a second jury was convinced. :D :P

The plot became the biggest terror investigation in the UK and intelligence officers believe it was directed by al-Qaeda figures in Pakistan ;) .

The BBC understands that the key contact for the plotters was a British man, :evil: Rashid Rauf :evil: , now thought to be dead.

'Daring plot'

Security officials on both sides of the Atlantic believe the men wanted to kill thousands in the air and possibly more on the ground in a wave of attacks causing more devastation - and political fall-out - than the 11 September attacks. :o :shock: :(

Home Secretary Alan Johnson welcomed the verdicts, saying: "This case reaffirms that we face a real and serious threat from terrorism."

"This was a particularly complex and daring plot which would have led to a terrible attack resulting in major loss of life. :(

"The police, security services and CPS have done an excellent job in bringing these people to justice." 8-) :P :) :D

Sue Hemming, from the Crown Prosecution Service (CPS), said the plot had been sophisticated and calculated to create a terrorist attack event of "global proportions".

"The CPS is committed to prosecuting to the full extent of the law those who would use terror to try to achieve their aims, whatever their motivation and their perceived justification," she said. 8-) :!:

"This trial has been another demonstration of that commitment." :P 8-)

Other defendants

Umar Islam, 31, from Plaistow, east London, was convicted of conspiracy to murder :evil: , but the jury failed to reach a verdict on whether he was involved in a plot to blow up aircraft :o :x . He, like the ringleaders, faces life imprisonment. :P

Three others were found not guilty of plotting to bomb aircraft: Ibrahim Savant, 28, Arafat Khan, 28, Waheed Zaman, 25.

The jury failed to reach verdicts on a more general conspiracy to murder charges against Mr Savant, from Stoke Newington, east London, and Mr Khan and Mr Zaman, both from Walthamstow. The CPS has a week to decide whether to try the men for a third time.

An eighth man, Donald Stewart-Whyte, 23, of High Wycombe, was cleared of all charges. His lawyers have called for an inquiry into why the Muslim convert was prosecuted.

The security services installed a hidden camera 8-) in the Walthamstow bomb factory and saw both Ahmed Ali and Hussain preparing devices and making arrangements for the jihadist suicide videos, recorded in the same property.

The men's defence was that they had been planning a political stunt, including small explosions intended only to frighten people at airports. :lol: :lol: :lol:

These political demonstrations :roll: , they said, would be backed up by a :shock: documentary :shock: they were making about western injustices. :lol: :lol: :lol:

The videos they had made were part of that documentary, they said. No other material from the alleged documentary was ever uncovered. :lol: :lol: :lol:

I watched a German documentary in 2008 , where they proved that this is impossible to blow a plane in this way..
I do not remember all points but I remember some points....

1.It will takes more than 6 hours to mix those different liquid.
2.This need high concentration during mixing liquid.
3.You can not mix this liquid in plane toilet ( After 30 minutes they will knock your door...;) )
4.I challenge that this is impossible to do this.
5. Maybe those people thought that they would do this but practically this was not possible.

sher_khan

I would love to respond but I fail to understand what point contra is trying to make.

All the accused, apparently, were Brits not Pakistanis. Anyone who is plotting for the deaths of innocent people should be punished. Regardless whether they are Muslims or not. For example, anyone who planned to blow up the Samjhota Express should also be prosecuted and punished.

Investigations should be carried out why the other four accused (who were let go) were ever imprisoned? Were the only reasons they were arrested were pertaining to their appearances and relationship with Islam? There seems to be a lot of anti-Islamic sentiments in England currently. Just recently a 67 year Muslim was killed by teenagers. And on a separate incident a Neo-Nazi was arrested for terror plans. Also a fascist anti-Islamic demonstration took place in England over the weekend, which turned violent. See below:

http://www.ndtv.com/news/diaspora/indian_origin_man_dies_after_racial_attack_in_uk.php

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/8152159.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/west_midlands/8240414.stm

Also it should be disclosed, what methods of questioning were involved in getting all the confessions from the convicted, including the neo-Nazi. I have been reading news papers and learned that in the past cases a lot of confessions were obtained via tortures like water-boarding and also through threats to injure the loved ones of the arrested individuals. In such circumstances any one could confess anything.

Actually similar methods were used against IRA prisoners in the past. On a different note USA is currently investigating the methods used for obtaining the confessions on the Iraqi prisoners and the quality of information obtained through those methods. As it turned out, a lot of information obtained through such methods was wrong.

In the past we have been informed by the same peacekeeping agencies about WMD. This turned out to be false information. Actually turned out be false information from all measures. There is a huge trust deficit. They have to repair the trust bridge by being transparent.

For example, it should be communicated that why do these peacekeeping agencies are using the term believe when stating that the directions are believed to be received for Al-Qaeda in Pakistan? Why cant they say that the instructions were received from Pakistan? Do they have enough evidence? They should share the credible evidence with public. Specially, they should forward it to Pakistans authorities. We, Pakistanis, are already fighting a war in our country to get rid of such radicals and suicide bombers. The info can help us a lot.

In any event its a job well done. I live in Canada, and dont want myself and my family to become a victim of such terrorist plots. Actually, we should arrest all such bombers regardless whether they are killing people in Canada, USA, and Pakistan, India or any place in the world. Including the people who are bombing trains in India, which carry mostly Muslim passengers.

Hence, I dont see what Contra is getting at. Unless of course, if he thinks that all the bad in the world is sowed and harvested by the Muslims.

Is that the point you are making Contra?

sher_khan

Also, I forgot to mention:

Why are so many Brits involved in such incidences? Specialy the young ones. What causes them to design such plans? What xperiences do they go through which makes them to take such steps? Are they emotionally not balanced? What do they watch in England and other parts of the world that influences their actions?

It can't be the Islamic teachings. I and most of the muslim patrons of this website also went through Islamic teachings. We can't even hurt a fly.

sagaciouscorpion

When I mounted the bus in the morning.... everybody looked at me as if I have just landed from Mars... amidst stares and nasty look... perplexed... I took my seat... and looking into the newspaper in the hands of the lady on the front seat... I saw the newspaper main page... with the full size picture of a terrorist... who planned to blow up the planes.... and I understood why everybody was looking at me like this...

I wish I could go straight to airport to catch a flight home... never to return...

contra

I realise that you are hurt by the behaviour of others towards you in the bus.
What I am about to write is just for fun and is meant to be a joke

sagaciouscorpion bhai,

sagaciouscorpion said:
I wish I could go straight to airport to catch a flight home... never to return...

If some "Agency" :? is monitoring this forum and they read your post, they might think that you are a "threat". ;)

contra

spartacus and sher khan bhai's,

Friends you are in denial...
I hope you see the truth. I have never been abroad, never been in Europe, so i have never faced discrimination...but you tell me one thing ---
Isn't life better in Europe, Canada than in Pakistan?

sher_khan

contra said:
I realise that you are a hurt by the behaviour of others towards you in the bus.
What I am about to write is just for fun and is meant to be a joke

sagaciouscorpion bhai,

sagaciouscorpion said:

If some "Agency" :? is monitoring this forum and they read your post, they might think that you are a "threat". ;)

Stop sharp shooting. Obviously he meant to go back home (Pakistan) or some other place in the world where there are no preconcieved notions about the muslims.
People like you breed these notions when they paint misleading meanings to the words utterd by the muslims.

Congratulations. You just contributed to discriminaton. May be you should have attended the fascist demostration in England. But wait a sec.......you are Indian right? Your funny accent and Appu's lookalike features may not allow you to qualify for that demonstration.

The statement above is meant to be funny at your cost. I wonder if you found it funny or not.

taul

contra said:

I hope you see the truth. I have never been abroad, never been in Europe, so i have never faced discrimination...but you tell me one thing ---

---oh please who could be more familiar with the word "Denial" than you 8-) :roll: :lol: ...

--Life sure is better there,the reason these countries are filled with more indians :shock: :shock: :lol: :lol: than us..

---It's a pity you haven't been anywhere :oops: you should, to let out your frustration and get to know things in a much brighter way :P at the sametime get into practice with your usual stuff and be the leader of Goths :evil: :evil:

sagaciouscorpion

contra said:

I had always said... and would always say Inshallah...(it is not because of today...)

No... its not...

Mouj barhay ya andhi ayay.... diya jalay rakhna hai
Gher ki khatir so dukh jhailain ....Gher to akhir apna hai..

cmq07md

Mr. Contra,
Anyone can be deviant and can choose wrong and violent path to retaliate. It has nothing to do with religion or their Pakistani ancestry.
Humans migrate to other places due to many reasons and perceived better quality of life could be one of that reason.
Why do many Indians migrate to other countries? Whatever is the answer, the same applies to Pakistanis.
Dear all Pakistani brothers and sisters, we must not make fun and say bad things about Hindus and Indians specially in this holy month of Ramadan and I believe that our religion doesn't teach us to use such language.
The Question I would like to put to Mr. Contra is about to look into history and read about Air India flight 182 bombing (kanishka Bombing) on June 23, 1985. The suspects' names were:
* Talwinder Singh Parmar
* Inderjit Singh Reyat
* Ripudaman Singh Malik
* Ajaib Singh Bagri
* Surjan Singh Gill
* Hardial Singh Johal
* Manmohan Singh
* Daljit Sandhu
* Lakhbir Singh Brar Rode
Do these names sound familiar? These all were sikhs and some were found guilty later, they all were Indians. They wanted to retaliate for Sikh riots of 1984. Now does it prove that every Sikh and every Indian henceforth is a terrorist?

Mr. Contra, your natural aversion to islam as a whole is not a commendable act. I hope, your knowledge, religion, and education doesn't teach you such things. Get beyond narrow vision and work towards improving human kind as a whole.

contra said:

As you wrote >>>>I hope you see the truth.<<<<
My question is ....Is it possible practicaly ?? Answer is >>>No ......So , who is in denial ???

As you wrote >>>>I have never been abroad, never been in Europe, so i have never faced discrimination<<<

To face any type of discrimination you do not need to be abroad. Discrimination has many faces and many types.

In my university whenever we gave our Student Party ticket to South Indian , then North Indian did not vote to him only because they were South Indian , No Matter Muslim or Hindu ....and the same when our party candidate was from North India then this was almost impossible to get any vote from South Indian students .

Discrimination can be because of colour , race , langauge , hight , beauty , classes , job status , locality status , etc etc
Discrimination is a very big topic ? In my view discrimination may provoke a person to get his big desire.This was the discrimination that a English Man through Mr. Gandhi from First class train becase he was Indian . After this Gandhi understood the need to fight against this and later he was the one of the big leader in South Asia.
Whenever I faced or felt discrimination against me , against my nation , against my race , believe me I reacted very hard. Most of the time I won against those narrow minded people , and they are all over .

I myself faced first discrimination in Pakistan even several times and in EUROPE too , several times.But I always fought for my right and most of the time I won.
Do not we have in India and in Pakistan Black colour discrimination ?? Yes we have ....Why we use Fair and Lovely cream ? To make ourself little white or not ?

As you wrote ....."Isn't life better in Europe, Canada than in Pakistan" and in INDIA ?
Answer is >>>>>its depend person to person and case to case <<<<<

nation1857

sagaciouscorpion said:
When I mounted the bus in the morning.... everybody looked at me as if I have just landed from Mars... amidst stares and nasty look... perplexed... I took my seat... and looking into the newspaper in the hands of the lady on the front seat... I saw the newspaper main page... with the full size picture of a terrorist... who planned to blow up the planes.... and I understood why everybody was looking at me like this...

sagaciouscorpion bhai
i can understand u r feeling i was on biz trip 2 weeks after 911 at usa airport i got the looks also
for few min
then i thought why to worry because this Aapuu can't fly air plane saala.
then they don't think diffrent form you as u also think all indian's r zionest and anti pakistan ;)

sagaciouscorpion

nation1857 said:
sagaciouscorpion said:

sagaciouscorpion bhai
i can understand u r feeling i was on biz trip 2 weeks after 911 at usa airport i got the looks also
for few min
then i thought why to worry because this Aapuu can't fly air plane saala.
then they don't think diffrent form you as u also think all indian's r zionest and anti pakistan ;)

I dont think like that... who said... there are peace loving people in both of the countries......in fact most of them dont want war.... neither Pakistani nor Indians... but unfortunately we walk behind some people who want to create and maintain warlike situation between both the countries... and if you analyze it objectively.... you would see that Indian side has more of such people... even your media is a bit irresponsible...

contra

Spartacus said:
I watched a German documentary in 2008 , where they proved that this is impossible to blow a plane in this way..
I do not remember all points but I remember some points....

1.It will takes more than 6 hours to mix those different liquid.
2.This need high concentration during mixing liquid.
3.You can not mix this liquid in plane toilet ( After 30 minutes they will knock your door... )
4.I challenge that this is impossible to do this.
5. Maybe those people thought that they would do this but practically this was not possible.

What else can be expected from people who still believe that 9/11 was carried out by America and Mumbai carnage was a joint RAW-Mossad operation...???

taul

contra said:
What else can be expected from people who still believe that 9/11 was carried out by America and Mumbai carnage was a joint RAW-Mossad operation...???

---First step's first,,You need to get out and breathe fresh :roll: air to start thinking rationally :P,,let your mind experience the diversity world has to offer :lol: :ugeek:

sher_khan

contra wrote:

Similar to 26,000,000 NRIs, Indeed life is better for the Pakistanis in these countries.
You know the Non-Resident Indians right? These are the ones who play heroes and heroines in your crappy Bollywood movies. India is ashamed to make movies in its own country based on its own culture. It has to import culture from the west.
Dont come up with the argument that why do I wath Indian movies? I dont. But I get their glimpses via trailors on the South Asian Cahnnels. These cannels show both Pakistani and Indian shows.

sher_khan

Contra wrote:

I dont know whether US agencies were involved in 9/11 or not. However, I do know that its a false statement that only people from the east part of the world have such opinions.

Here is the ex-Minnesota governor Jesse Ventura, raising questions about the 9/11. He is a more patriotic American than you and I will ever be.

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ORMuta4JCE[/video]

As far as Mumbai attacks are concerned, I dont know if Pakistan was involved or not. Nor do I know if Indian government planned it by itself. However, I do know that the evidences that your government is forwarding to Pakistan are extremely non-credible. Your home minister in his interview gave anecdotes instead of evidences. He was uttering the dates when people met and where. He also mentioned that peoples names were changed. This is not credible evidence.

How about if I say that on November 21st, at 2:30 AM, Contra met the guy by the name of Avtar Singh (a known criminal) at a house in Chopathi, Mumbai. The house number was XXX (some existing house). There Avtar changed Contras name to Vijay Singh. There they planned the Mumbai attacks and sent the directions to Kasab on how to execute the plan next week.

Would your government arrest you on such evidence? If yes, then for how long?

In order for the evidence to be admissible in a court of law it has to be credible. Accounts of witnesses willing to come forward, videos, audio recordings and bank transaction records can be credible evidences. India should provide such evidences to Pakistani authorities. After all, I am a Pakistani. If there are any Pakistanis who dont have the mandate from the Pakistani people and they are trying to start a war with India without the go ahead of the Pakistani nation, I want them to be brought to justice and be punished by the Pakistani government. They put the lives of all the Pakistanis at risk through their actions.

For your convenience I am posting two clips here.

The first one is your Home ministers reading the evidences forwarded to Pakistan, to an interviewer. It is embarrassing to hear his words and arguments. His evidence has no credibility. This is not a low standard Bollywood movie. Its a real world. He has to come up with intelligent evidence.

The second clip is an example of good evidence. A video clip of an Indian terrorist who has killed many muslims in India. He has also named few government people who gave him a green light to perform these atrocities. This video clip is public knowledge but the governmental culprits are still living at large. The Indian hypocrisy knows no boundaries.

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-JLN1S8lwjg&feature=channel_page[/video]

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7Jq_zb9x8s[/video]

contra

sher khan bhai,

Like i said earlier...What else can be expected from people who still believe that 9/11 was carried out by America and Mumbai carnage was a joint RAW-Mossad operation...???

1. Jesse Ventura---
Friend, this gentleman is giving his opinion and is being critical of the government. What he is saying about the "Black Box" etc. is something he has heard from another person who was working on the WTC site.
This is his opinion. What are you trying to prove? There have been many reports claiming that 9/11 was an inside job, and these have been refuted. Also, Khalid Sheikh Mohammad, the master mind behind 9/11 has been apprehended.
You are free to believe in conspiracy theories.
http://www.popularmechanics.com/technol ... tml?page=1

2. bhai, your own Interior Advisor, Mr. Rehman Malik has accepted on TV that the Mumbai attacks were planned in Pakistan, that the people who carried out the attack were Pakistanis and they were trained in Pakistan.

Your channel Geo TV, in its investigative report, showed the house where the group stayed and the neighbours confirmed it.
Ajmal Kasab's house was also shown by the news channels. What tricks your government played is for all to see.

3. Indian Home minister---
What he is reading, are good leads and this is something your investigative agencies should definitely look at. Like the house shown by Geo TV, it did provide some important information etc.

You can definitely check whether what is being said, is it true or not or is there a possibility that something like this had happened.

How about if I say that on November 21st, at 2:30 AM, Contra met the guy by the name of Avtar Singh (a known criminal) at a house in Chopathi, Mumbai. The house number was XXX (some existing house). There Avtar changed Contras name to Vijay Singh. There they planned the Mumbai attacks and sent the directions to Kasab on how to execute the plan next week.

Would your government arrest you on such evidence? If yes, then for how long

Atleast we would go to the above mentioned places, try and investigate further...