India's poverty will fall from 51% to 22% by 2015: UN report

IndiaGuy

UNITED NATIONS/NEW DELHI: As many as 320 million people in India and China are expected to come out of extreme poverty in the next four years, while India's poverty rate is projected to drop to 22%, says a UN report.

The UN Millennium Development Goals Report, however, suggested that even though progress has been made in reducing poverty, Southern Asia continues to lag in terms of nutrition, sanitation and gender equality.

"In Southern Asia, however, only India, where the poverty rate is projected to fall from 51% in 1990 to about 22% in 2015, is on track to cut poverty in half by the 2015 target date," the report said.

Those living on less than $1.25 a day are considered poor.

Talking to reporters in New Delhi today, UN World Food Programme's representative and country director Mihoko Tamamura said, "Despite impressive economic growth in India in the last few years, inequalities persist among people based on class, gender and cast."

"If India does not meet Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), the world will not...," she noted.

According to the report, China and India combined, the number of people living in extreme poverty between 1990 and 2005 declined by about 455 million, and additional 320 million people are expected to come out poverty by 2015.

BrotherKantu

Poverty cannot be eliminated in India without eliminating cast system. Indian cast system is 5000 years old. SO,, wait few more hundred years.

I am impressed. I am so happy. I will celebrate. I am so excited. ..............
What else do you want to listen. Okay, "chal dorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr......." Owl's muscle"

concern_paki

Yes man, at least India does not have the politicians like Pakistan....they show some sincerity with the country as well. No doubt, they have very strong education system there, they are growing very faster and what we are doing. killing our own people. Bloodshed is everywhere in Karachi, who one cares, no matter they are striving for the show off their power, no matter which political party, which politicians, whatever. They kill innocent people like cows and goats, its a human massacre, while other nations are growing, looking forward to secure their future, their generations, while we kill our selves, whatever is saved got killed by Taliban, others are due to some various crimes. Where we are going man. Leave India, they are far far ahead of us. I think within 2015 it would be hard for us to compare with some of the African country. You are talking about India and China. Those are the super powers of the future and not only the future but also today as well up-to some extent. Awake from your sweet dream. Its NOW OR NEVER GUYS !!!!!!!!!!!!!

this might be possible but this is a siasat.pk no siasat.in .. here we discuss pakistani politics... so why post an indian news here????

on the other hand.. why i see this posible is mostly all contractors in the company i work in are from india and that too are people who have rural background where their parents were farmers or carpenters etc... they children migrated to local cities near by got the education which is cheap.. got jobs is companies like tata consultancy etc which has contracts all over the world to supply human resource.... and now they are sending remittances back...

it makes me feel sad there is no such company in pakistan where there is soo much IT talent....

this might be possible but this is a siasat.pk no siasat.in .. here we discuss pakistani politics... so why post an indian news here????

on the other hand.. why i see this posible is mostly all contractors in the company i work in are from india and that too are people who have rural background where their parents were farmers or carpenters etc... they children migrated to local cities near by got the education which is cheap.. got jobs is companies like tata consultancy etc which has contracts all over the world to supply human resource.... and now they are sending remittances back...

it makes me feel sad there is no such company in pakistan where there is soo much IT talent....
Well you are right, this site is .pk and not .in......now there are many threads started which always show India in negative light i.e. poverty, etc. I am not sure , but that could be the reason for the op to have posted this news.

altough indian poverty level will fall but the actual number of poors will increase.
indian guy ...use some brain...if any

Well this a result of seriousness of Indians towards India and Indians............Apart from many differences, I do appreciate their professionalism.........and.................unity within their community.

only_truths

Well this a result of seriousness of Indians towards India and Indians............Apart from many differences, I do appreciate their professionalism.........and.................unity within their community.

Thanks Abbasali bhai. I was grown watching this video

UNITED NATIONS/NEW DELHI: As many as 320 million people in India and China are expected to come out of extreme poverty in the next four years, while India's poverty rate is projected to drop to 22%, says a UN report.
.....................................................................................................................................................
According to the report, China and India combined, the number of people living in extreme poverty between 1990 and 2005 declined by about 455 million, and additional 320 million people are expected to come out poverty by 2015.

It is a very good news, if the benefit trickles down to the people below poverty lines and the oily branches are not gulped by the big monster.

But one thing must be kept in mind that Indian boom is due to the cheap labor for Western corporations and companies (Globalists). Moreover, the real unemployment rate in USA and Europe is nearing 20% instead of officially announced figure. And the middle class unrest in west due to loss of jobs and financial crisis is not far away. No sooner does the same unrest reaches a certain level, Globalists shall be forced to bring employment opportunities back in their homes. That could prove Indian boom just a balloon which needs a little prick.

It is a very good news, if the benefit trickles down to the people below poverty lines and the oily branches are not gulped by the big monster.

But one thing must be kept in mind that Indian boom is due to the cheap labor for Western corporations and companies (Globalists). Moreover, the real unemployment rate in USA and Europe is nearing 20% instead of officially announced figure. And the middle class unrest in west due to loss of jobs and financial crisis is not far away. No sooner does the same unrest reaches a certain level, Globalists shall be forced to bring employment opportunities back in their homes. That could prove Indian boom just a balloon which needs a little prick.

My Dear, again you have to appreciate the hard and smart work by Indians, they have convert wealth direction towards their country and beneficiaries are their own Indian Public.............so what ever will happen to US, Europe etc etc, its all because of great and honest policy of Indian towards India and Indian............no matter, whatever the argument you will debate........concrete reality cannot be denied........whole conclusion is they are working as Indian...not living in world of fantasy, and are not being fooled by individuals in the name of religion, as well as in the name of ethnicity, they are not scattered and are not dying for individuals.

Today when I call for any multi national global companies, like Microsoft, Bell, Roger, sys-link etc etc....all my calls end up at Indian station and they provide service, which money can buy........so I don't think we have any one good reason to controvize this story of success. Should learn lesson, how to get united first and then set goals to achieve.

My Dear, again you have to appreciate the hard and smart work by Indians, they have convert wealth direction towards their country and beneficiaries are their own Indian Public.............so what ever will happen to US, Europe etc etc, its all because of great and honest policy of Indian towards India and Indian............no matter, whatever the argument you will debate........concrete reality cannot be denied........whole conclusion is they are working as Indian...not living in world of fantasy, and are not being fooled by individuals in the name of religion, as well as in the name of ethnicity, they are not scattered and are not dying for individuals.

Today when I call for any multi national global companies, like Microsoft, Bell, Roger, sys-link etc etc....all my calls end up at Indian station and they provide service, which money can buy........so I don't think we have any one good reason to controvize this story of success. Should learn lesson, how to get united first and then set goals to achieve.

[MENTION=6265]Bret Hawk[/MENTION], [MENTION=5021]biomat[/MENTION], [MENTION=9841]faiza[/MENTION], [MENTION=8825]gazoomartian[/MENTION], [MENTION=11980]c4cheema[/MENTION], [MENTION=12754]cefspan[/MENTION], [MENTION=18476]maksyed[/MENTION]
These are truths one cannot deny. But U cannot have this even if U become Turkey to get membership of Europe. Economics and brotherhood come side by side. Yes of course if U are ready to forsake your faith (as told by Allah (SWT)) only then U have some slightest chance and adopt those practices which are not allowed by UR lord. U know Porn Industry is the most lucrative. And tourism is also so if U provide their desired luxury/facilities and what are these U know better.

In this regard the biggest deception and hypocrisy is segregating religion from business, underneath which they do all the damage. Apparently, they preach this but in reality they are hardcore religious fanatics and their everything is based on their deep beliefs. All the multinational corporations of the bankers are working on strict religious agenda. And any truth which exposes them is rejected as "Conspiracy Theory" and the mental pygmy and stooges among us blow this trumpet even more loudly as they themselves do.

Many simpletons and morons among us are made to believe that they have forsaken religions as it is hindrance in the progress. So we must not compare ourselves with them in their mockeries. In case we are believers in Allah (SWT) then we must believe in the guidance provided by HIM (SWT) not partially but as a whole.
The sorry state of affairs we are in, is the fruit of the trees which they sew in early 20th century when Khilafat was destroyed due to our incompetence and Muslims states were balkanized into tiny harmless states like Abu Dhabi, Dubai and the likes. Let us have guidance from Allah (SWT) and adopt ourselves to exist in the current state with Hikmat. And work for the betterment of Ummah. The "Ummah" is a world most ridiculed and laughed out by the morons and stooges among us on the agenda of the Globalists. But By Allah (SWT) whomsoever has been firm in his belief in HIM (SWT) has been given the "Istqaamat" . May Allah (SWT) guide us all.

Religion???????????????????..........what has that got to do with this thread?.............(hmm)

jagbani

i am not agree with this report... Indian poverty haven't fallen down but the thing is .. richer are more richer and poor are more poorer in India ... yes after swiss bank indian money transfer to india i am sure india will be richer country but for now India is poor still country

[MENTION=6265]Bret Hawk[/MENTION], [MENTION=5021]biomat[/MENTION], [MENTION=9841]faiza[/MENTION], [MENTION=8825]gazoomartian[/MENTION], [MENTION=11980]c4cheema[/MENTION], [MENTION=12754]cefspan[/MENTION], [MENTION=18476]maksyed[/MENTION]
These are truths one cannot deny. But U cannot have this even if U become Turkey to get membership of Europe. Economics and brotherhood come side by side. Yes of course if U are ready to forsake your faith (as told by Allah (SWT)) only then U have some slightest chance and adopt those practices which are not allowed by UR lord. U know Porn Industry is the most lucrative. And tourism is also so if U provide their desired luxury/facilities and what are these U know better.

In this regard the biggest deception and hypocrisy is segregating religion from business, underneath which they do all the damage. Apparently, they preach this but in reality they are hardcore religious fanatics and their everything is based on their deep beliefs. All the multinational corporations of the bankers are working on strict religious agenda. And any truth which exposes them is rejected as "Conspiracy Theory" and the mental pygmy and stooges among us blow this trumpet even more loudly as they themselves do.

Many simpletons and morons among us are made to believe that they have forsaken religions as it is hindrance in the progress. So we must not compare ourselves with them in their mockeries. In case we are believers in Allah (SWT) then we must believe in the guidance provided by HIM (SWT) not partially but as a whole.
The sorry state of affairs we are in, is the fruit of the trees which they sew in early 20th century when Khilafat was destroyed due to our incompetence and Muslims states were balkanized into tiny harmless states like Abu Dhabi, Dubai and the likes. Let us have guidance from Allah (SWT) and adopt ourselves to exist in the current state with Hikmat. And work for the betterment of Ummah. The "Ummah" is a world most ridiculed and laughed out by the morons and stooges among us on the agenda of the Globalists. But By Allah (SWT) whomsoever has been firm in his belief in HIM (SWT) has been given the "Istqaamat" . May Allah (SWT) guide us all.

Masha Allah, Dear Wadaich, I appreciate all of your above mentioned concerns, but due all respect, not a single words make sense to this thread, or make it short, you have gone out of the topic.

My friend have some flexibility in your self, if you need to learn, then you have to be smart enough to deal with your rivals, keep an eye on their success stories and do your own accountability, and find the reasons why were you not successful then your rival.

My dear Religion is the most important part in every single person's life, unfortunately my daily experience has been so bitter, except majority of Muslims, all are practicing on their religion and are successful. To learn this fact, you need to be flexible. Unfortunately we as Pakistani in general and Muslim in particular are far away from our Religion practices and refrain to full requirements of National responsibilities. either Pakistanis are living local or overseas their general attitude is so careless towards Pakistan & Religion, which has been the main reason of Pakistan decline.............Only thing which we do together as united Pakistani Nation all over the world, we hate each other.

Anyways I have simply replied to your post, but will appreciate if you will remain on topic and could argue and analyse this wonderful achievement of India and Indians.:):):)

Poverty cannot be eliminated in India without eliminating cast system. Indian cast system is 5000 years old. SO,, wait few more hundred years.

The way things are it wouldnt take that long yaar. Very soon inshaAllah we shall conquer India and reestablish the Islamic justice system.

Justice for One and Justice for All, the Islamic Way