Rs.1 lakh crore ($22 billion) treasure discovered in secret vaults of Kerala temple - Hun Fer Mojaan

lotaa

By Indo Asian News Service, IANS
Thiruvananthapuram, July 3 (IANS) The erstwhile royal family of Travancore in Kerala is thrilled that valuables worth thousands of crores have been discovered in the chambers of a temple it manages.

A Supreme Court appointed committee is opening six chambers in the Sri Padmanabhaswamy temple and making an inventory of the stock.

The unofficial estimate of the gems and jewellery found in the chambers, two of which have not been openned for nearly 150 years, is Rs.1 lakh crore ($22 billion).

The head of the royal family of Travancore, Uthradom Thirunal Marthanda Varma, was tight lipped on the discovery and said: 'I have nothing to say on this because one has to abide by the ruling of the apex court.'

Varma is the managing trustee of the trust that runs the temple.

The task of making the inventory began Monday and five chambers have been opened.

One of the members of the royal family said: 'How many royal families in the country can be proud of keeping things like this? You should understand that two chambers out of the six have not been opened for more than 150 years and it there that the treasure trove has been kept safely.

'Tomorrow (Monday), one of the chamber that has already been opened will be checked again. The chamber B is left. One committee members has gone to Delhi to get the instructions on how to open the chamber B,' the royal family member told IANS.

The stock-taking process was ordered by the Supreme Court following a petition by advocate T.P. Sundararajan over mismanagement of the temple affairs.

Meanwhile, Kerala Chief Minister Oommen Chandy has called a high-level meeting Sunday evening to discuss the issue of providing fool proof security to the temple in the light of the revelation of the treasure trove.http://en.news.maktoob.com/20090000856400/Kerala_royals_thrilled_at_treasure_discovery/Article.htm

only_truths

Re: Hun Fer Mojaan e Mojaan,India,Kerala royals thrilled at treasure discovery

Britishers may be very sad ,that they could not plunder these golds from this temple!!

You forgot to mention that before Britishers, how much wealth Ghazni would have taken back after attacking Somnath temple for 18 times? How much the subsequent Mughal rulers would have plundered. Poor Britishers, they had to content with left overs?

aasimnaveed

You forgot to mention that before Britishers, how much wealth Ghazni would have taken back after attacking Somnath temple for 18 times? How much the subsequent Mughal rulers would have plundered. Poor Britishers, they had to content with left overs?

thats the law in them days ... if you win MAAL_E_GHANEEMAT is yours ... weather its GOLD or SILVER or CURRENCY ... dont cry man ... enjoy ur wealth ...

hans

Prof. Dharma Kumar of the Delhi School of Economics, he goes on to quote the first volume of the Cambridge Economic History of India, which says that “a tiny ruling group consisting of the Mughal Emperor and 8,000 or so nobles (of a total population of 100 million ) actually collected over half to one-third of the GNP as revenue.” According to the US economist Raymond Goldsmith, the income appropriated by the top group in Mughal India was the highest known to man. The only exceptions were the Egyptian and Mesopotamian theocracies.

Mohd. bin Qasim robbed Sind of 630 million dirhams in the 11th century. Mahmud Ghazni raided India 17 times to loot temples and palaces. The sultanates sent looting expeditions to the south. On the invasion of Ghazni, Nehru writes: “From Thaneswar he took away, it is said, 200,000 captives (for sale) and vast wealth. But it was at Somnath that he got the most, for this was one of the great temples and the offerings of centuries had accumulated there.

and we should not forget Nadir Shah... Muslim looting Muslims......

Nadir Shah entered Delhi as a victor on 9th March, 1739. He demanded 2.5 million Rupees as retribution, but the Rangila Emperor had nothing in his government treasury. He threw open his personal safe of jewels, and Nadir availed himself of all the diamonds and rubies of the Peacock Throne, and also the famous Koh-i-noor.
He left Delhi at the beginning of May 1739, taking with him a few thousand Indian girls (both Hindu and Muslim), a large number of boys as slaves and thousands of elephants, horses and camels loaded with the booty his men had collected. The hollow shell that made up the Mughal empire had been smashed open by Nadir Shah with one sweep, and the Sikhs quickly moved in to collect the broken pieces.

image.jpg

Congratulations to Indians. I hope that the poor and down trodden would have their due share.

I hope so too but poor will remain poor,rich will get richer, no matter where

I sincerely pray that the SC takes away all the wealth makes it the property of the India Treasury and from there politician can steal it lol

only_truths

Wealth will remain with temple trust and they will spend the money on free food and other charitable work!!

When I grew up in the laps of my grand father he used to tell me stories about how temples in India have wealth. People who have excess wealth or have no inherent donate wealth in cash, gold or land to temples which in turn invest them to run the temples. Like making paddy from the lands donated or even the cows donated to make goshalas and sell milk. Beyond the requirement of running the temples was given back to locals in terms of free food at regular intervals during the days who visit temples as prasad.

Raheem

Yes Ghazni attaccked somnath and you were unable to defend it, yaad aya kuch,

dil-se-desi

Yes Ghazni attaccked somnath and you were unable to defend it, yaad aya kuch,

It is 700 to 800 year old incident (somnath temple
Episode) and we still remember that ...but look like

U forget 40 year old incident ( not very old) of Dhaka
Fall...thats why u ppl are repeating same mistakes .

Ghajni was a pirate and what type of Islam he brought
With him that u ppl glorify even today is subject of
Justification based on human intellect.

dil-se-desi

When I grew up in the laps of my grand father he used to tell me stories about how temples in India have wealth. People who have excess wealth or have no inherent donate wealth in cash, gold or land to temples which in turn invest them to run the temples. Like making paddy from the lands donated or even the cows donated to make goshalas and sell milk. Beyond the requirement of running the temples was given back to locals in terms of free food at regular intervals during the days who visit temples as prasad.

That's true that temples use to be very wealthy
That's what Muslim invaders target that time.
In almost every city and town they looted temple
,destroyed it and build mosque over that.
Read history for facts..nothing prejudice .
It is that era Hindus build small temples at home
And prayed at home.
If Hinduism has one centre of power like mecca of Muslims
Or Vatican of Christians ..and if they were violent would
Have been vanished.but small guerilla wars like
Rana pratap,shivajimaratha,Sikh movement,and so on kept them
(Muslim rulers) engaged that prevent mass conversion.

Muslim invaders with 5 or 6 ft heights wanted to conquer
The people with spirits to the heights of himalayas.

sangeen

If there were no hindu atrocities against the few Muslims in india, the Muslim rulers would have never attacked you..... its your philosophy of "BAGHAL MAE CHURI" that made you the punching bag of Muslim rulers.....

So you accept the Fall of Dhaka was india's plan, it means our Army at that time was innocent and the false flag operations against Bangalis were carried out by hindu army.....

Well we have'nt forgot Dhaka and we will never forget your current atrocities in Balochistan and Sawat Valley...... This cunning behaviour will make you again the punching bag of Muslims, just wait n see....... We will equalize everything with one attack and after that hindustan and hinduism will be history........

The so called Bombay attacks which you blamed on Pakistan and your vegi commandos took 3 days to release the seige, they won't be able to release the seige if Pakistan do it in real...... it will remain for eternity inshallah......

sangeen

If there were no hindu atrocities against the few Muslims in india, the Muslim rulers would have never attacked you..... its your philosophy of "BAGHAL MAE CHURI" that made you the punching bag of Muslim rulers.....

So you accept the Fall of Dhaka was india's plan, it means our Army at that time was innocent and the false flag operations against Bangalis were carried out by hindu army.....

Well we have'nt forgot Dhaka and we will never forget your current atrocities in Balochistan and Sawat Valley...... This cunning behaviour will make you again the punching bag of Muslims, just wait n see....... We will equalize everything with one attack and after that hindustan and hinduism will be history........

The so called Bombay attacks which you blamed on Pakistan and your vegi commandos took 3 days to release the seige, they won't be able to release the seige if Pakistan do it in real...... it will remain for eternity inshallah......

Raheem

Its your opinion that he was a pirate, even if he was, which i do not think, he was able to defeat India and Hindus could not defend it, he attacked you 18 times and you could not defeat him once, we have ruled you for more than 1000 years.

bravo

Its your opinion that he was a pirate, even if he was, which i do not think, he was able to defeat India and Hindus could not defend it, he attacked you 18 times and you could not defeat him once, we have ruled you for more than 1000 years,

you are mistaken...it was part of india which war ruled by afgani invaders!!You were never one of them !!We rajputs,sikhs gave them bad time and we didnt want our india to become polluted and we supported british over the drugged muslim rulers!!Finally we have the land!!