Questions for TALAT (Self proclaimed clean journalist)

dissident

erotimatiko.jpg

i watched your reply to Najam sethi's whatever .. but while describing Stratfort you forgot to mention its biggest aim .. " Intelligence Gathering company " .. my question is why you forgot to mention such important thing ?

Another question . you also fail to mention the background of Stratfor ? whose the founder of company ? and who are the partners ..

aab since your such a honest journalist and you forgot such big things .. ajeeb hai na ? right ?

let me share few interesting facts with the Massiah of Journalism janab Ala martbat Talat Hussain sb and followers of Massiah

im going to quote few para's from a article and giving links to read full article.

What is Stratfor?
Stratfor was founded over a decade ago in Austin, Texas by George Friedman, a former political science professor. Friedman is the company’s chief intelligence officer, financial overseer, and CEO.
Presenting himself as a “best selling author” on the company’s About Us page, Friedman has a history of working on matters of security and defense with the American military, as well as other institutions like the notorious RAND Corporation.

A self-proclaimed disciple of neo-conservative icons such as Leo Strauss, Friedman has routinely emphasized the "jihadist threat" of al-Qaeda. Indeed, the forecast report compiled by members of Stratfor for the decade between 2005 and 2015 is mainly concerned with the prominence of the United States as a global hegemonic power and its conflict with al-Qaeda [1].

Sources: The Double-edged Sword

Certainly, some type of relationship exists between Stratfor and official security agencies, particularly within the United States. A number of internal emails circulated within Stratfor have attachments of internal, albeit unclassified, documents from the FBI and other agencies [2]. Digging further within the leaked emails may provide more concrete evidence of such a direct link.

The organization is structured like a pyramid. At the top, as noted, are the Friedmans and Burton who make the decisions. Below them are Watch Officers (WOs) who comb over the various sources of intelligence for any significant value. Next are analysts, also at times called “handlers,” employees that discuss and scrutinize intelligence, and are tasked with finding and building up relations with individuals in order to exploit information. Finally, at the base are sources. (See details in box below).

Full Read here : http://english.al-akhbar.com/node/4591/

what Wikipedia say about the Stratfor ... here is the first para of introduction

Strategic Forecasting, Inc., more commonly known as Stratfor, is a global intelligence company founded in 1996 in Austin, Texas by George Friedman who is the founder, chief intelligence officer, and CEO of the company. Fred Burton is Stratfor's Vice President for Counterterrorism and Corporate Security.

full read here : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stratfor

im sorry guys i know i just broke one of your idol .. but what should i do when these simple facts are available on simple GOOGLE SEARCH ..

mrk123

what Wikipedia say about the Stratfor ... here is the first para of introduction

Strategic Forecasting, Inc., more commonly known as Stratfor, is a global intelligence company founded in 1996 in Austin, Texas by George Friedman who is the founder, chief intelligence officer, and CEO of the company. Fred Burton is Stratfor's Vice President for Counterterrorism and Corporate Security.

im sorry guys i know i just broke one of your idol .. but what should i do when these simple facts are available on simple GOOGLE SEARCH ..

This is funny you presented your own evidence and then declared victory and started a victory lap. Not so quick my friend.

Not sure quoting an obscure website, that I am sure not many may have heard of before, proves Talat's guilt or otherwise.

Secondly you quoted Wikipedia entry and within the entry itself there is something that takes the air out of your claims. From the wikipedia you took the line where it says Global Intelligence company and claimed a slam dunk. Man! it says intelligence! Thats the proof we need - case closed. Not so fast.

Here is the Wikipedia entry if you click on global intelligence:

Private intelligence agency

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

[TABLE="class: metadata plainlinks ambox ambox-content ambox-Refimprove, width: 1"]
[TR]
[TD="class: mbox-image, align: center"]
50px-Question_book-new.svg.png
[/TD]
[TD="class: mbox-text"]This article needs additional citations for verification. Please help improve this article by adding citations to reliable sources. Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. (November 2011)[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
A private intelligence agency is a private sector (non-governmental) organization devoted to the collection and analysis of information, most commonly through the evaluation of public sources (OSINT or Open Source INTelligence) and cooperation with other institutions.[SUP][1][/SUP] Some private agencies make their services available to governments as well as individual consumers; however, most of these agencies sell their services to large corporations with an interest or investment in the category (e.g. crime, disease, corruption, etc.) or the region (e.g. Middle East, Vietnam,Prague, etc.).[SUP][citation needed][/SUP] Some private agencies also provide related services, such as security personnel, surveillance equipment, medical evacuation or traveler's insurance.[SUP][citation needed][/SUP]

Doesn't sound that ominous does it?

imyrathore

@dissident; @mrk123 - Thanks for the post @mrk123 - great response as always. One thing i will add is that Talat was very clear that the deal was done not by him as an individual journalist rather it was with AAJ TV parent company and the deal was signed by the AAJ TV Boss - it was clearly a business to business deal to share information and analysis. By the way @dissident you may want to look up the word intelligence in the dictionary because not every1 who is collecting it is an international spy. In the west and i'm sure in Pak as well you have many companies who collate local intelligence and then sell ther analysis to any1 for a price. I understand the great ghazi Zahid Hamid is also in this business.

dissident

This is funny you presented your own evidence and then declared victory and started a victory lap. Not so quick my friend.

Not sure quoting an obscure website, that I am sure not may have heard of before, proves Talat's guilt or otherwise.

Secondly you quoted Wikipedia entry and within the entry itself there is something that takes the air out of your claims. From the wikipedia you took the line where it says Global Intelligence company and claimed a slam dunk. Man! it says intelligence! Thats the proof we need - case closed. Not so fast.

Here is the Wikipedia entry if you click on global intelligence:

Private intelligence agency

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

[TABLE="class: metadata plainlinks ambox ambox-content ambox-Refimprove, width: 1"]
[TR]
[TD="class: mbox-image, align: center"]
50px-Question_book-new.svg.png
[/TD]
[TD="class: mbox-text"]This article needs additional citations for verification. Please help improve this article by adding citations to reliable sources. Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. (November 2011)[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
A private intelligence agency is a private sector (non-governmental) organization devoted to the collection and analysis of information, most commonly through the evaluation of public sources (OSINT or Open Source INTelligence) and cooperation with other institutions.[SUP][1][/SUP] Some private agencies make their services available to governments as well as individual consumers; however, most of these agencies sell their services to large corporations with an interest or investment in the category (e.g. crime, disease, corruption, etc.) or the region (e.g. Middle East, Vietnam,Prague, etc.).[SUP][citation needed][/SUP] Some private agencies also provide related services, such as security personnel, surveillance equipment, medical evacuation or traveler's insurance.[SUP][citation needed][/SUP]

Doesn't sound that ominous does it?

open source intelligence ? lol .. yet talat failed to mention that part in his program .. sound suspicious ? lol

falcons

Dono NS (Nawaz Sharif, Najam Sethi) ki favour ma newbie he kio aty han..??? (clap)(clap)(clap)(clap) Paisa bolta ha bhai

luckyguy

I think We should have a Free Media Debate between Talat and NS

How about that Guys...

Pani ka Pani aur Dood ka DOod ..

send NS twitter message...

I think the neutral forum will be Nadeem Malik

UKPakistani

@TS

If it is so top secretive and spying stuff

why are they offering thisto anyone ?

You’ll receive 2 weekly reports on the world’s most pressing geopolitical and security events. No account registration is necessary. Just enter your email address and you’ll begin receiving our FREE emailed reports.

mrk123

Here we go again - not sure whats in your post that you are getting this giddy about.

Anyway, for suspicious minds and conspiracy theorists even the simple event of the milkman delivering milk in the morning to a particular household would be highly conspiratorial :-)

Here it goes again.....

Open Source Intelligence, oooooh! so secretive and so intriguing and definitely so suspicious!

Lets google it - or better yet since you are a wkipedia fan lets check the Wikipedia entry for it - Open Source Intelligence:

Open-source intelligenceFrom Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Open-source intelligence (OSINT) is a form of
intelligence collection management that involves finding, selecting, and acquiring information from publicly available sources and analyzing it to produce actionable intelligence. In the intelligence community (IC), the term "open" refers to overt, publicly available sources (as opposed to covert or classified sources); it is not related to open-source software or public intelligence

Once again, doesn't sound that ominous or conspiratorial, does it? ;)

I am not going into what Talat said since this whole thing is so ridiculous and made out to be something sinister which it is not.

First of all there is no valid proof that Stratfor provides intelligence to the CIA and second this is from Stratfor's website:

About Us

Stratfor is a subscription-based provider of geopolitical analysis. Individual and corporate subscribers gain a thorough understanding of international affairs, including what’s happening, why it’s happening, and what will happen next.
Unlike traditional news outlets, Stratfor uses a unique, intelligence-based approach to gathering information via rigorous open-source monitoring and a global network of human sources. Analysts then evaluate events looking through the objective lens of geopolitics. Our goal is simple: to make the complexity of the world understandable to an intelligent readership, without ideology, agenda or national bias.

• Founded in 1996 by bestselling author George Friedman
  • Headquartered in Austin, Texas
  • Privately owned
  • Publishes analysis via a subscribers-only website and customized email updates
  • Subscribers range from military officers to investment professionals, from graduate students to retirees
Founder and CEO George Friedman explains the different approaches taken by intelligence analysts and news reporters in covering world events.

This really doesn't sound very ominous, does it? There is nothing that is proven that Talat was conveying information and no money was ever exchanged plus the deal was between the Business Recorder company and Stratfor and not with an individual.

I think it will be very silly on everyone's part to drag this out much longer.
Though we can continue to play this game as long as you wish ;-)

@imyrathore

open source intelligence ? lol .. yet talat failed to mention that part in his program .. sound suspicious ? lol

jangjoo786

erotimatiko.jpg

i watched your reply to Najam sethi's whatever .. but while describing Stratfort you forgot to mention its biggest aim .. " Intelligence Gathering company " .. my question is why you forgot to mention such important thing ?

Another question . you also fail to mention the background of Stratfor ? whose the founder of company ? and who are the partners ..

aab since your such a honest journalist and you forgot such big things .. ajeeb hai na ? right ?

let me share few interesting facts with the Massiah of Journalism janab Ala martbat Talat Hussain sb and followers of Massiah

im going to quote few para's from a article and giving links to read full article.

What is Stratfor?
Stratfor was founded over a decade ago in Austin, Texas by George Friedman, a former political science professor. Friedman is the companys chief intelligence officer, financial overseer, and CEO.
Presenting himself as a best selling author on the companys About Us page, Friedman has a history of working on matters of security and defense with the American military, as well as other institutions like the notorious RAND Corporation.

A self-proclaimed disciple of neo-conservative icons such as Leo Strauss, Friedman has routinely emphasized the "jihadist threat" of al-Qaeda. Indeed, the forecast report compiled by members of Stratfor for the decade between 2005 and 2015 is mainly concerned with the prominence of the United States as a global hegemonic power and its conflict with al-Qaeda [1].

Certainly, some type of relationship exists between Stratfor and official security agencies, particularly within the United States. A number of internal emails circulated within Stratfor have attachments of internal, albeit unclassified, documents from the FBI and other agencies [2]. Digging further within the leaked emails may provide more concrete evidence of such a direct link.

The organization is structured like a pyramid. At the top, as noted, are the Friedmans and Burton who make the decisions. Below them are Watch Officers (WOs) who comb over the various sources of intelligence for any significant value. Next are analysts, also at times called handlers, employees that discuss and scrutinize intelligence, and are tasked with finding and building up relations with individuals in order to exploit information. Finally, at the base are sources. (See details in box below).

ابے جا۔تیرے کو سارا پاکستان جانتا ہے مسٹر فراڈیے۔
تیرا اپنا ضمیر مر کپ کے کب کا جہان فانی سے کوچ کر چکا ہے تو کیا کسی کو بدنام کرےگا۔
کبھی موقع ملے تو اپنے گریبان مرحوم میں بھی جھانکیے جو کہ پہلے ہی سے پھٹ کر شہادت کا رتبہ
حاصل کر چکا ہے۔کہ کبھی موت پر غور کیا ہے؟
دو ٹکے کی دلالی کرکے دو پیسے کماکر تو اللہ تعالی کا سامنا کر سکے گا؟
ایک مفت کا مشورہ دیتا ہوں۔
جلدی سے استغفار کرکے اپنے کمینے پن کی معافی مانگ۔
اللہ تعالی بڑا توبہ قبول کرنے والا مہربان ہے۔

VoteME

erotimatiko.jpg

What is Stratfor?
Stratfor was founded over a decade ago in Austin, Texas by George Friedman, a former political science professor. Friedman is the company’s chief intelligence officer, financial overseer, and CEO.
Presenting himself as a “best selling author” on the company’s About Us page, Friedman has a history of working on matters of security and defense with the American military, as well as other institutions like the notorious RAND Corporation.

The organization is structured like a pyramid. At the top, as noted, are the Friedmans and Burton who make the decisions. Below them are Watch Officers (WOs) who comb over the various sources of intelligence for any significant value. Next are analysts, also at times called “handlers,” employees that discuss and scrutinize intelligence, and are tasked with finding and building up relations with individuals in order to exploit information. Finally, at the base are sources. (See details in box below).

May be next time you should do ''GOOGLE SEARCH'' on Najam Sethi, it will be more effective and worth your time. Rather than an illogical conspiracy.:P

Sedqal

I also don't agree to Talat acting as a tool for intelligence gathering in Pakistan but Stratfor is a shady organization. Ideally no media person should work with such an organization considering the data gathered is tailored and published to back new-con agenda and also possibly traded with FBI and CIA. Talat ideally should also have covered the shady side of Stratfor like the thread opener suggested.

Why don't you people go through the link provided by the thread opener > http://english.al-akhbar.com/node/4591/

imyrathore

[MENTION=14890]mrk123[/MENTION] - Bud your wasting your time with him. He is either some drone who is on the job and is compelled to post these theories or hasnt quite caught up with the way of the world. CIA has plenty of operatives (including Politicians and local journalists) and listening posts around the world which provide it with the latest news from within the country and then to top this they are constantly monitoring the internet traffic as well.

mrk123

I also don't agree to Talat acting as a tool for intelligence gathering in Pakistan but Stratfor is a shady organization. Ideally no media person should work with such an organization considering the data gathered is tailored and published to back new-con agenda and also possibly traded with FBI and CIA. Talat ideally should also have covered the shady side of Stratfor like the thread opener suggested.

Why don't you people go through the link provided by the thread opener > http://english.al-akhbar.com/node/4591/

Now that we are playing this game of reading up on the links provided by al-akhbar.com why don't we read up an entry on al-akhbar.com itself.

Lets google it and check the same source, wikipedia, to see what it says about al-akhbar.com. Do you notice something? This is a partisan world and anyone can interpret anything - personally I don't have anything against Hezbollah of Lebanon in fact I think that they are a legitimate resistance movement but you could safely assume that any newspaper aligned with Hezbollah can NOT be an objective source when it comes to anything related to american intelligence.

And, before you accuse Talat of being a zionist and neo-con agent check this video out too:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0evFRyT1pqM

Al Akhbar (Arabic: الأخبار‎, literally "The News") is a daily Arabic language newspaper published in Beirut. Recently, it also started an English version published on the Internet.
[TABLE="class: toc"]
[TR]
[TD]
Contents

[hide]​

[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
[edit]History

The newspaper started printing and distribution in July 2006. It was established by Joseph Samaha and Brahim El Ameen. In December 2010, Al-Akhbar received and published an advance copy of the US State Department cables by Wikileaks, after which the newspaper's website was hacked.[SUP][2][/SUP]
[edit]Orientation

Al-Akhbar defines its political orientation to be affiliated to the general popular political stream working for independence, freedom, anti-war, anti-occupation and social justice in Lebanon and around the world.[SUP][3][/SUP] The paper is partisan, allying itself with the March 8 Alliance, made up of Hezbollah, the Free Patriotic Movement, and others. The paper has published articles involving women's rights and gay rights.[SUP][4][/SUP][SUP][5][/SUP] Ibrahim al-Amine, editorial chairman of Al Akhbar, says the paper is intended for “the U.S. ambassador to wake up in the morning, read it and get upset.” [SUP][6][/SUP]
The English-speaking press has variously classified Al Akhbar from "Hezbollah’s newspaper"[SUP][7][/SUP] to "left-wing"

@imyrathore

mrk123

@mrk123 - Bud your wasting your time with him. He is either some drone who is on the job and is compelled to post these theories or hasnt quite caught up with the way of the world. CIA has plenty of operatives (including Politicians and local journalists) and listening posts around the world which provide it with the latest news from within the country and then to top this they are constantly monitoring the internet traffic as well.

I know but I had time at my hands and I thought lets see how far this can go :-)

Btw, I think that there are members of the forum who frequent the forum with another ID but when something like this comes up use other IDs to start these threads.

Thats exactly what I thought too. In a country like Pakistan, CIA has lot of resources - their own and paid ones in all segments of our society. Its well documented too and an open secret. I think that its safe to say that CIA set up in Pakistan is probably one of the top 2-3 in the world at this moment. I am not sure why would they need a journalist to provide them information when our military men, politicians, bureaucrats, religious leaders to name a few are up for sale. Not sure what Talat knows that these paid sources for CIA can't provide. I just got miffed at the ridiculousness of the charge. That is not to say that Talat doesn't have his shortcomings. But he is better than most in Pakistan.