Lord's Test at centre of fixing allegations - (All Threads Merged) (All Videos will be Added in this

sakayani

As much as I feel sorry for Asif's father, after watching this video I am not surprised why Asif and others behave the way they do....ab iss becharey ney kya upbringing kee hogee apney bachon kee!!![/QUOTE]
Well, Yazid was son to Muavia (RA) but that did not stop him commiting the biggest religeous crime in the history of Islam. When you reach to adolescence, you are responsible for your own deeds.

AZulfi

^ True but one cannot deny that parental upbringing (+ education) influences personality development... the way we all behave, think and view the world etc. That being said the principal blame as you rightly say lies with Asif because he is not a doodh peeta bacha any more

yeh mera india

Kapil asks ICC to ensure Pakistan cricket is not damaged

KARACHI: India's former captain Kapil Dev has asked the International Cricket Council and its member countries to ensure that Pakistan cricket is not damaged badly by the spot betting scam currently under probe in England.

Kapil told Geo Super channel that Pakistan cricket was an important part of international cricket and the ICC and its member nations needed to sit down and put their heads together to find out ways to ensure Pakistan cricket was not hurt permanently by the fixing scandal.

"The ICC is the sport's world body and its duty is to ensure that its rules and regulations are also followed properly and they need to see how to avoid such situations in future," he said.

Kapil said that as a cricketer he was ashamed with the latest scandal and the way the image of cricket was being hurt but instead of criticism concrete steps were required to educate future generation of cricketers.

"Everybody makes mistakes but you can't hang them, you need to reform them and make them aware about the pitfalls of mixing with undesirable characters. There is a dire need to educate these cricketers.

"We need to work together to save this great sport. This scandal has obviously hurt cricket and understandably the people who support cricketers and the game are also angry but we need to work jointly to win back their confidence.

"Our young players must be educated and Pakistan cricket needs support. They have already suffered because of the security issues in their country," he said.

Kapil, who led India to the 1983 World Cup title win, also felt that only one man could dig Pakistan cricket out of its current state of controversies and problems.

"I think this is the time for Imran Khan to come in to Pakistan cricket and set things right. He is the most honest cricketer from Pakistan and he played with lot of heart. He is one of the most respected cricketers in Pakistan," Kapil said.

"I would love to see him come in and head the cricket board and work with the cricketers. I think he is the right man to take Pakistan cricket out if its current crisis. I know he is a busy man and politician now but he is the best man to lead Pakistan cricket," he added.

Read more: Kapil asks ICC to ensure Pakistan cricket is not damaged - Top Stories - Cricket - Sports - The Times of India http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...damaged/articleshow/6482695.cms#ixzz0yQbRybc8

yeh mera india

Yes thats what we need is positive thinking, Always think good, good things will follow you.. We want pakistani team back in action, and i am sure they will be back in full force and emerge as a strong team.... thats what my hearts says.....

manahalali

آصف کے ابا جی سچ کہندے نہيں۔۔سارا کم را دا اے۔۔ساڈے کھلاڑی شودے انے محصوم نہيں کہ او حرام دے پيسے ال اکھ نہين چکدے۔۔سنوں چاہيدا اے انانو کھرو باھر نہ بہجيے اے نہ ھوے را يا انڈيا انانوں ويچ ھی ديويں۔۔
۔پاکستان کو چاہيے ان محصوموں کو ملک س باھر نہ جانے دے يہ نہ ھو کہ انڈيا ان کو بيچ ھی دے اور ا بيچاروں کو خبر ھی نہ ھو۔۔

sakayani

KARACHI: India's former captain Kapil Dev has asked the International Cricket Council and its member countries to ensure that Pakistan cricket is not damaged badly by the spot betting scam currently under probe in England.

Kapil told Geo Super channel that Pakistan cricket was an important part of international cricket and the ICC and its member nations needed to sit down and put their heads together to find out ways to ensure Pakistan cricket was not hurt permanently by the fixing scandal.

"The ICC is the sport's world body and its duty is to ensure that its rules and regulations are also followed properly and they need to see how to avoid such situations in future," he said.

Kapil said that as a cricketer he was ashamed with the latest scandal and the way the image of cricket was being hurt but instead of criticism concrete steps were required to educate future generation of cricketers.

"Everybody makes mistakes but you can't hang them, you need to reform them and make them aware about the pitfalls of mixing with undesirable characters. There is a dire need to educate these cricketers.

"We need to work together to save this great sport. This scandal has obviously hurt cricket and understandably the people who support cricketers and the game are also angry but we need to work jointly to win back their confidence.

"Our young players must be educated and Pakistan cricket needs support. They have already suffered because of the security issues in their country," he said.

Kapil, who led India to the 1983 World Cup title win, also felt that only one man could dig Pakistan cricket out of its current state of controversies and problems.

"I think this is the time for Imran Khan to come in to Pakistan cricket and set things right. He is the most honest cricketer from Pakistan and he played with lot of heart. He is one of the most respected cricketers in Pakistan," Kapil said.

"I would love to see him come in and head the cricket board and work with the cricketers. I think he is the right man to take Pakistan cricket out if its current crisis. I know he is a busy man and politician now but he is the best man to lead Pakistan cricket," he added.

Read more: Kapil asks ICC to ensure Pakistan cricket is not damaged - Top Stories - Cricket - Sports - The Times of India http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...damaged/articleshow/6482695.cms#ixzz0yQbRybc8
Are indians and ICC working together?

AZulfi

koi achi baat kare khuah woh indian hee kyon na ho, humein maan leynee chahiye. Not everything is a conspiracy!

Kapil Dev: 'duniya mein aapko ghalat log humesha miltey rahein gey, lekin agar aapka zameer saaf ho, agar aapka jazba zinda ho, to aap ghalat kaam kabhi nahin karein gey ...agar aap apney des se ghuddari kar saktey hein to aap kissi se bhi ghuddari kar saktey hein'

http://pkaffairs.com/Play_Show_Islamabad_Tonight_31st_August_2010_10410

sakayani

I meant to say that would ICC consider his opinion when deciding? If they would then I would go to Kapil Bhai myself and give him gift or something to say thanks for showing his support.

masadi1980

Pakistan 'corruption' trio charged and suspended by ICC

The three Pakistan cricketers accused of corruption have been charged with various offences by the International Cricket Council (ICC).
Salman Butt, Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Amir are set to be questioned again by police over allegations that deliberate no-balls were bowled against England.
The ICC charges relate to "alleged irregular behaviour" in the fourth Test at Lord's last Thursday and Friday.
The trio have been provisionally suspended and have 14 days to appeal.
The ICC has agreed not to speak to the players until the Metropolitan Police give permission.
However, the High Commissioner for Pakistan, Wajid Shamsul Hasan, has condemned the game's governing body for prematurely charging and suspending the players.
Hasan, who has repeatedly pleaded the players' innocence, told BBC Radio Four's Today Programme that the ICC's actions showed it was "playing to the public gallery".
"The ICC has done the wrong thing because when there is a live police inquiry this takes precedence," he added.
"The ICC made a mistake. It gave assurances nothing would be done until Scotland Yard had completed its investigation.
_48965333_hasan_av.jpg
Click to play

No grounds for ICC player charges - Hasan

"To take action now is of course unhelpful, premature and unnecessary considering the players had already voluntarily withdrawn from playing, which was announced earlier in the morning [on Thursday] in the presence of the entire British media."
Asif and Amir are alleged to have bowled three no-balls at pre-determined times to facilitate betting coups after a "middle-man" was reported to have accepted 150,000 from an undercover reporter from the News of the World, who published the story on Sunday.
"We will not tolerate corruption in cricket - simple as that," said ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat.
"We must be decisive with such matters and if proven, these offences carry serious penalties up to a life ban.
"The ICC will do everything possible to keep such conduct out and we will stop at nothing to protect the sport's integrity.
"While we believe the problem is not widespread, we must always be vigilant.
"It is important, however, that we do not pre-judge the guilt of these three players. That is for the independent tribunal alone to decide."
Butt, Asif and Amir have been officially notified of the offences they are alleged to have committed.
Any player ultimately found to be guilty of committing an offence under the code would be subject to the sanctions described in the ICC's Anti-Corruption Code for Players and Player Support Personnel.
That could mean upholding the player's indefinite ban with the possibility, at the discretion of an independent tribunal, of additional fines.
Details of the date of the tribunal hearing are still to be finalised.
The BBC's sports editor David Bond said the action taken by the ICC was "decisive and unexpected".
He added: "There is still a police investigation going on and those players will go back to Scotland Yard to be re-interviewed by them [on Friday]. We could eventually get criminal charges.
"The ICC clearly understands that cricket's credibility is at stake with this whole affair and they had to move swiftly to save the sport's reputation."
More details about the charges are expected to be released at an ICC news conference at 1100 BST on Friday.
West Indies batsman Marlon Samuels recently completed a two-year ban imposed by the ICC after passing on team information to a bookmaker during a one-day series in India in January 2007, although the 29-year-old denies any wrongdoing.
Earlier on Thursday, High Commissioner Hasan had claimed that the News of the World video allegedly exposing the scandal may have been made after the incident.
But the BBC learnt that the Metropolitan Police, who are investigating the alleged case and have been working in tandem with the ICC, believe that the video evidence so crucial to the case is authentic.

basent

(yapping)(yapping)(yapping)(yapping)(yapping)(yapping)(yapping)(yapping)(yapping)(yapping)

pcdoc24x7

Pakistan was aware of suspensions - Lorgat

The provisional suspension of three Pakistani players under the ACSU code of conduct on Thursday has sparked off a war of words between the ICC and Pakistan's top diplomat in the UK. Reacting to the suspensions, Wajid Shamsul Hasan, Pakistan's high commissioner to the UK, claimed that the ICC had made a mistake and that the governing body was "playing to the public gallery."
Speaking to the BBC, Hasan said that the ICC had "no business taking this action." Instead, he claimed that cricket's governing body had, "made an assurance to us when it said it would wait until Scotland Yard's investigations were over."
Haroon Lorgat, the ICC's chief executive, rejected the claim on Friday morning, telling Cricinfo that he had informed Hasan and the PCB that notices would be served to Pakistan captain Salman Butt and fast bowlers Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Amir.
"I went yesterday [Thursday] later in the afternoon as a matter of courtesy and met with the High Commissioner and Ijaz [Butt, PCB chairman] and explained to them we will be serving the notice by the end of the evening if we are completed with our work, which we did," Lorgat said.
"I obviously couldn't give all of the details due to matters of confidentiality, but they were aware we were busy with our investigations and we were close to conclusion, and that were likely to serve notice by the end of last night."
Lorgat said that the ICC had not suspended the players without the PCB's knowledge. "I didn't do it without his [Ijaz Butt's] permission. I spoke to Mr Butt on the telephone before going public. He said he is fine. In fact, I asked him to join us when we served the notice. He said he was fine and he would send the Pakistan security manager."

Courtesy: cricinfo.com

Read the complete article at :
http://www.cricinfo.com/england-v-pakistan-2010/content/current/story/475666.html

It shows that Wajid Shams-ul-Hasan's statement does not seem to be based on facts....Well what do we expect from a PPP stooge anyways. Also it seems that News of the World is going to publish and issue some more evidence in their tomorrow''s issue implicating the players even more in this scandal.

Geek

PCB inertia 'forced' players' suspension

The failure of Pakistan cricket bosses to take action against three players accused of spot-fixing forced the world governing body to intervene by suspending them, former selectors said Friday.
The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday provisionally barred Test captain Salman Butt and fast bowlers Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Aamer from all further matches, although all three protested their innocence.
"The ICC has suspended the Pakistani players because the PCB (Pakistan Cricket Board) showed reluctance in acting itself," the team's former chief selector Iqbal Qasim told AFP.
"In fact the statements from Pakistani officials that no players would be suspended forced the ICC to take action," he said.
"That players were free to play was not acceptable to the England board and to the ICC, because had these players played in more matches, there would have been reaction from England players and fans," said Qasim.
The trio were named last Sunday in a British tabloid report that said a shady middleman had paid them to orchestrate three deliberate no-balls during Pakistan's fourth Test against England at Lord's.
Following the newspaper sting, the PCB said it would allow the trio, along with four other accused players, to continue playing until investigations had been concluded.
Pakistan's ambassador to London railed against the ICC for pre-judging the outcome of a British police investigation, after the world body pressed charges against the three players under its anti-corruption code.
But another former chief selector, Salahuddin Ahmed, said the PCB itself should have stepped in.
"The PCB should have suspended the players after Sunday's report in the newspaper, because these players would never have been in the right frame of mind after all those allegations," he said.
"We haven't seen anything from (PCB chairman Ijaz) Butt, and the manager (Yawar Saeed) is unable to answer any question asked to him... by the media, so all this ineptitude is coming from the PCB and its officials."
Ahmed said the scandal had "stained Pakistan's image" and that in future, "Pakistan must select only those players who have a clean image".
On Thursday, Salman Butt, Aamer and Asif missed Pakistan's eight-run win over county side Somerset. The team is due to play two Twenty20 matches against England on September 5 and 7 before a series of five one-day internationals.

Geek

Police set to quiz Pakistani trio

British police were expected Friday to quiz the three banned Pakistan cricketers embroiled in an alleged betting scam as the sport's world governing body was to explain their charges against them.
Test captain Salman Butt, plus bowlers Mohammad Aamer and Mohammad Asif, were expected to be questioned over the scandal that has rocked the cricket world, after they were sanctioned by the International Cricket Council.
The ICC was to explain the provisional suspensions and corruption charges hanging over them in a press conference at the "home of cricket", Lord's in north London.
The sanctions have infuriated the Pakistani authorities, with Islamabad's ambassador to London blasting their actions as premature.
High Commissioner Wajid Shamsul Hasan said Friday the ICC had "no business" to suspend them while the police investigation was ongoing.
The trio were summoned for a meeting at the embassy on Thursday for a meeting with Hasan and Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Ijaz Butt.
Afterwards, Hasan declared they were not guilty of "spot-fixing", adding he thought they might have been set up by a British newspaper sting.
"I met the cricketers for two hours, cross-questioned them, got to the bottom of it and concluded that they were innocent,"
Hasan told BBC radio.
The ICC "have done the wrong thing. When there's a live police inquiry, this takes precedence over both the ICC, civil or regulatory investigations and any internal disciplinary investigations.
"To take action now is unhelpful, premature and unnecessary considering the players had already voluntarily withdrawn from playing.
"The ICC had no business to take this action. The ICC is just playing to the public gallery."

The players withdrew Thursday from Pakistan's tour England, with Hasan citing the "mental torture" they were going through.
They "want to defend their honour, they want to prove themselves innocent," he said.
The ICC has charged the three stars with "various offences" under its anti-corruption code and has suspended them with immediate effect pending a decision on those charges.
"We will not tolerate corruption in cricket -- simple as that," ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat said.
"We must be decisive with such matters and if proven, these offences carry serious penalties up to a life ban.
"The ICC will do everything possible to keep such conduct out of the game and we will stop at nothing to protect the sport's integrity."
The players have 14 days to request a tribunal hearing at which they can challenge the charges, and Lorgat stressed: "It is important, however, that we do not pre-judge the guilt of these three players.
"That is for the independent tribunal alone to decide."
On Thursday, Salman Butt, Aamer and Asif missed Pakistan's eight-run win over county side Somerset.
The one-day match was a warm-up ahead of two Twenty20 internationals on Sunday and Thursday and five subsequent one-day games against England.
The News of the World newspaper alleged that it paid Mazhar Majeed, an agent for several Pakistan players, 150,000 pounds (185,000 euros, 230,000 dollars) in return for advance knowledge of pre-arranged no-balls -- normally accidental -- which could then be bet upon.
The 35-year-old has since been arrested and bailed by British police.
Hasan questioned the authenticity of the tabloid's audiovisual footage.
"The video wasn't timed or dated. It could have been filmed before or after the match, or at a different time," he told BBC television.
Asked whether he believed the players may have been set up, he replied: "Yes, I would say that."
The allegations have shocked the cricket world and led to calls from figures within the game that the players involved should be banned for life.
The trio have already been spoken to by police and had their mobile phones confiscated.
Hasan also suggested Friday that Indian bookmakers had a part to play in the affair.
He said: "Indian bookies were involved in it and this man Majeed was an agent of these cricketers, maybe he was ripping them off, but the fact is that he was working for the Indian Bombay bookies.
"That is where he is supposed to have breached some contract and that is why this whole frame-up came about, to get Pakistanis into it."

furry87

why were wahab riaz and akmal brothers cleared ,wasnt he the on who took the jacket full of money ...where is the money that was supposed to be in the jacket ...ICC isnt making anysense ,what the hell happened to a water tight case...and why arnt the stupid paksitani players coming out protesting their innocense

furry87

geo has just reported that the money given to the players has been found ...but this is geo so it could be a lie

forzeb

jin main zameer nam ki koi cheez na ho un key sath yehi hota hay jesa pakistan key sath ho raha hay.

ali_ravian

geo has just reported that the money given to the players has been found ...but this is geo so it could be a lie

this is geo who reported that this newspaper is very credible and nobody had gone against their stories in the court but later on matter was quite different on other channels.......