From Third World country to third most powerful nation

dil-se-desi

WASHINGTON: Hard as it is to imagine it amid the chaos of Commonwealth Games preparations in New Delhi and a million small mutinies across the country, an official US report has declared India to be the fourth most powerful nation/bloc in the world after the United States, China, and the European Union.

Issued jointly by the US National Intelligence Council (NIC) and the European Union's Institute for Security Studies (EUISS), the report "Global Governance 2025" says the United States remains the world's most powerful country in 2010, accounting for nearly 22 per cent of the global power.

It is followed by China (12 per cent), and India (eight per cent). Japan, Russia and Brazil with less than five per cent each. Taken as a bloc, European Union comes second with 16 per cent of global power.

But an "International Futures model" measuring GDP, defense, spending, population and technology for individual states projects the relative political and economic clout of many countries will shift by 2025. The power of the US, EU, Japan and Russia would decline while that of China, India and Brazil would increase, even though there would be no change in the power list.

By 2025, the United States' share of global power would decline from 22 per cent to 18 per cent, while China would rise up from 12 per cent to 16 per cent to displace EU (down to 14 per cent), making U.S and China as close 1-2. India will remain in third or fourth positions (depending on whether EU bloc is counted in or not) with its share of global power going up to ten per cent.

The 82-page report is the product of research and analysis by the NIC and EUISS following a series of international dialogues co-organized by the Atlantic Council, TPN, and other partner organizations in Beijing, Tokyo, Dubai, New Delhi, Pretoria, Sao Paulo & Brasilia, Moscow, and Paris with unnamed officials and strategic experts

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...-most-powerful-nation/articleshow/6603835.cms

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...-nation/articleshow/6603835.cms#ixzz10Cx9IWoM

famamdani

While india have more cow all over the world and schwein for clean all country .........................................................and population without any end.............................

What do u think, Afganistan is not powerful nation...

Fghting against , all powerful nations since last 30 year.....

u could fill your Somnat with gold and money and wait for them.....

angryoldman

No No No............ violence
welcome to all athletes with imaginary fragrance of historical perfume(shudd urine of cow)
let them take shower in "paviter urine"

student

man this is ridiculous! India failed to arrange a even in 7 year which even country like south africa with alot of issue could easily manage.
Indian publicity in western media is in their interest. India half population lacks basic facility like sanitation......... I have huge list for response but dont wana waste time on this pathetic topic

This report has come out at a time when India is going thru criticism for not being able to have the sports facilities ready. It appears to be out at this time to camouflage Indian failures and embarrassment.

These white govt's put their efforts together and come up with a report that is liable to mislead nations. They had also said that Afghanistan would succumb to US invasion and taliban will be exterminated. Seems to us that we know who is not being exterminated.

Based on Nastradamus predictions, US's prestige will dwindle by far more than whats predicted in this report. Nastradamus predictions was aired on History Channel in July 2009. Economically China will be on top then India then US and then EU. Allah only knows

dil-se-desi

This report has come out at a time when India is going thru criticism for not being able to have the sports facilities ready. It appears to be out at this time to camouflage Indian failures and embarrassment.

These white govt's put their efforts together and come up with a report that is liable to mislead nations. They had also said that Afghanistan would succumb to US invasion and taliban will be exterminated. Seems to us that we know who is not being exterminated.

Based on Nastradamus predictions, US's prestige will dwindle by far more than whats predicted in this report. Nastradamus predictions was aired on History Channel in July 2009. Economically China will be on top then India then US and then EU. Allah only knows

hahahaha.......finally gazzoooo have to broke is conviction and broke his ignore bin......

this report is prepared by
Issued jointly by the US National Intelligence Council (NIC) and the European Union's Institute for Security Studies (EUISS)

these institutions have a track record publish these type of reports every month.

if you have any doubts then you can study report "Global Governance 2025" and contradict any fact which you think not appropriate....with LOGIC

logic... need for some serious discussion.

student

I think, you should listen your countrymen, so you can digest the truth... under the article in comment section most recomended comments are ...
DT (London)
22 Sep, 2010 03:16 AM
Third most in headlines and fourth most in report??? are you TOI guys having too much of a 'good time' in the night? and why distract attention from the CWG (congress wealth games) super-chaos????

Agree (14)
Disagree (3)
Recommend (9)
Offensive
Arindom (New Zealand)
22 Sep, 2010 05:52 AM
This is ridiculous - some us 'report' says some nonsense and we publish it because it MASSAGES THE INDIAN EGO.... Times of India - I am thoroughly disappointed. Here in the corner of the world in New Zealand, India has become a laughing stock as the New Zelaand CWG team had to shift to hotel as the rooms in the athlete village were filthy!!! That after we spent $1.5 billion on CWG--- who pocketed that money??? TOI - work on revealing the CWG scoundrels...

Agree (12)
Disagree (2)
Recommend (8)
Offensive
V.Krishnamoorthy (Seattle)
22 Sep, 2010 05:14 AM
Oh, great! That takes care of feeding our 700million people living below the poverty line. It aso takes care of thousands of farmers who are committing suicide every year because some monsoon didn't show up on time. What is wrong with you TOI? Why do you make such a big deal about every statement or report emanating from the west about India's greatness? Are we so low on self-esteem as a nation that we need a regular pat on our back to feel important in world stage? Come on! We are a country 1.2Billion people. Every 5th person in this world is an Indian. Please stop with this childishness and start looking at the humongous problems we face as a nation. That is the role of a responsible media outlet.

Agree (14)
Disagree (2)
Recommend (8)
Offensive
chinchun (All locations)
22 Sep, 2010 04:09 AM
Wake up..you TOI(let) paper..

Agree (14)
Disagree (2)
Recommend (7)
Offensive
A.P. (DC)
22 Sep, 2010 03:57 AM
TOI- Please stop parroting every good thing some study or country says about India, trying to create a situation where Indians get used to taking false pride in the mere words of others. Pride is based on 1) self-confidence (and doesn't need external verification) and 2) facts (reality). 1 is obviously lacking, hence the need to keep on talking big. 2 is also lacking if the Commonwealth Games are any indicator.

Agree (13)
Disagree (0)
Recommend (7)
Offensive
Anant Deboor (Hong Kong)
22 Sep, 2010 04:41 AM
TOI - you are making India an even bigger laughing stock than the country already is. The biggest headlines about India around the world today are the shambles called CWG. Editorials are being written (Financial Times) to say how these Games are showcasing India's weaknesses rather than strengths. And yet all you try and do with these self-serving garbage that gloss over the pathetic stuff.

Agree (13)
Disagree (3)
Recommend (6)
Offensive
Abhi (USA)
22 Sep, 2010 03:50 AM
Unfortunately I get to read these articles only in indian media. I am almost certain these folks or government cook these articles.

Agree (15)
Disagree (0)
Recommend (6)
Offensive
Prasad (U.S.A.)
22 Sep, 2010 03:28 AM
Your headline sloppiness is as bad as the CWG debacle. Get your act together !

Agree (9)
Disagree (1)
Recommend (6)
Offensive
karan (Patna)
22 Sep, 2010 05:55 AM
TOI has sold itself to whims of the government. How about publishing the news about the bridge that collapsed yesterday near the game site and injured 27 people.

Agree (13)
Disagree (4)
Recommend (5)
Offensive
Richard (England)
22 Sep, 2010 05:08 AM
Wow, the Indian media really is embarrassing. The whole world is laughing at you and your shoddy journalism, the European Union is not a nation and as I said before in another article, Ireland is not represented at these games as you seem to think so.

Agree (13)
Disagree (3)
Recommend (5)
Offensive
William (hyderabad)
22 Sep, 2010 04:35 AM
Yaah India is the most powerful nation in corruption. Maybe it stands FIRST.. Who is enjoying the fruits of the development. The rich become richer. It is on paper for the eye wash of the vested interests.

Agree (13)
Disagree (2)
Recommend (5)
Offensive
Amit (Sydney)
22 Sep, 2010 04:15 AM
Don't just go by what US or others say about your growth, but rather ask this question to yourself in all honesty and then comment.

Agree (12)
Disagree (1)
Recommend (5)
Offensive
Bill (Melbourne)
22 Sep, 2010 04:03 AM
YES INDIA is super power third largest econmoy..putting all penies in bag from one billion people...sounds like joke. Look at great work we have done at CWG..someone above said only in Indian media. Absolutely true. Go out of India and see where we stand, famous for corruption, easy approach to things, filth/ rubbbish, political problems, religious problems and list goes on. Jai Ho! Kalmadi JI these are your days! LOL

Agree (12)
Disagree (2)
Recommend (5)
Offensive
Sameer (UK)
22 Sep, 2010 03:49 AM
We need to come out of self proclamation this is just a US report.. not an official tag/status, india hold in this planet affair... India is still need to be dictated by others on how do conduct there own affairs.... learn from China who had beaten every odds on there way and had risen to be powerhouse ... but they do it very calmly, and we just look for our esteem and self pride even based on some junk report.... let the action speak rather words which is real pride, we need to learn even from enemy .. then only we will grow.. I hope India will lead with maturity by maintaining the fabric of composition which no other nation in this planet hold...

Agree (10)
Disagree (0)
Recommend (5)
Offensive
Kumar (UK)
22 Sep, 2010 03:38 AM
Where on earth you people get this idiotic news ? We in Europe has never heared about it. First, organise Commonwealth games then gloat. Don't ashamed we expatriat Indian

Agree (9)
Disagree (3)
Recommend (5)
Offensive
Nathan.K (UAE)
22 Sep, 2010 03:25 AM
New Zealand is withdrawing from CWG and many other developed nations will follow.This is nothing but humiliation for India.If the CWG had been handed over to a private company,It would have been a resounding success.

Agree (14)
Disagree (3)
Recommend (5)
Offensive
hehe (ind)
22 Sep, 2010 06:24 AM
HAHAHA shame on times of INDIA on such bazzare news where billions of pple are dying on road with starvation and lack of medicing ..shame hahahaha powerful india ..hahaha

Agree (9)
Disagree (5)
Recommend (4)
Offensive
vyatsaayan (UK)
22 Sep, 2010 06:20 AM
While things may not be as rosy as painted by pro-Indians, a nation that wisely invested its World Bank and IFC loans in infrastructural activities in its infancy and repaid them in a timely manner couldn't be as bad as anti-Indians portray. While communists and capitalism failed miserably, India's much maligned mixed economy survived the present economic storm comparatively better. India is where USA was at the turn of 20th century - at the threshold of growth. But while growth will be sustained for the next half century at least, progress beyond that will depend on how much people save now without piling up debts. Indians should realize what unbridled debt created havoc to other countries. That won't be difficult unless India abandons traditional values for foreign fads.

Agree (4)
Disagree (3)
Recommend (4)
Offensive
Vaibhav (Newzealand)
22 Sep, 2010 06:03 AM
Totally Agree with above comments, thought TOI was a media for people, but you guys are just degrading yourself by releasing irelevant news all the time.

Agree (11)
Disagree (2)
Recommend (4)
Offensive
Jaideep (Pune)
22 Sep, 2010 05:02 AM
I agree with all the comments above, have you seriously put thought to the article before printing it. The CWG is making a laughing stock of us worldwide and all that we achieved over the years has been decimated by the CWG. There has been rampant corruption with these games. Mani Shankar Aiyar was correct we had no business spending the money on this which could have been better spent on infrastructure. Lets get our house in order before inviting others to come to stay with us.

Agree (11)
Disagree (1)
Recommend (4)
Offensive
Sri (chennai)
22 Sep, 2010 04:17 AM
This is a prelude to Obama's visit - to soften the view about US. If India is really the 3rd most powerful nation, will it get into UN security council?

Agree (13)
Disagree (1)
Recommend (4)
Offensive
Pronob (SF, USA)
22 Sep, 2010 04:14 AM
TOI, stop posting irrelevant news on the front pages when the CWG disaster is more important. What the hell are u journalists trying to do?? Protect the guilty who are ruining the CWG? Just cause some unknown US politician said something about this its front page news all of a sudden? OMG.this is total childishness. You journalists need to be given a lesson on reporting news properly.

Agree (8)
Disagree (1)
Recommend (4)
Offensive
Mahmood (Riyadh.SA)
22 Sep, 2010 04:56 AM
This is called Masala News ... a marketing statement ...

Agree (9)
Disagree (3)
Recommend (3)
Offensive
Dorothy (New Delhi)
22 Sep, 2010 07:20 AM
This is a joke! TOI is trying to help the beleagured Congress Government with reports such as this. Sorry, it's not going to work. The pan stains and the excreta are too much to be covered up.

Agree (3)
Disagree (1)
Recommend (2)
Offensive
syed (usa)
22 Sep, 2010 04:26 AM
Are you out of your mind or what.What a piece of Garbage this article is.

Agree (14)
Disagree (1)
Recommend (2)
Offensive

JIJA_JI

there was a filthy guy in a class who was at third position in his class rankings, do you know why? because there were only three guys in that class.

Statement Of the Week

(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)

(clap)(clap)(clap)Multimillion Pound statement.(clap)(clap)

JIJA_JI

And the funny thing is that India still will be rich and those thieves still will remain poor as always.

bons

Powerful Indians!

Kashmir main tumhari power leak ho rahi hay. Pehle uss ko to puncture laga lo.

Aik puncture lagao gay to kaheen aur se hawa nikalni shuroo ho jaye gi.[hilar][hilar]

Asal main tumhara ghubara ab itna boseeda ho chuka hay ke kisi bhi waqt phat jaye ga.

Saket

total of Rs 28,054 crore have been spent on the games which is equal to 53086 thousand Crore of Pakistani rupees. Sydney spent only around US$5 billion and Athens around US$8.5 billion.
The Beijing 2008 budget is hovering around US$36 billion .
Do you think that this much of amount can be spent by a third class nation ,,

NO FEAR

Mottay Tazzay Shikaar ka maza he aur hota hay.

Endian growing economy is just like a Fat Ass wild Buffalo ,who has to be a dinner of predators one day.

total of Rs 28,054 crore have been spent on the games which is equal to 53086 thousand Crore of Pakistani rupees. Sydney spent only around US$5 billion and Athens around US$8.5 billion.
The Beijing 2008 budget is hovering around US$36 billion .
Do you think that this much of amount can be spent by a third class nation ,,
You just called yourself a third class nation.HAHAHA>.........

WASHINGTON: Hard as it is to imagine it amid the chaos of Commonwealth Games preparations in New Delhi and a million small mutinies across the country, an official US report has declared India to be the fourth most powerful nation/bloc in the world after the United States, China, and the European Union.

Issued jointly by the US National Intelligence Council (NIC) and the European Union's Institute for Security Studies (EUISS), the report "Global Governance 2025" says the United States remains the world's most powerful country in 2010, accounting for nearly 22 per cent of the global power.

It is followed by China (12 per cent), and India (eight per cent). Japan, Russia and Brazil with less than five per cent each. Taken as a bloc, European Union comes second with 16 per cent of global power.

But an "International Futures model" measuring GDP, defense, spending, population and technology for individual states projects the relative political and economic clout of many countries will shift by 2025. The power of the US, EU, Japan and Russia would decline while that of China, India and Brazil would increase, even though there would be no change in the power list.

By 2025, the United States' share of global power would decline from 22 per cent to 18 per cent, while China would rise up from 12 per cent to 16 per cent to displace EU (down to 14 per cent), making U.S and China as close 1-2. India will remain in third or fourth positions (depending on whether EU bloc is counted in or not) with its share of global power going up to ten per cent.

The 82-page report is the product of research and analysis by the NIC and EUISS following a series of international dialogues co-organized by the Atlantic Council, TPN, and other partner organizations in Beijing, Tokyo, Dubai, New Delhi, Pretoria, Sao Paulo & Brasilia, Moscow, and Paris with unnamed officials and strategic experts

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...-most-powerful-nation/articleshow/6603835.cms

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...-nation/articleshow/6603835.cms#ixzz10Cx9IWoM
26 Independence movements........................what a bloc