Hassan Nisar's Salary - mind boggling

AsifAmeer

You Sir are a bad *** Libertarian!

I have finally met a Pakistani Libertarian!

What you are pointing is the complete failure of the state. Instead of calling for regulations or laws to check the flow of illegal cash to the media houses this demand for these private and commercial enterprises and individuals to make their finances public is just putting a band aid on a chopped off arm. This is our problem we tend to ignore the root causes and go for the superficial. The problem we face is corruption and instead of calling for whoever we disagree with to make their finances public lets demand that there are laws and regulations put in place to check these illegal practices.

I also don't always agree with Hassan Nisar's argument and I do agree that sometime his facts are not so factual. I am not sure if you read the thread in its entirety and noticed the title. It was never about his status as a philosopher/analyst. I don't think that most are arguing that his words are authoritative and that his views are be accepted without question. One may disagree with his views but that is no ground for demanding to see his finances specially if the taxpayers are not paying his salary.

Couldn't agree more. These are growing pains that, in our case, may go on for eternity.

This is a reflection of our society. I hear you on Kashif Abbasi - but I have figured that these people are providing what the people are craving for. No wonder the talk shows are more popular than the TV dramas. I am beginning to think that these talk shows may have in fact killed the punjabi cinema ;-) Wouldn't you want to take the tabloids and burn them on the biggest pyre - only if wishes were horses......

This world is not fair and it sucks big time!

mrk123

bro .. on Hassan Nisar claiming to be all knowing .. etc please look at the video I posted earlier on this thread (probably page 1). .. he does so when replying to farid paracha

I specifically listened to that part but I don't get what you are alluding to and you are adamant not to share it with me here. So lets just forget about it.

Other big difference in case of HN is that he himself has made his tax rate public on a tv show .. so please don't tell me that I can't even question that?

What are you questioning by the way if he himself has made his tax record public? I really have to ask you this - do you read any of the posts in response to your posts? I have seen countless people responding to you that if he has made his tax records public that means that he has proof of income for the money he paid the taxes for - they what are you questioning? Let the FBR decide as @AsifAmeer suggested in one of his posts (man! you started the thread and you are the one who is not reading most posts on here :)

Secondly, you are taking my points as imposition .. they are not .. the method of making assets public can be agreed upon ... and regarding privacy .. please save it .. when these media persons do a show from their farm houses, show their fancy watches or the cars that pick them up .. or talk about their 'staff' .. this is also depicting their lifestyle .. so how can they advocate transparency, accountability on everyone when they themselves are not for it?

but WHY???? they are private citizens! I am don't know why its so hard for you to understand that no one has the right to question someone's lifestyle unless there is solid grounds to prove illegal or illegitimate practices. Just because someone is a showbaaz doesn't give you or anyone else the right to go poking around their personal business. Does right to privacy mean anything to you?

I appreciate your points, thanks for this discussion but as I said earlier .. lets agree to disagree.

I always follow this principle - but seemed that you started a thread - made your points and then wouldn't want to discuss the counter arguments.
Then whats the point of starting a discussion if you only want to hear the comments which are inline with your viewpoint. Guess you are doing a Hassan Nisar on us ;-)

Its up to you if you don't want to continue the discussion because you are not progressing the debate and rather repeating yourself and forcing most of us to repeat the same points over and over again .....

I am lazy and seems that I made all of these arguments in vain - Guess I will be wary next time before I engage in a debate with you :-)

Do you even read what you write. It was very funny that you talked about an educated country. Can you name one educated country?

Yes, off course I know what I am writing, but people like you miss the full sentence and context in their efforts to show how intelligent they are. Read it again,

"
He is only tolerated in a uneducated country like Pakistan, because unfortunately poor people don't get access to the education."

I hope you got it now, if still you don't then there is no point of repeating it, you will never get it in million years.
(bigsmile)

Even @crankthskunk is making a genuine point here. Although I admire Hassan Nisar's tirades and commentary on TV I do agree with him that people who are paraded in the media as "danishwar" have some responsibility of checking their facts before they speak. There are numerous times Nisar saheb says things that are factually incorrect. His entire lament against Muslim traditions (or lack thereof) and the role of Western enlightenment is based on very flimsy grounds. For example, he often metions the role of Sir Syed Ahmad Khan and how the Mullahs put a fatwa of kufr against him for supporting western education. This is at best a half-truth that corrupts minds that are already confused and ill-informed.

Someone on this forum put up an article on Sir Syed and what exactly led to the takfir by the scholars of Hind against him. I hope everyone read that and it quite clearly had NOTHING to do with education and EVERYTHING to do with his nonsensical religious beliefs which he was spewing (such as Jesus (AS) having a biological father! Wal 'eeyauthubillah!). Why does this matter? Because a guy taking a hefty salary on TV and having the forum to spew his opinions unchecked is not very healthy for the community at large.

I guess one can hardly blame Nisar, but it is odd that not even a single media person has challenged him on his oft-repeated nonsense in this regard? It just goes to show the potty-level of our journalism and other danishwars. I personally wish we all could just stop watching TV and let these idiots die their natural deaths. People like Nadia Khan (whom I know... ewwwww) earn way too much salaries for the nonsense they put up as content. Just the other day she was on TV blasting Maya Khan (or whatever her face was) and then Nadia Khan comes back on TV to do the same shyte! And these people are taken as role models?? Sahir Lodhi and Shaista Wahidi - dudes, if there ever was a case for publically flogging parents for idiotic and irrrrrrrrrrritating children this was it!

Brov, I have challenged him long while back but he has not responded. My comments about our Journalists are based on very considered and weighed up experience. Name me one person who has done any research and produce a worthwhile paper on the trouble faced by Pakistan for over 4 decades now. Ever since Americans started to give more importance to Pakistan after Russian involvement in Afghanistan or more preciously according to the evidence before Russian's involvement in Afghanistan. There are proofs available that Americans dragged the Russians in to Afghanistan.

In any other country, if there were thinkers and better "Journalists" the nation would have gone in to over drive how to tackle the problems faced by it. But look at our nation, it is still clueless, how to deal with the issues facing it. There is still no policy on Afghanistan, on Kashmir and how to deal with Uncle Sam.

Instead we see every where agents of many thoughts processes and paid agents of enemies of Pakistan. I know here some are swayed by the regular favorable comments by Hassan Nisar in talk shows on PTI and IK. I am an independent minded person, therefore for me it is not important at all, but what is important is the character and comments of Nisar in general. He is way off the mark, and most of the time he is lying or more accurately boosting about himself. I am 100% confident and convinced, if he enter a debate with me I will defeat him hands down and expose all his lies with undeniable proofs.

Recently, I sent Marvi Sarmad some twitts after her response to my earlier message, I am posting it underneath. She sensed trouble and didn't respond again. I am in regular touch with many on twitter like Dr. Shahid Masood and Lucman, but they never respond, for obvious reasons. They lack confidence in themselves.

I didn't wanted to say much about someone who pretend to be "genius" in Pakistani media, i.e. Dr. Shahid Masood, even though I know quite a lot about him and Dr. Moid. If someone from obscurity start to earn millions of rupees a month, just because Pakistani nation unfortunately consist of mostly uneducated or nominally educated people. They cannot make a difference between inepts and genuine articles. Dr. Shahid Masood started his so called "Journalist" career from a small room studio with "Pakistani channel" at the time owned by Javed Pasha (I think that was his sir name) which was subsequently bought by the Memons of Karachi and renamed as ARY. Do a search on Javed Pasha and you will find he has a dodgy past and some say he was conduit or front man of Zardari in his money laundering.

I have a hunch Dr. Shahid may have one done few episode of the program on Pakistani channel "free of charge" or on very little payment. After all if a "fariq" person gets a break he would grab it by both hands. Rest is as they say is history.(bigsmile)

woman-holding-cash.jpeg

Perhaps we should all join the media. This guy (Hassan Nisar) for spreading negativity is assumed to get around Rs 1.3-1.5 Million per month (15.6 M - 18 M annually)

Source? Well, I just watched a video where Hassan Nisar himself was proudly claiming that he pays Rs 150,000 tax per month.

That means he is paying atleast Rs1.8 M of annual tax - which in turn means that at current tax rate this would be around 14% (FBR website). This means that at minimum his TAXABLE income is over Rs 1.07 M a month ..

This is mind boggling because Najam Sethi (highest paid anchor) pockets RS 2 M a month....

Perhaps its a good time to get all media persons to declare their assets?

Also, wondering whether Hassan Nisar has other source of income apart from writing and hosting meray mutabiq? Happy to be corrected.

Paying tax doesn't mean that he is earning only from salary. In a Geo's Program Aik Din Geo Kay Sath, he replied to a question of Sohail Waraich that he is getting Millions from Publishers in the form Book royalties for his written books. So he is earning much for other writings than salary from Jang group.

My tweets to Marvi Sirmed on her's and Nisar's reality. Until Pakistanis become more critical of their elites, either political or in Journalism, Pakistan can never progress on the right lines. Lets be honest, we have dodgy figures in both arenas.

Together they have fooled people of Pakistan to no end, in return earning handsomely, legally or otherwise, is not the contention here. Nisar may have genuine earnings and pay taxes on it, I am not discussing that aspect here. But one thing is certain, he conduct loose talk most of the time, at best. At worst, they called blatant lies.

I am not impressed from him like many because he utter some good words for PTI or IK. Facts should be looked in the cold light of the day, not because of your affiliations or belonging. Objectivity should always be maintained at all cost.

tweetstomarvi.png

wadera

My tweets to Marvi Sirmed on her's and Nisar's reality. Until Pakistanis become more critical of their elites, either political or in Journalism, Pakistan can never progress on the right lines. Lets be honest, we have dodgy figures in both arenas.

Together they have fooled people of Pakistan to no end, in return earning handsomely, legally or otherwise, is not the contention here. Nisar may have genuine earnings and pay taxes on it, I am not discussing that aspect here. But one thing is certain, he conduct loose talk most of the time, at best. At worst, they called blatant lies.

I am not impressed from him like many because he utter some good words for PTI or IK. Facts should be looked in the cold light of the day, not because of your affiliations or belonging. Objectivity should always be maintained at all cost.

tweetstomarvi.png

Exactly .. atleast let us all agree that HN is not a competent journalist .. he acts like a philosopher and all knowing but has no manners/adaab to speak ..

He is in the same gang as Mubashar lucman, dr shahid masood and a few others ..

funniest thing is that Mubashar lucman was a minister in Musharaf's time ... why doesn't he review his performance of that time .. secondly .. Dunya News is owned by Mian Amer .. who is an ardent supporter of PML Q .. therefore you will rarely see PML Q being condemned ...

Mubashar and HN's support to IK .. as I see it .. is like the friendship of a snake .. if you keep feeding it milk .. it will happily bite you. Don't be surprised that this will lead to alliance between PML-Q and PTI ..

So yes, it won't be directly supporting PPP but then by proxy this will happen .. All these (journa's like ML and HN singing praise) are tactics to set the stage ... Zardari is a smart operator ..

All his dreams are coming true ... so when PPP analysts say that they will win the next elections .. they are not speaking on wishful thinking .. little does anyone realise this fact.

Before anyone accuses me of being a PPP supporter .. please note that I only support IK and I hope and pray that IK doesn't fall for this trap .. else PPP (+alliances) will come out as the ultimate winners.

My prediction for future setup -

President - Zardari
Prime Minister - Imran Khan

Alliance will be strong between PPP + PML Q + PTI .. all other parties will try to feed on whatever they can get (including PML N) ...

If IK falls for the trap of alliance with any of the current govt parties (PPP, PML Q, MQM etc) .. then nothing can stop the above setup. They should just ignore all status QUO parties (including PML-N).

So, well done HN, ML and the rest to help with this setup... cards are being played really well. Again .. please voice out against my opinions but not against me... lets keep it polite ;)

ejazahmad88

I believe your problem is not the incom level of Hasan Nisar Sahib but his tax amount which he is paying honestly. You want to tell all of us that don't pay tax as your leaders are not paying and keep on making industries. Or if you have to pay then pay only 5000 (Nawaz Sharif) or don't bother to pay (like zardari and Gilani). We will respect those who pay max tax like Hasan Nisar and will kick out dirty minded people like you

Pak Falcon

at least he is paying taxes and earning a hilal rozi without any sort of tax embezzlement and the propaganda you're talking about, let me remind you that its because of lunatics like you at whose behest these corrupt in power become SHER to loot us more (tax embezzlement) and if highlighting your greed gluttony is an offence or a propaganda, I think then perhaps we do justice to the word and deserve someone more corrupt than ZARDARI

HASSAN NISAR depicts the negatives in our society (corruption/apathy/nepotism etc) which is TRUE so what's the big deal about?

dr abdul qadir khan chor hai, allama iqbal kuch b nhi eik local aur farigh kisam ka shayer hai aur aapke dada parda idiot the jinhu ne pakistan banaya that is true no big deal

wadera

I believe your problem is not the incom level of Hasan Nisar Sahib but his tax amount which he is paying honestly. You want to tell all of us that don't pay tax as your leaders are not paying and keep on making industries. Or if you have to pay then pay only 5000 (Nawaz Sharif) or don't bother to pay (like zardari and Gilani). We will respect those who pay max tax like Hasan Nisar and will kick out dirty minded people like you

If you want to take it that way . I won't stop you. However, when I am asking for across the board accountability .. then what makes you say I don't want people to pay taxes? A bit flawed your argument ..

Secondly, how am I dirty minded when I ask for these parrots to make their assets public? What rubbish!

mrk123

You have to understand that he is NOT a journalist. There is a very clear distinction between an analyst/opinion maker and a journalist - don't mix them up please.

Again, the thread was referring to his salary and the tax he paid and the point of contention is whether you can demand to see his financial records. His competency, political bent, drinking, use of profanities etc was not a topic of discussion. At least not from the topic you picked and the post which initiated this discussion.

I have commented here multiple times that there are hacks all over Pakistani media. I couldn't agree with you that not just Shahid Masood and Mubashir Lucman but a majority of Pakistani electronic media personalities are hacks! They are incompetent, have never been trained about the basic etiquettes and professional practices and responsibility that comes with this kind of a position. This is a reflection on our society. Most so called experts in any field - specially where you can make quick money - are total hacks who know their way around.

When you have utterly incompetent people rise to the top to the highest positions in the country and when there is no accountability of any sort anywhere in any institution(except for may be in some private enterprises) then how can we suddenly expect to see extremely competent, intelligent, true their profession and unbiased professionals working for the electronic media. We are extremely lucky that a few sane, unbiased and professional people like Talat Hussain have progressed to where they are today.

What we need to do is to be fair and unbiased and point out the broader problem and the factors that are contributing to this bigger problem of the media houses being run unprofessionally. For that you need some intelligent and practical legislation to prevent the issue of illegal money flowing in to give projection to a certain viewpoint. Now who will be competent enough to think about such legislation let alone get it crafted, passed and implemented. There lies your bigger problem - that basic fabric of how countries and institutions work have been ruined over the last 30+ years in Pakistan and thats reflected everywhere. The problem is bigger than how you are portraying it in a simplistic and isolated way. Its much widespread and the rot has set in deep. Complain about the systemic issues and not just some handpicked personalities.

Exactly .. atleast let us all agree that HN is not a competent journalist .. he acts like a philosopher and all knowing but has no manners/adaab to speak ..

He is in the same gang as Mubashar lucman, dr shahid masood and a few others ..

funniest thing is that Mubashar lucman was a minister in Musharaf's time ... why doesn't he review his performance of that time .. secondly .. Dunya News is owned by Mian Amer .. who is an ardent supporter of PML Q .. therefore you will rarely see PML Q being condemned ...

Mubashar and HN's support to IK .. as I see it .. is like the friendship of a snake .. if you keep feeding it milk .. it will happily bite you. Don't be surprised that this will lead to alliance between PML-Q and PTI ..

So yes, it won't be directly supporting PPP but then by proxy this will happen .. All these (journa's like ML and HN singing praise) are tactics to set the stage ... Zardari is a smart operator ..

All his dreams are coming true ... so when PPP analysts say that they will win the next elections .. they are not speaking on wishful thinking .. little does anyone realise this fact.

Before anyone accuses me of being a PPP supporter .. please note that I only support IK and I hope and pray that IK doesn't fall for this trap .. else PPP (+alliances) will come out as the ultimate winners.

My prediction for future setup -

President - Zardari
Prime Minister - Imran Khan

Alliance will be strong between PPP + PML Q + PTI .. all other parties will try to feed on whatever they can get (including PML N) ...

If IK falls for the trap of alliance with any of the current govt parties (PPP, PML Q, MQM etc) .. then nothing can stop the above setup. They should just ignore all status QUO parties (including PML-N).

So, well done HN, ML and the rest to help with this setup... cards are being played really well. Again .. please voice out against my opinions but not against me... lets keep it polite ;)

wadera

You have to understand that he is NOT a journalist. There is a very clear distinction between an analyst/opinion maker and a journalist - don't mix them up please.

Again, the thread was referring to his salary and the tax he paid and the point of contention is whether you can demand to see his financial records. His competency, political bent, drinking, use of profanities etc was not a topic of discussion. At least not from the topic you picked and the post which initiated this discussion.

I have commented here multiple times that there are hacks all over Pakistani media. I couldn't agree with you that not just Shahid Masood and Mubashir Lucman but a majority of Pakistani electronic media personalities are hacks! They are incompetent, have never been trained about the basic etiquettes and professional practices and responsibility that comes with this kind of a position. This is a reflection on our society. Most so called experts in any field - specially where you can make quick money - are total hacks who know their way around.

When you have utterly incompetent people rise to the top to the highest positions in the country and when there is no accountability of any sort anywhere in any institution(except for may be in some private enterprises) then how can we suddenly expect to see extremely competent, intelligent, true their profession and unbiased professionals working for the electronic media. We are extremely lucky that a few sane, unbiased and professional people like Talat Hussain have progressed to where they are today.

What we need to do is to be fair and unbiased and point out the broader problem and the factors that are contributing to this bigger problem of the media houses being run unprofessionally. For that you need some intelligent and practical legislation to prevent the issue of illegal money flowing in to give projection to a certain viewpoint. Now who will be competent enough to think about such legislation let alone get it crafted, passed and implemented. There lies your bigger problem - that basic fabric of how countries and institutions work have been ruined over the last 30+ years in Pakistan and thats reflected everywhere. The problem is bigger than how you are portraying it in a simplistic and isolated way. Its much widespread and the rot has set in deep. Complain about the systemic issues and not just some handpicked personalities.

I hope you read all my comments .. I am asking for all media persons to make their assets public. Legislation doesn't have to be complicated. All that needs to happen is for PEMRA to demand media houses for provision of this condition else their licence to operate will be suspended/cancelled.

People like ML, SM or HN are only adding to the problem. Clearly, the system is a rot but doesn't that mean that we need to hold account the very people who are demanding accountability of others. Those in public space .. be it politicians, media folk or judiciary.

What I really want is transparency across the board ... every institute in the country . should make their employees assets public .. what does a 20 grade officer have to fear about if he has no ill-gotten income .. same goes for media persons .. I don't think it is an unreasonable demand

mrk123

I do read your comments but I guess you are still missing the point that most are making. That you can't demand to see someone's private financial records if YOU ARE NOT paying his salary. Simple as that! If the person is making his tax record public then thats his/her discretion and a courtesy.

You keep insisting that media personalities are public figures and are fair game. They may be public in so far as that they appear on TV but they are not public figures in the sense that they are being accountable and answerable to the taxpayers. As I have said before, next you will ask for the same of the historians that you or someone else disagrees with. At this time in our history we don't need thought police and intimidation in the form of witch hunts at the whim of the public.

I guess we are in violent agreement that there should be regulations in place to prevent some of the apprehensions about money flowing in to the media and its affects. May be you are right that the regulation doesn't have to be complicated but the problem is endemic and it will be hard to tackle this issue when there are improprieties in every sphere of our public lives.

I hope you read all my comments .. I am asking for all media persons to make their assets public. Legislation doesn't have to be complicated. All that needs to happen is for PEMRA to demand media houses for provision of this condition else their licence to operate will be suspended/cancelled.

People like ML, SM or HN are only adding to the problem. Clearly, the system is a rot but doesn't that mean that we need to hold account the very people who are demanding accountability of others. Those in public space .. be it politicians, media folk or judiciary.

What I really want is transparency across the board ... every institute in the country . should make their employees assets public .. what does a 20 grade officer have to fear about if he has no ill-gotten income .. same goes for media persons .. I don't think it is an unreasonable demand

AsifAmeer

Dont know mate... you sound pretty darn libertarian to me!

I would love to hear your views on my blog Rights and Privileges

I specifically listened to that part but I don't get what you are alluding to and you are adamant not to share it with me here. So lets just forget about it.

What are you questioning by the way if he himself has made his tax record public? I really have to ask you this - do you read any of the posts in response to your posts? I have seen countless people responding to you that if he has made his tax records public that means that he has proof of income for the money he paid the taxes for - they what are you questioning? Let the FBR decide as @AsifAmeer suggested in one of his posts (man! you started the thread and you are the one who is not reading most posts on here :)

but WHY???? they are private citizens! I am don't know why its so hard for you to understand that no one has the right to question someone's lifestyle unless there is solid grounds to prove illegal or illegitimate practices. Just because someone is a showbaaz doesn't give you or anyone else the right to go poking around their personal business. Does right to privacy mean anything to you?

I always follow this principle - but seemed that you started a thread - made your points and then wouldn't want to discuss the counter arguments.
Then whats the point of starting a discussion if you only want to hear the comments which are inline with your viewpoint. Guess you are doing a Hassan Nisar on us ;-)

Its up to you if you don't want to continue the discussion because you are not progressing the debate and rather repeating yourself and forcing most of us to repeat the same points over and over again .....

I am lazy and seems that I made all of these arguments in vain - Guess I will be wary next time before I engage in a debate with you :-)

mrk123

I guess I will take the libertarian label for now as liberal and conservative seem to be tarnished but I really don't subscribe to any labels or ideologies, I would rather be a realist and pragmatist and adopt any ideology that gets the job done without causing much pain in the process.

Btw, I commented on your blog Rights and Privileges.

Dont know mate... you sound pretty darn libertarian to me!

I would love to hear your views on my blog Rights and Privileges

InsafianPTI

I think i would partially agree with you in your first sentence, yes i'm bold and blunt like him when i speak, if it means 'lack of mannerism' to you than thats ur point of view and you are free to do so and the same way I'm free to be the way I like to be,Also you really think i would bother being 'ignored' by random people(as You Put it although not sure how you got to that conclusion)and the people I don't even know at all or don't care to know, by the way feel free to to 'ignore' me, i won't cry........

Does Hassan Nissar get paid by tax payers money?? yes the relavent authorities need to know what he earns, payes taxes on etc(relavent authorities should know what they are earning and where they are earning it from), I don't see why he necessarily have to declare assets to public. He is not in a public service job. Politicians,bureaucrates, generals etc get paid from tax payers money and yes perhaps there is a greater need for them to declare assets, there should be a clear track record of everything.

I like some of his things very much but don't agree with everything he says, The video that you put up, there was nothing wrong in it in my view,Full stop.
I also liked it very much when he says that don't make anyone (leader etc) your 'daiwtaa' and start worshipping him,
and I do exactly that! Hassan Nissar or IK or even Myself nobody is my 'daiwtaa'!

You and Hassan Nisar have the same problem, both of you have no manners to carry out a proper discussion. All the profanities he splashes seem normal to you, this is astounding.

As far as Hassan Nisar is concerned, who says he is not a public servant? He may not be a civil servant but if he shows up on tv and news papers shouting profanities and acting like all knowing. Then yes, I do have a problem and all I am asking for is accountability throughout the board. What is so wrong for asking media persons to declare their assets?

I gave example of Hassan Nisar because I have some idea about his income. I want everyone all politicians, bureaucrats, lawyers, judges and media persons to make their assets public. Yes, ***** brothers too.

Lastly, if you continue to talk in this tone you will be ignored (like a few others on this forum).

InsafianPTI

So these people who are doing other businesses as well as politics should not be doing that in the first place.
And if you are IK supporter than you should understand it as IK himself has expalined it many times that these people who have big businesses they come in politics because they like to get the benifit of both, and they know that the benifit is huge.
Worst sort of crime which is hard to catch.
Hassan Nissar or other private service man don't have access to such things.
The only thing different is that Hassan Nisar himself mentioned the tax he pays on a TV show.

So, why should politicians make their assets public? Considering most of these politicians have other businesses like agriculture, industry, sports etc? The income they get from being in public office is very little compared to their other businesses?

Don't get me wrong - I am just playing devils advocate here.

Also, media anchors only want RTP ratings as that will generate the ad revenue and based on which anchors get their legitimate salary. So, what is wrong with making their assets public .. specially for someone as 'holy' as Hassan Nisar who on prime time tells the nation that he pays so much tax ? ? ?

To me it seems that he is keen to be open and accountable but some of his 'defenders' think otherwise. Why?