Hassan Nisar's Salary - mind boggling

imyrathore

lagta media mein b black mony ko white kiya jaa raha hay
To be honest if he is paying that much tax and he is declaring it then he has to be praised because paying tax is not something that pakistanis tend to like doing. What else can u expect when u have leaders like Nawaz Sharif, Zardari, the rest of the Elected Members of National and Provisional Parliament, Bureaucrats, Senior Army officers and the business elite as role model of pure haraam khori.

By the way if u wanna read about pure money laundering and some specific examples from Pakistan then have a read of Raymond Baker book CAPITALISMS ACHILLES HEEL Dirty Money and How to Renew the Free-Market System - http://goo.gl/8AzUL .

InsafianPTI

Oh My God :lol:
This just made my day.
After reading this I can say that I agree a lot more with you than with Hassan Nissar. Infact i agree with you 100% (i could say 110%, like some people do, but for a logical person like you i want to be mathematically correct :-)).
I absolutely loved reading it.

About the line i have just highlighted, I want to endorse the point you were making, you were right not him, The difference between Hassan Nissar and 'Wadera' is that one is using electronic media to say what he wants to and other is using social media, both dealing with public and almost on same issues, so we can't demand 'asset declaration' from one and not from the other.

I don't want to sound like a broken record but you leave me no choice but to repeat the arguments that I have already made in your response to your assertions.

First - lets differentiate between public figures and private citizens. Media houses in Pakistan(except for government controlled agencies) are private enterprises. Unless there are solid grounds against them for gross irregularities then we can't, just to satisfy wadera's whims, initiate a witch hunt against them. You can't just do that on a hunch on your part. You are trying to exempt yourself too - you are making your arguments on a publicly available forum then why not you should be held accountable for your words by asking you to make public your finances?

I am still not getting your point here. I guess its just me.

You are saying that anyone who asks for accountability and transparency in the dealings and finances of a people's representative or a government employee whose salary is paid by the taxpayers has to submit him/herself for accountability first? Could you read this question again and see the flaw in your logic? Let me see if I start a blog tomorrow and call for accountability of all the corrupt and call for checking the excesses committed by the powerful in this country - you would ask for my finances to be made public too? Well, I got news for you - no chance in hell that you are infringing on my privacy - same applies to Hassan Nisar. I may not agree with his views but he has every right to make those views public as he sees fit and if anyone doesn't agree with him then they have a choice to flip the channel to the one that they like and can digest or read a different column in the same newspaper with a different slant or better yet pick up a different paper. No one is shoving that channel or newspaper article down your throat.

You seem like an educated person - have you read any history books or taken a course on philosophy or political science? Have you read most of the intellectuals or historians or philosophers? The libraries are full of books on varying and divergent views. Some way out there and not conforming to the popularly held views or beliefs but you don't go after those people with a knife and call for their head or their finances to be made public.

I gave you an example that you don't go after a great art critic and tell him that he should shut up and not bother about his critiques if he can't paint a masterpiece him/herself or tell a drama/film critic to shove it unless he can produce a top class drama/film. You just can't do that - thats not how things work.

You didn't answer my question about where did HN said that he is a philosopher? People ask him to come on their shows and call him an analyst. Now analysts/philosophers are conscience of a society - they think aloud. Sometime their thinking aligns with yours and sometime it doesn't. Honestly great philosophers/analysts wouldn't want you to agree with them and would like you to challenge their assertions with counter logic(notice logic and not hyperbole).

You again are asking us to take your hunch and suspicions and act upon them and infringe on someone's privacy and make their finances public. Why not say that a system should be instituted where if some proofs are present of some wrongdoing then action is taken against that media house or that individual.

I am amused at this line of yours:

These people come on TV and act all holy, all knowing, philosophical and condemn everyone but themselves. Don't you see something wrong in that?

I really don't see anything wrong in that :-) I am sure you have a remote for your TV and its really to switch the channel to the one you like and listen/watch whoever rocks your boat. If someone is stating that the elite in this country are getting away with murder while the common man is struggling in their day to day lives, or that the powers to be in this country are corrupt, or that these powers to be are encroaching on public lands to protect themselves and their families at the expense of the taxpayers - now would it matter to you what that person does in his private life? I think that all of those things are true and only that matters to me - if that same person stating this truth veers away from the truth and says something that I dont agree with then I will just filter that part but I wouldn't discount the truths that he had stated earlier.

Again - there is no compulsion. I am not sure if you have heard this announcement that some of the airline pilots/cabin crew make over the PA in a plane when you land - they usually thank and appreciate the customers for choosing their airline given that lot of other options were available to them. The same applies to Pakistani media - there are shows catering to all kinds of viewers with all kinds of bent - you have a choice of what do you want to watch and what do you want to pay for. Unless of course its PTV - then you can make a stink about what you see there since its funded by your money.

mrk123

I can't believe you read all of my rambling - I feel for you! Even I don't dare reading it back to myself :-)

And, you are the one who made my day by calling me logical - though some would question your sanity there ;-)

Thanks a lot anyways!

I guess we are the crazy ones here who believe in using common sense - I guess it was someone as smart as you who said that the problem with common sense is that its not so common ;-)

I just wish that there was a course called 'using common sense 101' back when I was in school - it would have come in handy for people like me.

Oh My God :lol:
This just made my day.
After reading this I can say that I agree a lot more with you than with Hassan Nissar. Infact i agree with you 100% (i could say 110%, like some people do, but for a logical person like you i want to be mathematically correct :-)).
I absolutely loved reading it.

About the line i have just highlighted, I want to endorse the point you were making, you were right not him, The difference between Hassan Nissar and 'Wadera' is that one is using electronic media to say what he wants to and other is using social media, both dealing with public and almost on same issues, so we can't demand 'asset declaration' from one and not from the other.

AsifAmeer

Common sense is a subject taught best thru time via injury - phyiscal, social, economical or even spritual.

I can't believe you read all of my rambling - I feel for you! Even I don't dare reading it back to myself :-)

And, you are the one who made my day by calling me logical - though some would question your sanity there ;-)

Thanks a lot anyways!

I guess we are the crazy ones here who believe in using common sense - I guess it was someone as smart as you who said that the problem with common sense is that its not so common ;-)

I just wish that there was a course called 'using common sense 101' back when I was in school - it would have come in handy for people like me.

mrk123

I loved your comment about "daiwtaa" - we should all refrain from personality worship.

I think i would partially agree with you in your first sentence, yes i'm bold and blunt like him when i speak, if it means 'lack of mannerism' to you than thats ur point of view and you are free to do so and the same way I'm free to be the way I like to be,Also you really think i would bother being 'ignored' by random people(as You Put it although not sure how you got to that conclusion)and the people I don't even know at all or don't care to know, by the way feel free to to 'ignore' me, i won't cry........

Does Hassan Nissar get paid by tax payers money?? yes the relavent authorities need to know what he earns, payes taxes on etc(relavent authorities should know what they are earning and where they are earning it from), I don't see why he necessarily have to declare assets to public. He is not in a public service job. Politicians,bureaucrates, generals etc get paid from tax payers money and yes perhaps there is a greater need for them to declare assets, there should be a clear track record of everything.

I like some of his things very much but don't agree with everything he says, The video that you put up, there was nothing wrong in it in my view,Full stop.
I also liked it very much when he says that don't make anyone (leader etc) your 'daiwtaa' and start worshipping him,
and I do exactly that! Hassan Nissar or IK or even Myself nobody is my 'daiwtaa'!

InsafianPTI

well it wasn't really rambling, I think either you are very very humble or are trying to be one, so which one is it then?;))
anyway mazaaq aside i seriously meant what i said, and don't worry there are many who actually do question my sanity sometimes (including myself) so even if someone would do that after reading my comments on your post not a big deal for me, so don't worry :)
Yes we did have discussion about common sense (i'm surprised that you remembered that much). Thanks.

Thanks a lot anyways!

mrk123

well it wasn't really rambling, I think either you are very very humble or are trying to be one, so which one is it then?;))

I like humble people and try to be one myself - plus I think I always learn something from others which means that there are more reasons for me to remain grounded.

anyway mazaaq aside i seriously meant what i said, and don't worry there are many who actually do question my sanity sometimes (including myself) so even if someone would do that after reading my comments on your post not a big deal for me, so don't worry :)

I know what you mean and I am sure you know that I was kidding about you not being sane.
Your positive comments are appreciated. Well, the negative ones are appreciated too but the positive ones are appreciated a little more :-)

Yes we did have discussion about common sense (i'm surprised that you remembered that much). Thanks.

With old age comes selective memory - you tend to keep the important stuff and throw out the irrelevant one out :-)
I do remember our discussion regarding common sense.

fawad ali

Having a good pay is a good thing. Is mai bura kia hai? He gives 20 Lac Rs INCOME TAX per year, more than Nawaz Sharif. What else do you want? And his source of income is known to us, i.e his job salary.
Plz don't confuse people with your illogical reasoning. Don't tell them that getting rich is itself a wrong thing. You can be poor but corrupt. Rich doesn't necessarily make you corrupt. What stupid logic is that?

I am sorry for butting in your conversation with @moazzamniaz but I am not sure what are you really disagreeing with.

How is Hassan Nisar portraying distorted history and how is he tolerated in an 'uneducated country'(whatever that means)? I thought that he is termed by most as not representing the vast majority of people - him being labeled as a la-deeni liberal. How many of the vast population of Pakistan is la-deeni liberal?

I am also not sure how you are tying up all the loose ends by mentioning Dr. Moid Pirzada and Dr. Shahid Masood and their failings to prove a point that Hassan Nisar is not worth his salt?

I am really confused here.
There are two aspect of the discussion here.

1) Excessive payments received by these so-called Journalists. Be it Hassan or Shahid or Moid. They are in same boat, according to me none of them is a Journalist.

2) Second point discussed was the Character of Hassan, his distortion of history in almost every program. His tirade against Muslims all the time, based on very loose talk.

Do you disagree with it?

For the efficiency of Journalists, I have given my point of view. Show me one single proof that a good meaningful and world standard documentary is presented on any TV channel by any of our these so-called Journalists. Similarly, show me one single policy document prepared by our so-called Journalists and our such huge media?

Let me tell you, the wages they are receiving are even better than European standards. I don't know about America, but they are getting either better or at least at par with their British counterparts, best of them.

In the UK there are only two 24/7 News Channels, BBC 24 and SKY News. This rich country couldn't afford the third news channel, ITV started their 24/7 news channel but they couldn't make it financially viable option.

Think about it instead of criticising what I am writing. On British TV, we see documentaries every week on our social problems and other issues. While here problems are not of the magnitude like faced by Pakistan.

Our anchors and hosts bring the guests which are good in fighting, for obvious reason, for their ratings. Most of the time you cannot even hear the arguments in their monkey's fight. What good it serves for Pakistan?

Tell me how many scandals are there in Pakistan. Why no one higher up get convicted? Despite our Journalists having plenty of proofs. What role is played by the media?

Why Gilani is still a PM despite being convicted? Don't you think media has a role to play to get rid of him?
If he was here, he wouldn't be able to bear the pressure put up by a very small sized media compare to Pakistan.
Watch almost half of Journalists backing him up despite his loot and corruption.

Just now they Geo was showing that despite wide spread corruption by Zardari spreading over two decades, he is never convicted in Pakistan for his loot and corruption. Ask yourself why? If our media is so effective? Why there are no proofs against Zardari? And if there are why is he not convicted?

Don't tell me he is innocent.

Our media is useless, without shadow of any doubt. Most over rated and ineffective media in the world.
I gave examples of two Drs. from UK, because I have a very good idea what they were doing in the UK and what were their incomes. Fact, they had no Journalistic experience or Journalistic education either. No wonder Pakistan is a golden bird for them. Giving them golden eggs every month. What would be and was there status in the UK? Can they make such money here if they had any such capabilities?

Forget about Journalism, go and ask Dr. Shahid Masood did he ever practiced and work as a Doctor in the UK? Let me know his answer.
Ask him how he used to survive in the UK? Let me know his answer.

Look man, I am not in the business of likes and dislikes, I have no personal agenda, no favoritism, no political affiliations.
I judge people purely on merits. And I have concluded in my mind Pakistani media is self serving, from owners to the presenters. Pakistan would not change until we bring fundamental changes in our thinking and practices.

"Bhoot hogia dogla pun" and backing up useless people because of our affiliations or whatever other reasons.

Why you think in the west nobody tolerate corrupt people no matter what party they belong. Their own party disown them pronto, and you would never see Media giving them options and opportunities to spread their lies after their gilt or crime is proven in the court of law. They are part of the history. Their local party de-seat them and kick them out of their local ranks, forget about national leadership.

In Pakistan the trend is, the "uneducated Pakistanis" the so-called "Jaylas" are brought to the streets to put counter pressures and to save the skins of the corrupt thugs.

I feel pity for the uneducated Pakistanis, because they are not at fault, they didn't get the opportunities which are available to every kid in the West. They can be excused, their only fault is they shouldn't become the tools of the corrupts.

You can give your point of view, but don't criticise my point of view with out valid reasons. What I write make perfect sense to independent and intelligent people. When I wrote "Uneducated Pakistan", I qualified it with the people of Pakistan in the same sentence. something which I have already pointed to a smart Alec. Country is made of its population, "uneducated Pakistan" means "uneducated Pakistanis".

If you think Hassan is excellent writer or "Philosopher" ask him to accept my challenge. I will prove his lies from different talk shows with historical proofs.

Similarly, if you think Dr. Shahid Masood or Dr. Moid are better Journalists, give them and me a topic to write on. Let our work published and let people decide. I am confident I will present far better and informative article compared to them , despite me sitting in London and not having access to most of the material and people they have in access to in Pakistan.

Pakistanis should ask themselves why there is now more corruption compare to the past, despite Pakistan having such a massive media presences?

How many people are convicted of serious frauds and corruption in last 4 years?
Time to think, instead of supporting useless, overpaid and overestimated people.

I don't care about Hassan's "Ladeeni". But he doesn't have any rights to attack Islam and Muslims in generalised terms.

He has appeared drunk on TV many times. Not even in the west where there are no restrictions on Alcohol, people are tolerated to appear drunk in public talk shows.

MainBaghiHon

woman-holding-cash.jpeg

Perhaps we should all join the media. This guy (Hassan Nisar) for spreading negativity is assumed to get around Rs 1.3-1.5 Million per month (15.6 M - 18 M annually)

Source? Well, I just watched a video where Hassan Nisar himself was proudly claiming that he pays Rs 150,000 tax per month.

That means he is paying atleast Rs1.8 M of annual tax - which in turn means that at current tax rate this would be around 14% (FBR website). This means that at minimum his TAXABLE income is over Rs 1.07 M a month ..

This is mind boggling because Najam Sethi (highest paid anchor) pockets RS 2 M a month....

Perhaps its a good time to get all media persons to declare their assets?

Also, wondering whether Hassan Nisar has other source of income apart from writing and hosting meray mutabiq? Happy to be corrected.

What's Wrong :13:

Aleph

I hereby demand that Rickshaw (aka 'Tuk Tuk') drivers declare all their assets and make it publically known. I mean we all know that they are always trying to make an extra buck or two by charging us higher fares. Just to make it all the more torturous and unfair, we have to hear them talk of their conspiracy theories completely devoid of any tangible proof on world affairs. The last time I was in one, the guy told me how 9/11 was all about retrieving a "daalar bananay wali machine" which Amreeka had given to Osama during the Soviets invasions of Afghanistan. So now they are just pissed off and want that dollar-making machine back!

I wish I could talk to that riksha wala again and ask him if this machine was eventually found from Abbottabad. His name was "Jannat Gul" - talk about a fool's paradise! But, yeah, he tried to be an intellectual and his source of income was shady. All riksha drivers should declare their earnings.

And if you support THIS, [MENTION=14890]mrk123[/MENTION] then [MENTION=24375]AsifAmeer[/MENTION] is absolutely right that you are just a damn libertarian! By the way, one of your fellow libertarians, Cindy Sheehan, had some serious beef with media as well...

I guess I will take the libertarian label for now as liberal and conservative seem to be tarnished but I really don't subscribe to any labels or ideologies, I would rather be a realist and pragmatist and adopt any ideology that gets the job done without causing much pain in the process.

Btw, I commented on your blog Rights and Privileges.

mrk123

I hereby demand that Rickshaw (aka 'Tuk Tuk') drivers declare all their assets and make it publically known. I mean we all know that they are always trying to make an extra buck or two by charging us higher fares. Just to make it all the more torturous and unfair, we have to hear them talk of their conspiracy theories completely devoid of any tangible proof on world affairs. The last time I was in one, the guy told me how 9/11 was all about retrieving a "daalar bananay wali machine" which Amreeka had given to Osama during the Soviets invasions of Afghanistan. So now they are just pissed off and want that dollar-making machine back!

I wish I could talk to that riksha wala again and ask him if this machine was eventually found from Abbottabad. His name was "Jannat Gul" - talk about a fool's paradise! But, yeah, he tried to be an intellectual and his source of income was shady. All riksha drivers should declare their earnings.

Come on now! It must be true if someone read it on the internet. I just got an idea that someone should start a website rating the preposoterousity(if thats a word:-) of the conspiracy theories doing the round - I wouldn't be surprise if it already exists. This daaallaar making machine presumption will definitely rank high.

I wonder if anyone is asking Zaid Hamid to declare his assets.

And if you support THIS, @mrk123 then @AsifAmeer is absolutely right that you are just a damn libertarian! By the way, one of your fellow libertarians, Cindy Sheehan, had some serious beef with media as well...

I always thought that she was a pinkie liberal - isn't she? I believe she moved to Berkeley. You have be uber liberal to do that.
Did she transform into a libertarian?

HHH...

They are talented, and getting salary from Private Channel.
U would also get a well amount from NOORA, That's your talent (Although roughly wrong, but True) Isn't That?

is se ziyada educated loog hain pak mein un ki salary itni nahi,kiya waja hay k kuch sahafion ki salary millions mein hay?

There are two aspect of the discussion here.

1) Excessive payments received by these so-called Journalists. Be it Hassan or Shahid or Moid. They are in same boat, according to me none of them is a Journalist.

2) Second point discussed was the Character of Hassan, his distortion of history in almost every program. His tirade against Muslims all the time, based on very loose talk.

Do you disagree with it?

For the efficiency of Journalists, I have given my point of view. Show me one single proof that a good meaningful and world standard documentary is presented on any TV channel by any of our these so-called Journalists. Similarly, show me one single policy document prepared by our so-called Journalists and our such huge media?

Let me tell you, the wages they are receiving are even better than European standards. I don't know about America, but they are getting either better or at least at par with their British counterparts, best of them.

In the UK there are only two 24/7 News Channels, BBC 24 and SKY News. This rich country couldn't afford the third news channel, ITV started their 24/7 news channel but they couldn't make it financially viable option.

Think about it instead of criticising what I am writing. On British TV, we see documentaries every week on our social problems and other issues. While here problems are not of the magnitude like faced by Pakistan.

Our anchors and hosts bring the guests which are good in fighting, for obvious reason, for their ratings. Most of the time you cannot even hear the arguments in their monkey's fight. What good it serves for Pakistan?

Tell me how many scandals are there in Pakistan. Why no one higher up get convicted? Despite our Journalists having plenty of proofs. What role is played by the media?

Why Gilani is still a PM despite being convicted? Don't you think media has a role to play to get rid of him?
If he was here, he wouldn't be able to bear the pressure put up by a very small sized media compare to Pakistan.
Watch almost half of Journalists backing him up despite his loot and corruption.

Just now they Geo was showing that despite wide spread corruption by Zardari spreading over two decades, he is never convicted in Pakistan for his loot and corruption. Ask yourself why? If our media is so effective? Why there are no proofs against Zardari? And if there are why is he not convicted?

Don't tell me he is innocent.

Our media is useless, without shadow of any doubt. Most over rated and ineffective media in the world.
I gave examples of two Drs. from UK, because I have a very good idea what they were doing in the UK and what were their incomes. Fact, they had no Journalistic experience or Journalistic education either. No wonder Pakistan is a golden bird for them. Giving them golden eggs every month. What would be and was there status in the UK? Can they make such money here if they had any such capabilities?

Forget about Journalism, go and ask Dr. Shahid Masood did he ever practiced and work as a Doctor in the UK? Let me know his answer.
Ask him how he used to survive in the UK? Let me know his answer.

Look man, I am not in the business of likes and dislikes, I have no personal agenda, no favoritism, no political affiliations.
I judge people purely on merits. And I have concluded in my mind Pakistani media is self serving, from owners to the presenters. Pakistan would not change until we bring fundamental changes in our thinking and practices.

"Bhoot hogia dogla pun" and backing up useless people because of our affiliations or whatever other reasons.

Why you think in the west nobody tolerate corrupt people no matter what party they belong. Their own party disown them pronto, and you would never see Media giving them options and opportunities to spread their lies after their gilt or crime is proven in the court of law. They are part of the history. Their local party de-seat them and kick them out of their local ranks, forget about national leadership.

In Pakistan the trend is, the "uneducated Pakistanis" the so-called "Jaylas" are brought to the streets to put counter pressures and to save the skins of the corrupt thugs.

I feel pity for the uneducated Pakistanis, because they are not at fault, they didn't get the opportunities which are available to every kid in the West. They can be excused, their only fault is they shouldn't become the tools of the corrupts.

You can give your point of view, but don't criticise my point of view with out valid reasons. What I write make perfect sense to independent and intelligent people. When I wrote "Uneducated Pakistan", I qualified it with the people of Pakistan in the same sentence. something which I have already pointed to a smart Alec. Country is made of its population, "uneducated Pakistan" means "uneducated Pakistanis".

If you think Hassan is excellent writer or "Philosopher" ask him to accept my challenge. I will prove his lies from different talk shows with historical proofs.

Similarly, if you think Dr. Shahid Masood or Dr. Moid are better Journalists, give them and me a topic to write on. Let our work published and let people decide. I am confident I will present far better and informative article compared to them , despite me sitting in London and not having access to most of the material and people they have in access to in Pakistan.

Pakistanis should ask themselves why there is now more corruption compare to the past, despite Pakistan having such a massive media presences?

How many people are convicted of serious frauds and corruption in last 4 years?
Time to think, instead of supporting useless, overpaid and overestimated people.

I don't care about Hassan's "Ladeeni". But he doesn't have any rights to attack Islam and Muslims in generalised terms.

He has appeared drunk on TV many times. Not even in the west where there are no restrictions on Alcohol, people are tolerated to appear drunk in public talk shows.

You are continuously rambling on about how you dont consider Hassan Nisar and others as 'journalists' and how you have thrown down the gauntlet to Hasan Nisar to a duel to the death but he has chickened out.
Im sure he read your message and soiled his pants.
I am yet to read your personal master piece column getting published in any leading newspaper yet you degrade established writers with thousands of readers and multiple decades of experience as if you are a grandmaster at the art of column writing and investigative journalism and everyone else is an amateur.
You should get off your high horse and accept the fact that although you do not like Hasan Nisars style and diction, there are millions who do and that is why he is widely read and liked.

However despite all of your 'firm convictions' , patriotic duel challenges and astute command on journalism, history and politics there is nothing in the law which demands that journalists of private media organizations declare their assets.
You can wish for it, that is your right but if a journalist does not disclose it then you should also avoid 'generalization' that such journalist is corrupt only because he is not succumbing to your personal accountability demands.

Aleph

Well, she was vehemently against the Patriot Act...

Come on now! It must be true if someone read it on the internet. I just got an idea that someone should start a website rating the preposoterousity(if thats a word:-) of the conspiracy theories doing the round - I wouldn't be surprise if it already exists. This daaallaar making machine presumption will definitely rank high.

I wonder if anyone is asking Zaid Hamid to declare his assets.

I always thought that she was a pinkie liberal - isn't she? I believe she moved to Berkeley. You have be uber liberal to do that.
Did she transform into a libertarian?