Dead Body of Salim Shahzad found: Breaking NEWS by ARY

Who do you think killed journalist Saleem Shahzad?

• Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan

Votes: 7 13.2%
  • Al-Qaida

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • ISI

Votes: 22 41.5%
  • CIA / Black Water

Votes: 24 45.3%

• Total voters

M Ali Khan

“I must give you a favor. We have recently arrested a terrorist and have recovered a lot of data, dairies and other material during the interrogation. The terrorist had a hit list with him. If I find your name in the list, I will certainly let you know,”

Threat to Saleem Shahzad from DG Media Wing ISI, Rear Admiral Adnan Nazir

moazzamniaz

What was the use of killing him after he published the article?

And so far i know what he wrote was not against Agency? correct me if i am wrong

بائیس تاریخ سے ستائیس تاریخ تک میڈیا پر آئ ایس آئ اپنے ٹاوٹوں کے زریعے سارا ملبہ را، موساد اور سی آئ اے پر ڈالے ہوئی تھی. اسکے بعد سلیم شہزاد کا آرٹیکل چھپا اور ہر کسی کو اندر کی کہانی معلوم ہوئی کہ کیسے یہ ایجنسی والے نیوی کے اندر طالبان کے ہمدرد ملازمین پکڑ نے کے بعد طالبان کی دھمکیوں کے آگے بھیگی بلی بن گئے. کیسے یہی ایجنسی اپنی جان بچانے کیلیے طالبان کے نمائندوں سے ملاقاتیں اور مذاکرات کرتی رہی. کیسے یہ ڈر کے مارے گرفتار شدگان سے تفتیش کے بجاۓ انکو آسائشات فراہم کرتے رہے. اور کس طرح انہوں نے واضح دھمکیوں کے باوجود بیس کی حفاظت کیلیے کوئی قدم نہ اٹھایا؟؟؟ اسکے علاوہ ان ایجنسی والوں کی "بہادری" کی اس سے بڑی اور کیا داستان ہو سکتی ہے!!!!!!!!؟

M Ali Khan

http://asiancorrespondent.com/56321/saleem-shahzad-dead-another-one-bites-the-dust/

Saleem Shahzad dead: another one bites the dust (updated below with email from Shahzad to Human Rights Watch)

Four days ago, Saleem Shahzad, a journalist working for the Asia Times, penned this report on the extent of al-Qaeda’s infiltration in the Navy at lower levels, and how the attack on PNS-Mehran tied into an investigation of the same. At the top of the story, we read that “this is the first article in a two-part report”. How wrong he was.

Two days ago, Saleem Shahzad disappeared. Today, he re-appeared, dead.

I am more angry than sad right now. I literally cannot believe that the ISI acted with such impunity. They can pick someone one up, torture and murder them, and expect absolutely no legal recrimination.

Remember, these people’s job is to protect us. But they torture and kill us, and protect Osama bin Laden and Hafiz Saeed instead.

They do
this in Balochistan most every day, what with student activists, nationalists, and regular party workers ending up in gutters, but they have made the entirely rational calculation that no one in Pakistan cares about Balochistan — watch the video in this Cafe Pyala post if you don’t believe me. This feels somehow different, because his abduction was front page news. And yet they still went ahead and killed him.

When Saleem Shahzad disappeared, I honestly thought he’d just get beaten up and abused, like they did Umar Cheema. I never actually considered the possibility that they would kill him, especially when Human Rights Watch had “credible” information that he had been picked up by the ISI.

RIP Saleem Shahzad. Photo: via Declan Walsh

I suppose it’s too much to ask anyone to actually investigate this. Our “independent” judiciary stopped making a fuss about missing people when it was no longer politically convenient to do so, i.e when Musharraf was no longer around. I expect more of the same here.

Update: Ali Dayan Hasan of Human Rights Watch has forwarded me an email that the late Shahzad had forwarded to him in October 2010 with the words “I am forwarding this email to you for your record only if in case something happens to me or my family in future.”

(Beginning of email)

For future reference:
Meeting details as on October 17, 2010 at the ISI headquarters Islamabad between DG Media Wing ISI, Rear Admiral Adnan Nazir and Syed Saleem Shahzad, the Bureau Chief Pakistan for Asia Times Online (Hong Kong). Commodore Khalid Pervaiz, the Deputy Director General of Media Wing ISI was also present during the conversation.

Agenda of the meeting: discussion on Asia Times Online story published on October 15, 2010, titled Pakistan frees Taliban commander (see http://atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/LJ16Df02.html).

The meeting discussed the following issues.

1-Syed Saleem Shahzad told Rear Admiral Adnan that an intelligence channel leaked the story. However, he added that story was published only after a confirmation from the most credible Taliban source. Syed also explained that DG ISPR was sent a text message about the story, but he did not respond.

2- Rear Admiral Adnan Nazir had the view that story caused a lot of embracement for the country but observed that issuing a denial from the government side is no solution. He suggested Syed Saleem Shahzad should write a denial of the story.

3- Syed Shahzad refused to comply with demand and termed it impractical.

4-Rear Admiral Adnan was curious to know the source of the story as it is a shame that information would leak from the office of a high profile intelligence service.

5- Syed Shahzad called it an intelligence leak but did not specify the source.

6-The conversation was held in an extremely polite and friendly atmosphere and there was no mince word in the room at any stage. Rear Admiral Adnan Nazir also offered Syed Saleem Shahzad a favor in following words.

“I must give you a favor. We have recently arrested a terrorist and have recovered a lot of data, dairies and other material during the interrogation. The terrorist had a hit list with him. If I find your name in the list, I will certainly let you know,”

(end of email)

moazzamniaz

Threat to Saleem Shahzad from DG Media Wing ISI, Rear Admiral Adnan Nazir
Source plz...............!

Thanx for the source. I got it.

aasimnaveed

MQM walo rola dalo .. aka karkun tha .. aik or shaheed apki list me ..

yar he reported about some terrorists and after being caught their contact with navy to get their men free from custody .. so there isno link its just a breaking news that there was contact between investigavtive agencies and talibans but not positive just for freedom of thier men ..

thats why i think taliban are behind this ... nuksaan unka hua na .. baat khull gai ab woh kabhi free nahin hongay ...

baki Allah behter janta hai

M Ali Khan

The man was abducted from F6 area, one of the most secure areas of Islamabad, by the ISI who had been threatening him to back off from exposing the amount of jihadi fanaticism now inside the Armed Forces and how it caused the PNS Mehran attack.

He is abducted for telling the truth, taken away, brutally tortured, and dumped 150 km away from his house like some piece of trash!

I am utterly disgusted, ashamed, pissed off, and angry at these TRAITORS that sit and terrorise the whole of Pakistan inside their comfy offices of Aabpara!

IMRAN KHAN, IF YOU DO A DHARNA FOR SHAHZAD SALEEM'S COLD BLOODER MURDER, I SWEAR I WILL BE THE FIRST ONE THERE! But I know you wont, since the ISI is now happily helping you!!

kashif10

But is kay apnay AAqa bhee karwaskatay hain takkay is ki report ki ehmiaat aur barh jayeye... Is kay baad kitnay log Pak forces, ISI etc kay khilaaf hogayye hongay.
Baqi haqeeqat Allah ko pata.. hum kisi ko bagher tehqeeq kuch nahi kehsaktay...
Bus Allah pak sar zameen ko apni aamaan may rakhay.

M Ali Khan

But is kay apnay AAqa bhee karwaskatay hain takkay is ki report ki ehmiaat aur barh jayeye... Is kay baad kitnay log Pak forces, ISI etc kay khilaaf hogayye hongay.
Baqi haqeeqat Allah ko pata.. hum kisi ko bagher tehqeeq kuch nahi kehsaktay...
Bus Allah pak sar zameen ko apni aamaan may rakhay.
Allah iss pak sazameen ko kyun apney hifz-o-amaan mein rakhey jiss k apney logg is pak sar zameen par khud fasad barpa kar keh maasoom bantey phirtay hain!

king1982

I dont think he was killed by ISI. The ISI is being grilled day and night and its links with extremist outfits is no secret. He was probably killed by some foreign intelligence service to give a bad image on ISI or even killed by taliban

Keep your eyes closed and raag alapta rahoo sab acha hai. The country is in chaos, people are being killed and the murderers are infront of us telling us who they are. But we would keep our eyes closed and tell every one nothing happened. If anyone tries to tell the truth like this guy. You would not believe cause you like the eyes being closed. You love to hear that everything is ok.
Though its not ok, though the country is on the edge of collapse if it remains like this. But no you should not point finger to army, and you should not point finger to taliban. Masha allah kia logic hai
so you people labelling this on taliban too.....now i think you people will also claim that present e coli food poisoning infection that killed dozens of people in germany was also caused by taliban.
taliban must have invented a miniature machine laser that causes one to shrink to the size of bacteria and than they go inside the bacteria and infect you:13:

anyway when a journalist dies we do not use word shahheed for him .because there is not even a single journalist at present who is sincere to islam or pakistan.all are after money
if he wrote something in international media to give impression that pak army has links with alqaeda than like Hamid meer he was after money too...and greed kills they say
who in right mind will bleieve that pak army has any links with islamists.pak army is killing islamists on usa orders, those people who claim such nonsense like asima jahangir are the ones who hate pakistan so much that they cant even tolerate its secular army,they want india to come and take over here very soon

strings

جس خبر کا کوئی خاص ردعمل نہیں آتا تو اس کا مطلب ہے کہ اٹھا لیا جاتا ہے۔ یہ الفاظ سلیم شہزاد کے ہیں جو انہوں نے پراسرار طور پر غائب ہونے سے ایک روز پہلے اپنے ایک دوست کو کہے تھے۔

سید سلیم شہزاد سے میری پہلی ملاقات نوے کی دہائی کے آخر میں ہوئی تھی جب وہ ایک نجی خبر رساں ادارے، پی پی آئی، سے منسلک ہوگئے تھے۔

تاہم مرحوم نے اپنی پیشہ ورانہ زندگی کا باقاعدہ آغاز کراچی میں شام کے اخبار دی سٹار سے کیا تھا۔

ان سے ملاقات کے بعد محسوس ہوا کہ وہ شروع ہی سے خطرات سے کھیلنے کے لیے تیار رہتے تھے اور نمایاں صحافی بننا چاہتے تھے۔

اتوار کی شام پراسرار گمشدگی سے ایک روز پہلے سنیچر کی شام ہمارے ایک مشترکہ دوست سے ایف نائن پارک میں ملاقات کے دوران انہوں نے بتایا کہ کراچی میں مہران بیس پر حملے کے بارے میں ان کی ایک تحقیقاتی رپورٹ ستائیس مئی کو ہانگ کانگ کی ویب سائٹ ایشیا ٹائمز میں شائع ہوئی ہے۔

انھوں نے خدشہ ظاہر کیا کہاس خبر پر کوئی خاص ردعمل سامنے نہیں آیا اور مسکراتے ہوئے کہا کہ اس کا مطلب تو یہ ہوتا ہے کہ اٹھا لیا جاتا ہے۔ان کے بقول انہیں ایک شخص کا فون آیا تھا جس نے اپنے آپ کو کرنل ظاہر کیا تھا اور کہا تھا کہ سلیم صاحب کئی دنوں سے آپ کی کوئی شکایت نہیں آئی لیکن ملاقات تو ہونی چاہیے۔

سلیم شہزاد نے کہا کہ انہوں نے جس نمبر سے فون آیا تھا کئی بار کوشش کی لیکن وہ نمبر کام نہیں کر رہا تھا۔

سید سلیم شہزاد کے برادرِ نسبتی (سالے) حمزہ امیر کے مطابق سلیم شہزاد کی ستائیس مئی کو ہانگ کانگ کی ویب سائٹ ایشیا ٹائمز میں ایک تحقیقی رپورٹ شائع ہوئی تھی جس میں انہوں نے نامعلوم ذرائع کے حوالے سے کہا ہے کہ پاکستان بحریہ اور القاعدہ میں مذاکرات کی ناکامی کی وجہ سے شدت پسندوں نے بحریہ کی تنصیبات کو نشانہ بنایا۔

سلیم شہزاد کی نامعلوم ذرائع کے حوالے سے شائع کردہ رپورٹ میں مزید کہا گیا کہ بحریہ کے دس کے قریب نچلےگریڈ کے ملازمین کو گرفتار کیا گیا اور انہیں رہا کرانے کے لیے القاعدہ نے نیول حکام کو دھمکیاں بھی دیں تھیں۔

ان کے مطابق مبینہ طور پر جب متعلقہ اہلکاروں کو رہا نہ کیا گیا تو شدت پسندوں نے پہلے کراچی میں نیوی کی بسوں اور بعد میں مہران بیس پر حملہ کر کے طیاروں کو تباہ کردیا۔

بائیس اور تئیس مئی کی درمیانی شب شدت پسندوں کے حملے میں پندرہ گھنٹے کے مقابلے کے بعد پاکستانی حکام نے چار دہشت گردوں کو ہلاک کر کے آپریشن ختم کرنے کا اعلان کیا تھا۔ آپریشن میں دس پاکستانی سکیورٹی اہلکار ہلاک اور پندرہ زخمی ہوئے۔

سید سلیم شہزاد، ہانگ کانگ کی نیوز ویب سائٹ ایشیاء ٹائمز آن لائن کے پاکستان میں بیورو چیف تھے جبکہ وہ ایک اطالوی خبررساں ادارے کے لیے بھی اپنی پیشہ ورانہ ذمہ داریاں نبھا رہے تھے۔ اس کے علاوہ وہ بریڈ فورڈ میں قائم پاکستان سکیورٹی ریسرچ یونٹ کے رکن بھی تھے۔

سلیم شہزاد کی پیشہ ورانہ زندگی میں ناخوشگوار واقعات کی کمی نہیں تھی۔ انہیں نومبر، سنہ دو ہزار چھ میں جنوبی افغانستان کے صوبے ہلمند میں اپنے ترجمان کے ساتھ اغواء کر لیا گیا تھا۔

حال ہی میں ان کی ایک کتاب شائع ہوئی ہے جس کا نام
'Inside Al-Qaeda & Taliban, Beyond bin Laden and 9/11
ہے۔

ان کی ایک اور کتاب
Al-Qaeda, its ideology, strategy and tactics
عنقریب شائع ہونے والی تھی۔

سلیم شہزاد نے اپنے سوگواروں میں بیوہ، دو بیٹے اور ایک بیٹی چھوڑے ہیں۔

سلیم شہزاد ہمیشہ مسکراتے رہتے تھے اور خبروں کی تلاش میں رہتے۔ وہ کسی بھی محفل میں ہوں، اپنے مطلب کی خبر لے اڑتے اور اُس کی تحقیق میں لگ جاتے۔ خبر دینے والے کو بھی اس وقت پتہ چلتا جب وہ خبر اپنے پورے سیاق و سباق کے ساتھ شائع ہونے کے بعد زبانِ زد عام پر ہوتی۔ لیکن بعض لوگ ان پر غیرمحتاط رپورٹنگ کا الزام بھی عائد کرتے رہے ہیں۔

سلیم شہزاد سے میری آخری ملاقات کراچی میں روزنامہ ڈان کے دفتر کے مرکزی گیٹ پر ہوئی تھی۔ وہ حسبِ معمول مسکراتے ہوئے ملے اور کچھ دیر قومی واقعات پر تبادلۂ خیال کرتے رہے۔ وہ ایک مختصر ملاقات مجھے نہیں معلوم تھا کہ میری اُن سے آخری ملاقات ثابت ہوگی۔

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2011/05/110531_saleem_shshzad_profile_zz.shtml

M Ali Khan

310902202.jpg

M Ali Khan

I dont think he was killed by ISI. The ISI is being grilled day and night and its links with extremist outfits is no secret. He was probably killed by some foreign intelligence service to give a bad image on ISI or even killed by taliban
he was THREATENED and WARNED by ISI to stop exposing the jihadi elements inside the armed forces.

He told his family and his friend at Human Rights Watch about it.

and he was abducted from F6 area of Islamabad, a place already under tight security and surveillance.

2 and 2 add together. It was the ISI. Remember, this is not the first time ISI have done it!

Last September, Umar Cheema, an investigative reporter for the News, an influential Pakistani daily, was kidnapped, blindfolded, stripped naked, had his head and eyebrows shaved, beaten, filmed in humiliating positions and dumped on the side of the road six hours later. "If you can't avoid rape," one of his interrogators jeered during the ordeal, "enjoy it." The perpetrators were never found, but when asked about his suspicions, Cheema told the New York Times: "I have suspicions and every journalist has suspicions that all fingers point to the ISI."

A.Ali.T

إِنَّا لِلّهِ وَإِنَّـا إِلَيْهِ رَاجِعونَ

My goodness, this is very sad. I used to read his articles in atimes.com all the time. He was one of my favorite journalist. I think this is a very sad day. My heart goes out to his family. Very sad news.

crowbar

Saleem Shahzad murder remind me an incident of the same nature in 2006.Hayatullah Khan , a journalist from North waziristan reported on american bombing in North Waziristan in which children and women were made target.Hayatullah reported the attack scene live , showing the dead and the american misssiles pieces. He was abducted by ISI ,kept him in KOHAT for some days and then one day brought him to Mir Ali , his native town and killed him there .Few children saw the ISI guys bringing down a man from their jeep who is blind folded and hands tied up. As soon he walked few steps one of the gun man fired at him from back side ,killing him instantly.The children reported that it was the same jeep which we see coming out of Mir Ali fort every day. It was learned that his family took revange by killing one of the agent after tracking him to his village.
This mafia of abducters and killers needs to be tammed. The only way to stop them from further killings is ..........TAKE REVENGE FROM THOSE WHO MATTERS.

Exactly what happened. They want the nation to keep there eyes closed on what they do. If they are that much powerful why dont they go and fight taliban and india? All they can do is to kill us?

بائیس تاریخ سے ستائیس تاریخ تک میڈیا پر آئ ایس آئ اپنے ٹاوٹوں کے زریعے سارا ملبہ را، موساد اور سی آئ اے پر ڈالے ہوئی تھی. اسکے بعد سلیم شہزاد کا آرٹیکل چھپا اور ہر کسی کو اندر کی کہانی معلوم ہوئی کہ کیسے یہ ایجنسی والے نیوی کے اندر طالبان کے ہمدرد ملازمین پکڑ نے کے بعد طالبان کی دھمکیوں کے آگے بھیگی بلی بن گئے. کیسے یہی ایجنسی اپنی جان بچانے کیلیے طالبان کے نمائندوں سے ملاقاتیں اور مذاکرات کرتی رہی. کیسے یہ ڈر کے مارے گرفتار شدگان سے تفتیش کے بجاۓ انکو آسائشات فراہم کرتے رہے. اور کس طرح انہوں نے واضح دھمکیوں کے باوجود بیس کی حفاظت کیلیے کوئی قدم نہ اٹھایا؟؟؟ اسکے علاوہ ان ایجنسی والوں کی "بہادری" کی اس سے بڑی اور کیا داستان ہو سکتی ہے!!!!!!!!؟

Last October Shahzad sent Human Rights Watch an email saying he was afraid he would be killed by the ISI, Hasan claimed. In the email, intended to be released in the event of his death, Shahzad said he had been summoned to ISI headquarters in Islamabad to discuss an article about Mullah Brader, a Taliban commander captured in Pakistan with American help months earlier.
The two ISI officials Shahzad said were present at the meeting, Rear Admiral Adnan Nawaz and Commodore Khalid Pervaiz, were both naval officers. Last week Pervaiz was made commander of the Karachi naval base that was attacked.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/may/31/missing-pakistan-journalist-found-dead

I guess the two gentlemen of ISI who asked Saleen shahzad for a meeting and told him of consequences were of foreign agnecies isnt it?
Atleast have the guts to open eyes to the truth. We have shut our eyes and look at pakistan today. Please open the eyes. The truth is always bitter but we have to face it.