100 Women Who Shake Pakistan

mohib

From the March 21 2011 issue

They make up almost half of Pakistan's population of 180 million, but are rarely given the space and coverage they deserve. From Fatima Jinnah to Rana Liaquat Ali Khan to Benazir Bhutto, Pakistan has produced some very remarkable women. Today, they are bankers, businesswomen, activists, artists, sport stars. From a pool of almost 350 women, here's our list of the 100 women who matter most.

THE SHAKERS

roshaneh-zafar.jpg
Roshaneh Zafar
Inspired by Nobel laureate Dr. Muhammad Yunus's work at Grameen Bank, Roshaneh Zafar, 42, ditched her World Bank career to set up Kashf Foundation, Pakistan's first microfinance institution, in 1996. She started with a $10,000 loan from the Grameen Trust, Rs. 100,000 of her own, and 15 clients. Today, Kashf has more than 306,000 clients, and has disbursed more than $202 million in small loans to poor women. Kashf made Forbes's list of the world's top microfinance institutions in 2007, and U.S. President Barack Obama acknowledged her work at the inaugural Presidential Summit on Entrepreneurship last year. "The women I meet tell me, 'don't tell us about water sanitation projects, tell us how to earn a living," Zafar says. In setting up Kashf, she moved away from conventional development projects to help women finance their own empowerment.

Bilquis Edhi
One of Pakistan's most respected social workers, runs the Edhi Trust with her husband

Aafia Siddiqui
Neuroscientist convicted by a U.S. court for attempted murder is the cause clbre for Pakistan's Islamists

Aamna Taseer
In tragedy, she showed Pakistan what grace and dignity look like. Punjab's former first lady now runs her late husband's business empire

Sherry Rehman
The Incredible Sherry
Journalist turned politician turned conscience of the nation, she is the most important voice in a country gripped in darkness

Sultana Siddiqui
The director and producer also owns HUM TV, a popular women's cable channel

Bushra Aitzaz
Activist, businesswoman, and chief of the women's cricket board

Kiran Baluch
Set highest test score record in women's cricket

Rubina Feroze Bhatti
Fights for the rights of women victimized by violence

Abida Parveen
Globally renowned Sufi vocalist with over 20 albums

Um-e-Hassan.jpg
Um-e-Hassan
She shows us the Jamia Hafsa still lives

Um-e-Hassan, the wife of Lal Masjid's chief cleric, Maulana Abdul Aziz, came to national prominence four years ago as head of Jamia Hafsa, the mosque's seminary for women which was leading the charge to have Shariah laws imposed in Pakistan. The protests and actions of the burqa-clad students in Islamabad got the attention of the worldand the Army. At least 84 lives were lost when commandos finally stormed the Lal Masjid compound in July 2007. A native of Rawalpindi, Hassan cites the Prophet Mohammed (Peace Be Upon Him) and his wives Khadija and Ayesha as inspirations. She began religious instruction for women shortly after her marriage to Aziz in 1985. "Women are very important because they have the most influence on their children," she told Newsweek Pakistan. "For a good society, you need to work hard on the education of women." Hassan says she imparts a positive message to women in her lessons, "Women shouldn't think they have no role in society. They are wives, sisters, mothers, daughters." Hassan says she has never urged any of her followers toward violence, and that the reform of society is the responsibility of religious scholars operating with the authority of the state. One model, she says, is the Saudi religious police, the Mutaween. "When we see injustice and wrong in society," Hassan says, "it is our duty to at least point it out and tell people that this is wrong. This was our position back then, and this is our position now."

Carla Khan
Pro-squash player continues the Khan legacy

Ruth Pfau
Fights to eradicate leprosy in Pakistan

Nabila Maqsood
Stylish and smart, the fashionista has made a career out of making other people look hot

Bapsi Sidhwa
Doyenne of South Asian English lit is still going strong

Jehan Ara
Leading software development in Pakistan

Naseem Hameed
South Asia's fastest woman and endorsements' queen

Bunto Kazmi
Fashion designer shows modern sensibility with traditional styles

shazia-marri.jpg
Shazia Marri
Energy czarina

Married at 14 and divorced by 16, Sindh's first ever minister for energy, oil, and gas doesn't show it, but she's had to overcome plenty of challenges. The poised and articulate Marri, 38, was roped into politics by Benazir Bhutto, and has electrified us.

Aasia Noreen
Her plight has inspired thousands to question controversial laws

Ameena Saiyid
The power behind Oxford University Press in Pakistan

Dr. Rufina Soomro
Helps cancer patients feel normal with low-cost breast prosthetics

Dr. Feriha Peracha

Runs Sabaoon to deprogram children brainwashed by the Taliban

Jugnu Mohsin
Publisher of Pakistan's first independent weekly is also the country's most powerful humorist

Sajida Zulfiqar
Established successful furniture business despite Taliban threat

Ayesha Jalal
Tufts professor is top South Asian history scholar

Nigar Ahmad
As a founder of Aurat Foundation, she has been key in getting women's voices heard

Asma Jahangir
Nothing scares dictators and demagogues more than this brave, rabble rousing, SCBAP president and human rights activist

Sara Suleri
Meatless Days author and Yale prof

sana-mir.jpg
Sana Mir
She raised the bar for cricket

The 25-year-old led the Pakistan women's cricket team that won gold at the Guangzhou Asian Games, and the hearts of a nation craving sporting success. "We will have this medal for the next 4 years, I want to enjoy that," she told Newsweek Pakistan. She is the top rated Pakistani player, and among the top 20 best bowlers in the world.

Nergis Mavalvala
Astrophysicist imparts her knowledge to new crop at MIT

Shamshad Akhtar
The first woman to head the State Bank, Akhtar now runs the World Bank's MENA operations

Rukhsana Bangash
Don't let her low-key demeanor mislead you, President Zardari's political secretary is the one who keeps things moving along

Shahnaz Wazir Ali
The educator and philanthropist is also the architect of the Benazir Income Support Programme

Aseefa Bhutto Zardari
The youngest of Benazir Bhutto and Asif Ali Zardari's children has been the face of the anti-polio campaign since she was born

Yasmin Rehman
Key voice on the powerful Public Accounts Committee

Shafqat Sultana
President, First Women Bank

Fehmida Mirza
The first woman speaker of Parliament in the Muslim world

Fauzia Gilani
The industrious first lady is a political operator and a leading businesswoman

asiya-nasir.jpg
Asiya Nasir

Pakistan woke up to Asiya Nasir after her hard hitting speech in the National Assembly following the assassination on March 2 of minorities minister Shahbaz Bhatti. Representing the orthodox Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (Fazl), the 39-year-old Christian M.P. left teaching to enter politics in 2002. We're glad she did.

Kulsoom Nawaz
The former first lady wowed us all by her courage after her husband's government was overthrown in a coup

Nasreen Kasuri

Her self-started education empire now sprawls continents

Shaista Wahidi

Replaces Nadia Khan as face of GEO TV and Pakistan's Oprah

Salima Hashmi
Painter, curator, gallery owner, she is the face of modern Pakistani art

Samar Minallah
Her video of a young woman being flogged in Swat turned public opinion firmly against the Taliban

Shazia Sikandar

The New York-based modern miniature artist has shown at every major gallery worth in its salt

Shirin Tahir-Kheli
The former adviser to George W. Bush got Pakistan and India talking again

Sonya Jehan
Telecom's most attractive mascot

Souriya Anwar

Founder of and indefatigable spirit behind Pakistan's SOS Villages

Syeda Hina Babar Ali
When she's not busy running Packages, one of Pakistan's largest business groups, she's writing poetry

Nafis Sadik
Internationally renowned, her efforts as the U.N. special envoy for HIV/AIDS in Asia have helped stem the disease in the region

Ghulam Sugra
The Sindhi activist has gained new popularity after recieving the International Women of Courage Award from Hillary Clinton and Michelle Obama

Madeeha Gauhar
The Lahore-based writer opened an outlet for human rights activisim when she launched Ajoka Theatre under Gen. Zia

Maj. Gen. Shahida Malik
Pakistan's first woman to make a two-star general marked a new era in women's rights

Maria Toor Pakay
The squash wunderkind is making Pakistan proud

Nighat Said Khan
One of the founding members of Women's Action Forum, she doubles as a talented filmmaker

Mukhtar Mai

She turned a horrible tragedy into a triumph of the human spirit. Gang raped in 2002 at the orders of a tribal jirga, Mai, 39, has fought a long and tough battle to get those who assaulted her convicted. Along the way, she founded a school and authored the best-selling In the Name of Honour. Today, Mai, who is herself illiterate, is working to ensure every girl in her village gets an education.

Rubab Raza
Only 13 when she qualified for the Summer Olympics in 2004, Rubab has a bright career ahead of her

Hina Tahir
Pakistan's first female fighter pilot

Sabiha Sumar
The award-winning Independent filmmaker has dedicated herself to social change through film

Saima Mohsin
Freelance journalist who often reports on Pakistan for PBS and ITV

Salma Maqbool

Co-founder of Pakistan Foundation Fighting Blindness has made it her mission to ensure no one else suffers her affliction

Samina Qureshi
The award-winning author has toured the world, bringing the beauty of Pakistan with her

Zubaida Tariq

Food and homemaking guru

Reema
Lollywood actress reinvents herself as savvy talk-show host

Kishwar Naheed
Veteran columnist still going strong after four decades

Juggan Kazim
Ubiquitous cherub-faced model and actress

Mehrbano Sethi
With her Luscious Cosmetics, the Este Lauder of Pakistan

Marvi Memon
Parliamentarian and twitter queen

Sanam Marvi
Folk and sufi singer sets her own tone

Huma Abedin
Aide to Hillary Clinton is Pakistani on her mother's side

Sania Mirza
Tennis pro has been welcomed by Pakistanis as their own

Seema Aziz
CARE Foundation founder proves that philanthropy can make a difference

Shandana Khan
The Rural Support Program Network CEO focuses on the grassroots

Shazia Ahmed
Leader of the first four female fighter pilots trained by Pakistan's Air Force

Reshma
Legendary folk singer

Samina Ghurki

The only PPP leader with a safe National Assembly seat from Lahore

nafisa-shah.jpg
Nafisa Shah
She was among 1,000 women nominated for the 2005 Nobel Peace Prize. Encouraged to enter politics by the late Benazir Bhutto she excelled as the mayor of Sindh's Khairpur district and is currently a Pakistan Peoples Party member of the National Assembly.

Faryal Talpur
The first sister is running the day-to-day of the country's largest party

Tehmina Daultana
PMLN pol has nerves of steel, and a sense of humor

Tina Sani

No one can put Faiz's verse to song quite like her

Meera
Lollywood siren lives in the headlines and in our hearts

Samia Raheel Qazi
Heads the women's wing of Jamaat-e-Islami, the largest religio-political party

Zareen Khalid
Pakistan's original event planner

Spenta Kandawalla
The U.S. Secretary of State's former classmate is a business mogul in her own right

farhat-hashmi.jpg
Farhat Hashmi

She established Al-Huda International in 1994. Since then, Hashmi has been the favored proselytizer of the ladies-who-lunch crowd in Lahore, Islamabad, and Karachi. She has a Ph.D. in Islamic Studies from the University of Glasgowand in converting women to Al-Huda's brand of Islamic conservatism. "I just translate the word of God," she told filmmaker Sharmeen Obaid Chinoy in an interview. So if people have a problem with her, she said, "they have a problem with God."

Tahera Hasan
Founding member of KaraFilm Festival maintains a healthy law practice for entertainment industry

Farzana Bari
Human rights campaigner

Bano Qudsia
Novelist and playwright was awarded the Hilal-e-Imtiaz in 2010

maryam-bibi.jpg
Maryam Bibi

Since founding Khwendo Kor, which means "sister's home", a nongovernmental organization, in 1993, she's been struggling for funding. "Big donors like big projects," she told Newsweek Pakistan. They don't seem to find her organization's sharply focused work with internally-displaced women and children headline worthy. But, luckily, Bibi is trucking along just fine. "It is the poorest of the poor women who inspire me to keep working."

Nahid Siddiqui
Kathak dancer introduced her skill to universities across the world

Nazish Ataullah
Printmaker and social activist

Tehmina Durrani
Author and activist

Samina Ahmed
South Asia project director at International Crisis Group

Samina Khan
Sungi head is working on several development projects

Ronak Lakhani
Tech wiz also runs the Special Olympics

Nusrat Jamil
Author, rights activist and dynamo

Marriana Karim
Raises funds for several charities and runs a kidney center

Madiha Sattar

Journalist

Veena Malik

Spark and Provocateur

She says she is 27. Veena Malik, the actor, comedienne, and cultural lightning rod, says and does a lot of things that prompt a double take and require suspension of disbelief. Pakistanis remember her from such hits as "cricketer Muhammad Asif stole my heartand my money!"; "Meera should watch her back"; and, of course, last year's Bigg Boss on Indian television that had Pakistanand Indiaaghast, more because of her desperate determination to hog the spotlight rather than anything real saucy or salacious. For the finale, after she was voted out of the Bigg Boss house, Malik appeared on Frontline with Kamran Shahid in Pakistan taking on a mullah in a highly scripted, and spirited, performance that had Pakistan's pathetic Internet liberals hailing her as their new hero. The debate surrounding Malik's TV antics have served to further confirm the poverty of the liberal elite and the hypocrisy of the religious right. It has also shown Malik to be a savvy entertainer in this age of guns and Gaga. "I'm not one of those you can malign and get away with it," Malik told Newsweek Pakistan. "If people think they can because I'm a woman, they're mistaken." Malik was last seen on India's World Cup-related show, Bigg Toss. Veena, vidi, vici, indeed.

http://www.newsweekpakistan.com/features/270

اللہ مافی

Do they have Milk Shake shop ? I dont like 97 of them. Sorry.

Geek

اللہ مافی

Do they have Milk Shake shop ? I dont like 97 of them. Sorry.

lol Raaz brother who are those three lucky ladies that you like? ;)

Ok lemme guess, Bilquis Edhi, Ume Hassan and ?

Assalam-o-alaikum
Why this list doesnot include those who are very common at every KARACHI busy TRAFFIC SIGNALS. Who SHAKES a lot.. You guessed it or ><><><><

THE SHAKERS

roshaneh-zafar.jpg
Roshaneh Zafar
Inspired by Nobel laureate Dr. Muhammad Yunus's work at Grameen Bank, Roshaneh Zafar, 42, ditched her World Bank career to set up Kashf Foundation, Pakistan's first microfinance institution, in 1996. She started with a $10,000 loan from the Grameen Trust, Rs. 100,000 of her own, and 15 clients. Today, Kashf has more than 306,000 clients, and has disbursed more than $202 million in small loans to poor women. Kashf made Forbes's list of the world's top microfinance institutions in 2007, and U.S. President Barack Obama acknowledged her work at the inaugural Presidential Summit on Entrepreneurship last year. "The women I meet tell me, 'don't tell us about water sanitation projects, tell us how to earn a living," Zafar says. In setting up Kashf, she moved away from conventional development projects to help women finance their own empowerment.

Ok so offers loan. At what interest? how many families has she loaned to? How man y families are tired of paying her interest and the princple not decreasing??Is this a old India style loan system where debtors always owe like the old nawabs and theekeydars?

shazia-marri.jpg
Shazia Marri
Energy czarina

Married at 14 and divorced by 16, Sindh's first ever minister for energy, oil, and gas doesn't show it, but she's had to overcome plenty of challenges. The poised and articulate Marri, 38, was roped into politics by Benazir Bhutto, and has electrified us.

ok so she got married at 14 and divorced at 16. Obviously her parents must have forced her to say 'I do' at that early age. Well one thing for sure, she fits right in the political jobs

Spenta Kandawalla
The U.S. Secretary of State's former classmate is a business mogul in her own right

farhat-hashmi.jpg
Farhat Hashmi

She established Al-Huda International in 1994. Since then, Hashmi has been the favored proselytizer of the ladies-who-lunch crowd in Lahore, Islamabad, and Karachi. She has a Ph.D. in Islamic Studies from the University of Glasgow—and in converting women to Al-Huda's brand of Islamic conservatism. "I just translate the word of God," she told filmmaker Sharmeen Obaid Chinoy in an interview. So if people have a problem with her, she said, "they have a problem with God."

You are my Sister. You are the winner in this report. Congrat

خدا کے واسطے پردہ نہ کعبے سے اٹھا ظالم
کہیں ایسا نہ ہو یاں بھی وہی کافر صنم نکلے

http://www.newsweekpakistan.com/features/270

lol Raaz brother who are those three lucky ladies that you like? ;)

Ok lemme guess, Bilquis Edhi, Ume Hassan and ?
farhat-hashmi.jpg

But listen Quran translation... by her. You will not from anywhere else.

Very nice style. http://www.farhathashmi.com/dn/

Assalam-o-alaikum
Why this list doesnot include those who are very common at every KARACHI busy TRAFFIC SIGNALS. Who SHAKES a lot.. You guessed it or ><><><><
Bio Bhai , who is hanging on the Trafic poles of Karachi....??? pleasee let us know.

راز دل کی ایک بات بتاؤں
جو صنف نازک پردے میں ہوتی ہے وہی حسین بھی لگتی ہے مجھکو -
اس لیے کہ
پردہ جو اٹھ گیا تو بھید کھل جایگا' الله میری توبہ ' توبہ میری توبہ
غالباً اس لیے شرع میں پردہ کا حکم ہے

farhat-hashmi.jpg

Very nice style. http://www.farhathashmi.com/dn/

Dear Bro Raaz, I will second you in all three great ladies you select.

Lagta hai Sab ne Charas pi hui hai Aaj

Check the Damm Url

My extremest apology, I never check that url, I am sure Raaz have posted that link unintentionally, and one of the reason I didn't check, because it was posted by him. however correct url has been posted, you can recheck.

omerkashmiri

راز دل کی ایک بات بتاؤں
اس لیے کہ
Shariah main pardey ka hukam is liye bhe hay kay muashray kay Gazoo bohat taroo(تاڑو) hotay hain

farhat-hashmi.jpg

Very nice style.
MashAllah she is the blessed one
once u listen to her u will start to love Quran
http://www.farhathashmi.com/dn/podcast.aspx
The same with me....when I listen her , my life changed....

My mind changed....The Tafheem Ul Quran by her ....will make u understand quran and Hazoor pbuh

She is blessing of Allah Tala for Pakistanes...:jazak:

My request to all muslim brothers... to listen Quran translation by her , just in car, when traveling, instead of music....u will get a lot ....one parah is just in one hour ....almost.

راز دل کی ایک بات بتاؤں
اس لیے کہ

مسلمان جو ہوتی ہے

Azad

Meri to Zindagi Assan hogai
ek ek word dil p lagta hy
mashAllah every one whoever is translating or interpreting Quran , doing great job
but the way she does... I hav no words of praise

I would too recomend for all to listen to her
her

sahiL

bro u need to replace quite gr8 number of names from this list........some of these ladies need a life man.....sorry to say but seriously

FaisalKh

If this is the serious list then i feel really sorry for the article writer for the fact that u will find the names of veena malik, marvi memon wahidi etc... but u wont find the intelligent Fatima Bhutto here. here is the link about her if anyone interested http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fatima_Bhutto. (huh)(huh):lame::lame:

mohib

If this is the serious list then i feel really sorry for the thread starter for the fact that u will find the names of veena malik, marvi memon wahidi etc... but u wont find the intelligent Fatima Bhutto here. here is the link about her if anyone interested http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fatima_Bhutto. (huh)(huh):lame::lame:

Its News Week's list not mine, and I think they tried to pick these names from different walks of life, but I do agree with you Fatima Bhutto's name should have been in this list.

FaisalKh

Its News Week's list not mine, and I think they tried to pick these names from different walks of life, but I do agree with you Fatima Bhutto's name should have been in this list.

Ok brother i m really sorry for my mistake. Thanks and i will edit my previous post. Thanks and sorry