India is too corrupt to become a superpower

aftab ahmed

India is too corrupt to become a superpower

The sociologist Ashis Nandy once noted that in India the choice could never be between chaos and stability, but between manageable and unmanageable chaos. He wrote this in the 1980s, a decade marked by ethnic strife, caste violence, and bloody religious riots. But it applies even more so to the India of today, and is being made worse by the steady deterioration and corruption of Indias ruling political elite.

Throughout Indias history the manifestations of its chaos have been largely social and political: from secessionist movements and sectarian pogroms, to its enduring territorial conflicts with China and Pakistan. The bomb blasts in Mumbai last week are but the latest example. The perpetrators are as yet unidentified: like the 2008 Mumbai attacks, they may have originated from Pakistan, but whoever they turn out to be, this was a familiar example of one of Indias pervasive and long-standing fault lines.

Yet the Republic of India today faces challenges that are as much moral as social or political, with the Mumbai blasts having only temporarily shifted off the front pages the corruption scandals that more recently dominated. These have revealed that manner in which our politicians have abused the states power of eminent domain, its control of infrastructural contracts, and its monopoly of natural resources, to enrich themselves. Rectifying this is now arguably Indias defining challenge.

These scandals implicate many of the countrys most powerful leaders. They include the large scale looting of mineral resources in southern and eastern India; graft during the organising of the Commonwealth Games in New Delhi; the underpricing of mobile phone contracts to the tune of billions of dollars; and also numerous property and housing scandals in Mumbai. Corruption is not new in India, but the scale and ubiquity of these problems is genuinely unprecedented.

This activity cuts across political parties small and large, regional and national. It has tainted the media too, with influential editors now commonly lobbying pliant politicians to bend the law to favour particular corporations. But while journalists may collude, and many companies and corporate titans have benefited, the chief promoters of this malaise have been the politicians themselves.

There is a curious paradox here; for India is the creation of a generation of visionary and selfless leaders who governed it in the first decades of freedom. These men and women united a disparate nation from its fragments; gave it a democratic constitution; and respected linguistic and especially religious pluralism, out of the conviction that India should not become a Hindu Pakistan. Todays scandals, however, have their origin in the steady deterioration in the character of this Indian political class.

Surging growth is another proximate cause. Economic liberalisation has created wealth and jobs, and a class of entrepreneurs unshackled by the state. But its darker side is manifest in rising income inequalities and sweetheart deals between politicians and favoured businessmen, leading to the loss of billions of dollars to the public exchequer.

Was this necessary or inevitable? Perhaps not. The truth is that since 1991, the word reform has been defined in narrowly commercial terms, as meaning the withdrawal of the state from economic activity. The reform and renewal of public institutions has been ignored. It is this neglect that has led to a steady corrosion in state capacity, as manifest in the growing failure to moderate inequalities, manage social conflict, and enforce fair and efficient governance.

This could have been anticipated. Over the past three decades, a series of commissions have highlighted the need for institutional reforms, that, among other things, would insulate administrators and judges from interference by capricious politicians; prohibit criminals from contesting elections; curb abuse of the power of eminent domain; provide proper compensation for villagers displaced by industrial projects; make more efficient the now mostly malfunctioning public health system.

Many, perhaps all, of these reports have been read by Manmohan Singh, Indias scholarly prime minister; indeed, several were commissioned by him. Which is why the inaction on their recommendations is so disheartening. When Mr Singh became prime minister seven years ago, his appointment was widely welcomed. He was seen as incorruptible, and with the added advantage of a lifetime of public service. Tragically, in terms of concrete institutional reform these have been seven wasted years.
To single out an honest and intelligent man when corruption and criminality flourish may seem unfair. But W.B. Yeats was right: it is when the best lack intensity and conviction that we must fear for ourselves and our future. Mr Singh has been content to let things ride. He has not asserted himself against corrupt cabinet colleagues, nor has he promoted greater efficiency in public administration. Whatever the cause personal diffidence or a dependence, in political terms, on Sonia Gandhi, his party president this inactivity has greatly damaged his credibility, not to say India itself.

If nothing else, the current wave of corruption scandals will put at least a temporary halt to premature talk of Indias imminent rise to superstardom. Such fancies are characteristic of editors in New Delhi and businessmen in Mumbai, who dream often of catching up with and even surpassing China. Yet the truth is that India is in no position to become a superpower. It is not a rising power, nor even an emerging power. It is merely a fascinating, complex, and perhaps unique experiment in nationhood and democracy, whose leaders need still to attend to the fault lines within, rather than presume to take on the world without.

The writer is a historian, fellow of the Indian Institute of Management Calcutta and author of India after Gandhi and Makers of Modern India.

Please respect FT.com's ts&cs and copyright policy which allow you to: share links; copy content for personal use; & redistribute limited extracts. Email [email protected] to buy additional rights or use this link to reference the article - http://blogs.ft.com/the-a-list/2011/07/19/india-is-too-corrupt-to-become-a-superpower/#ixzz1SXwo8Fzu

Bhai Sahab doosrey per ungliyaan uthaney ki kiya zarourat hai.............pehley apney ghar ki khabr lijiyey.........

bravo

india will never be super power but due to its large population,it will surely be top 3 players in world!!

Corruption is big issue in india...And indian society are waging a peaceful protest , have forced govt to introduce Lok pal bill by monsoon session !!

With lok pal montoring,indian institutions can be strengthened !!I know its long way to go,but one just needs to go in right direction which can only pave the way for better future!!

hamza100

corruption is slowing their progress speed . now they are growing at about 8 percent . if their would be no corruption may b it would be around 14 to 15 percent. democracy can slow progress but surely it is the best way to progress

IndiaGuy

india will never be super power but due to its large population,it will surely be top 3 players in world!!

Corruption is big issue in india...And indian society are waging a peaceful protest and have force govt to introduce Lok pal bill by monsoon session !!

With lok pal montoring,indian institutions can be strengthened !!I know its long way to go,but one just needs to go in right direction which can only pave the way for better future!!

Corruption became now part of the Indian society and socially very well accepted which is very sad. no one in India is shamed to be called corrupt
Please compete with each other to became more and more corrupt.truly specking , In India if you are not corrupt then you are considered as failure or stupid. worst part is now it is in blood so won't go away easily ... hope we can ever get rid of it.

Never say never. Its very true that it cannot become a superpower the way it is but I see a very slow change.

WatanDost

NO WAY
India can be RICH
BUT
CANT be SUPER POWER
Cowards never RULED the WORLD
BRAVERY CELLS DONT EXIST IN HINDU BANYA BLOOD
Shaking legs under dhooti
ALL THEY HAVE GOT.

bravo

NO WAY
India can be RICH
BUT
CANT be SUPER POWER
Cowards never RULED the WORLD
BRAVERY CELLS DONT EXIST IN HINDU BANYA BLOOD
Shaking legs under dhooti
ALL THEY HAVE GOT.

According to you :a superpower should be a country who should wage war,kill innocent people,capture territory !
3 cheers for your thoughts
(clap)(clap)(clap)

According to you :a superpower should be a country who should wage war,kill innocent people,capture territory !
3 cheers for your thoughts
(clap)(clap)(clap)

Yes thats his idea of superpower. Like the US ruling over Pakistan.

Bombaybuz

Yes thats his idea of superpower. Like the US ruling over Pakistan.

Yeah we got ruled by USA its your chance now ..thats why ms clinton is in India tonight ... lucking indian on a seat in security council but will that seat come with a veto power ?? no it wont but it will come with a slavery of USA for next dacade at least ...diched india in Afghanistan and now leaving the region ... aur india ko mila 123 necular aggriment ka junjunna 150 mega watt total power generation aur international sellers (nuclear equipments) khaal utarney k leya... rahe baat super power banney ki tou road pay soyee bhooki nangi awam ko drunk amer zadon ki gardiyon bacha lain pahley ... ambani, Roy, aur maleya ka paisey kab $ sai main convert ho jayeen who knows.

Clinton is there for a scheduled trade mission. India is a very long way for a seat in the security counsel. United States is not in any position to impose and conditions on India, it is a very important trading partner of India and does hold some influence in India as it should. India does not go out for begging. If you are in a business for your self you should give appropriate respect to your customers this should not be deemed being ruled by your customer.

Bombaybuz

Clinton is there for a scheduled trade mission. India is a very long way for a seat in the security counsel. United States is not in any position to impose and conditions on India, it is a very important trading partner of India and does hold some influence in India as it should. India does not go out for begging. If you are in a business for your self you should give appropriate respect to your customers this should not be deemed being ruled by your customer.

I didn't wanted to be hash but when you are playing innocent i have no choice, little you know then america and its trade and better you don't try to tell me how any deal gets signed on the 13th hole ... and the recent bombay bombing is the gift you got only to make some ground for the ms Clintons visit .. dont you feel asking your govt that if its not ISB this time then who is behind this act of terror ... and dont this recalls you the slaughter of 40 sikhs in kashmir on her husbands visit few years back... just blaming andd degrading pakistan wont make india any much more stronger or shiner ... defining logic is as simple as defining sun on an clear sunny day.

How did I degraded Pakistan with my statement " Like US rolling over Pakistan"? Go back and read some of the statements made by many Pakistanis perhaps by you as well stating " Pakistan is a slave to US" I just reiterated them. You guys stop degrading first before asking me to stop.

only_truths

Corruption and Super power are two different issues. China is as corrupt as India but only thing is it doesn't come out due to closed media. I am not interested in their corruption.
Coming to india, corruption started emerging only when power politics started around 1969. Leaders wanting to be in power, institutionalized corruption to the lowest level. Initially, corrupt money of big players was sent to foreign banks for safety as no body was sure about its continuation. After two decades into 1990 it was more or less accepted as a way of life, so the safety of this " do number ka maal" is ensured. Once the liberalisation started, people who are corrupt thought why not reinvest in India rather than stashing in foreign banks without any return. So, all the money was pumped back into private colleges, prival medical hospitals etc., giving enough returns and the cycle of investment began boosting economy. Eventhough it was wrong, but was helping in some way to lower middle class in educating their children (who did not mind to bear the debt for the well being of next generatin) and provding reasonable medical care.

Since we are seeing a major shift interms of making money through hard work, these next generation people have woken up to the corruption and a movement has started like Tem Anna or Team Baba Ramdev. The congress Govt. is being cornered and lot of things are going to happen in the next few months and years leading up to next election.

As for Super Power, as some posters have already said that you need not be a super power just to attack any country. It is not in Indian blood. India will become a Power of influence in innovation and entreprunership, cultural (already Yoga is doing a big job) and human values. What ever move politicians were making to be become permanent member in UN etc., is to seek parity in world affairs and we were not alone e.g. G4. who can deny technological super power status to Japan and Germany. I would say all countries in G20 which takes decisions for economy of world, are in some way or the other have the power to influcence world affairs.

As Bravo said, I do not think any one can stop us become No. 3 interms GDP unless some thing untoward happens like Nuclear war etc.,

Indian's are obsessed with this "superpower" tag when the aim should be to reduce poverty and improve it's human rights record especially amongst religious minorities.

However, due to the sheer size of the country it will always be an attracive market to sell products and do business deals. It will never be a USA but can possibly influence world opinion more then it currently does through it's media and Bollywood.