Wikileaks : Kiyani wanted more drone attacks in Pakistan! / ISPR denies Army Chief asked US for dron

M_Adnan.L

Wikileaks: Kayani wanted more drone strikes in Pakistan

Newly released Wikileaks cables revealed that the US military’s drone strikes programme within Pakistan had more than just tacit acceptance of the country’s top military brass, despite public posturing to the contrary. The cables state that the country’s military was requesting the US for greater drone back-up for its own military operations as long ago as January 2008.

According to cables , the US account of Kayani’s request for “Predator coverage” does not make clear if mere air surveillance were being requested or missile-armed drones were being sought.

According to the report of the meeting sent back to Washington by Patterson, Admiral Fallon “regretted that he did not have the assets to support this request” but offered trained US Marines (known as JTACs) to coordinate air strikes for Pakistani infantry forces on ground. General Kayani “demurred” on the offer, pointing out that having US soldiers on ground “would not be politically acceptable.”

As reported earlier in The Express Tribune, WikiLeaks cables revealed that Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani allowed drone strikes in the tribal areas of Pakistan, saying they would protest the attacks in the National Assembly and then ignore them.

When Interior Minister Rehman Malik advised the US to hold off “alleged Predator attacks until after the Bajaur operation”, Gilani brushed off the remarks saying:

I don’t care if they do it as long as they get the right people. We’ll protest in the National Assembly and then ignore it.

According to a leaked cable published on NDTV, in an earlier meeting on January 9, 2008 with Codel Lieberman, Chief of Army Staff (COAS) Kayani agreed that increased training and exercises with the US would be of great value, but urged that US-Pakistan military engagement remain low-key for domestic political reasons. Lieberman underscored need for Pakistan to hold free, fair elections in February.

They also discussed the need to add a humanitarian aspect to Pakistan’s counterinsurgency strategy. Kayani noted four areas in which the Army was requesting technical assistance.

A cable dated February 19, 2009 sates:

The strikes have put increasing political pressure on the Pakistani government, which has struggled to explain why it is allowing an ally to violate its sovereignty. The GOP so far has denied recent media reports alleging that the U.S. is launching the strikes from bases in Pakistan. Kayani knows full well that the strikes have been precise (creating few civilian casualties) and targeted primarily at foreign fighters in the Waziristans. He will argue, however, that they undermine his campaign plan, which is to keep the Waziristans quiet until the Army is capable of attacking Baitullah Mehsud and other militants entrenched there.

The cable states that Anne Patterson remarks that “Kayani is often direct, frank, and thoughtful. .. is an avid golfer, he is President of the Pakistan Golf Association. He smokes heavily and can be difficult to understand as he tends to mumble.

The full text of the cables can be read on Dawn.com, The Hindu and NDTV. WikiLeaks had previously released cables to other media organisations including Guardian and the New York Times.

For further reading : http://www.dawn.com/2011/05/20/army-chief-wanted-more-drone-support.html

khawaja86

Re: Reality of Pakistan Army, Kiyani wanted more drone attacks in pakistan!

generals ko kabi sharam nahi ani, agar america say he drone attacks karwanay hain to defence budget kam karwa k yeh loog apnay ghar ko kion nahi chalay jatay, awam ka bohat bhala ko ga

rakeem

These type of news is for our stupid awam, who believes that same old bullsh*t that any kind of criticism would undermine Pak defense. This defense institution is only good in going after its own population and has brought only shame and defeat when threatened by our enemies. If US wants to it will one day conduct operations in Punjab and other urban areas, and these nam*rd Pak generals won't do anything. US has their puppet as president and army on board to do what ever they want in Pakistan.

SalmanKhanN

Now where is PLM-N who say that Army is supporting Imran Khan..it dosent make sense now...also our army is nothing but a tax payers money consuming machine..they will suck our blood and their kids will live a very good life in pakistan or outside pakistan..and we will die and rot in Pakistan

frenes

WIKI ki LEAK hoti rhti hai, dont worry abhi ar b ho gi

Mullah Omar

More negative propaganda against the Pak army.

rakeem

More negative propaganda against the Pak army.

Kuch mat karo, baat mat karo, bas chup chaap, awam ki haddiyaan jalakar inn hara*mzaadon ko thussao, inki cantonment mein ayaashion ka bill bharo, sawal na karo. Kya Army mili hai, jo baik waqt awam aur USA dono sey paisey pakarti hai. Apni awam ko doosri countries ki khushi liye drones aur operations say marwati hai. If there was some shame left inn bh*dwon[kiyani, Nawaz Sharif, Zardari, Pasha, Bilour] ko ****** ki maut maarey.

Pakistan1992

Re: Reality of Pakistan Army, Kiyani wanted more drone attacks in pakistan!(new wiki leaks)

all u people are funny, nothing is gana change by swearing the political parties bcz no one is listening to u or will...all the parties are with america and die for money not even them but our awam as well, our awam is from them as well...jub awam hi aisi ho..corrupt...

Re: Reality of Pakistan Army, Kiyani wanted more drone attacks in pakistan!(new wiki leaks)

Wikileaks: Kayani wanted more drone strikes in Pakistan

Newly released Wikileaks cables revealed that the US military’s drone strikes programme within Pakistan had more than just tacit acceptance of the country’s top military brass, despite public posturing to the contrary. The cables state that the country’s military was requesting the US for greater drone back-up for its own military operations as long ago as January 2008.

According to cables , the US account of Kayani’s request for “Predator coverage” does not make clear if mere air surveillance were being requested or missile-armed drones were being sought.

According to the report of the meeting sent back to Washington by Patterson, Admiral Fallon “regretted that he did not have the assets to support this request” but offered trained US Marines (known as JTACs) to coordinate air strikes for Pakistani infantry forces on ground. General Kayani “demurred” on the offer, pointing out that having US soldiers on ground “would not be politically acceptable.”

As reported earlier in The Express Tribune, WikiLeaks cables revealed that Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani allowed drone strikes in the tribal areas of Pakistan, saying they would protest the attacks in the National Assembly and then ignore them.

When Interior Minister Rehman Malik advised the US to hold off “alleged Predator attacks until after the Bajaur operation”, Gilani brushed off the remarks saying:

I don’t care if they do it as long as they get the right people. We’ll protest in the National Assembly and then ignore it.

According to a leaked cable published on NDTV, in an earlier meeting on January 9, 2008 with Codel Lieberman, Chief of Army Staff (COAS) Kayani agreed that increased training and exercises with the US would be of great value, but urged that US-Pakistan military engagement remain low-key for domestic political reasons. Lieberman underscored need for Pakistan to hold free, fair elections in February.

They also discussed the need to add a humanitarian aspect to Pakistan’s counterinsurgency strategy. Kayani noted four areas in which the Army was requesting technical assistance.

A cable dated February 19, 2009 sates:

The strikes have put increasing political pressure on the Pakistani government, which has struggled to explain why it is allowing an ally to violate its sovereignty. The GOP so far has denied recent media reports alleging that the U.S. is launching the strikes from bases in Pakistan. Kayani knows full well that the strikes have been precise (creating few civilian casualties) and targeted primarily at foreign fighters in the Waziristans. He will argue, however, that they undermine his campaign plan, which is to keep the Waziristans quiet until the Army is capable of attacking Baitullah Mehsud and other militants entrenched there.

The cable states that Anne Patterson remarks that “Kayani is often direct, frank, and thoughtful. .. is an avid golfer, he is President of the Pakistan Golf Association. He smokes heavily and can be difficult to understand as he tends to mumble.

The full text of the cables can be read on Dawn.com, The Hindu and NDTV. WikiLeaks had previously released cables to other media organisations including Guardian and the New York Times.

For further reading : http://www.dawn.com/2011/05/20/army-chief-wanted-more-drone-support.html

man!!!is it still not clear to pakistani sheeple that there "sjeelay jawaan" are working for america!and america is with israel and india and against islam and pakistan!!!!
when will you sheeple realise that?when it is too late and you and your country is gone?and your life becomes worse than death?
ok than wait a little longer for that time,its not far now

sheeple are so allergic to islam and mujahideen or they could have saved your country

5-20-2011_71214_1.gif

so whats new in this news???i wrote about this in 2008 too as i had confirmed news at that time ,that pak army uses american drone,s help all the time for swat and waziristan operations!!!

but its sheeple here only trust their media,and these masses of our nation do not listen to truth .
this happens when allah has decided for an azaab on a nation.HE seals their eyes and ears so they cant see or hear truth.

stargazermal

Paksitan Army is totally exposed. Sharam kero Generailo. What good this amy is? they eat up all our budget and then join the enemy ranks. Shame on General Kiyani

Now where is PLM-N who say that Army is supporting Imran Khan..it dosent make sense now...also our army is nothing but a tax payers money consuming machine..they will suck our blood and their kids will live a very good life in pakistan or outside pakistan..and we will die and rot in Pakistan

even the lower commissioned officers sons now study in usa uk and switzerland...while common pakistani begs even for food even after years of hard work
and remember.this army will not fight against america when america will attack.only mujahideen will fight and madrasa students and pious muslims who practice islam as it should be practiced.these pious muslims are even now fighting against these evil zionists ,and paying price for this when pakistanis own army kills them for foghting against zionists.

secular people including army which is predominantly totally secular,will run away to west the first day after attack.like it happened in iraq and etc.than you people will cry ,remembering why you ignored the voice of practical muslims.

Mullah Omar

Kuch mat karo, baat mat karo, bas chup chaap, awam ki haddiyaan jalakar inn hara*mzaadon ko thussao, inki cantonment mein ayaashion ka bill bharo, sawal na karo. Kya Army mili hai, jo baik waqt awam aur USA dono sey paisey pakarti hai. Apni awam ko doosri countries ki khushi liye drones aur operations say marwati hai. If there was some shame left inn bh*dwon[kiyani, Nawaz Sharif, Zardari, Pasha, Bilour] ko ****** ki maut maarey.

Pak Army is fighting militants and all Kiyani did was ask for drone help for their operations. How is that bad? and it was only for surveillance. Also here is the ISPR statement:

"A spokesman of ISPR has contradicted a news item published in section of press on 20 May 2011 captioned Army Chief wanted more drone support in year 2008. The Spokesman said that in the past, there has only been sharing of technical intelligence in some areas. No armed Drone attack support has ever been asked for our operations which have been conducted using own resources. He further clarified, that during Swat-Malakand Operation Rah-e-Rast in 2008-09, and South Waziristan Agency operation Rah-e-Nijat in 2009-10, not even outside technical support was asked for. These operations were jointly conducted by Pakistan Army and Pakistan Air Force, the Spokesman concluded."

http://www.ispr.gov.pk/front/main.asp?o=t-press_release&id=1744#pr_link1744

Don't you think the timing of these "leaks" is suspicious? To me it is quite clear the only purpose of these leaks is to further humiliate Pak Army and to turn the publich against our army.

SalmanKhanN

Brother i didnt mean what u think i meant..i agree with u ..i was saying that we are the stakeholders and army is puppets who will run away..we should be benefiting from the country coz we have stakes in this country..InshAllah..and we should be making decisions coz we have all the stakes..our brothers are being killed..but unfortunately it is sad what is happening and dua'a is the best weapon of a believer
even the lower commissioned officers sons now study in usa uk and switzerland...while common pakistani begs even for food even after years of hard work
and remember.this army will not fight against america when america will attack.only mujahideen will fight and madrasa students and pious muslims who practice islam as it should be practiced.these pious muslims are even now fighting against these evil zionists ,and paying price for this when pakistanis own army kills them for foghting against zionists.

secular people including army which is predominantly totally secular,will run away to west the first day after attack.like it happened in iraq and etc.than you people will cry ,remembering why you ignored the voice of practical muslims.

adslpxp2

After these leaks you can expect anything from these h@ram-khor Generals.

Now, I really wish Taliban should burst Pakistan Army's B@lls and kill these b@st@rds wherever they find them.

khawaja86

Now, I really wish Taliban should burst Pakistan Army's B@lls and kill these b@st@rds wherever they find them.
sahih kah rahay ho app, marna chahiay inn h@r@mion ko, photak ka kha kha kar pora mulk he loat lia hia inn b@rwoon nay

I wish if They had Balls. You are mistaken these hanging remanence of broken ovaries as balls.....