Top professor fired for speaking up

Lol..now you have stopped understand the context of stuff im writing...it has really hit your cranky Army loving brain hard.

When something is written in inverted commas it means that the writer is taking the quote from SOMEONE ELSE.
If you had an iota of brain matter you would have realized that the 'bloody civilians' in inverted commas refers to what the Army wallahs refer to when talking about civilians.

Just last reminder Antipsychotics twice a day every day, believe me it will help you.

May God help you but I assume you believe you are already the Forgiven one. Good luck.
Can't waste more time in useless exchange with one who is already Mr. Know-all.

Yes it becomes 'useless' when you havent got any valid point.

Instead of writing crappy retorts you could have used the time to answer the questions about the willfull abrogation of the national contract called CONSTITUTION by your beloved army. But since you had nothing to answer with you chose try to label us as 'ignorant' (and 'know it all' at the same time ).
Have nice day in Askari 4.
Meanwhile my dad just had to sell his car to pay the exorbitant amount of taxes on agricultural inputs. More than half of these taxes will goto funding your Askari bungalows and Cantonments while my family members will have to goto market places in fear of being blown up by suicide bombers since our great army has failed to stop the menace they are paid to.

Just last reminder Antipsychotics twice a day every day, believe me it will help you.

You are still here?

What happened to 'better things to do'?

Your chauffeur driven Army car hasnt come to pick you up yet? Your batman hasnt prepared breakfast yet?

samar

Top professor fired for speaking up

Umar Cheema
Monday, April 04, 2011

ISLAMABAD: After the infamous thrashing incident in an army-run university a year ago, a professor of the Pakistan Navy-run Bahria University has not only been roughed up but also terminated from service.

His guilt: Asking questions about the regimental-style running of the university which has the Naval Chief as its pro-chancellor and a retired admiral as rector. When the professor signed a receipt on the register confirming his termination, sent through a peon, he wrote the famous verse of Habib Jalib: “Main nahi manta...”

The brutality and humiliation of Professor Qamar Riaz Mahmitkhel, who teaches ‘leadership’, sent the already weary students of the university into fury and a protest demonstration is planned on Monday noon outside the Naval Headquarters at Shaheen Chowk, situated at Margalla Road.

An immediate reaction of the Bahria University administration to the sacking of the professor was not immediately available, but the protest demonstration of the students on Monday will show how the officials react.

The incident occurred on March 31 in the packed auditorium of the university where chairman of Higher Education Commission (HEC) Dr Javed Leghari delivered a talk followed by a Q&A session.

As Professor Qamar asked what the real purpose of the university and that whether the innovation and creativity could flourish in a regimental environment, it was the breaking point that landed him in trouble. The students had greeted the question with round of applause, said a participant.

The question was addressed to the HEC chairman, but the Rector, Vice Admiral (R) Muhammad Haroon, stood up to answer. Professor Qamar went on blasting the university’s administration for reducing the campus to a garrison.

A commando action followed this rumpus when the director campus of the university, a retired commodore Muhammad Ali, led his team and surrounded the blunt professor, forcing him out, roughing up on resistance, the victim told The News. He was thrown into his office, declaring it a kind of sub-jail as three staffers, presumably intelligence persons, were posted as guards outside to scrutinize visitors of the professors, Prof Qamar said.

The next day, April 1, Professor came to the university with his hands-cuffed and his mouth gagged. He made a round of the campus especially the auditorium where he was roughed up. The purpose of the exercise was to protest the frustrating environment where nobody is allowed to speak freely, including the academicians, he said.

He was delivered a termination letter in the next couple of hours after the protest and through a peon instead of routing it through the head of the department. As he was asked to receive the letter, he instead wrote the famous verse “main nahi manta....” of Habib Jalib.

The professor said he had been receiving threatening calls urging him observe silence instead of speaking out against the university’s administration. But he is determined to attend the protest being organised by the student community today (Monday) in front of the Naval Headquarters at Shaheen Chowk.

This incident is a second of its nature in armed forces-run universities and within Islamabad as previously a civilian professor, Tahir Malik of NUML was thrashed by a brigadier-registrar of the university. The students had then went on strike for a week, finally forcing the NUML administration to remove the brigadier.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=39820&Cat=2&dt=4/4/2011

ye qaum mehangaiee k khilaaf to bahir nikal sakti he lakin kisi k khilaaf na insaafi pe kion nikley..............begharat leader begharat log.

sb ko apni apni fikr he jesey is mulk se unka koiee talluk hi nhi sirf us wakt takleef hotee he jab jaib me paiso ka masla hota he.

its a shame k na isko media ne issue bnaya na kisi siasi leader ne.

i will be looking what so called IK says about this ?????????????

Pakistani92

These army officers think, Pakistan is their Jageer.
Indeed this is army who destroyed this country more than anyone

bad kismati itni kay kuch bhi tu khalis nahi Pakistan mein, ameer, gareeb, army, politicians sab kay sab mein milawat hai, jis ka jitna bas chalta hai utni chori karta hai.......

wanderer

This is real life.

Secondly there is an honorable way of doing things and bringing up matters of concern. If something is serious you do not talk about it like you are trying to make fun of the people who are running the affairs or make the issue seem flimsy.
What is the honourable way ? and WHO do u complain to ?? or talk to for the matter ???

Thirdly there is, in every institution in this world, a ceratin chain of authority specifically in place, that a person who has a complaint or suggestion, has to follow, especially for the professor who is teaching leadership.

That only applies to other parts of the world, NOT Pakistan.
If u are in Pakistan then I'm sure u must be apt in reaching " chain of authority " to present a complaint. WOW...thats a first.. Unfortunately experience states that there is no one in the SYSTEM here in Pakistan, that would give a flying ..... !!!
U cannot reach anyone that you'd be able to state a complaint.
No one answers phones at the offices, only few have email addresses--- RETRD colonels, commanders etc etc (the list is available on the website for Intermediate board Karachi ) Toh obviously... the add Shehzad Roy has said - agar abhie moonh nahin khol toh agay pachtaoogay !!

If the teacher desires respect he/she has to show respect for the exisiting system even if they do not agree with it. Remember the teacher came looking for a job and the Behria university did not go to his house to ask him to join them!
so its okie to disrespect the teacher ?? To humiliate him ???

I say disagree with anything but do it honorably so you create a good legacy, not like the one we are witnessing on this post where people are just using this to vent their anger, without thinking
Disagree per essi treatment milli hai.
No one listens here... and if anyone by chance did happen to hear something.. the shoulders are shrugged and one is directed to the next table !!!

islamabadi

i guess that soon these beaten up professors will become "missing persons"and after some blast in future there cut off head will be "found" from scene and it will be "discovered " that they were "taliban and they did the blast!!!
end of story

i myself am witness to a major beating up a respected civilian educated car driver with his stick,on a busy road ,after that civilian dared to overtake the majors car, who was trying to impress his gf.
but such slave mentality nation like ours deserves that.
let any army general even raise a finger in afghanistan,even on a child,,,they break the hand which is raised against them,they dont tolerate slavery like we pakistanis do...they are born free and they die free,impressive.
no wonder allah is giving afghans such an honour now...of defeating worlds second super power in 20 years time.soviet union than and united states of zionism now.mashalah

You forgot to mention another honour the Afghns have acquired: They have the "honour" of loosing the quickest war in history (2 Days). In 2001 the Afghan ruling government crumbled within 48 hours after american B-52 bombers bombed the crap out of them. Is your revolution coming by the way ?