India reveals 'world's biggest' uranium discovery

bravo

http://www.thenews.com.pk/NewsDetail.aspx?ID=18982&title=India-reveals-worlds-biggest-uranium-discovery

NEW DELHI: A new mine in south India could contain the largest reserves of uranium in the world, a government official said in remarks reported Tuesday, signalling a major boost for the energy-hungry nation.

The Tumalapalli mine in Andhra Pradesh state could provide up to 150,000 tonnes of uranium, Srikumar Banerjee, secretary of the Department of Atomic Energy, told reporters after a four-year survey of the site was completed.

"It's confirmed that the mine has 49,000 tonnes of ore, and there are indications that the total quantity could be three times that amount," Banerjee was quoted as saying in The Times of India.

"If that be the case, it will become the largest uranium mine in the world," he said.

Previous estimates suggested that only about 15,000 tonnes of uranium would be produced at the mine, which is due to start operating by the end of the year.

S.K. Malhotra, spokesman for the Department of Atomic Energy, said that experts at the Tumalapalli mine were "quite hopeful" that the eventual volume from the mine would reach 150,000 tonnes.

But he warned that "it is not high-grade uranium, it is low-grade uranium.

We have not found any high-grade uranium in India to match that found in Australia."

Major exporter Australia has so far rebuffed Indian requests for supplies of the heavy metal, which is refined into nuclear fuel, because the country has not signed the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty.

The government has been seeking new supplies of uranium worldwide and has concluded supply deals with France, Kazakhstan and Russia among others.

"The new findings would only augment the indigenous supply of uranium. There would still be a significant gap. We would still have to import," Banerjee was quoted as saying by The Hindu newspaper.

India's fast-growing economy is heavily dependent on coal, getting less than three percent of its energy from atomic power. It hopes to raise the figure to 25 percent by 2050.

Construction began on Monday of two new indigenously-designed 700-megawatt nuclear plants in the western state of Rajasthan, the government said in a statement.

India currently has 20 nuclear reactors generating 4,780 megawatts of power, plus seven reactors with a capacity of 5,300 megawatts under construction, it said.

New Delhi -- backed by the US -- won a special exemption in 2008 from the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG), which governs global nuclear trade, to allow it to buy reactors and fuel from overseas.

The country had been subject to an embargo since 1974 when it first conducted a nuclear weapons test.

Countries are normally required to have signed the nuclear non-proliferation treaty and open their reactors to international scrutiny before they can buy atomic technology and uranium.

Companies from France, Russia, the United States and Japan are competing for a slice of the $175 billion that India plans to spend on nuclear reactors.

Since Japan's Fukushima crisis in March, environmentalists have campaigned to stop construction of new nuclear plants in India but the government has vowed to press ahead with its plans.

Regular protests have been held by residents at Jaitapur on the west coast of India, where a huge six-reactor, 9,900-megawatt plant is scheduled to begin construction in 2013. (AFP)

=============================================================================================

Australia can suck its foot now !!

student

Australia Uranium reserves: 1,673,000 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_uranium_reserves)
Indian revealed reserves: 150000 (Not high quality according to this news )
I dont know how they are claiming its world biggest reserve?
http://www.thenews.com.pk/NewsDetail.aspx?ID=18982&title=India-reveals-worlds-biggest-uranium-discovery

NEW DELHI: A new mine in south India could contain the largest reserves of uranium in the world, a government official said in remarks reported Tuesday, signalling a major boost for the energy-hungry nation.

The Tumalapalli mine in Andhra Pradesh state could provide up to 150,000 tonnes of uranium, Srikumar Banerjee, secretary of the Department of Atomic Energy, told reporters after a four-year survey of the site was completed.

"It's confirmed that the mine has 49,000 tonnes of ore, and there are indications that the total quantity could be three times that amount," Banerjee was quoted as saying in The Times of India.

"If that be the case, it will become the largest uranium mine in the world," he said.

Previous estimates suggested that only about 15,000 tonnes of uranium would be produced at the mine, which is due to start operating by the end of the year.

S.K. Malhotra, spokesman for the Department of Atomic Energy, said that experts at the Tumalapalli mine were "quite hopeful" that the eventual volume from the mine would reach 150,000 tonnes.

But he warned that "it is not high-grade uranium, it is low-grade uranium.

We have not found any high-grade uranium in India to match that found in Australia."

Major exporter Australia has so far rebuffed Indian requests for supplies of the heavy metal, which is refined into nuclear fuel, because the country has not signed the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty.

The government has been seeking new supplies of uranium worldwide and has concluded supply deals with France, Kazakhstan and Russia among others.

"The new findings would only augment the indigenous supply of uranium. There would still be a significant gap. We would still have to import," Banerjee was quoted as saying by The Hindu newspaper.

India's fast-growing economy is heavily dependent on coal, getting less than three percent of its energy from atomic power. It hopes to raise the figure to 25 percent by 2050.

Construction began on Monday of two new indigenously-designed 700-megawatt nuclear plants in the western state of Rajasthan, the government said in a statement.

India currently has 20 nuclear reactors generating 4,780 megawatts of power, plus seven reactors with a capacity of 5,300 megawatts under construction, it said.

New Delhi -- backed by the US -- won a special exemption in 2008 from the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG), which governs global nuclear trade, to allow it to buy reactors and fuel from overseas.

The country had been subject to an embargo since 1974 when it first conducted a nuclear weapons test.

Countries are normally required to have signed the nuclear non-proliferation treaty and open their reactors to international scrutiny before they can buy atomic technology and uranium.

Companies from France, Russia, the United States and Japan are competing for a slice of the $175 billion that India plans to spend on nuclear reactors.

Since Japan's Fukushima crisis in March, environmentalists have campaigned to stop construction of new nuclear plants in India but the government has vowed to press ahead with its plans.

Regular protests have been held by residents at Jaitapur on the west coast of India, where a huge six-reactor, 9,900-megawatt plant is scheduled to begin construction in 2013. (AFP)

=============================================================================================

Australia can suck its foot now !!

Resonant

But the thing which impressed me the most is the fact that They are going to start extracting this uranium within a year....(clap)
It is shameful for us (Pakistanis) we are continueusly listening that there are great coal, copper, gold and oil reserves in our country...but cant do anything to extract them...Shameful indeed.:angry_smile::angry_smile:

bravo

Australia Uranium reserves: 1,673,000 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_uranium_reserves)
Indian revealed reserves: 150000 (Not high quality according to this news )
I dont know how they are claiming its world biggest reserve?

Largest uranium mine(not largest reserves )!
!australia have 20+ mines of uranium extraction!!so cummulative reserves of uranium is 15 lak tonns

Even 1.5 lak kg would suffice india for 10 years,albeit low quality;moreover india indigenous thorium breeder reactors are state of its art!!
They would form major chunk of indian indigenous reactors in coming decades;Remember india has world largest reserve of thorium!!

famamdani

and i hear also India have big cow- urin............. um reserve of the planet:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:(yapping)(yapping)

Joker

Largest uranium mine!!australia have 20+belts of uranium extraction!!so cummulative reserves of uranium is 15 lak tonns

Even 1.5 lak kg would suffice india for 10 years,albeit low quality;moreover india indigenous thorium breeder reactors are state of its art!!
Remember india has world largest reserve of thorium!!

Also not to forget , India has the largest poo reserves in the World .indisputable.(clap)

Pakistani92

@bravo
Good news for India, I wish to see South Asian countries prosperous and developed as well, though there are some bad people on both sides and we need to eradicate them. Common people in any country have similar necessities, my enemy is not a common Indian, American etc but the one who preaches war and hate, it's time to identify them and they are among us.....
And a very humble request to my Pakistani friends that please appreciate any good news from across the border.

bravo

@bravo
Good news for India, I wish to see South Asian countries prosperous and developed as well, though there are some bad people on both sides and we need to eradicate them. Common people in any country have similar necessities, my enemy is not a common Indian, American etc but the one who preaches war and hate, it's time to identify them and they are among us.....
And a very humble request to my Pakistani friends that please appreciate any good news from across theborder.

Same here...majority of indians have good opinion of pakistani people;yes many of us see pakistan with suspicion due to armed forces control over its foreign policy,inefficient civilian govt ;but everyone wants pakistan to solve its problems peacefully and come out of those old days mentality!!

Ofcourse;pakistan has bigger problems at its western border;most of us have no clue about energy crisis in pakistan;but indian surely is going through big electricity crisis and its growing industry needs atleast 150-200 billion $ investment in nuclear enegy!

Due to lack of funds,and advanced re-procressing nuclear technology;indian govt is relying more on french,russian and american company who are ready to finance and invest into nuclear plants !!so despite having indigenous nuclear technology,crisis of funds make it difficult to set up our own plants with thorium designs (naive old uranium plants are also mastered in india)!!

but as the country grows,it should have money to feed its energy sector indigenously;i expect india to be self reliant in energy requirement by 2020!!

Joker

@famamdani , ali_khan

Sorry to say but what is the point of passing such disgusting comments ??????

What are you trying to prove ??????

And please after these questions don't call me an Indian agent
:)

Dear seems to be so called Pakistani

Whatever i said was purely based on facts and data.And there is nothing wrong in mentioning facts.

Pakistani92

[MENTION=10566]ali_khan[/MENTION]

bro due to your surname I am asking this; Do you understand pushto ? iIf you do I will share with you a very good example in pushto....

Young_Blood

But the thing which impressed me the most is the fact that They are going to start extracting this uranium within a year....(clap)
It is shameful for us (Pakistanis) we are continueusly listening that there are great coal, copper, gold and oil reserves in our country...but cant do anything to extract them...Shameful indeed.:angry_smile::angry_smile:

Bhai jaan iss main pakistani nation ka he faida hai k paki govt extract nahi ker rahi in tamaam reserves ko,,, zara socho agar zardari ya mian nawaz shareef ke govt main ye extract ho gay to pakistan ka to kuch nahi bunna albatta raiwand aur sarrey palace zaroor bun jaein gay mazeed..

ye hamarey reserves kisi naik aur muhabb e watan leader k liay safe ker k rekhey hein, ta k jo ham earn karein wo pakistan main he lagay aur pakistan ka he faida ho,,
iss govt ne PIA, RAILWAY, STEEL MILL, NICL, OGDC,, HAJ scheme,, ETC ko nahi bakhsha in reserves ko chorein gay kya...

bul k ham awaam ko chahiay k in ke govt main in ko qareeb b na patakhne dein,, werna inho ne sab harap ker jana hai,,, aur hum awaam ne mou dekhte reh jana hai,,

bravo

http://tribune.com.pk/story/212574/powering-up-thar-coal-will-cover-pakistans-energy-crisis/

[h=1][URL="http://tribune.com.pk/story/212574/powering-up-thar-coal-will-cover-pakistans-energy-crisis/"]Powering up: Thar coal will cover Pakistans energy crisis
[/h]

KARACHI: The Thar Coal Project will take care of the energy needs of all of Pakistan, Sindh Information Minister Sharjeel Inam Memon told deputations in his office on Saturday.

Pakistan will require a loan of up to $1.2 billion annually from the United States for the next five years to build infrastructure in Thar. Foreign investors, especially our old ally China, showed great interest in the project, said Memon. The information minister said that hopefully Thar power generation will begin in 2015 or 2016. Meanwhile, the government is taking steps to ensure that the project goes smoothly.
He declared the impression that the government is only working towards bettering a few favourites is wrong. The future of Pakistan depends on the Thar Coal Project which will open up many jobs for Sindh. The people will soon hear good news, she said. The project will take merit into consideration, he said. The government is trying its best to provide the people of Thar and Sindh with the benefits of this project.
[/URL]

Joker

@ali_khan

bro due to your surname I am asking this; Do you understand pushto ? iIf you do I will share with you a very good example in pushto....

So u only know Pushto and English , Now we are reaching conclusion that you may be Indian minded Afghan with fake ID of Pakistani......................

Pakistani92

So u only know Pushto and English , Now we are reaching conclusion that you may be Indian minded Afghan with fake ID of Pakistani......................

uff ALLAH! bhai yeh tumay INDIANFOBIA ho gaya hai kia ? mere pehlay sawal ka jabawb nahi dia abhi tak, agar samaj ati hai tu pushto mein aik bhuth pyara chota sa wakia aur kahawath hai jis say tumay sab samaj a jaiy gi kay kyou aisi batein nahi kartay, agar haqeeqth bhi ho.

WatanDost

[h=1]بھارت:یورینیم کا بڑا ذخیرہ برآمد[/h]
110719101513_uranium_2.jpg
حکومت کو یورنیم حاصل کرنے میں کافی مشکلات کا سامنا کرنا پڑتا ہے۔

بھارت کی جنوبی ریاست آندھر پردیش کی ایک کان کے اندر دنیا میں یورینیم کا سب سے بڑا ذخیرہ ہو سکتا ہے لیکن اس کے باوجود ملک کو یورینیم درآمد کرنے کی ضرورت ختم نہیں ہوگی۔
بھارت میں جوہری توانائی کے کمیشن کے سربراہ ایس بینرجی نے کہا ہے کہ یہ کان کاڈپہ ضلع میں واقع ہے جس کے بارے میں پہلے یہ اندازہ تھا کہ وہاں پندرہ ہزار ٹن یورینیم موجود ہے۔
لیکن چار سال کے مطالعے کے بعد ماہرین اب اس نتیجے پر پہنچے ہیں کہ اس کان میں یقینی طور پر کم سے کم انچاس ہزار ٹن اور ممکنہ طور پر ڈیڑھ لاکھ ٹن یورینیم ہے۔
یہ ایک انتہائی اہم دریافت ہے کیونکہ تخمینوں کے مطابق ملک میں اس کان کے علاوہ مجموعی طور پر پونےدو لاکھ ٹن یورینیم کے ذخائر ہیں۔
[HI]لیکن ماہرین کے مطابق اس نئی دریافت کے باوجود بھارت کو بڑے پیمانے پر یورینیم درآمد کرنے کی ضرورت پڑے گی کیونکہ وہ بڑے پیمانے پر جوہری بجلی گھر بنانے کی تیاری کررہا ہے۔[/HI][HI]
ملک میں دوسری کانوں سے نکالا جانے والا یورینیم معیار کے لحاظ سے اس یورینیم سے خراب ہے جو فرانس، قزاقستان اور روس سے درآمد کیا جاتا ہے
[/HI]ماہرین

مسٹر بینرجی نے اخباری نمائندوں کو ایک سیمنار کے دوران بتایا کہ اگر اس کان میں واقعی ڈیڑھ لاکھ ٹن یورینیم موجود ہے تو اس کا شمار دنیا کی سب سے بڑی کانوں میں کیا جائے گا۔
روزنامہ دی ہندو میں شائع ہونے والی ایک خبر کے مطابق انہوں نے کہا کہ یہ کان پینتس کلومیٹر کے رقبے میں پھیلی ہوئی ہے اور وہاں تلاش کا کام اب بھی جاری ہے۔
بہر حال، ابھی یورینیم کے معیار کے بارے میں تفصیلات جاری نہیں کی گئی ہیں۔ ماہرین کے مطابق ملک میں دوسری کانوں سے نکالا جانے والا یورینیم معیار کے لحاظ سے اس یورینیم سے خراب ہے جو فرانس، قزاقستان اور روس سے درآمد کیا جاتا ہے۔
بھارت ملک میں بجلی کی کل ضرورت کا صرف تین فیصد حصہ جوہری بجلی سے پورا کرتا ہے لیکن حکومت اسے تقریباً آٹھ گنا بڑھاکر پچیس فیصد تک پہنچانا چاہتی ہے۔
حکومت کو یورنیم حاصل کرنے میں کافی مشکلات کا سامنا کرنا پڑتا ہے۔ آسٹریلیا، جو یورینیم کا بڑا سپلائر ہے، اسے یہ ایندھن فراہم کرنے سے گریز کرتا ہے کیونکہ بھارت نے ابھی تک جوہری ٹیکنالوجی کے عدم پھیلاؤ کے معاہدے یا این پی ٹی پر دستخط نہیں کیے ہیں۔

Before YELLING read the REALITY
This is where you STANDS.
Still SHORT of URANIUM
Quantity but without QUALITY.
:lol::lol::lol:[hilar][hilar][hilar]:lol: