Huge reserves of tight gas in Sui, NA informed

Gazoo Notes: Alhamdulillah. Lets just hope that the minister is not create a hype because I dont think he has the resources to ensure the discovery. But non-the-less lets all hope for that, Ameen

ISLAMABAD: In what could cheer up Pakistan about the future in present times of energy shortages, Petroleum and Natural Resources Minister Asim Hussain told the National Assembly on Monday that Sui area in Balochistan had huge reserves of tight gas equivalent to its presently known natural gas reserves.

Quoting estimates that he said had been kept hidden in the past, he also put the countrys natural gas reserves at 100 trillion cubic feet, compared to previously reported estimate of nearly 29 trillion cubic feet.
What were disclosures to the house came in a speech that Dr Asim said he had to cut short on instructions from the ruling party chief whip while winding up a debate on opposition cut motions on demands for grants in the new budget for the petroleum and natural resources ministry.
A member of the opposition PML-N and a former governor of Balochistan, retired Lt-Gen Abdul Qadir Baloch, told the house in a speech earlier that he had been once briefed about the existence of exploitable tight gas reserves deep under Sui equal to its presently known gas reserves.
The minister confirmed the opposition members statement, saying the place has as much tight gas as in the present Sui field, and informed the house that exploration work at the site, which is run by Pakistan Petroleum Limited, would begin in three months.
In February, the Council of Common Interests approved a policy for the exploitation of tight gas, which is natural gas reservoirs locked in difficult rock or underground formations extremely tight to drill.
Talking about the gas reserves, he said: We have more than 100 trillion cubic feet, adding that information about it had been kept hidden in the past and was brought out by the present government.
But he did not elaborate why and who had kept this information hidden or clarify whether the estimate included the estimate of tight gas.
Dr Asim also talked about plans for gas exploration at some other blocks in Balochistan despite the bad law and order situation in the province and progress of agreements to buy gas from Iran and Turkmenistan through pipelines yet to be built, he said: We have a very bright future.
But he said the fruit of these plans might be enjoyed by those who come after us.
Then petroleum and natural resources minister Naveed Qamar, in reply to a question in the National Assembly in January last, had put total balance recoverable from the countrys gas reserves at 28.9 trillion cubic feet enough for more than 20 years.
Dr Asim described domestic consumption as the worst form of using gas, which he said must go to industry, and informed the house that the government had plans to build its first terminal for the import of liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) and to have marketing companies supply LPG in every corner of the country.
The minister promised to bring a law in the next session of the National Assembly to provide for punishing not only those who steal electricity but also those who help them do it, before the house approved the budgeted demands for grant for his ministry worth more than Rs703 million after rejecting all 33 cut motions mostly moved by PML-N members.
Before that, the house approved much bigger demands for grants worth more than Rs12 billion for the foreign ministry and worth more than Rs4 billion for the information and broadcasting ministry, after rejecting 33 cut motions about the first ministry and 35 about the second.

Adapted from: http://www.dawn.com/2011/06/21/huge-reserves-of-tight-gas-in-sui-na-informed.html

EniGma90

Perhaps one of the best news for Pakistanis this year....

Here are some facts from my article, I wrote 2 months back in an Oil & Gas magazine(online)...

* Pakistan's yearly consumption of Natural gas 1.44 Tcf (trillion cubic feet)

* Pakistan's yearly production of Natural gas 440 Bcf (Billion cubic feet )

* Shortage of demand and supply is 3 Bcfd... (Billion cubic feet per day)

* A/c to seismic surveys of 2010, 51 Tcf of Natural gas has been found near coastal areas of sindh and Baluchistan.

* Pakistan's expected Gas reserves are 290 Tcf.... a/c to http://geology.com/energy/world-shale-gas/

* Pakistan not only can produce gas for itws own requirement but can supply its neighbor countries like Afg and India which will result the annual income of 13.6 billion dollars yearly..

cefspan

i think we must have to kill people like you first

Let me explain , In 70's when the balochis were asking for inceased royalty @ SUI and acceptance of other agendas , PPP Bhutto ordered military peration there in Balochistan , Killing 5 lakh / half million Separatist balochis . Media was told that these were separatist , only Allah knows the reality.......

Perhaps one of the best news for Pakistanis this year....

Here are some facts from my article, I wrote 2 months back in an Oil & Gas magazine(online)...

* Pakistan's yearly consumption of Natural gas 1.44 Tcf (trillion cubic feet)

* Pakistan's yearly production of Natural gas 440 Bcf (Billion cubic feet )

* Shortage of demand and supply is 3 Bcfd... (Billion cubic feet per day)

* A/c to seismic surveys of 2010, 51 Tcf of Natural gas has been found near coastal areas of sindh and Baluchistan.

* Pakistan's expected Gas reserves are 290 Tcf.... a/c to http://geology.com/energy/world-shale-gas/

* Pakistan not only can produce gas for itws own requirement but can supply its neighbor countries like Afg and India which will result the annual income of 13.6 billion dollars early..

Pakistan's annual money lost to corruption = over $100B.

Time for Raisani to get drunk tonight and may be pick up a couple of young teen age girls (cry)

But no matter how much govt loots the money, or Jews haul away our resources, or Americans destroy us, few things for sure:

1. ummat-e-mohammadi will never be on ground dead

2. We can get worst, but we have the divine book to fall back on, we can always rise back up

3. We may be 'dust' now but kafereen will 'rust in peace' soon as it is evident with the mass exodus of troops from Afghanistan.

4. We know how to rule, we have ruled over Spain for over 700 years. It wont take long to revive that habit. We shall start with Afghanistan then take over India

5. We are the best of best ummat. We have been given the responsibilities of Ghuzwa-e-Hind, assistance to Jesus (as) to deal with yahood o nasara and killing of Dajjal.

We shall not remain fallen for very long. inshaAllah

Pakistan Paindabad

nasrum-min-Allahi-wa-fath-un-qareeb

East Shall Rise Again

EniGma90

Time for Raisani to get drunk tonight and may be pick up a couple of young teen age girls (cry)

But no matter how much govt loots the money, or Jews haul away our resources, or Americans destroy us, few things for sure:

1. ummat-e-mohammadi will never be on ground dead

2. We can get worst, but we have the divine book to fall back on, we can always rise back up

3. We may be 'dust' now but kafereen will 'rust in peace' soon as it is evident with the mass exodus of troops from Afghanistan.

4. We know how to rule, we have ruled over Spain for over 700 years. It wont take long to revive that habit. We shall start with Afghanistan then take over India

5. We are the best of best ummat. We have been given the responsibilities of Ghuzwa-e-Hind, assistance to Jesus (as) to deal with yahood o nasara and killing of Dajjal.

We shall not remain fallen for very long. inshaAllah

Pakistan Paindabad

nasrum-min-Allahi-wa-fath-un-qareeb

East Shall Rise Again

One of the best posts I ever read.... thank you gazoo sahab, really encouraging for Pakistanis..

Although Gazoo is blocking me, the ****head that he is, I would like to post some stuff for other peoples consumption:

he also put the country’s natural gas reserves at 100 trillion cubic feet, compared to previously reported estimate of nearly 29 trillion cubic feet.

I highly doubt that information. There have been no conclusive studies to prove even half that amount. The minister is trying to ratchet up support for his party by trying to paint a rosy picture. He was probably trying to keep his ministry's grants intact as is evident from the following info in the report

while winding up a debate on opposition cut motions on demands for grants in the new budget for the petroleum and natural resources ministry

A member of the opposition PML-N and a former governor of Balochistan, retired Lt-Gen Abdul Qadir Baloch, told the house in a speech earlier that he had been once briefed about the existence of exploitable tight gas reserves deep under Sui equal to its presently known gas reserves.

Tight gas is hard to drill and produce and requires a lot of investment as well as technical expertise especially in the horizontal drilling area and this is where we need foreign expertise. With the current security situation in Balochistan, even local companies arent drilling new wells or expanding exploration activities, so it is impossible that any multinational oil company will invest or provide services for exploiting the tight shales in the region.

We have been unable to properly exploit the gas reserves we are already producing, I wonder how the minister is able to see a bright future. Case in point Qadirpur Gas field. It was supposed to goto compression in 2009 as per the detailed study performed on the reservoir so as to get maximum recovery but to this day the QP Compression Project is under litigation by an unscrupulous local company who is dragging down the whole thing and in the meanwhile QP is flaring upto 40MMSCFD of low pressure gas per day! The pressures are dropping fast and soon the compression project will become unfeasible itself. I wonder where the f**k is the government in fixing the problem?

Bright future like gazoos a**.

But he said the “fruit” of these plans might be enjoyed by those “who come after us”.

I can assure you there are no grand plans in the works. Its all bullsh*t. (I work in the industry)

Our economy isnt that big. How can we lose something we dont have in the first place you moron!

Time for Raisani to get drunk tonight and may be pick up a couple of young teen age girls

The teenage girl scandal being reffered to (a picture of Raisani with his head on a young girls shoulder) was his BLOOD AND FLESH daughter you frikkin pervert. Some a**hole newspaper took the picture from the girls FB profile and posted it on their front page. They had to retract the story but ignorant, judgmental a**es like gazoo still get a stiffy thinking of that picture. Fu*king pervert!

We shall start with Afghanistan then take over India

Hilarious delusions from the effects of injecting too much Lysergic zaid-acid diethylHamide! ;)

East Shall Rise Again

It already is. Ever heard of China and India? I believe they are in the 'East'. :p

BP mulls $15 billion investment in Omani 'tight gas' fields

Jun 20, 2011
Eric Watkins

OGJ Oil Diplomacy Editor

LOS ANGELES, June 20 -- BP PLC is considering an investment of $15 billion over a 10-year period for the full-field development of its Block 61 tight gas fields in Oman, according to a senior executive of the firm.

“This will be a very large project…and will require approximately $15 billion in capital investment from BP to make that happen,” said Jonathan Edwards, vice-president of BP Oman.

“About $10 billion of that will go into the drilling of wells and the rest will go for surface facilities,” Evans said.

“We are proposing for the full field development of a gas processing plant with a capacity to process 1.2 bcfd, which will need 330 wells, and about 600 km of gathering system to connect all those wells,” Evans said.

“We have not yet reached an agreement with the government,” Evan said, adding that, “We have to submit a field development plan to the government, which we plan to do early next year.”

Evans noted that on the basis of field development plan, BP will negotiate commercial terms with the government. “The government has to agree for the scale of development that we are talking about,” he said.

If everything goes well, the first production of gas on commercial basis from the field is expected in late 2016 or early 2017. “We need 60 wells to start commercial production and thereafter, we will drill 20 wells every year for 10 years,” Evans said.

Evans’ remarks followed an announcement by BP of the successful completion of an extended well testing project, with the anticipated commercial gas production from its Khazzan and Makarem fields expected at about 1.2 bcfd.

“We are encouraged by the results of the extended well tests,” said Evans, who explained that the tests, “will help us as we now work towards declaration of commercialization by 2012-end.”

"We have already drilled eight wells and a ninth one is being drilled at the moment,” said Evans, who added that the stimulation and testing of the first three wells have been completed.

Evans said that teams in London and Muscat are working with the government of Oman to agree on the development concept for the Khazzan project, which will form the first phase of development on Block 61.

“This includes designs for wells and surface facilities,” said Evans, who added that BP had begun producing 60 MMcfd of gas from the test wells. He said seven wells have been successfully tested, with BP Oman planning to add two more wells by yearend.

Under the terms of the exploration and production-sharing agreement signed in January 2007, BP is required to submit a full field development plan to the government. “We plan to do this early next year, and on the basis of that, we will then negotiate commercial terms,” Evans said.

The agreement covers a 2,800 sq km area in central Oman, including the Khazzan and Makarem gas fields, which were discovered in 1993 but had remained undeveloped due to what BP called “the complexity of their tight gas reservoirs.”

At the time, BP said it signed “a major production-sharing agreement that will give the company access to two Middle East fields and associated accumulations that could yield resources of some 20-30 tcf of natural gas.”

In November 2009, BP completed drilling five of eight appraisal wells as part of its development program for the reserves on Block 61.

“BP will drill eight appraisal wells in total by 2011,” according to Jonathan Evans, BP Oman general manager. “So far we've done five wells, which have provided a lot of useful information on the nature and the scale of the reservoirs (OGJ Newsletter, June 7, 2010).”

BP has a 100% stake in Block 61, but Oman’s government may take 20% equity in the project at the time of commerciality.

...........................................................................................................................................................................................

This is how tight gas is exploited; by bringing in billions of dollars in investment and technical expertise of high quality and not by making bullsh*t speeches in the Parliament.

Like I said...bright future...gazoos a**!

myn82

This country has everything, this mentality of Punjabi, sindhi, balochi, Phathan is detroying us. This country has name of Allah and Islam in its foundation but what it has become a f*cking tool of satanist to implement their agenda. Here is a mafhoom of a hadith of Prophet Mohammad(PBUH) "If someone asks you from which nation you are and you say something other than muslim then you are not one of amongst us". Now we are Muslims first and then any other thing.

No doubt about Quran is our guidance for all times. That is the reason Americans or more preciously Zionists are scared from Muslims. Islam does not worry them, but if Muslims start turning back to the Holy Quran that is their worry.

That's why the drive was conducted to change the text books in Islamic countries to teach Muslim kids history which is without Islamic glorious past. The funny thing is people who have made war as their prime source of conquering other's land and steal their resources are preaching the Muslims not to teach their glorious past to their coming generations.

First, the Jews created the myth that they are "God's chosen" people. Then the Romans created a similar hoax of "God's only son" come to teach us and created "Christianity".

Hazarat Isa As name was not Christ, nor did he came to teach "Christianity", he was a "Muslim" like every other Prophet before him.

He was a small part of history, which was neither recorded properly either deliberately or due to later purposeful corruption by the so-called "Christians" to use his As name for their plans to control the masses through the Church.

The history was so corrupted by the Christians that now some of the Historians say, "Jesus never existed". Their conclusion is based on the "Jesus" of the Bible. Or the myth purposefully created by the lying pens of Scribes. No wonder serious scholars find no evidence for the existence of such "Jesus".

But a real Isa As existed no doubt, who was taken away by the Angels before he was crucified. The rest are made up stories by the Christians. That's why the Holy Quran decreed, those who claim Isa As was killed or crucified have no knowledge but they use conjecture.

The problem for the twisters of history and those who have killed millions of people in last 2500 years is that the Holy Quran decreed, Jews are not "God's Choosen" people, neither the Christ was "son of god".

The Holy Quran destroyed both of their lies which were concocted to control the world. It is therefore obvious why Islam and the Holy Quran is the biggest threat for them. And those Muslims who wants the supremacy of the Holy Quran are in turn are a threat.

Look in to the context of Pakistan, recently ANP creep said this period is not for "Allah-o-Akbar", nauzobillah. What he meant is this period is not for the Holy Quran or the teachings of the Holy Quran to be adopted by the Muslims. We know whose language he was speaking, he didn't need to tell the Muslims, because we know, the Holy Quran puts strong emphasis on education of Muslims including education in Science.

Take the second example of MQM and AH letter to Tony Blair, their agenda is the same. No wonder they always are working on the same agenda and reminding their masters what services they can offer for the control of Islamic practices in Pakistan. Add in the mix the "Musharaf" gang of drunkards and Alcohol carriers.

The enemies plans and their supporters are open to all of us. The same people not only betray Islam but also are open enemies of Pakistan. We all should be warned. The example of Karachi is in front of us. Why you think both of these parties are fighting and killing hundreds of people when their philosophy and policies are the same? They serve the same Masters too, so why are they fighting? Whose agenda are they serving by creating Chaos in Karachi and destroying the Economy of Pakistan?

We all should think about it seriously.

Transparency International's local chapter estimates petty corruption costs Pakistan's economy between 200-225 billion Pakistani rupees ($2.34-2.64 billion) a year. That's 1.58 percent of the country's 2009 GDP of $166.5 billion.

These figures 2.64 Billion $ is what they can see and make estimation. But that is not all. Figures from other resources say at leat 1000 billion rupees (almost 9-10 Billion dollar) in year 2010 which is almost 4 times higher than estimation of transparency international. Secret nr. must be much higher.

@awan4ever

Do not underestimate Pakistanis. The storm what is comming, Pakistans corrupts can not imagine. These old corrupts have no idea about new technoligies. They ruined Pakistan. Corruption is their daily bread.

You don't know what best thing has already happened in Pakistan. Pakistans educated Youth has grown up. More than 70% of Pakistanis are youth. Potential is immense. Highly motivated and educated youth. Change is unavoidable. InshaAllah very soon.

[MENTION=13871]Unicorn[/MENTION]

Gazwa e hind is unavoidable.

Masacre in 1947, Masacre in Kashmir, Gujrat, Samjhota express, Balochistan Anarchy fundings, Lahore attack, PNS Mehran, are recorded.

behzadji

A blow of cool air in the sweltering heat of bad times.

Huge reserves of tight gas in Sui, NA informed
ISLAMABAD: In what could cheer up Pakistan about the future in present times of energy shortages, Petroleum and Natural Resources Minister Asim Hussain told the National Assembly on Monday that Sui area in Balochistan had huge reserves of tight gas equivalent to its presently known natural gas reserves.

Quoting estimates that he said had been kept hidden in the past, he also put the countrys natural gas reserves at 100 trillion cubic feet, compared to previously reported estimate of nearly 29 trillion cubic feet.

What were disclosures to the house came in a speech that Dr Asim said he had to cut short on instructions from the ruling party chief whip while winding up a debate on opposition cut motions on demands for grants in the new budget for the petroleum and natural resources ministry.

The minister confirmed the opposition members statement, saying the place has as much tight gas as in the present Sui field, and informed the house that exploration work at the site, which is run by Pakistan Petroleum Limited, would begin in three months.

In February, the Council of Common Interests approved a policy for the exploitation of tight gas, which is natural gas reservoirs locked in difficult rock or underground formations extremely tight to drill.

Talking about the gas reserves, he said: We have more than 100 trillion cubic feet, adding that information about it had been kept hidden in the past and was brought out by the present government.

But he did not elaborate why and who had kept this information hidden or clarify whether the estimate included the estimate of tight gas.

Dr Asim also talked about plans for gas exploration at some other blocks in Balochistan despite the bad law and order situation in the province and progress of agreements to buy gas from Iran and Turkmenistan through pipelines yet to be built, he said: We have a very bright future.

But he said the fruit of these plans might be enjoyed by those who come after us.

Then petroleum and natural resources minister Naveed Qamar, in reply to a question in the National Assembly in January last, had put total balance recoverable from the countrys gas reserves at 28.9 trillion cubic feet enough for more than 20 years.

Dr Asim described domestic consumption as the worst form of using gas, which he said must go to industry, and informed the house that the government had plans to build its first terminal for the import of liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) and to have marketing companies supply LPG in every corner of the country.

The minister promised to bring a law in the next session of the National Assembly to provide for punishing not only those who steal electricity but also those who help them do it, before the house approved the budgeted demands for grant for his ministry worth more than Rs703 million after rejecting all 33 cut motions mostly moved by PML-N members.

Before that, the house approved much bigger demands for grants worth more than Rs12 billion for the foreign ministry and worth more than Rs4 billion for the information and broadcasting ministry, after rejecting 33 cut motions about the first ministry and 35 about the second.