Government Actions on Doctor's Strike, Doctor's Perspective...

Umar Ali

Dear Nation,

Last night, doctors were arrested from the hostel of Services Hospital Lahore. Dragged away by the collar like criminals. The news strip on GEO said “kae doctors pichle darwaze se faraar”. But “faraar” ka word to media aksar terrorists aur criminals k liay use karti hai na? Oh I’m sorry, my bad. That’s what you seem to think we are anyway.

If anyone of you saw the live coverage of t...he arrests, you might have seen that the police broke down doors and arrested who ever they found. Including students of SIMS. Oh and by no means should you take my word for it. Their adolescent faces and bewildered looks were enough for anybody to understand that those kids were not actual doctors, but students, residing at the hostel.

After the arrests, news strips on all TV channels belted out the names of the hospitals across various cities of Punjab where the emergency had now been closed. Please read again dear nation. NOW been closed. If any among you is wise, this is enough to understand that the emergency was previously open, although the media was previously alleging that people were dying because no doctors are to be found in the emergency even.

Please also notice the stream of deaths being reported by the media AFTER the emergency was shut down last night. Again please make special note of the fact that NO deaths were being reported before this. While the doctors were holding a peaceful strike.

Why have the doctors fled the emergency room. Well when you are being harassed by the police and threatened to be taken to jail and charged with murder, the natural reaction would be to save your own life. If you beg to differ dear nation, kindly abandon your respective professions, enroll in a medical school, get a degree and start working in a govt hospital. And please do not be upset and by no means should you stop working when the Police comes shouting and breaking down doors. Because ofcourse you are above all that, even if we aren’t!

And now the suffering of the poor will start and people will die helpless. But we know who is to blame. Question is dear Nation, are you still so blinded and prejudiced that you can’t see what we see?

I will patiently wait for the day when my nation will understand me.

Understand the stand I have taken and understand the reason behind it.

I wait for the day when my people understand that it wasn’t all about the money.

I shall wait for the day Your respective professions face injustice at the hands of the authorities.
That day, I will Not mock and ridicule you. I will stand by you. Because I know how it feels.

Till then, I will pray for the speedy recovery of your conscience and common sense.
Regards,
Your DOCTOR.

(This Piece is not written by me, however as a Doctor and as a Poster I agree with each point presented in this Post...)

Police-raid.jpg