Earthquake Island Saga: it will disappear with in 3 months, it is just a mud volcano leaking methane

Ahud1

Did Pakistan Earthquake Create a New Island in the Arabian Sea?

Tuesday's major earthquake in southern Pakistan led to some intriguing reports of a new island appearing just off Pakistan's coast. The Associated Press says following Tuesday's 7.7-magnitude tremor, witnesses reported that a small island appeared near the Arabian Sea port of Gwadar, about 150 miles northeast of the quake's epicenter.

Gwadar Police Chief Pervez Umrani said the new island was about 30 feet high and 100 feet long.

a1e84f75-3589-44c2-9d4e-da06f06f3cdb_320x180.jpg

This Google Earth map shows the distance between the magnitude-7.8 earthquake of Sept. 24, 2013, and the reported location of a new island in the Arabian Sea.
Weather.com reached out to experts for their opinion on the plausibility of the extraordinary claim, including Dr. Rob Mellors, a researcher at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in Livermore, Calif. Mellors specializes in seismology in Central Asia and the Middle East, and he says the region has seen these instant islands in past.

"In 1945 there was a big earthquake, an 8 [magnitude], offshore, that created islands that lasted three months," Mellors told Weather.com. We also asked Mellors why the sudden appearance of an island wouldn't trigger a tsunami. He explains what happened off the coast of Pakistan could have been a "large scale mud liquefaction, or possibly what's known as a mud volcano, which is driven by methane."

(MORE: Latest Details On Massive Earthquake)

Bill Barnhart, a seismologist at the U.S. Geological Survey in Golden, Colo., explained that a mud volcano is "caused by a release of gases that are trapped deeper down in the ground. As seismic waves pass by, these are released and form mud volcanoes at the surface." "The gases become mobile, and they entrain mud with them as they come to the surface," Barnhart added.

The experts explain if enough mud is lifted from the ocean floor, an island forms, which wouldn't necessarily cause a tsunami. "This is probably a very localized uplift of mud," Mellors said. "Tsunamis are usually caused by a broader uplift. A tsunami is when you have tens or hundreds of kilometers of sea floor moving up. In this case you only have that small area lifting up."

"One of these formed in this region in 2001 due to an earthquake in India," Barnhart said. Mellors added that other similar islands were spotted in 1945 and 1999. Barnhart noted that these islands don't last long. "Typically, since these are basically mud piles on the ocean floor, they will completely erode away within about a year."

http://www.weather.com/news/did-pakistan-earthquake-create-new-island-sea-20130924

Island agar reh gaya toh it will be a good picknic spot. Agar nai raha toh phr bhi is say fyda yeh huwa k yeh maloom ho gaya k Pakistan may is jaga Methan gas mojud hai.. Dusri taraf hamay is zalzalay say honay walay nuksaan per bohut afsos hai. Allah unki rooho ko sakoon aur unhay bakhish atah farmae.

seekers

خزانہ بھی ھو تو ھم نے کونسا اسے نکال کر بیوی کا زیور بنوا لینا ھے

فلحال اس پہاڑ کو خود کر کوئی چوہا پکڑ لیں جو بیوی کو ڈرانے کے کام اے گا اور زیور کی ڈیمانڈ بھی نہیں ہو گی

US CENTCOM

In these times of challenges we stand shoulder to shoulder with our Pakistani brothers. We echo Ambassador Richard C. Olson’s statement, who said, “We extend condolences to the families who lost loved ones during the earthquake in western Pakistan. Our thoughts are with the injured and those who have lost so much in this tragedy. We are closely monitoring the situation. The United States stands ready to assist the people of Pakistan.”

Abdul Quddus
DET-United States Central Command
www.centcom.mil/ur

Ahud1

In these times of challenges we stand shoulder to shoulder with our Pakistani brothers. We echo Ambassador Richard C. Olson’s statement, who said, “We extend condolences to the families who lost loved ones during the earthquake in western Pakistan. Our thoughts are with the injured and those who have lost so much in this tragedy. We are closely monitoring the situation. The United States stands ready to assist the people of Pakistan.”

Abdul Quddus
DET-United States Central Command
www.centcom.mil/ur

Quddus Bhai Thank you for your regards please tell your government that we dont need superficial sympathies if they are sincere with us they should not destroy us like they are destroying through their terrorists fellows

zhohaq

Does it means theirs are Natural Gas deposits close to Gwadar?

Cause on TV they were showing a large quantity of gas leaking out & also fire.

Don't know what all the fuss is about over this island. Even if it remains there is nothing to worry about, inshallah.