Don't treat us as 'untouchables', Afridi's appeal to BCCI

IndiaGuy

Shahid Afridi feels deeply hurt and has appealed to the BCCI that Pakistan players shouldn't be treated as "untouchables" when it comes to including them in the cash-rich Indian Premier League. "It is high time that Pakistani cricketers should also get a place in IPL. For three seasons includin

g the current one, we haven't been a part of the IPL. We have no problems playing in India as we have just played a World Cup semi-final there. We are deeply hurt that they are treating us like 'untouchables'," Afridi told PTI.
He further added that Pakistani public feel hurt that their players are not playing in IPL.

"I am not saying that I want to play IPL but it could be a great platform for youngsters. They could make a mark for themselves."

As many as 11 Pakistan players were part of inaugural season of IPL in 2008. Afridi was the costliest Pakistani player who was bagged by the Hyderabad team for USD 675,000.

Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Mohammad Hafeez and Salman Butt (Kolkata Knight Riders), Younis Khan, Sohail Tanveer and Kamran Akmal (Rajasthan Royals), Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Asif (Delhi Daredavils) and Misbah Ul Haq (Royal Challangers Banglore) were the other players .

Pakistani players missed out on the 2009 and 2010 editions due to security concerns in the wake of Mumbai terror attacks.

Afridi has said that Indian PM Manmohan Singh's invitation to Pakistani PM for the semi-finals was a positive sign and that is the way to go forward.

"Our PM Yusuf Raza Gilani responded in positive on that invitation. Now IPL can be a platform to further ease the tension," he said.

"We should play more and more against each other. This will not only ease the pressure but will also reduce the unwanted media hype surrounded with IndoPak matches," he said.

For Afridi, Indo- Pak matches are not war as players of both teams share great rapport off the field.

"On field, yes there are moments of pressure and tension whenever we play but off it, we are all friends. I share great bond with Harbhajan and respect Sachin a lot," said Afridi.

On his criticism of Gautam Gambhir's statement about dedicating the WC win to the people who died in Mumbai terror attack, Afridi said that he did not say anything about Gambhir.

"I never heard Gautam saying anything like that, so how could I react over that. It is ridiculous," he said.

Source:
http://www.hindustantimes.com/speci...-to-BCCI/cricketnews/SP-Article10-682676.aspx

sayeenwada

India being a large country seems to really have a puny little jealous and spiteful blackened heart filled with hatred for Pakistan. Furthermore, Indian media and some in India are genuinely obsessed with Pakistan and our cricketers. The Indian media and state will say anything to belittle Pakistan..Indians will go to the gutter in a heartbeat against Pakistan thus justifying Shahid Afridi's statements earlier in the week.

The headline above by Times of india was a pathetic attempt to belittle Afridi as the same interview is outlined below in cricinfo.com with a much different headline.

The Indian state can pretend all it wants to portray itself as this emerging modern nation, however, we all know very well how much water India is really in. The fact that India is poverty stricken, heavily engaged in terrorism and has genuine issues with respect to human tights are facts. There might be an edge on Pakistan in terms of economy (because of our terrorist mulaas and corrupt leaders) but, all I can say is dream all you want and let the jealous fire burn in your hearts against Pakistan....but, you will NEVER come close to the greatness that (inshallah) one day Pakistan will reach!...don't live in a Bollywod fairly tale india, wake up before it's too late.....

---------------
Allow Pakistan players back into IPL - Afridi
ESPNcricinfo staff
April 8, 2011

The inclusion of Pakistan players in the IPL will help improve relations between the two countries, says Shahid Afridi AFP
Enlarge
Related Links
Players/Officials: Shahid Afridi
Series/Tournaments: Indian Premier League
Teams: India | Pakistan
Shahid Afridi, the Pakistan captain, has said called on the IPL to include Pakistan players with relations between the two countries steadily improving. Pakistan played India in the World Cup semi-final in Mohali, a game watched by Pakistan Prime Minister Yusuf Gilani on the invitation of his Indian counterpart Manmohan Singh, who was also present.

"It is high time the Pakistani cricketers also get a place in the IPL. For three seasons, including the current one, we haven't been a part of the IPL. We have no problems playing in India as we have just played a World Cup semi-final there," Afridi told PTI.

Players from Pakistan featured in the inaugural version of the IPL but, following the Mumbai terrorist attack in November 2008 and its diplomatic fallout, they weren't picked by any of the franchises for the subsequent two editions, and will also not be part of the tournament that starts on Friday.

"I am not saying I want to play the IPL but it could be a great platform for youngsters. They could make a mark for themselves," Afridi said.

Afridi added the inclusion of Pakistan players in the IPL was an opportunity for both countries to improve relations. "Our PM responded positively to that invitation. Now IPL can be a platform to further ease the tension," he said. "We should play more against each other. This will not only ease the pressure but will also reduce the unwanted media hype surrounded with Indo-Pak matches."

India being a large country seems to really have a puny little jealous and spiteful blackened heart filled with hatred for Pakistan. Furthermore, Indian media and some in India are genuinely obsessed with Pakistan and our cricketers. The Indian media and state will say anything to belittle Pakistan..Indians will go to the gutter in a heartbeat against Pakistan thus justifying Shahid Afridi's statements earlier in the week.

The headline above by Times of india was a pathetic attempt to belittle Afridi as the same interview is outlined below in cricinfo.com with a much different headline.

The Indian state can pretend all it wants to portray itself as this emerging modern nation, however, we all know very well how much water India is really in. The fact that India is poverty stricken, heavily engaged in terrorism and has genuine issues with respect to human tights are facts. There might be an edge on Pakistan in terms of economy (because of our terrorist mulaas and corrupt leaders) but, all I can say is dream all you want and let the jealous fire burn in your hearts against Pakistan....but, you will NEVER come close to the greatness that (inshallah) one day Pakistan will reach!...don't live in a Bollywod fairly tale india, wake up before it's too late.....

Eloquently put. Bravo!

bagore

the ipl will not take pakistani players bacause thay know that pakistani players play 4 money.not 4 there country.thay have the example in front of them the world cup.u where paid by some 1.2 take the team 2 semifinal so u did, job well done

IndiaGuy

Eloquently put. Bravo!

Why you Want India to Wake up???? Pakistan is in deep sleep) . IPL is ours and We will decide who will ply and who will not. Pakistani cricketers are not welcome to play any cricket other than ICC tournaments in INDIA. STOP Bagging for IPL any more.As you have seen in the past No one is interested in any pakistani cricketers so you should not even think about it.

IndiaGuy

Eloquently put. Bravo!

You are living in fools Paradise ..go back to school....

Why you Want India to Wake up???? Pakistan is in deep sleep) . IPL is ours and We will decide who will ply and who will not. Pakistani cricketers are not welcome to play any cricket other than ICC tournaments in INDIA. STOP Bagging for IPL any more.As you have seen in the past No one is interested in any pakistani cricketers so you should not even think about it.

Its quite reassuranced from Indians Point of view that the sport which used to have a gentle touch and sportmenspirit being robbed on the face of dollars and cents. I rather go and watch a real monkey in a rink entertaining audience by the acrobatic moves than see an Indian playing for the money and spitting rubbish on his way . Afridi should decide with other Indians friend if he wants to join the bunch of idiotic blabbers reaching for the money and spewing venom.

Hindu

Its quite reassuranced from Indians Point of view that the sport which used to have a gentle touch and sportmenspirit being robbed on the face of dollars and cents. I rather go and watch a real monkey in a rink entertaining audience by the acrobatic moves than see an Indian Monkey playing for the money and spitting rubbish on his way . Afridi should decide with other Indians friend if he wants to join the bunch of idiotic blabbers reaching for the money and spewing venom.

Khatte angoor

IndiaGuy

Its quite reassuranced from Indians Point of view that the sport which used to have a gentle touch and sportmenspirit being robbed on the face of dollars and cents. I rather go and watch a real monkey in a rink entertaining audience by the acrobatic moves than see an Indian playing for the money and spitting rubbish on his way . Afridi should decide with other Indians friend if he wants to join the bunch of idiotic blabbers reaching for the money and spewing venom.

Then STOP Watching IPL ..try telling your government to stop telecasting IPL. Tell youe Cable and Geo Chanel stop telecasting IPL.

pappufromindia

yaar afridi...be frank and honest...u r hungry for money.i feel pity for pkai,s players relly.world cup me itna paseena bahaya toh punjab k cm nay 5-5 lack rs diy.mind u.. indian currency me 2.5 lack hi hote hain.ab IPL me toh kai cror rs mil sakte hain .toh afridi bhai k muh me pani ku na aaye:P.
o my dear poor afridi..agar aapke mulk k kuch terrorist nay mumbai kaand na kia hota toh aap bhi IPL me chandi kaat rahe hote.
anyway if u r so hungry for money than u can apply for drinks boy in IPL. i assure u u will get more what cm of punjab gave u:lol:

sarmad

Since when you started trusting indian media???

Afridi ne baat kuch aur ki ho gia, beghairat indian media ne likh kuch aur dia ho ga.

Hazik

u know what these Indians are so v. sick in nature that they dont leave any matter to show their sick mentality. But the thing is that By the grace of Almighty Allah we are full of resources and ability, we need to unite and make sure the rule of law in our country which will only come with "inqlaab" i guess. conditions in our country are v.worse heading towards worst. kuch khandanon ne Pakistan pe qabza kia hua he, jab tak is sey chotkara nhn milega. Awam me motivation, self-belief trust ajeaga, these indians will not even be able to stand infront of us............

Then STOP Watching IPL ..try telling your government to stop telecasting IPL. Tell youe Cable and Geo Chanel stop telecasting IPL.

Do you know what percentage of the world population watches sleazy shows and pornographic movies ? That doesn't make them any better. Some monkeys in a circus could also draw a large audience, specially if some human being act and play as Monkeys.

sayeenwada

My dear Indian brothers, we are NOT OBSESSED with Cricket!!! Please, understand and digest this fact as it will allow you to live free of the deep resentment, blind jealousy, insecurity that seems to have developed against Pakistan. Rest assure, we understand as we have the same phenomena here in Pakistan too, and, they are the mulaa, so your behavior is much like that of the mulaa that continue to spew hate without any rhyme or reason.

Pakistanis watch sports and enjoy it because it's a competition, we despise it when it morphs into some sort of a religion, which, I am afraid seems to be the case in India. Cricket, IPL and Bollywood etc. has morphed into a religion and perhaps that fills some sort of a void in your society. However, you do not have the right to malign our Cricketers and belittle them, subject them to the filth which is propagated by the Indian State & the media.

IndiaGuy

Do you know what percentage of the world population watches sleazy shows and pornographic movies ? That doesn't make them any better. Some monkeys in a circus could also draw a large audience, specially if some human being act and play as Monkeys.

Then Why Afridi Want to be part of it? Or he is Monkey by birth and like to make some money... Why All Pakistani are dying to play IPL?????

IndiaGuy

My dear Indian brothers, we are NOT OBSESSED with Cricket!!! Please, understand and digest this fact as it will allow you to live free of the deep resentment, blind jealousy, insecurity that seems to have developed against Pakistan. Rest assure, we understand as we have the same phenomena here in Pakistan too, and, they are the mulaa, so your behavior is much like that of the mulaa that continue to spew hate without any rhyme or reason.

Pakistanis watch sports and enjoy it because it's a competition, we despise it when it morphs into some sort of a religion, which, I am afraid seems to be the case in India. Cricket, IPL and Bollywood etc. has morphed into a religion and perhaps that fills some sort of a void in your society. However, you do not have the right to malign our Cricketers and belittle them, subject them to the filth which is propagated by the Indian State & the media.

India didn't do anything to Pakistani cricket.. It is People of Pakistan and Cricketers of Pakistan who Destroyed Cricket In Pakistan.. you guys tried to Kill your Guest When SL Cricketer came to Play...

IndiaGuy

Since when you started trusting indian media???

Afridi ne baat kuch aur ki ho gia, beghairat indian media ne likh kuch aur dia ho ga.

This is not Indian Media. It is in Pakistani Media..... Afridi is busy giving interview to every one after he screwed up in his last interview.

saeed khan

We do not want that our players play in Indian betting and gambling league . There are just a few greedy players who want to play IPL. I do not like to view IPL because it looks like WWF.
If few greedy players want to play IPL it does not mean whole the country likes IPL.
If we think like you then it means that all females in India are having two husbands.
http://www.siasat.pk/forum/showthread.php?62777-Two-Brothers-share-one-wife