Can anyone control Pakistan's ISI spies?

M_Adnan.L

Detailing ISI overtures to journalists by the BBC's and ET's Amir Ahmed Khan http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-south-asia-13638478

Pakistan's dreaded spy agency, the ISI, is back in the spotlight, accused of murdering journalist Saleem Shahzad. The agency's engagement with the media has become progressively more virulent as the "war on terror" has progressed. BBC Urdu editor Aamer Ahmed Khan asks whether anyone can bring the ISI under control.

ISI officials deny involvement in the murder of Saleem Shahzad. One said there is nothing sinister about their reported contacts with him. The agency, the official said, is mandated to remain in contact with journalists "for provision of accurate information on matters of national security".

But he would be hard pressed to find a Pakistani journalist willing to buy that - unless we agree that "sinister" is a matter of perspective.

I once received a phone call reminding me what a lovely family I had after I published a story for The Herald magazine on ISI-Taliban links. It had clearly upset someone at the ISI.

A panicked phone call home established all was well - and a few more calls to the relevant people from my powerful publisher ensured that the man who introduced himself as Col Tariq never called again.

But there was a catch - I had to go to the ISI's heavily fortified headquarters in Islamabad and meet the "internal security" people there. I could not shake off a creepy feeling that someone in the building had ordered that my family be monitored and watched.

Shot in the head

Spend an evening in any press club in the country and you are likely to walk away with stories that will sit comfortably in the pages of an underworld chronicle.

Tales of journalists who were made to write suicide notes for reporting on the suspected presence of India's most wanted man in Karachi. Accounts of correspondents who became hit-and-run victims after reporting on the agency's involvement in electoral malpractice.

I still remember the time when our tribal areas correspondent was picked up by the ISI and only released after being severely tortured for more than 36 hours.

Within the first few hours, we had made contact with every government official we knew, from the local police officer to the interior minister.

And it was only when they stopped answering our calls that we realised it must have been the work of bhai loag or "brothers", as ISI officials are commonly referred to.
In between, I received a call from a journalist I knew was in close contact with the ISI. He told me that a dead body fitting my correspondent's description had been taken to a hospital in the garrison city of Rawalpindi and that we had better check it out.

It took me 40 minutes to drive to the hospital, 40 of the most difficult minutes of my life as a journalist. When I saw the dead body, I could have hugged it.

I was so relieved that it wasn't my colleague. And when he was released the next evening, I found myself saying a silent thank you to his tormentors for letting him live.

Then there were the three bizarre days I spent in North Waziristan in July 2006 after a 30-year-old tribal journalist, Hayatullah, was killed.

He had been abducted from outside a local college, held for six months, then shot in the head and dumped by the roadside.

What struck me about that incident was that everyone in the area seemed to know the exact identity of his kidnappers.

Some even mentioned a name, supposedly an ISI major who, it was said, would often call Hayatullah's family and tell them that he had not yet made up his mind whether to release him or kill him.
ISI immunity

It is not without reason that Saleem Shahzad's death has immediately led to allegations against the ISI. The entire journalist community in Pakistan knows how closely the agency monitors media and journalists.

They also know how immensely powerful it is, the extent of the immunity it enjoys and the fact that journalists are only a small part of its overarching remit.

Nearly 200 political activists have been abducted, tortured and killed in the troubled province of Balochistan over the past two years merely for demanding their political rights.

Their families are almost unanimous in their opinion that the ISI is involved. Yet the killings continue unabated.

Even the Supreme Court has tried to intervene to recover some of those kidnapped - but to no avail. It has merely come to be known as the case of the missing people.
Former ISI officials proudly recount tales of how they engineered political alliances and brought down elected governments to "protect the national interest".

Yet after every general election, politicians from all political parties make a beeline for the ISI headquarters in the hope of securing a place in the cabinet.

The present government made a feeble attempt last year to bring the ISI under the control of the interior ministry.

But the agency reacted so sharply that the notification was withdrawn within hours. Since then, it has been business as usual.

In the aftermath of Bin Laden's killing, the current ISI chief, Gen Shuja Pasha, offered to resign after publicly admitting a complete intelligence failure. His offer was politely declined not just by the army chief but also by the entire parliament.

Still, there are some incorrigible optimists who believe that Saleem Shahzad's death can change all this. They point to the growing public criticism of the agency, fuelled by a steadily rising anger within a very dynamic media at its total lack of accountability.

One of Pakistan's most influential and respected publishers, Hameed Haroon, told the BBC that the situation had reached breaking point. "This has to end," he fumed. "They cannot treat our journalists, our intellectual assets like this."

The question is, who is going to end it?

psycho1

Yar ye ISI, are deadly snakes for Pakistanis only. they are capable to kill their own people and Jurelists. shame on them. but they are soo much coward they only kill those who do not have weapon to attack them back. . every single day they kill poor pakistanis for nothing. i just hate this army. is there anyone from this army who will be good in the future. only hope is there. at present sab kay sab ki party hia. looting, theifs, choor, Begart Gernals of this army.

Brave Heart

Moderators should not allow anti-Pakistan threads. they should add a clause in terms & conditions of New registration. there shouldn't be an easy access for traitors and hate spreading propaganda specialist against our country. Moderators should issue warning immediately to these traitors & maroons whose sole purpose is to degrade, defame and do poisonous propaganda against Pakistan and Pak Army & ISI.

Moderators plz get up from sleep & ban these IDs.

Yar all of you guyz start swearin gat army and agencis after reading just one article.....

no wonder hamary mulak ke yeh haalat hai...

aur mughay aap ke aaqal o daanish per hansi aati hai , if one article can change you against your own brothers then i dont know how much filth indian media has pumped in to your brains.

WE STAND BY OUR FORCES AT THESE TIMES. LONG LIVE PAKISTAN , LONG LIVE PAKISTANIS AND LONG LIFE ARMED FORCES. ...AAMEEN

ek_junoon

fittey mooo and lakh di laanet on those who deliberately trying to disgrace and humiliate PAK ARMY n its agencies.. i used to read such sort of filthy articles on daily bases, sitting in the heart of UK, but i am 100% sure this bloody bias western media never acknowledge our agencies and Army's efforts against so called war of terror n never write a single word of appreciation for PAK ARMY.. bbc is master of propaganda even majority of brit people thought it is pretty much a bias news network. i dont know why we pakistanies come easily under the influence of such types of news. Allah gives us guidance and understanding to find true path..AAMEEN

mt_dilber

very true, isi has no licence to kill innocent Pakistanis. I hate army and agencies................they are our real problem,,,,,,,,,,,,,mother of evil is our Generals.

OK if they are mother of all evils. then let me remind you, one of those evils is known as PMLN

pak4rule

this is period of deception, no one actually knows what has happened and by whom , unless the facts revealed, we must not prey to false propaganda . I only pray to Allah to guide us all in the right direction. ameen

whatever anyone do but truth prevails always.

digitalzygot

Good post in way IT EXPOSED ALL TRAITORS, IMPOSERS AND TRUE PAKISTANIS, we all know why and how everyone is after them, this is exactly what happened in 1971, malicious propaganda against army and now ISI , our enemy has been very busy. Anyone who compromises the security of our country/poses a threat/is a traitor should suffer the same fate NO ONE IS BIGGER THAN OUR COUNTRY. IT SHOWS 25MILLION$ SPENT BY 'US' ON PAKISTANI MEDIA ISPAYING OFF.

ISI should be made much more stronger, we face grave dangers from within and outside.

sam123

To all friends and good wishers of pakistan:

1.we too love pakistan.but we want pakistan to become welfare state not security state which exists as of now.
2.we want accountability to every establishments....We can criticize politicians but we cant speak a word against armed forces,isi who has brought more shame to pakistan..

remember that our politicians dont even have 33% of control over foreign policy ...
Who lost all 3 wars??Civilian government or army rulers?
3.Why is isi still supporting certain factions of taliban,some indian master minds,mulla omar and why some people helped laden to stay in abbotabad for 6 years..

we have right to question ...
We have to stop playing games with our neighbors [afganistan and india]...........our ISI ,armed forces should clearly call meeting with both neighbors and clearly declare its policy to not to hide any of their terrorists ...if underworld gang Dawood who lives here after recently marrying his daughter to miandad son,why we feel short of admitting it..

i am telling you that No country in the world including china trust our agency and armed forces ...We must have a clear cut,straight forward policy and We cant let our agency to have a parallel government of its own..

sam123

Yes they are mother of all evils. one of those evils is known as PMLN

I am though a staunch mqm supporter ...but I support nawaz sharif policy on isi and armed forces...i wish he becomes prime minister and fires these loser generals on day 1.

Why do the generals live in power for 10 years?
Are we short of talent in armed forced?
why do we support nepotism and dynasty culture in armed forces?why the chained smoker sutta waaz kiyani ,american puppet is still armed chief after these 2 mega incidents ??

Mullah Omar

Yar ye ISI, are deadly snakes for Pakistanis only. they are capable to kill their own people and Jurelists. shame on them. but they are soo much coward they only kill those who do not have weapon to attack them back. . every single day they kill poor pakistanis for nothing. i just hate this army. is there anyone from this army who will be good in the future. only hope is there. at present sab kay sab ki party hia. looting, theifs, choor, Begart Gernals of this army.

Agar aaj Pakistan bacha hua hai to woh bhe ISI or Army ki waja say. Also this is a biased article. Western media and Paki media are only giving importance to this murder because of ISI's alleged involvement. They don't have facts yet they continue to blame ISI.

Stop blaming ISI or create hate against Army. That is what we don't need now. Be sensable.

What do you think other agencies are angels??

You know what Mosad, RAW and CIA is doing??

This is only an example:

Mosad killed Hammas leader in Dubai. They Used faked british passports.

Agar aaj Pakistan bacha hua hai to woh bhe ISI or Army ki waja say. Also this is a biased article. Western media and Paki media are only giving importance to this murder because of ISI's alleged involvement. They don't have facts yet they continue to blame ISI.

I agree with you totally...without a shadow of doubt... ISI is thorn in the American and Indian policy.

mt_dilber

I am though a staunch mqm supporter ...but I support nawaz sharif policy on isi and armed forces...i wish he becomes prime minister and fires these loser generals on day 1.

Why do the generals live in power for 10 years?
Are we short of talent in armed forced?
why do we support nepotism and dynasty culture in armed forces?why the chained smoker sutta waaz kiyani ,american puppet is still armed chief after these 2 mega incidents ??

I agree wid u if it is about corrupt generals but i hate when people try to paint all Army and ISI with same brush, without realizing that they are cutting the same branch which they are sitting on. Our jawaans fighting in harsh weathers are more patriotic than juvenile 'intellectuals' sitting in their room, behind their computers.
ISI never do anything against National interests, their actions may look awkward but dont forget that pills may taste bitter but they cure disease afterall.

strings

The problem with our Army and ISI is that..they have their own strange definition of patriotism. According to them nobody is allowed to point out problems in them. You can expose politicians, bureaucracy, judiciary, media people, cricketers, x, y, z...etc etc..blah blah...thats fine! you are playing in the green zone...but if you point out some thing which they think is exposing them...then you're actually daring to step into the RED ZONE....and you better be aware of the consequences!

You can criticize anybody at anytime and as much as you like...thats fine. But if you criticize them...then you are a TRAITOR (RAW/CIA/MOSSAD agent) ! and this is actually the character of our nation..as a whole. We don't take a second in calling some one KAFIR when we hear some thing that goes against OUR views of religion.

The issue of Saleem Shahzad got so much attention because it all happened in the heart of our Capital. Otherwise, this has been happening for quite a while in Baluchistan.
Aur yehi kuch East Pakistan mein bhi hua thha...jab hum ye keh ker baat ko daba diya kerte thay k "we are dealing with SOME bengali terrorists"..aur phir wo waqt bhi agaya k poori Bengali qaum hi hamaray khilaf khari hogayi :(......aur us per sitam ye k ab wohi sab kuch hum Baluchistan mein repeat ker rahay hain...by dealing with "SOME Baluchi terrorists"...yahan tak k poori Baluchi qaum hamare khilaf khari hojaye!

Kaash hamari Army aur ISI apni mehdood aqal say ye baat samajh sakay k bhai...agar koi aap ko criticize kerta hai..tou zara socho..k saamne wala kya keh raha hai..! agar uski baat mein dam hai tou khud ko theek kero..aur agar uski baat bay buniyaad hai tou usay galat saabit kerdo...argument k zariye...GOLI k zariye nhi!!

Agar kuch behtri chahte ho..tou wo apni islaah kerne se hi hogi. Is tarhan logo ko qatal kerne say...unhe TRAITOR kehne say kuch nhi hoga...bas mulk toot jaye ga!

I agree wid u if it is about corrupt generals but i hate when people try to paint all Army and ISI with same brush, without realizing that they are cutting the same branch which they are sitting on. Our jawaans fighting in harsh weathers are more patriotic than juvenile 'intellectuals' sitting in their room, behind their computers.
ISI never do anything against National interests, their actions may look awkward but dont forget that pills may taste bitter but they cure disease afterall.

Well said....

psycho1

Yar hah. Pakistan bacha howwa hia tu sirf Allah ki rahemat sey ager ye army or isi wagra haath hota tu kab ka khatam hogeya hota. ISI ko tu ye be pata nahi chala kya Sechian par indian kasy agey. kargil wagra, or ISI tu karachi jasa city be secret jaga nahi bacha sakty. come on do not live in dream. ok fine isi etc did some job at soivit times when they were in afganistan. but tht does not mean thy can do wt they like. they are only capale to kill and sell own people. i bit u, go and do somethig u will get killed for little reason or in jahils, but same thing if amerian or any western does. they will help even to go home. everything is evidence based.

Pakistani army Gernals only like to kill own people. this is western polices to give the power to those begart and gandoo type who sell their doughters and wifes and everything to westerns and do **** job from them. make hatred between army and people. and unfortuantly bez of these puppet shows people dont like army anymore, thts wht we need to focus on. dont blame those who critisie army for their dirty job but blame those who get the dirty job from army.

You patriot Pakistanis:

United states exactly wants now to bring Pakistani nation against their own Army. Well done you are doing good job. Unpaid job. I am not an Army fan but i have sense.

Yar hah. Pakistan bacha howwa hia tu sirf Allah ki rahemat sey ager ye army or isi wagra haath hota tu kab ka khatam hogeya hota. ISI ko tu ye be pata nahi chala kya Sechian par indian kasy agey. kargil wagra, or ISI tu karachi jasa city be secret jaga nahi bacha sakty. come on do not live in dream. ok fine isi etc did some job at soivit times when they were in afganistan. but tht does not mean thy can do wt they like. they are only capale to kill and sell own people. i bit u, go and do somethig u will get killed for little reason or in jahils, but same thing if amerian or any western does. they will help even to go home. everything is evidence based.

Pakistani army Gernals only like to kill own people. this is western polices to give the power to those begart and gandoo type who sell their doughters and wifes and everything to westerns and do **** job from them. make hatred between army and people. and unfortuantly bez of these puppet shows people dont like army anymore, thts wht we need to focus on. dont blame those who critisie army for their dirty job but blame those who get the dirty job from army.

This is all alligation my brother...give me facts...not just what western media is saying becouse it fits there purpose...Pakistan was made by the suprerme sacrfice of the Shaheed...If ISI was doing this people of Pakistan are not asleep.Pakistani people and ISI/Army are united...