Pakistan ranks 12th on failed states index: Report

redaxe

boy-640x480.jpg

Pakistan ranked number 12 on a list of the most failed states, according to an annual report published in the Foreign Policy* magazine on Tuesday.

The report titled The Failed States Index 2011 compiles a list of 60 of the of the worlds most vulnerable countries. From refugee flows to poverty, public services to security threats, the list takes together a countrys performance on this battery of indicators to reflect its stability.

In both 2009 and 2010, Pakistan took the number 10 spot on this index, whereas in 2008 it was ranked number nine.

The 2011 report states that Pakistan has long been dubbed the worlds most dangerous country in Washington policy circles. The report states:

Tick off any checklist of US national security concerns, and Pakistan has them all: nuclear weapons, terrorist and insurgent groups galore, and rampant anti-American sentiment. Add to all this a volatile political system, and its no wonder that Pakistan preoccupies so many Western security analysts.

The report adds that Pakistan is not just dangerous for the West its often a danger to its own people.
It also states that the cultivation of militant groups by the Pakistani military and intelligence services which the report states is a counterweight to India and a source of strategic depth in Afghanistan has turned Pakistan into a cockpit of terrorist violence.
It adds that the countrys military leaders have made a strategic decision to allow the Pahstuns to govern themselves in what the report calls ungoverned spaces in the Pahstun-dominated badlands along the Afghanistan border.
The report cites terrorism and civilian deaths as one major reason for Pakistans position, adding that the 2010 floods displaced millions of people, adding to the instability of the country.
The top 20 failed states on this index are:
  • Somalia
  • Chad
  • Sudan
  • Congo
  • Haiti
  • Zimbabwe
  • Afghanistan
  • Central African Republic
  • Iraq
  • Ivory Coast
  • Guinea
  • Pakistan
  • Yemen
  • Nigeria
  • Niger
  • Kenya
  • Burundi
  • Burma
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Ethiopia
*Foreign Policy is a bimonthly American magazine founded in 1970.

source: http://tribune.com.pk/story/193321/pakistan-ranks-12th-on-failed-states-index-report/

mrcritic

" bimonthly American magazine " that says it all.

UN reported Pakistan is the top country who has taken the most refugees(afghan mostly) in the world - that also accounts to the problems Pakistan faces.

Where is the INDIA? Just becuase you #$@^% can do a advertising campaign of "Incredible India" does not make you incredible whatsoever.

nauman

reality is reality we are failed state proud to be a fall state.but our power full army and politician we are best state ,Andha raj

yeh-cheez

whd do you expect frm an american magazine....in reality we are far better thn all the other countries....in most of the aspects...mind you..im nt talkin abt the ghareeb awam..they must be the same..or even worse...but in general...we are far better thn those other countries...a little example is roads and motroways...i can bet on this that none of those countries are any way near to us in road systems...but this is just another attempt to put pakistan in a demoralize situation...thts it...nothing more thn tht...i will not totally disagree to this...but take a look at the first few lines..

"Tick off any checklist of US national security concerns, and Pakistan has them all: nuclear weapons, terrorist and insurgent groups galore, and rampant anti-American sentiment"...so this is the criteria fr this jacka$$ magazine to rate...and this is the checklist which US always looks fr....its WHAT THEY WANT.....:)...and by the way.....the VOLATILE political system which the respected magazine is pointing to as a point towards the failure...is THEIR OWN CULTIVATION....NRO i guess...

...so i say and my response to this magazine and this list would be.....SHUTUP...even a 10 year old pakistani kid can figure out the flaws in this list....and give you a smacking reply...what crap are you telling the world.??

here is my list for the top 10 most annoying and terrorist nations in the world:

1) USA
2) USA
3) USA
4) USA
5) USA
6) USA
7) USA
8)USA
9)USA
10)USA

YEH CHEEZ

Bombaybuz

Please let us get Failed and Faded away... yeah but the reality is that whole world gets up in the morning to check first where we are standing.. kuch apna bhe kaam karoo... jab Ayman al zawahiri jab milay ga bata dain gay...:):)

only_truths

What is a Failed state ?

WEAK, FAILED, AND COLLAPSED STATES

Failed states serve as a catalyst to non-state terrorist networks. They provide locations for critical face-to-face meetings/training that create the lifelong bonds of trust necessary for the smooth operation of covert networks (see, "Mapping Terrorist Networks" for more). They are also excellent conduits for transnational crime (drug and human trafficking primarily) that fund ongoing operations. However, an exact definition of what a failed state is and how they become failed states is fuzzy. As part of the CIA's National Intelligence Council's 2020 project, Robert Rotberg submits a paper, "Nation-State Failure: A Recurring Problem" (PDF) which provides more definition to the debate.

Delivering the goods
Nation-state success can be measured by its ability to deliver political goods. Here is his hierarchy of political goods:
Security. The is the state's primary function. It provides a framework through which all other political goods can be delivered.
Law. A system of codes and proceedures which regulate the interactions of the population and sets the standards for conduct.
Medical and Health care.
Schools and Educational Instruction.
Critical infrastructure.
A money and banking system.
A business environment.
A forum for civil society.
A method of regulating environmental commons.

A taxonomy of success and failure
He proposes the following more descriptive taxonomy of the health of states (based on their ability to deliver the political goods described above) than the current bi-polar model:
Strong States are in full control of their territories and provide high quality political goods to their citizens. The perform well in GDP per capita (and the growth of this), the UNDP's Human Development Index, Transparency International's Corruption Perception Index, and Freedom's House Freedom of the World Report.
Weak States contain ethnic, religious, linguistic, or other tensions that limit or decrease its ability to deliver political goods. These conflicts are on the edge of exploding into open conflict. GDP per capita has fallen or falling. Interestingly, the privatization of education and health care is a sign of state weakness. Corruption is common. The rule of law is weakly applied. Despots rule. Examples: Iraq (under Saddam), Belarus, N. Korea, and Libya.
Failed States provide very little political goods. The forfeit the distribution of political goods to warlords or non-state actors (ie. Hamas). Security is non-existant in all but the major cities (if that). The economic infrastructure has failed, the health care system is in decline, and the educational system is in shambles. GDP per capita is in a precipitous decline, inflation soars, corruption flourishes, and food shortages are frequent. Failed states often have a very rich minority that take advantage of the failed system. Examples: Nepal, Congo, Liberia, Afghanistan, and Iraq.
Collapsed States are failed states with a complete vacuum of authority (rare). They are black holes in regards to all indicators of health. Collapsed states can become failed states with intervention. Historical examples: Lebanon, Tajikistan, and Sierra Leone.

How to prevent the decline of nation-states
Obviously, it is much less expensive to stop a state from failing than to reconstruct it after it has failed or collapsed. Western policy is almost exclusively focused on failed states within strategic regions at the expense of weak states on the brink of failure. For example: the money spent on Iraq and Afghanistan is two orders of magnitude more than the US spends on help for weak states. Those efforts aimed at weak states have been mostly ceded to financial institutions (banks and funds) that either focus their efforts on either profit (returns from loans) or export expansion (for western producers, particularly agriculture). If we ever do get to a failure prevention strategy, the effort should focus on the following:
Rewards for democratization. Repression is often a sign of impending collapse (although it can stabilize a state in a weak state for extended periods -- Iraq, Iran, N. Korea, and others are examples). A system of rewards and punishment that leads a state to less repression can help to prevent state failure.
Rapid economic decline. Financial shocks can cause a state to fail (ie. a rapid oil price increase). Rapid intervention to alleviate this economic situation can help a weak state survive failure. This process needs to be formalized.
Security. Timely security support can help a state from losing control of its borders and prevent the rise of non-state actors. A good way to accomplish this is to fund an organization that can contract private security forces (from an ala carte menu of firms with different capabilities) for service in a weak state with control problems.

Source: http://globalguerrillas.typepad.com/globalguerrillas/2004/05/failed_states.html

Pak Zindabad

What is a Failed state ?

Failed states serve as a catalyst to non-state terrorist networks. They provide locations for critical face-to-face meetings/training that create the lifelong bonds of trust necessary for the smooth operation of covert networks (see, "Mapping Terrorist Networks" for more). They are also excellent conduits for transnational crime (drug and human trafficking primarily) that fund ongoing operations. However, an exact definition of what a failed state is and how they become failed states is fuzzy. As part of the CIA's National Intelligence Council's 2020 project, Robert Rotberg submits a paper, "Nation-State Failure: A Recurring Problem" (PDF) which provides more definition to the debate.

Delivering the goods
Nation-state success can be measured by its ability to deliver political goods. Here is his hierarchy of political goods:
Security. The is the state's primary function. It provides a framework through which all other political goods can be delivered.
Law. A system of codes and proceedures which regulate the interactions of the population and sets the standards for conduct.
Medical and Health care.
Critical infrastructure.
A business environment.

He proposes the following more descriptive taxonomy of the health of states (based on their ability to deliver the political goods described above) than the current bi-polar model:
Strong States are in full control of their territories and provide high quality political goods to their citizens. The perform well in GDP per capita (and the growth of this), the UNDP's Human Development Index, Transparency International's Corruption Perception Index, and Freedom's House Freedom of the World Report.
Weak States contain ethnic, religious, linguistic, or other tensions that limit or decrease its ability to deliver political goods. These conflicts are on the edge of exploding into open conflict. GDP per capita has fallen or falling. Interestingly, the privatization of education and health care is a sign of state weakness. Corruption is common. The rule of law is weakly applied. Despots rule. Examples: Iraq (under Saddam), Belarus, N. Korea, and Libya.
Failed States provide very little political goods. The forfeit the distribution of political goods to warlords or non-state actors (ie. Hamas). Security is non-existant in all but the major cities (if that). The economic infrastructure has failed, the health care system is in decline, and the educational system is in shambles. GDP per capita is in a precipitous decline, inflation soars, corruption flourishes, and food shortages are frequent. Failed states often have a very rich minority that take advantage of the failed system. Examples: Nepal, Congo, Liberia, Afghanistan, and Iraq.
Collapsed States are failed states with a complete vacuum of authority (rare). They are black holes in regards to all indicators of health. Collapsed states can become failed states with intervention. Historical examples: Lebanon, Tajikistan, and Sierra Leone.

Obviously, it is much less expensive to stop a state from failing than to reconstruct it after it has failed or collapsed. Western policy is almost exclusively focused on failed states within strategic regions at the expense of weak states on the brink of failure. For example: the money spent on Iraq and Afghanistan is two orders of magnitude more than the US spends on help for weak states. Those efforts aimed at weak states have been mostly ceded to financial institutions (banks and funds) that either focus their efforts on either profit (returns from loans) or export expansion (for western producers, particularly agriculture). If we ever do get to a failure prevention strategy, the effort should focus on the following:
Rewards for democratization. Repression is often a sign of impending collapse (although it can stabilize a state in a weak state for extended periods -- Iraq, Iran, N. Korea, and others are examples). A system of rewards and punishment that leads a state to less repression can help to prevent state failure.
Rapid economic decline. Financial shocks can cause a state to fail (ie. a rapid oil price increase). Rapid intervention to alleviate this economic situation can help a weak state survive failure. This process needs to be formalized.
Security. Timely security support can help a state from losing control of its borders and prevent the rise of non-state actors. A good way to accomplish this is to fund an organization that can contract private security forces (from an ala carte menu of firms with different capabilities) for service in a weak state with control problems.

Source: http://globalguerrillas.typepad.com/globalguerrillas/2004/05/failed_states.html

Did India solve all these problems ? They have more than dozen freedom fighting struggles happening , Did they Contain them ? 50 Million Girls were killed before their birth in India in last century, Did you overcome that ? Indian Army officers were involved in Bomb blast in Muslim population, Did you cleanup your army from these type of Commissioned Terrorists ?.........The answer is NO. .....................That means india is a Failed State with Excellent Lobbying in the west world.

boy-640x480.jpg

Pakistan ranked number 12 on a list of the “most failed states”, according to an annual report published in the Foreign Policy* magazine on Tuesday.

The report titled “The Failed States Index 2011” compiles a list of 60 of the of the world’s most vulnerable countries. From refugee flows to poverty, public services to security threats, the list takes together a country’s performance on this battery of indicators to reflect its stability.

In both 2009 and 2010, Pakistan took the number 10 spot on this index, whereas in 2008 it was ranked number nine.

The 2011 report states that Pakistan has long been dubbed the “world’s most dangerous country” in Washington policy circles. The report states:

The report adds that Pakistan is not just dangerous for the West – it’s often a danger to its own people.
It also states that the cultivation of militant groups by the Pakistani military and intelligence services – which the report states is a counterweight to India and a source of “strategic depth” in Afghanistan – has turned Pakistan into a “cockpit of terrorist violence”.
It adds that the country’s military leaders have made a “strategic” decision to allow the Pahstuns to govern themselves in what the report calls “ungoverned spaces” in the Pahstun-dominated badlands along the Afghanistan border.
The report cites terrorism and civilian deaths as one major reason for Pakistan’s position, adding that the 2010 floods displaced millions of people, adding to the instability of the country.
The top 20 failed states on this index are:
  • Somalia
  • Chad
  • Sudan
  • Congo
  • Haiti
  • Zimbabwe
  • Afghanistan
  • Central African Republic
  • Iraq
  • Ivory Coast
  • Guinea
  • Pakistan
  • Yemen
  • Nigeria
  • Niger
  • Kenya
  • Burundi
  • Burma
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Ethiopia
*Foreign Policy is a bimonthly American magazine founded in 1970.

source: http://tribune.com.pk/story/193321/pakistan-ranks-12th-on-failed-states-index-report/
[MENTION=11980]c4cheema[/MENTION], [MENTION=18476]maksyed[/MENTION], [MENTION=11978]Night_Hawk[/MENTION], @Raaz, @GeoG, @w-a-n-t-e-d, [MENTION=5038]karachiwala[/MENTION]

Redaxe and other Qadiyani moles through Indian holes, A perfect anti Pakistan axis of evil (clap)

Pakistan is failed state. Ok. What is problem with the Indians and Qadiyanis sitting naked in the lap of their masters USA and Israel respectively?

c4cheema

[MENTION=11980]c4cheema[/MENTION], [MENTION=18476]maksyed[/MENTION], [MENTION=11978]Night_Hawk[/MENTION], @Raaz, @GeoG, @w-a-n-t-e-d, [MENTION=5038]karachiwala[/MENTION]

Redaxe and other Qadiyani moles through Indian holes, A perfect anti Pakistan axis of evil (clap)

Pakistan is failed state. Ok. What is problem with the Indians and Qadiyanis sitting naked in the lap of their masters USA and Israel respectively?

Thanks .. I will keep updating this Qadianis Moles list...
regarding failed state ... I can tell you brother that Spain has worse situation than us .... Our situation is because we are trying to follow west (and off-course Zardari sab pa bhari)
During last few weeks students/unemployed pplz were on strike they block main road and police did
lathicharge. (the number of these strikes is increasing)
You will see whole Europe on Strike in near future INSHALLAH

This is war/time of media and media is the Puppet Master and we pretend to be puppet.

Thanks .. I will keep updating this Qadianis Moles list...
regarding failed state ... I can tell you brother that Spain has worse situation than us .... Our situation is because we are trying to follow west (and off-course Zardari sab pa bhari)
During last few weeks students/unemployed pplz were on strike they block main road and police did
lathicharge. (the number of these strikes is increasing)

This is war/time of media and media is the Puppet Master and we pretend to be puppet.

The satanic propagan.da by these false flag cyber cops turns into "Yeh to chalti hay tujhay oonchaa uraanay kay liyaee" (clap).

WatanDost

Keep in mind
Jis din ham FAILED STATE qarar diye jain gai.
Us din $$$ ki umeed katam.
Us din es QOUM ko HAZAR SAJDOON waloon sai nijat mil jaye gi.
Us din ham ALLAH kai han KAMYAAB aur PASANDIDA tareen
QOUM banney ki RAAH par chal parain gai.
Kioon kai hamain BAIGH**RAT RAHNAMAOON sai nijad mil jaye gi.

Ehraz

...regarding failed state ... I can tell you brother that Spain has worse situation than us ....

Pardon? You seems to be one of those people who have never been able to come out of your tinny hole to face daylight! Spain is worse than Pakistan? Lol! Where did you get your infos from? Basque news agency? :-)
All over Spain people went on the road against the government. In many cities, especially the youth demonstrated against the current policy. More than 100,000 supporters of the protest movement of the Spanish "outraged" ("Indignados") held on Sunday across the country demonstration against unemployment and austerity measures. Referring to the police, they protested against rising unemployment, the economic crisis and corruption.
Now tell me where is the comparison between Pak and Spain? People in Pakistan are in deep sleep. They don't come out on the street for the same reason like the Spanish. No comparison there.
Spain is much more secure than Pakistan. In Spain suicide bombing don't happening and and... so don't tell lies if you are ill formed.

This shows that they are NOT dead souls. They come out for their demands, and don't hide in their homes.

c4cheema

Pardon? You seems to be one of those people who have never been able to come out of your tinny hole to face daylight! Spain is worse than Pakistan? Lol! Where did you get your infos from? Basque news agency? :-)
All over Spain people went on the road against the government. In many cities, especially the youth demonstrated against the current policy. More than 100,000 supporters of the protest movement of the Spanish "outraged" ("Indignados") held on Sunday across the country demonstration against unemployment and austerity measures. Referring to the police, they protested against rising unemployment, the economic crisis and corruption.
Now tell me where is the comparison between Pak and Spain? People in Pakistan are in deep sleep. They don't come out on the street for the same reason like the Spanish. No comparison there.
Spain is much more secure than Pakistan. In Spain suicide bombing don't happening and and... so don't tell lies if you are ill formed.

This shows that they are NOT dead souls. They come out for their demands, and don't hide in their homes.
I think you never read history, Spain declare its self a defaulter state twice and it is near to declare again.
Just ask your Paki brother who are working here (majority of Pakistani are living here in spain and ask what is their situation)
Maximum whom I know are willing to come back to Pakistan but this is our customs (and people like you) who are not allowing them to come back.
They are affraid that people will ask questions "Looq pochain gay bai wapis keon a gayee itnay saal kia kamaya , Marzai ka bacha to itnay baij raha ha tujay kia mout pari thi)
but they donot know ka Marzai ka bacha to apnay Lord (UK) se la kay khatay ha.

Open your eyes ohooo but how come
you are QADIANIS (Thanks @Wariach for informing)

I am used to see this kind of strikes in UNIVERSITIES (Most literate peoples are doing this and they have reason :) )
watch

Next time I will make video myself and try to highlight problems of Spain (Wait its not possible because I am MUSLIM not QADIANI)

yeh-cheez

What is a Failed state ?

Delivering the goods
Medical and Health care.
Critical infrastructure.
A business environment.

thanks fr copy pasting the definition....i bet you cant write a word or excerpt frm this all by yerself....dnt teach us...we are the nation who hosts ppl like laden...jigra chahiye hota hay bhai...yeh woh qaum hay jo her taraf say maar khaatii hay per phir bhee time paas k liye tumahri filmein daikhtee hay....is liye stop tellin us the definations of being failed...we are the most talked about nation after US ....dnt believe me...google it....aap ka tu duur duur tak naam naee hay....chalo...cut lo ab...!

BTW...aap ka contribution bhee bataon fail karnay mein or i shud say a failed attempt to fail us... ya kaafi hay ??

yeh-cheez

whoever is dragged in qadianism into this thread or any thread...needs to GET A LIFE...or i ll get him one.....as this is the last thing we come up with whn we cant get a solution....specially retarded sick minds...we throw it all on either jewish lobby, zionists ...or qadyanis...shows the character....whdeva qadyanis do...i dnt give a f*** but all i know is that we in our country are worse thn them...and our sects..and leaders of those sects...do worse things ourselves....so we shud stop bashin others...and look at ourselves first...no wonder hum par azaab hay...!

what lesson you are giving to our enemies....tht we are nt even united amongst ourselves.....SHAME on you...this sectarian and religous mindset has taken us on the verge of destruction...but sick crap like you still follow tht...