Saudi woman seeks to put women in the driving seat

Night_Hawk

Saudi woman seeks to put women in the driving seat

By Michael Buchanan BBC News, Jeddah
_52800071_womandriver2.jpg

Najla Hariri says there is no law against women driving, only society's convention

A Saudi woman has taken to the road in a direct challenge to the country's ban on female drivers.
Najla Hariri started driving around Jeddah last week. She is believed to be the only woman regularly driving in a Saudi city.
The 45-year-old says she was inspired by the protests taking place elsewhere in the Middle East.
"Enough is enough", she told the BBC as she drove around the city. "I have the right to [drive]."
Ms Hariri holds a driving licence from both Egypt and Lebanon from her time living abroad, and also has an international licence that she uses when she drives in Europe.

Start QuoteIn this society I am a little bit brave - I am not scaredNajla Hariri

"There is no law against women driving. It's society's [convention] that says women are not allowed to drive."
'Not scared' The mother of five has the support of her husband and says her daughters and their friends are very proud of her.
She knows, however, that she could be stopped at any moment by the police.
"In this society I am a little bit brave. I am not scared," she says.
_52800205_licence.jpg

Najla Hariri says she was inspired by the Arab Spring protests
In some desert areas of Saudi Arabia, women are understood to drive occasionally, but it is virtually unheard of for a woman to take to the road in a major city.
Opponents of women driving argue that it's safer for females to have a male in the car with them, and that they are honouring their women by sparing them the strain of driving.
"They are lying to themselves," replies Ms Hariri forcefully. "It is safer for women to drive themselves. We have four million foreign drivers [in the country] and we'd like to get rid of them and drive ourselves."
Ms Hariri admits she did not want to be at the vanguard of efforts to give women more freedoms.
She returned to Saudi Arabia two years ago and was tempted to start driving immediately.
She found herself stuck at home with two cars but no driver, as her husband and eldest son were both away. "But I waited for the right time; I waited for other ladies to [go first]," she says.

Start QuoteWe are focusing on spreading the word - women here don't know their rightsNajla Hariri

As no-one stepped forward, she has decided that now is the moment.
"Before in Saudi, you never heard about protests," she says.
"[But] after what has happened in the Middle East, we started to accept a group of people going outside and saying what they want in a loud voice, and this has had an impact on me."
Facebook campaign Najla Hariri's challenge to Saudi society is part of a wider effort for greater female participation in the whole of society.
A Facebook page is encouraging women to come out and drive on 17 June.
Other women are pushing for the right to vote in municipal elections scheduled for September, while there are also calls for women to get permission to sign legal documents.
Aalia, a 19-year-old university student, is co-ordinating some of the online reform efforts.
"We are focusing on spreading the word, raising public awareness," she says. "Women here don't know their rights."

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-13431562

QaiserMirza

Saudi Arabia is a country where gender segregation is practiced very strictly.
Allowing women to drive will create lot of preparation and creation of several departments to handle.
It need segregated departments and officials to deal with traffic offenders.

In my view one thing leads to another and there are strong possibilities that it will end up in total cultural disaster.

These are not emotional affairs, but have to see far reaching effects on country's culture, religion and safety /security too.

It is very easy to criticize as soon as one get a issue, not even thinking its background and effects.

Allowing women to drive will create lot of preparation and creation of several departments to handle.

In my view one thing leads to another and there are strong possibilities that it will end up in total cultural disaster.

These are not emotional affairs, but have to see far reaching effects on country's culture, religion and safety /security too.

It is very easy to criticize as soon as one get a issue, not even thinking its background and effects.
What a great problem , Saudi Arabia is in....

Is it Islamic?

Do they need to make separate roads?

Dont females go to markets? and engaging with others ?

Only this field is the problem ? come on brother, There is no problem actually...Only mind set problem...

QaiserMirza

What a great problem , Saudi Arabia is in....

Is it Islamic?

Only this field is the problem ? come on brother, There is no problem actually...Only mind set problem...

What Islam has to do in this issue ?
Why we accuse Islam for all our misdoings.
This is totally Administrative matter, but it will lead to effect the faith issues.

Blessed

This is totally Administrative matter, but it will lead to effect the faith issues.
agreed we cant or cannot mislead with such small issue as put islam stamp on it.

How ? Very fragile faith...

It is not the matter of Faith of Allah , it the matter of faith on thier wives ...

How a 70 years old could trust on 20 years old 4th wife?

Faiza

There will be no problem InshaAllah, as far as they dont make it impossible for a women to breath

If a women can ride a horse, why cant drive a car

Women drive around the world, what kind of problem they are facing?

Locking up a woman is not a solution of every problem

In Canada Muslim women drive with Hijab, and they are not a challenge to safety or security of a country

cefspan

When ever I go with my grand dad to our Farms , I always see women drivisg / handling horse carts and gandha rarehi ......

Which gender discrimination u r talking about? Muslim Women did jihad , Fought Mushriks ,,,,, Where was gender discrimination then? They treated the wounded muslim soldiers . where was gender discrimination then?

Don't mic Islam with culture , CULTURALLY , Badouin arabs did like their women riding horses or camels themselves , so not driving the car is just another socail norm in Saudi Arab , Remember ----> these arabs are not the genuine old ones , these are baoudins who helped British against ottoman empire , These are the illiterate ones.................

hans

Let's wait and see... Why burn our blood cell over KSA when the king sleeps half the day
As for those who Love to live in denial mode....

Give any country it's people the right to express .....
Bingo!!!!

King will be dead, all laws that supress basic human rights will
Bounce back Free and then it will be hard for KSA to finance Taliban.

Saudi ladies .... My view. Kick the king out

cefspan

How ? Very fragile faith...

It is not the matter of Faith of Allah , it the matter of faith on thier wives ...

How a 70 years old could trust on 20 years old 4th wife?

WWAY to go raaz bhai , 70 year old man marries 4 20 year old damsels , what the heck? How will he treat all of them equally????????????????????????????

faqira786

This is all started bcoz woman got educated in Saudia, they are going to challenge the system.
Saudi regime/govt has to pay the price bcoz they got inspire with USA to get educate woman and now most of the problem wil start come in Saudi as well.

Saudi girls also want FREEDOM and enjoy the life when they come to USA and see the standard of life, they want to do same in Saudi?

Lets watch saudi for couple of years and see how they solve those problems?

WWAY to go raaz bhai , 70 year old man marries 4 20 year old damsels , what the heck? How will he treat all of them equally????????????????????????????
You dont worry, it will allowed very soon now.

When these rulers will think it might be threat for their government . they will allow.

Who cares the faith if any, when their rule is on stake...?

This is a zionist conspiracy!!
Dear birathers,
This woman is a she devil in disguise out to threaten the stability of the pious and holy kingdom of Saud the magnificent and the noble. We must condemn her sacrilegious ways and the great justice system of Kingdom of Saud should punish her strictly possibly by making her drive off a cliff into the sea so she can sleep with the fish and be an example to other women who think they have anythng called 'rights'.
There only job is to make pious Saudi babies by the dozen and if they think they are good for anything else besides that they should be whipped in public until this devil notion leaves their mind.
Driving a car is very unIslamic and will most certainly lead to much unholiness in society.

There are many technical problems associated with it since the country is so pious and pardah observing.

For example if a woman is driving, can a policeman wave her to stop because waving at women is strictly forbidden!
If a woman is in the front seat it will mean that a man even if it is her husband cannot sit in the same car because it will hurt his manhood if his wife is driving and sitting in the back seat to a woman is haram! the womans back must never be towards a man!!
The shifting of gear lever is also very suggestive and therefore much debate has to be done whether a woman can place her hands on the gear lever.
A special lane will have to be arranged for women to drive which will cause loss of a lot of money. This moeny can be well spent on shopping abroad by the women so why bother about driving? The great king is ready to give bonus cheques to all women so they can shut up and shop and then make more babies.

Dear birathers we must not allow these women to get out of control because today they ask to drive tomorrow they will ask to use their brains! how can that be allowed!?

We will hold a rally in support of the great house of saud and its pious ways to keep Saudi Barbaria pious and holy!

join us!

Faiza

This is a zionist conspiracy!!
Dear birathers,
This woman is a she devil in disguise out to threaten the stability of the pious and holy kingdom of Saud the magnificent and the noble. We must condemn her sacrilegious ways and the great justice system of Kingdom of Saud should punish her strictly possibly by making her drive off a cliff into the sea so she can sleep with the fish and be an example to other women who think they have anythng called 'rights'.
There only job is to make pious Saudi babies by the dozen and if they think they are good for anything else besides that they should be whipped in public until this devil notion leaves their mind.
Driving a car is very unIslamic and will most certainly lead to much unholiness in society.

There are many technical problems associated with it since the country is so pious and pardah observing.

For example if a woman is driving, can a policeman wave her to stop because waving at women is strictly forbidden!
If a woman is in the front seat it will mean that a man even if it is her husband cannot sit in the same car because it will hurt his manhood if his wife is driving and sitting in the back seat to a woman is haram! the womans back must never be towards a man!!
The shifting of gear lever is also very suggestive and therefore much debate has to be done whether a woman can place her hands on the gear lever.
A special lane will have to be arranged for women to drive which will cause loss of a lot of money. This moeny can be well spent on shopping abroad by the women so why bother about driving? The great king is ready to give bonus cheques to all women so they can shut up and shop and then make more babies.

Dear birathers we must not allow these women to get out of control because today they ask to drive tomorrow they will ask to use their brains! how can that be allowed!?

We will hold a rally in support of the great house of saud and its pious ways to keep Saudi Barbaria pious and holy!

join us!

You need a doctor, seriously

If it is a joke its not funny at all

In case you are serious then you must educate yourself.

dukelondon

[MENTION=5449]qaiser[/MENTION] Mirza brother of Mirza Qadiyani

You seriously need to visit a mental hospital. You need immediate medical attention and operation in which the ghalazat in your skull should be replaced by something called a "human brain".

dukelondon

[MENTION=9841]faiza[/MENTION]

my dear sister in Islam, brother awan4ever is one of the best human beings and Muslims that I've come across at this forum. Whenever he says something, it has a deep meaning. Please ponder over it. You can refer to his other posts to understand what I'm saying.

cefspan

Kaunsi Holiness ? Kaunsa throne , kahan ki piousity?
These are blood traitors , ye tou wo badouin haen jo islam tak nahi laae thae, these were in end line to accept Islam , these are not the Quraish , Khitzig , or of the other noble islamic tribes ,
Yse ur brains .............. These are no khadim harmaen shareefaen , these are blood traitors , they ditched ottoman empire by helping british , FACE reality ,

Islam maen khilafat hae , na kae monarchism , ....................................

Ye apna taaliban wala islam chor daen , kya ap bin laden dae tuition laetae rahaen haen?

DOnt be a jahil ,

U say that a police man waving at a woman in car will lead to parda problems ,

What about war ? Saudi tou girls to war , pilots bhi nahi bannae daetae ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Islam is seperate , culture is seperate ,

Please keep them seperate ,

Bas kr daen , please also visit a sanitarium, .............................................please....................