Punjab cancels six US aid agreements

Gazoo Notes: Bravo Punjab, you are first again, cancel all and stand on your feet, be an example for the rest of Pakistan. (clap)

US aids is actually US AIDS, a definite killer.

http://www.dawn.com/2011/05/20/punjab-cancels-six-us-aid-agreements.html

Nawaz-Shariff-5431.jpg

LAHORE: Pakistans most populous province has cancelled six aid agreements with the United States in protest over the US raid that killed Osama bin Laden, its law minister said on Friday.
Pakistan hailed bin Ladens death as a big step against militancy but was incensed by the raid in a garrison town not far from the capital, saying it was a violation of sovereignty.

The operation severely strained already uneasy ties between the United States and Pakistan, whose cooperation is needed to stabilise Afghanistan.

We have cancelled six MOUs (memorandums of understanding) with the United States in the fields of health, education and solid waste management, said Rana Sanaullah, Law Minister of Punjab, the countrys political nerve centre.
We have told their concerned departments about our decision. This is our protest against the Abbottabad incident.

The Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) opposition party, which rules Punjab, has called for a review of the countrys ties with Washington, urging the central government to reduce reliance on foreign aid.

A PML-N spokesman said Punjab had been expected to get 20 billion rupees ($232.55 million) for welfare projects in the next three years from the United States.

This will not have much effect as the amount is quite small and it (the decision) has not been taken by the federal government but instead the provincial government, said Asif Qureshi, analyst at Invisor Securities, a brokerage firm based in Karachi.

Bin Ladens presence in Pakistan has led to calls by some US congressmen to cut aid to the country.
Pakistan is struggling to revive its economy, which depends heavily on an $11 billion International Monetary fund loan to stay afloat.

To get the remaining tranches of the loan, which was secured in 2008, Pakistan must implement politically unpopular reforms such as broadening its tax base and reforming the energy sector.

One of the lowest tax-to-GDP ratio in the world of around 10 per cent has increased Pakistans reliance on foreign funds and loans, even for development projects.

Pakistan received $20 billion in US military and economic aid in the past 20 years.

faqira786

Both brothes go and meet with US official and you know that they talk

they have two faces one is for pakistani people and 2nd is for US. They can make pakistani people angry but NOT US. This is all DRAMA

Where is the Pakistan national assembly resolution? why they are not working on that resolution?

monkk

what ever!

These ganjas have a track record of acting "good guys" and after gaining momentum cutting deals.

so they can go treat them selves....

Romy_102

dhakkan samjh rakha hai awam ko kia... jhuta dikhawa karna bandh kardo... stop playing with emotions of Pakistani ppl

punajb to get :D:D:D aid is given at federal level and then federation trickles down the money... PML(N) is a party only for innocent people who dont have access to knowledge and suffer from memory loss

GAZOO BHAI
DRAMA HAI .....they just want to cash anti- US sentiment in pakistan.....
as soon as they get power they will be licking american shoes again...

my question to you guyz....do you really trust Sharif & Co ? after all their actions of last 4 years?

punajb to get :D:D:D aid is given at federal level and then federation trickles down the money... PML(N) is a party only for innocent people who dont have access to knowledge and suffer from memory loss

Yeh and Bhagora General will import his voters from US???
Can't you even f... read the article and then comment.

GAZOO BHAI
DRAMA HAI .....they just want to cash anti- US sentiment in pakistan.....
as soon as they get power they will be licking american shoes again...

my question to you guyz....do you really trust Sharif & Co ? after all their actions of last 4 years?

regardless of what party you affiliate with, you must appreciate if some one does some thing, even if its only apparently, good. No matter what part of land, we must appreciate it.

I haveno love of PML-N but that doesnt mean I will not appreciate good things if I see any. I guess it must be personal attitude.

M javed

Iman's e-army is on aggressive attacks

Then what for your 'Dharnas' are.

Ask yourself to speak the truth - not for Imran but for Pakistan and fellow Pakistanies.

Your statement is true for all the political parties in Pakistan with exception of Pervaiz Musharaf's APML.
APML is a party for those educated looters, plunderers, thugs, and sellers of innocent mothers/sisters/daughters/sons of the nation for a few dollars--Even worse than the pimps. They are the traitors of the first degree whose leader (Busharaf Tablachi) sold the honor of a proud Pakistani nation, and sold it very cheaply. It may necessary for all the activists of APML to get in the line of Aslam Sukhera as a prerequisite for the party membership.

NS ko need say fursat mil gayee.
The decision is good but i can not trust this duo of Sharifs ever again. They have to go, they just have to go.