News Night with Talat 8th June 2012 - Talat Declares all his assests in response to Najam Sethi - M

Sedqal

Re: Official Order OF CM Punjab :-| :') As A Pakistani, Sharing Of This Letter Is FARZ On YOU

Lets see how Sethi strikes back on Monday. Here is my take on it:

1) Talat claimed in his last program that Sethi's chirya was Malik Riaz at which Sethi said that Talat should put forward any evidence for any financial gains Sethi has received from Malik Riaz. Lets wait here for a second. in Talat's last program the implication was that journalists have been receiving a lot of benefits from Malik Riaz that is why they will cover for him in coming days , benefits like cars, plots and villas were mentioned by Talat in this regard. Sethi was right to ask for evidence since the implication was that Sethi has also been receiving such benefits. Now Talat has back tracked he should have cleared in last program that Sethi was only receiving information from chirya not plots and cars.

2) If Sethi received information from Riaz, whats the problem in it. Journalists use any sources be it from political parties, army, bureaucracy, common public or even criminals. Riaz is an immensely powerful person having links with almost all the powers that mean anything in Pakistan. I don't see any problem in Sethi using Riaz as a source unless for airing those views Sethi was getting payment from Riaz which Talat now claims is not the case.

3) Sethi was wrong in boasting that Geo is the most followed channel in Pakistan and others are jealous. Keeping this in mind what Talat claimed was even more ridiculous. Religion is a divine gift and should not be dragged in such discussion. Talat's claims (about how Dawn news is at last number and how last number is Holy) also backfire e.g.:
a) Rasool Allah (PBUH) was the last messenger but he himself claimed that his Ummah will be greater then anyother Ummah and will be a source of pride for him (first in number of followers).
b) Rasool Allah (PBUH) was promised to be first in Jannah (stress on first)
c) Abu Bakr (r) was first Khalifa annd according to Sunni sources greatest (stress on first)
d) Ahadith, Sahaba and Taabaien all claimed that first Muslims were greatest, the later after them and so on (being first stressed)
The whole argument is insane as it can be pushed anywhere and it does not make any sense.

4) The defense of strataform (?) was spot on. Lets see how Sethi counters.
5) The claims about Sethi's hassad and age were uncalled for and low blows since Talat started it not Sethi.
6) Unless further clarifications I think Sethi is the winner here (bigsmile)

xohail

Re: Official Order OF CM Punjab :-| :') As A Pakistani, Sharing Of This Letter Is FARZ On YOU

This is in reply to your first point:
Talat did not back-tracked, he never said that Sethi gained any financial benefits from Malik Riaz. He ONLY said that his source of information was Malik Riaz. Listen to him here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQuvpK975BY

If you see his whole program, he didnt target any specific person rather the program was on how this issue should be handled and what are the challenges. Thats a reality that many journalists are benefited by Malik Riaz but that was a general remark, he didnt name anybody, not even Sethi.
To watch his whole program, point the link below:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FPvxHzJ295c&feature=player_embedded

And now coming towards Sethi's take. Muneeb bluffed here while asking the question to Sethi as: "apne koi mufaad liye hain, koi favors li hain..aur ap unko defend karain gay is muamlay main", where as Talat never said this as i mentioned earlier. If you watch this clip [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7bbWwh9uFbk], you will feel pity on both Sethi and Muneeb when they were TRYING to stage this show that Muneeb is going to ask something which Sethi does not know. Watch the clip and you will know how bad actors they are. Then Sethi 'TRIED' to pose that as if he does not want to reply and Muneeb kept insisting. At the end, after beating the bushes, Sethi even dint address to the main point whether he is Malik Riaz's 'Chirya' or not rather leveled baseless allegations on Mubashar Lucman and Talat.

Sethi is not a credible journalist, always try to drag Army and ISI in every matter. He is an active member of 'tola' which is working to make Pakistan a secular state.

If you talk about Talat, i dun need to praise him, let me paste two recent polls put up by Dr. Moeed on facebook about the journalists. Results are here:
First question was:
[h=2]As we enter the Election year, who amongst Pakistan's known & powerful Anchors (listed below alphabetically) is most objective in your opinion..? [https://www.facebook.com/questions/333588393376645/][/h]Topped by Talat with 848 votes
Runner up: Hamid Meer with 253 votes.

Dr. Moeed wrote this status update, honoring Talat:
"Hi! thanks for participating in the poll about the Objectivity of Anchors; I had an idea that Talat Hussain is seen as most objective but I had no idea that he will leave behind everyone else with such a huge margin. Congratulations! to Talat for winning the trust of members on this page which might be a good reflection of the young educated Pakistanis. Facbook polls are reliable, atleast to the extent that FB members cannot double click. I have now posted another question as to who in your opinion is considered the most influential in terms of shaping news agenda...lets see what is the collective thinking of this virtual house in cyberspace...!!"

2nd Question he asked was:
[h=2]Who then in your opinion is the most influential of known TV Anchors (given below in alphabetical order), in terms of creating an impact & shaping News Agenda..? [https://www.facebook.com/?sk=question&id=333974913337993&post_id=334061626662655&qa_ref=qd][/h]Talat again topped with 721 votes
Runner up: Hamid Mir with 316 votes

and then Talat's today's show was wonderful again.
Hope this helps in deciding who is winning the argument.

Cheers!

Sedqal

Re: News Night with Talat 8th June 2012 - Malik Riaz - Arslan Iftikhar Case & Personal attack and reality

[MENTION=14890]mrk123[/MENTION]
I would love to see your take on this controversy (bigsmile)

forzeb

Re: News Night with Talat 8th June 2012 - Malik Riaz - Arslan Iftikhar Case & Personal attack and reality

Geo Cheetay:d6c:​

loser24x7

Najam Shi.thi ko Jawaab mil gya..I really was waiting for Talat's reply and he didn't disappoint me..Now this Indian agent dirty Najam Shi.t.hy will beat about the bush along with his minion Bacha Jamoora but to no avail. This shi.thy b.as.tard was spitting in the sky and it had to fall in his own eye..Enjoy La.na.ti Shi.t.hi..Well done Talat..We love you and you did not let us down(clap)

bilal6516

Re: Talat Hussain slap on Najam Sethi face. A must share to expose him

mein bhi najam sehti ka bara fan thaa...lakin najam sehti ki body language bata rahi thi kuch din pahley ke woh jhoot bol rahah hai...ALLAH SWT hamein seedha raastey dheekay aur yeh chor isi thara be naqaab hotey rahein...

insafcheeta

mein bhi najam sehti ka bara fan thaa...lakin najam sehti ki body language bata rahi thi kuch din pahley ke woh jhoot bol rahah hai...ALLAH SWT hamein seedha raastey dheekay aur yeh chor isi thara be naqaab hotey rahein...
Aapki Haqal aur soch par Afsos hai kay aap puray Pakistan main Najam Sethi kay Fan thay. Raise your standards kab thak inn Tago aur 2 number logo kay fan banthay rahogay

bilal6516

Aapki Haqal aur soch par Afsos hai kay aap puray Pakistan main Najam Sethi kay Fan thay. Raise your standards kab thak inn Tago aur 2 number logo kay fan banthay rahogay

yaar mein bhi insaan hoon...lol....ghalti ho jaat hai....he WAS my fav.

khaan

great show.,,,,

mrk123

I guess you solicited my response to this post of yours. Thought that I will oblige.

Let me say that I don't worship Talat. I don't take anything that Talat says as is - I always apply my own filters to what he says as I do with anything I read or listen to or watch. He has quite a few shortcoming and its evident in his shows but not necessarily in writings. This points to growing pains that the Pakistani electronic media is going through. On top of it most of these media personalities are not trained in this art and they are learning as they go. This industry at times seems very amateurish and Talat is not immune to this trend. Some of the things he presented are evidence of that.

Still, I think that on Pakistani electronic media landscape he is better than many.

1) Talat claimed in his last program that Sethi's chirya was Malik Riaz at which Sethi said that Talat should put forward any evidence for any financial gains Sethi has received from Malik Riaz. Lets wait here for a second. in Talat's last program the implication was that journalists have been receiving a lot of benefits from Malik Riaz that is why they will cover for him in coming days , benefits like cars, plots and villas were mentioned by Talat in this regard. Sethi was right to ask for evidence since the implication was that Sethi has also been receiving such benefits. Now Talat has back tracked he should have cleared in last program that Sethi was only receiving information from chirya not plots and cars.

I watched Talat's show and I recall Talat saying something to the effect: Its said that Malik Riaz tells people that the source of Sethi is MR himself. Talat never said that its a quid pro deal between the two. I also wondered about this when Sethi lost it - another proof of amateurish behavior from the veteran media personality. The whole spontaneous exchange between NS and his sidekick seemed well planned - it was so obvious even with their best efforts to make it look otherwise. I think that NS jumped the gun on this one. Talat raised the same logical point in his show too - that he never accused any impropriety rather he was pointing to the reach of MR. The question that needs to be asked is whether TH should have mentioned it and I think that he shouldn't in the first place.
Your contention that TH backtracked is not valid since he never labeled that charge in the first place. Let me know if you think otherwise after watching that bit from TH's show.

2) If Sethi received information from Riaz, whats the problem in it. Journalists use any sources be it from political parties, army, bureaucracy, common public or even criminals. Riaz is an immensely powerful person having links with almost all the powers that mean anything in Pakistan. I don't see any problem in Sethi using Riaz as a source unless for airing those views Sethi was getting payment from Riaz which Talat now claims is not the case.

There is nothing wrong unless the source is of dubious nature and there is conflict of interest. I personally think that its a bad journalistic ethic to go to a source who is not directly involved in any of the dealings. It would be valid if the stories were about Bahria town but to gather information on what's going on in the power corridors from a business tycoon is not the best journalism.

3) Sethi was wrong in boasting that Geo is the most followed channel in Pakistan and others are jealous. Keeping this in mind what Talat claimed was even more ridiculous. Religion is a divine gift and should not be dragged in such discussion. Talat's claims (about how Dawn news is at last number and how last number is Holy) also backfire e.g.:
a) Rasool Allah (PBUH) was the last messenger but he himself claimed that his Ummah will be greater then anyother Ummah and will be a source of pride for him (first in number of followers).
c) Abu Bakr (r) was first Khalifa annd according to Sunni sources greatest (stress on first)
d) Ahadith, Sahaba and Taabaien all claimed that first Muslims were greatest, the later after them and so on (being first stressed)
The whole argument is insane as it can be pushed anywhere and it does not make any sense.

Well, what can I say - this our twin evil that pops up in every Pakistani when things get testy. Talat succumbed to it, Sethi being the vetran that he is succumbed to that weaknesses and it was free for all. On this account I must say that at best this argument is petty. Another sign of amateurish nature of this business rearing its head. Its not professional at all and use of religion was pathetic from Talat. But then again we are the ones to wear our religion on our sleeves.

I think that Sethi knows better but he let his anger and emotions got the better of him. He should have known that this charge will not stick. But he wanted to throw everything along with the kitchen sink and just hoped that something will stick.

5) The claims about Sethi's hassad and age were uncalled for and low blows since Talat started it not Sethi.

No arguments there. He should have refrained from making those comments. Here he let his emotions and pent up anger get the better of him. In personal life this may be excused but in this profession it should be a big no no.

Just note that its a partisan world out there. All of Pakistani media is run like MSNBC and Fox News in the USA. Nothing is off limits and it considered okay to get personal and attack anchors on each other's network. Its a very dangerous trend.

Not sure how you came to this conclusion but I respect your opinion :-)

InsafianPTI

the way you nullified talaat's arguement on religion is quite childish as well (although I think he shouldn't have brought religion in this).
Talaat only said that they recieve information (he said nothing else about najaam), now people linked all the arguements together, you can't blame talaat for not clarifying everything, maybe he didn't want to say much about it.
Also I think you are not sure yourself what you are talking about, on one hand you are saying that there is nothing wrong with getting infrmation from anyone(be in Najaam sethi and mailk riaz case), ok so lets accept this, in that case even if Talaat mentioned about this link, nobody should have any problem with this, right? because as you say there is nothing wrong with this!
So why then Najaam sethi reacted soooo badly? People in past accused him of lots of things, very bad things too but he never reacted this way, so why NOW? I think he is cleverer than you in a sense that he knows that his exposure with Malik is very bad for his reputation, he knows that perhaps and hence the reaction.

Now problem with you is you were sort of unbiased on this issue at first, cus you think talaat is unbiased but now as we know that you are a die hard supporter of STATUS QUO so you have realised that this sort of revelations by Talaat is perhaps not good for your beloved status quo, therefore you are showing your true self!

By the way how exactly is sethi winner? who made you judge, jury and court?
Have you still not realised that YOU and that INTERNET guy are the only ones to side sethi on this, you really live in an imaginary world.

[MENTION=14890]mrk123[/MENTION]

nucleairee

Great Talat Sb. for such a nice program and clearing up all the issues. I respected you in the past, now I just love you. We all know those black sheep in the journalism. Keep up the great work in exposing them.

InsafianPTI

I guess you solicited my response to this post of yours. Thought that I will oblige.
sure he did, he thought you would be ashamed for liking (I'mean appreciating talaat) in past, thats why he wanted to see your response.
There is nothing wrong unless the source is of dubious nature and there is conflict of interest. I personally think that its a bad journalistic ethic to go to a source who is not directly involved in any of the dealings. It would be valid if the stories were about Bahria town but to gather information on what's going on in the power corridors from a business tycoon is not the best journalism.
See i read you saying that talaat shouldn't have got himself involved in this issue, But I disagree, look at the para above by you, if things like that are going on, a good journalist should expose them, given that the kind of 'fancy cover' people like Sethi get if there is no strong voices against them, its very easy for them to be 'gods' and misguide people(people among them 50% are completely illiterate, now imagine that for that 50% of pakistan he is only source of information and he is getting his information from a source like malik riaz) and manipulate people's opinion very cleverly on such a big scale, this is a disaster in itself. As big a disaster as Zordari is to us :)

Well, what can I say - this our twin evil that pops up in every Pakistani when things get testy. Talat succumbed to it, Sethi being the vetran that he is succumbed to that weaknesses and it was free for all. On this account I must say that at best this argument is petty. Another sign of amateurish nature of this business rearing its head. Its not professional at all and use of religion was pathetic from Talat. But then again we are the ones to wear our religion on our sleeves.
yes i agree religion should have been involved in this, yes religion is one way to justify things but wasn't really needed, but you see he got carried away, and I don't hold that against him, also sethi got emotional too, but his justifications hardly go beyond american and zardari's point of views.

I think that Sethi knows better but he let his anger and emotions got the better of him. He should have known that this charge will not stick. But he wanted to throw everything along with the kitchen sink and just hoped that something will stick.
haha, he sure did! lets see what else he throws next week apart from kitchen sink!
Not sure how you came to this conclusion but I respect your opinion :-)
yeah about that, he normally never has any reasons for any conclusions!
for him status quo rocks.Long live brainless status quo!

Ali.Pakistani

I really loved the programme. Talat did present the facts in a very clear and impressive way and who cares about Sethi. Everyone knows he is a ​BADMAASH SIYASI ADAKAAR!

[h=6]
[/h][h=6] طلعت حسین نے سب کچھ قوم کے سامنے رکھ دیا. اپنے سارے اثاثے ظاہر کر دے. کیا نجم سیٹھی یہ سب کچھ کر پائیں گے.[/h]

Sedqal

@ Tutor
the way you you nullified talaat's arguement on religion is quite childish as well (although I think he shouldn't have brought religion in this).
Don't blame me for that. The premises were inherently childish.

Talaat only said that they recieve information (he said nothing else about najaam), now people linked all the arguements together, you can't blame talaat for not clarifying everything, maybe he didn't want to say much about it.
Talat mentioned 'chirya' which was as obvious a hint as can be.

Also I think you are not sure yourself what you are talking about, on one hand you are saying that there is nothing wrong with getting infrmation from anyone(be in Najaam sethi and mailk riaz case), ok so lets accept this, in that case even if Talaat mentioned about this link, nobody should have any problem with this, right? because as you say there is nothing wrong with this!
So why then Najaam sethi reacted soooo badly? People in past accused him of lost of things, very bad things too but he never reacted this way, so why NOW? I think he is cleverer than you in a sense that he knows that his exposure with Malik is very bad for his reputation, he knows that,
I think Talat was implying that Sethi is sold and he will try to shift the blame from Malik Riaz. The whole program was geared towards how Malik Riaz wields this power over generals, politicians, lawyers and journalists, the mention of Sethi (indirect) in the same program was tantamount to saying that Sethi is sold (which is not the case as Talat himself later claims). So prey tell, if Sethi just uses Riaz just as a source and has no shady deals with him, what is wrong with that?

Now problem with you is you were sort of unbiased on this issue at first, cus you think talaat is unbiased but now as we know that you are a die hard supporter of STATUS QUO so you have realised that this sort of revelations by Talaat is perhaps not good for your beloved status quo, therefore you are showing your true self!
I am not a die hard supporter of any political party at the moment. Do you know what a status quo is? Stop with the childish tantrums.

By the way how exactly is sethi winner? who made you judge, jury and court?
Have you still not realised that YOU and that INTERNET guy are the only ones to side sethi on this, you really live in an imaginary world.
No one made me the judge as my thoughts are not binding upon you or anyone else and I can't care less as to how many share my views, what has that got to do with anything? Are you suggesting that since I don't indulge in following the herd blindly I live in an imaginary world?

LivePakistan

Talat Hussain is one of the most respected and credible anchor. Najam Sethi is a fake and anti-Pakistan anchor working on CIA/RAW direction. He is one of those anchors who were invited by Malik Riaz where he implicated Arsalan. Najam Sethi and her daughter has no roots and loyality with Pakistan.

Sedqal

sure he did, he thought you would be ashamed for liking (I'mean appreciating talaat) in past, thats why he wanted to see your response.
I requested mrk123 view on this as he has an intelligent viewpoint on subjects (unlike fanatics like you) so don't put words in my mouth.

try to contain all that righteous fury (bigsmile)