Mind Boggling Question! Why Only people from Karachi are 'Muhajir'?

sarmad

I belong to Khanewal, Punjab(about 30 mins drive from multan). My grand father migrated from India and settled down there, so did his whole family and pretty much half of our city but we have never ever heard this word 'Muhajir' coming out of anyone's mouth.

I was discussing this with my cousin the other day who belongs to Toba Tek Singh and he says the same thing that majority of the people in Toba are also migrated from India.

So my question is why just people from Karachi are doing that? kis ki sazish hai humein alehda kare ki?

Rana Tahir Mahmood

Muhajar Concept created by MQM is not a logical criteia for Muhajir but it is Mafia being established by the agencies to create a so called balance political force in Sind politics against the rural sind territory. I observed lot of migrated persons during and after partition in 1947 settled in other provinces, they are not labelled as Muhajir but they become the part of the existing society and there is no differentiation between local population and migrated one.

The MQM Muhajirs are Mafia and not watching the Pakistani interest but like other corrupt politicians looking after their interests and ignoring the Pakistani interest. You know that underworld Mafia principle that "you will be with us or no life" which applies to MQM and that is why anyone joins MQM, he can never leave MQM as there is no life for him without MQM.

khattaksahib

Dear, Every one is grinding his own axes. I am pushtoon. We has served this country for 63 years and provided army personnels and officers, engineers, players,. We fought in Kashmir for brotherhood. Pakistan was lighten due to N.W.F.P's electricity and now we are leading in natural resources' exploration. But we are the made the worst nation of the world. No one is there to pay us back while brutality is at its peak. Despite genocide, has anyone ever listen from us about separation? This is called patriotism. M.Q.M is the team of decoits. They have hijacked our urdu speaker brothers otherwise Altaf Hussain himslef has said that separation of Pakistan from India is unjust.

sarmad

I would like to hear from some of the sane MQM supporters on this forum.

like...

Abbasiali
maybe...JURY(he s sane only sometimes, rest of the times propaganda machine)

kashy28

The muhajir settled in karachi and hyderabad were feeling marginalised and alienated for a very long time and when the mqm was formed it received the full support of the muhajirs.However the leadership of the mqm turned out to be complete failure in that the leadership failed to adopt peaceful means to realize their political goals.Altaf Husain asked the muhajirs to sell vcr and buy arms and as result a large section of muhajirs armed themselves and started to engage in criminal activities like target killings,bhattakhori,robberies etc.The urdu speaking people had a fine culture and the violent politics of mqm destroyed all that.Fortunately the popularity graph of the mqm is falling fast.

enigma_1357

I would like to hear from some of the sane MQM supporters on this forum.

like...

Abbasiali
maybe...JURY(he s sane only sometimes, rest of the times propaganda machine)

oh bhai app kin say kya expect kar rahey hein?:angry_smile: they are like(yapping)

the issue is not about karachi and muhajir.. its about punjabi and non punjabi... in response i ask a question.. punjab is such a big province but on quota system there is no rural punjab or urban punjab...lahor and toba tek have same rep in administration... but why when it comes to karachi there is urban sindh and rural sindh quota system... we dont call ur self muhajir but karachites who are deprived from administration of our own city and govt with the nuisance of quota systemn that too urban... winning 95%+ seats of karachi still MQM is working for local bpdy election which is the true essence of democracy....
so there is no conspiracy. its punjabi vs non punjabi... its the sole reason why bangladesh was separated.... give us the due rights to rule atleast our own city... in terms of police, KDA, etc... when power was given to us the world saw how our city excelled..

The muhajir settled in karachi and hyderabad were feeling marginalised and alienated for a very long time and when the mqm was formed it received the full support of the muhajirs.However the leadership of the mqm turned out to be complete failure in that the leadership failed to adopt peaceful means to realize their political goals.Altaf Husain asked the muhajirs to sell vcr and buy arms and as result a large section of muhajirs armed themselves and started to engage in criminal activities like target killings,bhattakhori,robberies etc.The urdu speaking people had a fine culture and the violent politics of mqm destroyed all that.Fortunately the popularity graph of the mqm is falling fast.
are you living in lala land when u say popularity graph is falling down.. it was falling down pre mustafa kamal.. its now rising day by day.. proof is the bhit shah jalsa.....most of teh people critisize mqm who are not born in karachi.... even if i go to lahore my children will still have karachi domicile and subject to teh bloody quota system of urban sindh... correct this and MQM graph will then go down and karachi will vote for a national party

canadian

Muhajar Concept created by MQM is not a logical criteia for Muhajir but it is Mafia being established by the agencies to create a so called balance political force in Sind politics against the rural sind territory. I observed lot of migrated persons during and after partition in 1947 settled in other provinces, they are not labelled as Muhajir but they become the part of the existing society and there is no differentiation between local population and migrated one.

The MQM Muhajirs are Mafia and not watching the Pakistani interest but like other corrupt politicians looking after their interests and ignoring the Pakistani interest. You know that underworld Mafia principle that "you will be with us or no life" which applies to MQM and that is why anyone joins MQM, he can never leave MQM as there is no life for him without MQM.

Zia Ul Haq iss duniya sey chala gai magar Musalmano mei tafrik daal gai.Yeh gunah-i-azeem hai. Aallah Taala ko inn sab baaton ka jawab dey raha ho ga !!!

I belong to Khanewal, Punjab(about 30 mins drive from multan). My grand father migrated from India and settled down there, so did his whole family and pretty much half of our city but we have never ever heard this word 'Muhajir' coming out of anyone's mouth.

I was discussing this with my cousin the other day who belongs to Toba Tek Singh and he says the same thing that majority of the people in Toba are also migrated from India.

So my question is why just people from Karachi are doing that? kis ki sazish hai humein alehda kare ki?

A very good point raised by Sarmad . Spartacus Khusch Hua ...:)
Very soon I will put here answer of your question .

FlyHigh

One of highest literacy rate in the country
Highest per Capital Income
Largest number of Higher education institution in a City
Best Airport in the Country
Largest Industrial concentration in the country
Best medial facilities inthe country
Hub of Electronic and print media

And yet feel discriminated......No my friends it is a mindset.....which is we are superior, others are less educated, have no culture, have no manners, have no history...Urdu is the best....We want all the upper level jobs....don't ask me to go to Armed Forces etc etc. Don't ask me adapt to the local culture; Don ask me to learn their language; Call me surti; call me Delhiwal; Call me UPian; Call me Bihari but heavens will fall if you call them Sindhis...here lies the problems. They have refused to be called Sindis and now they are complaining. Any body from the rest of the Pakistan is an outsider to them, but guy coming from across our eastern border is their next of kin....What shameful mindset.....Good example is when the most recent spat between MQM and PML(n) occured, the guys who were cursing outside the Parliment were saying every thing and anything about Punjab and Punjabis, Whereas Chaudary Nisar MQM leader is blah blah and never said Urdu speaking or Muhajirs...here lies the difference. Migrants from India to rest of Pakistan have assimilated....I REPEAT the magic word ASSIMILATED...Try it, it might help you guys

very well said we have all the things in private.. but ever wondered teh discrimination in govt offices.. please respond to the urban sindh , rural sindh quota system.. the infrastructure of karachi which only excelled when quad-e-pakistan pervez musharraf released teh due fudns to teh city... u sitting in US commenting on karachi.. ive live 29 years in karachi and teh best time was teh 7 year rule of general president pervez musharraf.....
all the things u have mentioned is mostly private sector.. and we give our taxes at source yet we dont get funds to build roads of good government hospitals or parking plaszas... we have almost zero chance of going into public service because of jahilana quota system....

And yet feel discriminated......No my friends it is a mindset.....which is we are superior, others are less educated, have no culture, have no manners, have no history...Urdu is the best....We want all the upper level jobs....don't ask me to go to Armed Forces etc etc. Don't ask me adapt to the local culture; Don ask me to learn their language; Call me surti; call me Delhiwal; Call me UPian; Call me Bihari but heavens will fall if you call them Sindhis...here lies the problems. They have refused to be called Sindis and now they are complaining. Any body from the rest of the Pakistan is an outsider to them, but guy coming from across our eastern border is their next of kin....What shameful mindset.....Good example is when the most recent spat between MQM and PML(n) occured, the guys who were cursing outside the Parliment were saying every thing and anything about Punjab and Punjabis, Whereas Chaudary Nisar MQM leader is blah blah and never said Urdu speaking or Muhajirs...here lies the difference. Migrants from India to rest of Pakistan have assimilated....I REPEAT the magic word ASSIMILATED...Try it, it might help you guys

FlyHigh

Adnan you need to go online and check the background of people in public service since 1947....ofcourse you will see the dominance of Urdu speaking in all walks of life, then the peak and after the 70's steady decline.....I provide you with answer after you have checked the facts.....ASSIMILATION is Magic Word....That is why I am sitting in USA and telling you from experience...by the way my in-laws are from Karachi and lived their since 1947.

I am a karachi born person and i dont know what kind of migrants u are referring to.. may be pl living in USA with you.... we never condemn any culture but only ask to give our city the due share in administration... and we are sindhi in terms of land.. but we cannot be called sindhis as we are not ethnically..... we dont have any ethnicity.. we dont have any culture... neither we link our self to india.. we are pakistanis born in karachi and our parents were not, demanding the citi's due share of funds... we togetehr with our childrens cant ever qualify for the jahilana quota system just because our parents migrated...

jyea musharraf

Adnan you need to go online and check the background of people in public service since 1947....ofcourse you will see the dominance of Urdu speaking in all walks of life, then the peak and after the 70's steady decline.....I provide you with answer after you have checked the facts.....ASSIMILATION is Magic Word....That is why I am sitting in USA and telling you from experience...by the way my in-laws are from Karachi and lived their since 1947.

with due respect; when i was 24 and preparing for my CSS.. when i saw the quota system sheet of PUNJAB, baloshistan, NWFP , [URBAN SINDH and RURAL SINDH] that is where teh seed of discrimination and demotivation came in; and when general sir came into power gave due share to karachi the development i saw then .. it was crystal clear karachi was discriminated from rest of pakistan; same must be teh case with balochistan as well... people want to administer it yet they dont want to develop it for common middle class man like me... may be our oldies link them self with indian muslims .. but ppl like me born and brought up in karachi dnt have any thing to do with india... but teh discrimination we see towards our city's development, in police , customs etc is shamefull.. democracy came in and took back our local body system... and we yet again feel discriminated... i am born in karachi and i want to administer it in terms of land water and other areas....

one of my sindhi pal born in karachi but his father was from larkana went to his home town got his domocile of rural sindh, went on quota system in DOW medical and now is working in district heath some thing...

I DONT HAVE THAT OPTION

also .. i am not talking about urdu speaking.. i am talking about ppl living in karachi... some one from bihar or delhi if migrated to punjab wud be qualified on punjab domicile.. dont bring ethnicity here.. its teh city that is being neglected in terms of funds

FlyHigh

And I agree with you on the point that the city should get more funds to have better its infrastructure....As far as quota system is concerned, like other things we start a thing with good intentions but our people use for wrong purpose, the orignal intention was to bring rural sindh at par with Urban areas, which has not worked. Here in the USA we have quota system for minorities, so that in time in every sphere they can come up. " but we cannot be called sindhis as we are not ethnically..... we dont have any ethnicity.. we dont have any culture... neither we link our self to india" No you are living in one of the oldest civilisation of the sub-continent. ASSIMILATION IS THE ANSWER. Immigrents to Punjab have done why can't you people.

Point is not about assimilation .. u are living in US where there is no defined culture... i dont care what cuivilization my fore fathers were.... what they wore.. what they spoke... i knw i live in karachi.. tjhe language i heard here i urdu and the language i use officially is english... i dotn care whetehr i wear an ajrak , denim or a shalwar kameez... i am a pakistani.. and my city karachi is not given its due share.. why there is no rural punjab , urban punjab then??? minority quota system is something else.. dont mix two things.. here we are talking about provincial quota system... where there is a majority share to punjab ....merit is the way to go... do we have any quota in private sector???? the problem of ethniocity is started by ppl like you who have have hung tight to their hisotry or culture or what evaa... if i were to live in punjab i wud knw punjabi also.. i might be even speaking punjabi.... because thats the norm... if my parents were to migrate to interioir sindh i wud be speaking sindhi... but i am born in karachi .. and i speak urdu and english because thats the norm here....

one of my friends asked me who are you.. i said i dont knw... he was surpirsed i dint knw who am i.... like lukhnowi, or delhi wala or chinnioti what ever crap bulshit biradiri and khandaans... i am a muslim and a pakistani and my city karachi is in trouble.... this whole family biradari ethnicty crap will be over in next 50 odd years... younger generation who are educated dnt care abt these shitty things any more...

FlyHigh

I agree with you that Karachi should get its due share and I will never argue against it. So you are saying there is no Biradir and Khandan amoung you guys....There is no quota in Punjab because outside of Lahore there are quite a few colleges and facilities, peopel stand a chance to get similar standard else where. whereas if you look at Karachi, people from don't stand chance as far as opportunities goes, hence the quota system. Its that all the seats are reserved for rural Sindh, it is just a certain percentage which is fair enough.

Adnan look on higher posts in Federal Government from 1947 on wards and tell me who had those kushy jobs?

pakistan1234

Bushra Zaidi - We Still Remember You (The incident that led Mohajir /Pushtoon riots)

Bushra Zaidi - We Still Remember You

On April 15, 1986 Bushra Zaidi a young girl from Sir Syed Girls College, Nazimabad walked off to take a public bus back to her house unknowing that she will never reach her home alive. Bushra was a brilliant student who had high hopes and according to a relative of her; wanted to be a doctor but as it turns out fate had plans of it’s own.

Bushra on the unfortunate day of 15th April, 1986 was crushed by a Pashtun Bus driver to death. This happened during a period of time when many people complained about the dangerous driving habits of bus drivers all of them Pashtuns who had no driving licenses and according to records killed, 6-8 because of their criminal negligence everyday. The people of Karachi branded the buses as, “Yellow Devils”.

The bus was set on fire publicly by the fellow students and Pashtun driver fled the scene. Bushra Zaidi’s death had a huge impact on Karachi in more ways than one. It showed, for instance that the people of this city were unwilling to accept loss of life caused by rash and negligent driving.

That society was willing to stand up for students causes. And people could be angry instantly. There is more that can be read into that solitary incident, but suffice it to say that street protest took violent form. The Karachi Police often seen as an alien Punjabi force with minimal representation of locals the Mohajirs did not help either and infact played the role of Devils Advocate. The attitude of police post-Bushra Zaidi Death was dodgy and instead of getting hold of the real culprits ; a police party stromed Sir Syed College and was accused of molesting young female students after it entered Sir Syed College fuelled the further angered of Mohajir and fellow student students. Rioting started in different parts of Karachi against Bushra Zaidi’s murder and army was deployed in Karachi to stop the rioters but what happened the next day on 16th of April, 1986 sparked tensions and wide spread rioting.A bus carrying Mohajir students to Bushra Zaidi’s funeral was attacked by a band of armed Pathans in Banaras Chowk while some of them tried to sexually molest the girls; which triggered a Karachi –wide movement to stop the bandit Pashtuns criminal activities in Karachi.
The Pashtuns also attacked the poor Bihari refugees who had only settled in Orangi Town from former East Pakistan a decade ago and took there houses which was started Karachi’s first, ethinic riots which we came to know as, “Bihari-Pashtun Rioting”.The Biharis fought back thanks to there experiences in countering Mukti Bahani in former East Pakistan with deadly force which resulted in wide spread killing and got there homes freed from land mafia who thought Biharis will be of no match to them - so much for Martial Races.
Obviously it was all in self-defense and the people of Karachi Won, Again!!!!Late Munawar Ali Sahib who became a good friend of mine and died couple of years back was the investigation officer of Bushra Zaidi case and a man who knew a lot of stories. According to him, the Pashtuns drivers and conductors publicly harassed young women and considered Mohajirs who were dark in colors as people who could not fight and that attitude led to the rioting. “It was a reaction from society who thought, enough is enough” – old man told me once.
All in All, it was an unfortunate incident which led to the death of hundreds of people. Bushra Zaidi, where ever you are; your sacrifice will always be remembered and you still lives in our hearts.​

FlyHigh

How many more peopel is your community going to kill before you guys are satisfied? As far as driving goes there is no dicipline in Pakistani. I have been to Karachi and I have seen people drive, its not just Pushtoon, everyone is a damn owner of the road. Pakistan1234 next time you see a Muhajir drive committing such a crime, are you going to kill him. You guys should thank your forefathers for making you guys an isolated community of Pakistan. You guys need step out of karachi and Hyderabad to see for your self how the rest of Pakistan lives.