KPK decided to opt English as the mode of education from now onward

The same stupid experiment yet again that has already failed in Punjab !!!

When are we going to learn that you cannot make a foreign language medium of instruction? If you try to do that, you'll end up being a nation of clerks just like india.

English medium ka yeh matlab nai hota k waha Urdu nai parhai jati. Bas sirf woh kitaabay jo English may honi chahiye(like English,Physics,Maths,Biology,Chemistry), woh english may hoti hai. aur baki kitaabay(Urdu,Islamyat,Social studies) Urdu may hoti hai. Hum ne English medium may parha huwa hai, hamay toh medium of instructions may koi problem nai i. Balkay problem toh unhay aati hai jinho ne Urdu medium may parha huwa hai.

moahhid

Absolutely intelligent remarks except for the arabic part, arabic can be an optional subject just as any other lang...
Urdu is one of the most useless language...

Yes Brother ! Urdu is the most useless language in the world, it is not mother tongue of any major population in Pakistan neither it is the language of Quran, Science and Technlogy or any other arts, it is the language of nonsense ghazals and poems.

I mentioned Arabic compulsory not because i love saudis but because it is the language of the book of Allah and His Prophet S.A.W. I know from my own experience that we wasted years learning those urdu poems and ghazals in schools which are of no use in practical life. To face the challenges of this world we need English and to understand the book of Allah S.W.T we need Arabic.

moahhid

A poor decision by PTI, they should make ENGLISH a compulsory subject and the medium of instructions should be in URDU. IK categorically said this in his speeches that ENGLISH will be a compulsory subject.

Can anyone tell me why CHINA, Germany, France, Belgium, Russia etc. have succeeded? Majority of Chinese even don't understand a single word of English. Germans feel it embracing to study or communicate in English.

When Muslims ruled the world then the education system was in ARABIC. Britain succeeded as they translated French and Arabic books in their own language (English). You can be a good follower in a Foreign Language but you cannot be creative in that. Creativity and Discoveries are only possible in National Language of the country.

Urdu and English both are imported languages, the difference between them is.. English is the language of Science today (you accept it or not) and urdu is a language of nothing, not even the mother tongue of major population of Pakistan. Germany, China, Japan and other developed countries learn science in their mother tongue not in a useless language like urdu. Moreover their infrastructure, institutions, leaders, system of governance, their share and historical contribution to science & Technology/research and development is so enormous that they don't need English (Although most of them are good English speakers too).

If you say English is a foriegn language, so is urdu. Either enable the nation to do research and learn science in their mother tongue (Punjabi, Pashto, Sindhi, Balochi, , hindko, Saraiki etc, but for this you will need lots of changes to the basic structure of whole society) or make English as your official language which is the official language of the major population of the world

I would be grateful if you could mention a single renown research/ book on science in urdu. Not even those who claim to be urdu speakers use urdu as their official language. Also can you point out a few advantages/benifts of urdu as an official language

modern.fakir

Here comes idiocracy at its best.

How is Urdu a Language developed by our ancestors a foreign language ?? You must be a dumb fool to believe this. Our people have been speaking Urdu for generations and it is the language we THINK IN ...and to you this appears as a FOREIGN Language ??(bigsmile)

Allama Iqbal Ra said that if you want to destroy any nation then destroy their language first and you can rule over them. This is our problem today. We are confused in a foreign language imposed on us BUT yet we think in URDU.

Instead of moving to English in KPK we should start to convert all scientific and scholarly material into URDU so that the WHOLE nation understands it as opposed to getting the whole nation to speak a foreign language which in itself is a self-defeating thought !!!

Urdu is a very rich language and knowing the script and the language facilitates one in learning the Holy Quran and other sister languages like Persian, Arabic or Turkish.

For the longest time Islamic History, commentary, theology and religious materials have been written in Urdu and are preserved in this language. This is clearly not the case with English, where majority of the material available is written by Islam hating Bigots and hate mongers and hence by learning that language our young generation loses the ability to refer back to their glorious past. Plus the Idea is UNREALISTIC (bigsmile)

Urdu is the language of the Future Khurasan Empire with other languages being taught on the side . That is the language of our ancestors and WE WILL propogate it further.

Every nation that has ever progressed has done so in their own language and so will we. Those who want to learn english or any other language can do so at their own will. But then dont complain when your kids lose the Islamic Identity to some other foreign culture !
(bigsmile)

Salam o Alaikum !

Urdu and English both are imported languages, the difference between them is.. English is the language of Science today (you accept it or not) and urdu is a language of nothing, not even the mother tongue of major population of Pakistan. Germany, China, Japan and other developed countries learn science in their mother tongue not in a useless language like urdu. could you point out a single renown research/ book on science in urdu. Not even those who claim to be urdu speakers use urdu as their official language.

If you say English is a foriegn language, so is urdu. Either enable the nation to do research and learn science in their mother tongue (Punjabi, Pashto, Sindhi, Balochi, , hindko, Saraiki etc) or make English as your official language which is the official language of the major population of the world

chandaa

Urdu and English both are imported languages, the difference between them is.. English is the language of Science today (you accept it or not) and urdu is a language of nothing, not even the mother tongue of major population of Pakistan. Germany, China, Japan and other developed countries learn science in their mother tongue not in a useless language like urdu. Moreover their infrastructure, institutions, leaders, system of governance, their share and historical contribution to science & Technology/research and development is so enormous that they don't need English (Although most of them are good English speakers too).

If you say English is a foriegn language, so is urdu. Either enable the nation to do research and learn science in their mother tongue (Punjabi, Pashto, Sindhi, Balochi, , hindko, Saraiki etc, but for this you will need lots of changes to the basic structure of whole society) or make English as your official language which is the official language of the major population of the world

I would be grateful if you could mention a single renown research/ book on science in urdu. Not even those who claim to be urdu speakers use urdu as their official language. Also can you point out a few advantages/benifts of urdu as an official language

Are you a Naive or Acting like a Naive? Can you name any nation which has excelled while studying in another Language? Give me a single example where a country adopted other country's language and flourished. You talking about research? When did someone taught Sciences in Pakistani in Urdu language? You are talking about some stories here? But we have a history of nations who have become world's power while translating sciences in their own language. Have you ever researched about syllabus of China or Germany or Japan?

You can become a parrot in someone else's language but you cannot give inventions. It must be a bitter truth for you but from last many centuries Urdu is language of subcontinent and today our people speak and understand Urdu not English. Such a rich language made from Turkish, Arabic, Hindi and Persian. Countries promote their own language and culture, what kind of people we are who say Urdu is not our language? I think you better tell us when did we been taught sciences at higher level first?

moahhid

How is Urdu a Language developed by our ancestors a foreign language ?? You must be a dumb fool to believe this. Our people have been speaking Urdu for generations and it is the language we THINK IN ...and to you this appears as a FOREIGN Language ??(bigsmile)

Allama Iqbal Ra said that if you want to destroy any nation then destroy their language first and you can rule over them. This is our problem today. We are confused in a foreign language imposed on us BUT yet we think in URDU.

Instead of moving to English in KPK we should start to convert all scientific and scholarly material into URDU so that the WHOLE nation understands it as opposed to getting the whole nation to speak a foreign language which in itself is a self-defeating thought !!!

Urdu is a very rich language and knowing the script and the language facilitates one in learning the Holy Quran and other sister languages like Persian, Arabic or Turkish.

For the longest time Islamic History, commentary, theology and religious materials have been written in Urdu and are preserved in this language. This is clearly not the case with English, where majority of the material available is written by Islam hating Bigots and hate mongers and hence by learning that language our young generation loses the ability to refer back to their glorious past. Plus the Idea is UNREALISTIC (bigsmile)

Urdu is the language of the Future Khurasan Empire with other languages being taught on the side . That is the language of our ancestors and WE WILL propogate it further.

Every nation that has ever progressed has done so in their own language and so will we. Those who want to learn english or any other language can do so at their own will. But then dont complain when your kids lose the Islamic Identity to some other foreign culture !
(bigsmile)

Salam o Alaikum !

Mr. Faqeer....Do what you want in your punjab, let the people do in our province what they want. We selected them and they have every right to do it we have full confidence in them, keep yourself to punjab (Humaray kam main tangh math arao.....Urdu)

Respect

Arabic should also be taught from 6 year on ward's, at least an hour a day. The end result would be they will understand Quran when they read it. Also English is a good way I guess, however there are many Urdu speaking people that can speak good English, anyhow hope the best for KPK and the whole of Pakistan.

moahhid

Can you name any nation which has excelled while studying in another Language? Give me a single example where a country adopted other country's language and flourished.

I agree, that's why I don't want my kids to be taught in Urdu because it is not my language, it is imported from India... It may be your language but not mine. For me both English and Urdu are imported but the difference is much evident as I mentioned earlier... If you want Urdu to be your language in Punjab, sindh...That's fine...but don't interfere the decision of a legally, politically elected government in my land. We have selected them and we support them in their decision.

but imran khan to bolta tha saab kuch qaummi zuban main ho ga phir english hi kyun urdu zuban main kia kharabi hey saloo haar jaga tum loog uturn martey ho party neh hey uturn hey

You are mistaken bro, PTI manifesto declared right from the first day that they will impose single syllabus for all if they come to power. And that's what he is doing.

Argonaut

I agree, that's why I don't want my kids to be taught in Urdu because it is not my language, it is imported from India... It may be your language but not mine. For me both English and Urdu are imported but the difference is much evident as I mentioned earlier... If you want Urdu to be your language in Punjab, sindh...That's fine...but don't interfere the decision of a legally, politically elected government in my land. We have selected them and we support them in their decision.

So the 18% "we" who voted for PTI in KPK can do whatever they want and the remaining 82% do not have the right to criticize them?

(bigsmile)

Salam o Alaikum !

English medium ka yeh matlab nai hota k waha Urdu nai parhai jati. Bas sirf woh kitaabay jo English may honi chahiye(like English,Physics,Maths,Biology,Chemistry), woh english may hoti hai. aur baki kitaabay(Urdu,Islamyat,Social studies) Urdu may hoti hai. Hum ne English medium may parha huwa hai, and we don't have any problem in reading, writing, speaking, or understanding Urdu..

moahhid

So the 18% "we" who voted for PTI in KPK can do whatever they want and the remaining 82% do not have the right to criticize them?

What an argument........if they are 18% and you are 82% why you are not in the government and they are??????????

serious_khan

Re: KPK has decided to opt English as the mode of education from now onward

Its not a good move everything should be in mother tongue, English should be as one subject...
Dear at one stage sooner or later you have to work in English, I am a researcher and I found it that at master level it is easy to work in Urdu or any other mother language but after that when you want to look at literature review and work of other scientist you must know related terminology of your targeted field, there you will double work to learn English and related Urdu. You can see Chinese student are also publish their research work in English.

Fatema

The simple answer is most medium of education in the world is English, think higher education and without English language?? A very good ad encouraging decision. . Now the task is to find proper English teachers. . You know some of You can b a great help specially those of same areas. .(bigsmile)

Respect

There are good arguments for and against whether it should be Urdu or English. However by teaching English it does not mean that they will not know how to speak Urdu, it is just in learning material when it cones to understanding maths or science it is easier. At home they will learn there mother tongue which is Urdu or Punjabi, no-one is saying that Urdu as a whole in KPK should be stopped, just in certain subjects in school. If students want to speak in Urdu in there own times all well and good. The way some are making it out that English will be the language in homes in Pakistan in future, not really that is gonna happen.

Bit one thing I want to say is the ones who oppose English are posting in English.

jeaybhutto

it is a STUPID move....the mode of learning should be pashto or Urdu not English....no GREAT nation ditches their own language!!!

modern.fakir

Here comes a seperatist ! ...Urdu is a national language used all over Pakistan not just in KPK. Your talking as if we are asking you not BAN Pashto [hilar][hilar] . Infact the pathans i know would love to sort you out according to Pashtunwali for importing a foreign language on their tribes (bigsmile)

whats good for every Pakistani is what we will advocate because i have relatives all over Pakistan.

You can do whatever you want individually BUT we speak for Pakistan as a whole (bigsmile)

Mr. Faqeer....Do what you want in your punjab, let the people do in our province what they want. We selected them and they have every right to do it we have full confidence in them, keep yourself to punjab (Humaray kam main tangh math arao.....Urdu)

modern.fakir

I have no issues yaar. I know where your coming from :) . I was appalled at the comments of Moahhid who suggested that URDU is a "foreign language" and should be done away with altogether. I mean nothing could be further from the truth, and so I explained how urdu is not a foreign language and we should also translate scientific knowledge into URDU so that we can better comprehend facts.

You are right you will not have issues in understanding the language you think in BUT if the same scientific and mathematical knowledge is in URDU, you will be surprised to see how many geniuses we produce and how quickly we progress !

This is not me, look around EVERY KNOWN country in the History of Mankind have ONLY progressed in their OWN language.

Even in the Golden Age of Muslims in Iraq, all the scholarly material was Translated into Arabic in Baghdad. The Ottomon Empire progressed in Turkish. The Mughal Empire flourished in Persian ....and looking at modern day technological Giants like China, Japan, the US, france and germany, NONE of them use English BUT Translate all the knowledge into their own language :)

This step is fine for now, BUT in the long run we must revert to URDU and definitely learn English as a second language !

English medium ka yeh matlab nai hota k waha Urdu nai parhai jati. Bas sirf woh kitaabay jo English may honi chahiye(like English,Physics,Maths,Biology,Chemistry), woh english may hoti hai. aur baki kitaabay(Urdu,Islamyat,Social studies) Urdu may hoti hai. Hum ne English medium may parha huwa hai, and we don't have any problem in reading, writing, speaking, or understanding Urdu..

chandaa

Urdu is National Language of Pakistan according to constitution. And if you do not want to accept the constitution then it is your choice brother. All provinces of Pakistan have different languages but the national and official language is Urdu and nobody can deny that fact.

sjpti

Re: KPK has decided to opt English as the mode of education from now onward

Brother, China got independence after us and they started education reforms 30 years ago. Japan was totally destroyed in world war I, Germany was destroyed during Hitler's era in world war II. These countries developed their syllabus in their own language and succeeded. Tell me what Germany, China and JAPAN had after they been destroyed. Before the invasion of INDIA by British, the education was in Urdu. All syllabus was in URDU before 1857, we live in 21st century and yet unable to translate sciences in our own language.

The future of any nation cannot be in a Foreign Language, if a country have to Give Discoveries and Inventions then the country must have a generation who understand sciences well. It is a research world wide that Kids Understand better in their own National or Native Language. That is the problem, why we unable to translate the books of University level. If you go to Germany or Japan, they will teach you everything in their own language. If we don't take a start now then we will be never in a position where these countries are today.

I don't agree that we are less capable of these countries you mentioned. If that is true then from Today IMRAN KHAN should stop giving examples of Britain, Switzerland and all these countries.

You are missing some points my dear.Do me a favour and go to any public library and check how many book on earth sciences and natural sciences are in urdu please. how many student drop out in english school mainly because text book are in english? not many . We don't have that much resources to first translate books in urdu and then start educating our student in urdu medium of instruction.you miss the point that lets say we start urdu mode of textbooks then what happens in say 10 years time when the student is in college , then u have to change the college textbooks for him in urdu as well because he does not know english, and then about university u have do it with a vast variety of life sciences earth sciences textbooks as well. u have any idea about translating a philosophy book terminology in urdu ? who will do it and how much time will take. so when this student goes to internet where u will find him good research in urdu ?
A child will never face any problem with english textbooks if he is given education by competent teachers. PTI must insure that.
We can't put a cart before horse but we surely need to put the horse before the cart.As for your IK 's giving example of Switzerland and othe countries he gives their examples not only for mode of education.he says switzerland is not as resourceful as we are but better economic management has made it richest country. or peopel of mixed ethnicity live there peacefully or has independent cantons.Just by the way who many countries that you mentioned bomb schools. hospitals and innocent people,? do they also have shia sunny braylvi dewbandi divisions, any MQM there in there big cities , LEG or TTP or that much population as we have or this much bad economy that we have . NO country u mentioned was in so much trouble in their bad days as we are because of our own misdeeds. LET IMRAN KHAN DO waterer he can for PPL of KPK i don't think our discussion is gona make him change his decision