KPK decided to opt English as the mode of education from now onward

Politcs

This is bad decision. Rich children have english medium because their parents speaks english at home and their life style is in english. I am from Punjab and in my experience not a single teacher in our local high school understand english really well. I dont know how poor and rich will get equal education after this decision when poor children's parents will not be able to help their kids in their study.

khan afghan1

Re: KPK has decided to opt English as the mode of education from now onward

Its not a good move everything should be in mother tongue, English should be as one subject...

How much books are written in your mother tongue on science,maths and other subjects.
how you teach them computer and medicines.how you gonna to compete with other countries.
its good step let the people read and write ion English to compete when they reach college and university.
Can you tell which medium you are coming from.

FahadBhatti

Should be done in steps starting from the bottom. A student who has studied in urdu to class 8 wont be able to do well in matric in english. Make it in english upto class 8 and after Two years upto matric.

the.paki

very bad decision .dealing with other LANGUAGE is mere task of software these days
it will be very bad to waste energies on english .
if you want creative people teach in ur own language

Argonaut

but imran khan to bolta tha saab kuch qaummi zuban main ho ga phir english hi kyun urdu zuban main kia kharabi hey saloo haar jaga tum loog uturn martey ho party neh hey uturn hey

When you compare election promises with steps taken after coming to power, then every party is guilty of making U-turns. PTI is therefore not an exception in doing this. Not saying that this makes it right, though.

saadkiakaray

We should come out of this non sense of national language bull sh it that the rich always dump on the poor while their kids get the best of the english education system.

Pakistan has up 6 to 7 national languages and YES english is OUR national language and has been since 1857 along with Punjabi, Sindhi, Pushto, Baluchi

Its a good step Imran Khan has taken. The rich would never approve of it and keep feeding the poor false propaganda nonsense of Urdu is our national language''WHATS S NONSENSE ! URDU IS OUR NATIONAL LANUAGE N NO. 2 IN WORLD ! EVERY SENSIBALE NATION TEACH THEIR OWN LANGUAGE IN SCHOOLS,WE DIDNT COME 4M MARS THAT DIFFERENT RULE SHUD APPLY.RESPECT UR MIR TAQI MIR THAN SHAKSPIER ! AND BTW WHAT U GET BY LEARNING SHAKSPIER ????? GHULAM HAMESHA GHULAM HI REHNA ! SO MANY LANGUAGES R SPOKEN IN PAKISTAN SO WHAT ? THIS IS ONLY URDU WHISH IS UNDERSTOOD ALLOVER THE COUNTRY ! BULLSHIT!

kNoWnAjNabi

My idiot brother :P how is it possible if they are running enrollment drive and changing syllabus but now building new school. Don't think of Shehbaaz sharif :P instead of rebuilding Government schools, he is building new one just to have his name on the inauguration plate ;) Naam bikta hai bahi
English kahan parhani hai, School tu KPK main ura dyay hain taliban nay. Is there any policy for rebuilding them?

chandaa

A poor decision by PTI, they should make ENGLISH a compulsory subject and the medium of instructions should be in URDU. IK categorically said this in his speeches that ENGLISH will be a compulsory subject.

Can anyone tell me why CHINA, Germany, France, Belgium, Russia etc. have succeeded? Majority of Chinese even don't understand a single word of English. Germans feel it embracing to study or communicate in English.

When Muslims ruled the world then the education system was in ARABIC. Britain succeeded as they translated French and Arabic books in their own language (English). You can be a good follower in a Foreign Language but you cannot be creative in that. Creativity and Discoveries are only possible in National Language of the country.

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xz...nalist-speaking-at-hajvery-university-hu_news

sjpti

i wish those who like or dislike must tell us their reason of doing so , some people are here just to like and dislike and go to next thread . in some cases only like or dislike serves its purpose but in most cases it does not.So please try to make a point or two about like or dislike please.

1)
Mode of education if in Urdu is easy on the children and teachers but in the long run its not good.While teachers may like it because of their own problems with enlgish , the children are not wise enough to make a decision about the harm it will do.Most of the books these days are written in English and internet also offers most resources in english.So lets say students gets education in english in school and when he goes to college , he confronts english as a mode of instruction. what he is going to do then ? he will have to learn all the terms of nature sciences in that age which is difficult.
2)
learning biology or physics or other subject in urdu is every difficult because the words originated in latin or greek which got adjusted in english but in urdu mainly arabic words are used for those words translation which are more difficult to learn and keep in mind.Arabic language is not easy and english is easy because , more resources are available and because of exposure.
3)all those nations which adopted their national language first prepared scholars and authors and scientists and thinkers who then translated the text books of english in there own languages and made it available to their youth . it did not happen in 3 months. it took those nations years and years .
4)May be one day pakistan after a serious struggle about education and honest rulers who cares about their nation in all respects will be able to offer its student urdu mode of education and yet those urdu mode students will be able to make a name for themselves but as i said that needs serious leaders not like most of our political lot

chandaa

i wish those who like or dislike must tell us their reason of doing so , some people are here just to like and dislike and go to next thread . in some cases only like or dislike serves its purpose but in most cases it does not.So please try to make a point or two about like or dislike please.

1)
Mode of education if in Urdu is easy on the children and teachers but in the long run its not good.While teachers may like it because of their own problems with enlgish , the children are not wise enough to make a decision about the harm it will do.Most of the books these days are written in English and internet also offers most resources in english.So lets say students gets education in english in school and when he goes to college , he confronts english as a mode of instruction. what he is going to do then ? he will have to learn all the terms of nature sciences in that age which is difficult.
2)
learning biology or physics or other subject in urdu is every difficult because the words originated in latin or greek which got adjusted in english but in urdu mainly arabic words are used for those words translation which are more difficult to learn and keep in mind.Arabic language is not easy and english is easy because , more resources are available and because of exposure.
3)all those nations which adopted their national language first prepared scholars and authors and scientists and thinkers who then translated the text books of english in there own languages and made it available to their youth . it did not happen in 3 months. it took those nations years and years .
4)May be one day pakistan after a serious struggle about education and honest rulers who cares about their nation in all respects will be able to offer its student urdu mode of education and yet those urdu mode students will be able to make a name for themselves but as i said that needs serious leaders not like most of our political lot

Please watch my response above. It was difficult for China, Germany, France, Belgium and other countries as well but they took hard decisions and flourished in few years. You can be a good learner in a foreign language but cannot be creative. Even IRAN taught in their own language and look at IRAN now. For detailed answer, watch the above video and raise your concerns if you have any?

sjpti

Please watch my response above. It was difficult for China, Germany, France, Belgium and other countries as well but they took hard decisions and flourished in few years. You can be a good learner in a foreign language but cannot be creative. Even IRAN taught in their own language and look at IRAN now. For detailed answer, watch the above video and raise your concerns if you have any?

Bro lets agree to disagree :) . We r neither CHINA,france ,germany, belgium which were always way better than us thanks to their hard work and better economic management and good leadership. Nor we are oil-rich IRAN whose people are united speak one language unlike US.
Thats y i said in my reply to the thread that it might happen but after a long hard struggle of first producing class thinkers , educationists, scientists
etc.
Why we don't think of the future ? when a student reaches college or university his mode of education will be english and should be english because of the vast resources available so why not make him learn it right away.
Lastly so many english medium schools are already providing english as a mode of education under private/public and government umbrella i don't think that they are doing a bad job

chandaa

Bro lets agree to disagree :) . We r neither CHINA,france ,germany, belgium which were always way better than us thanks to their hard work and better economic management and good leadership. Nor we are oil-rich IRAN whose people are united speak one language unlike US.
Thats y i said in my reply to the thread that it might happen but after a long hard struggle of first producing class thinkers , educationists, scientists
etc.
Why we don't think of the future ? when a student reaches college or university his mode of education will be english and should be english because of the vast resources available so why not make him learn it right away.
Lastly so many english medium schools are already providing english as a mode of education under private/public and government umbrella i don't think that they are doing a bad job

Brother, China got independence after us and they started education reforms 30 years ago. Japan was totally destroyed in world war I, Germany was destroyed during Hitler's era in world war II. These countries developed their syllabus in their own language and succeeded. Tell me what Germany, China and JAPAN had after they been destroyed. Before the invasion of INDIA by British, the education was in Urdu. All syllabus was in URDU before 1857, we live in 21st century and yet unable to translate sciences in our own language.

The future of any nation cannot be in a Foreign Language, if a country have to Give Discoveries and Inventions then the country must have a generation who understand sciences well. It is a research world wide that Kids Understand better in their own National or Native Language. That is the problem, why we unable to translate the books of University level. If you go to Germany or Japan, they will teach you everything in their own language. If we don't take a start now then we will be never in a position where these countries are today.

I don't agree that we are less capable of these countries you mentioned. If that is true then from Today IMRAN KHAN should stop giving examples of Britain, Switzerland and all these countries.

sangeen

Feel the differnece noorasss...... KPK Govt ne Universities aur College mae Hijab bhi lazmi kar dia...... Aur Education ke lie English.... both wise decisions.....

Warna Pakistan mae tum larkion ko jeanse pehnate ho, culture goron ka copy karte ho aur aqal nahi......

Politcs

Feel the differnece noorasss...... KPK Govt ne Universities aur College mae Hijab bhi lazmi kar dia...... Aur Education ke lie English.... both wise decisions.....

Warna Pakistan mae tum larkion ko jeanse pehnate ho, culture goron ka copy karte ho aur aqal nahi......

Who said that Jeans is unislamic dress? Whole muslim world wear jeans but you idiot mullah calling it unislamic.

Mullah also called Radio, train , airplane, loud speaker and mobile phone as un islamic but now they loved it.

yeh-cheez

Kia bakwaas hay yaar..
.urdu to banda seekh he lay ga ..us mein sikhanay wali kiabaat hay..humaray kuch dost aiwaien jazbaati ho rahay hein...hum.log kisi cheez per ikhattay nahee ho saktay..banda seekhnay wali cheez he seekhay ga na..urdu or regional lingos seekhnay ki kia zaroorat hay...ajeeb dramay baazi hay...waisay konsa kaam theek ho raha hay is mulk mein to ab zubaan per larai hogee..!!