ISI again maligned after a goodwill gesture

az.ay

Recently an Indian newspaper started propagating that ISPR head, Gen Athar Abbas, has admitted role of ISI officers in Mumbai blasts (Click here for the news item). Unfortunately Dawn also got carried away and published the story (Dawn news story).

Here is thought provoking analysis throwing light on how the Indian paper twisted Gen Athar Abbas's statement in his goodwill gesture of interacting with Indian journalists:

OB-NQ487_iabbas_D_20110426033151.jpg

It seemed as if Pakistan was conceding the involvement of former Inter-Services Intelligence spies in the 2008 Mumbai attack, a major admission of something India has claimed for years.

CNN-IBN, the Indian cable news channel, put out a story on Monday saying Pakistan military spokesman Gen. Athar Abbas had told them in an interview that former ISI officers could have been involved in planning the rampage, which killed over 160 people. The story, picked up by other Indian and Pakistani media, said Gen. Abbas denied the ISIs involvement but significantly added that the involvement of retired or former ISI and Pakistani army men could not be ruled out.

But listen to the interview, embedded above CNN-IBNs story, and its clear that Gen. Abbas denies the involvement of former ISI operatives in the strikes.

The involvement of former ISI operatives would be an important admission given that the agency is viewed as the cream of Pakistans military establishment and also the most controversial. Britains Guardian newspaper reported Monday, quoting a classified U.S. document from 2007, that interrogators at Guantanamo Bay were told to consider detainees with links to the ISI as being involved in terrorist or insurgent activity.

Gen. Abbas does acknowledge that a former army major, Tahawar Rana, could possibly be involved. Mr. Rana, now a Canadian citizen, is detained in the U.S., where he is facing trial in a Chicago court for helping plan the Mumbai attack.

But Gen. Abbas stresses that Mr. Rana had no connection with the, any, intelligence agencies and a retired officer is a civilian, hes on his own.

Pakistans military issued a statement saying Gen. Abbass words had been distorted and taken out of context.

Surya Gangadharan, head of CNN-IBNs foreign news department, said: We stand by the story.

It might seem unimportant, but this kind of thing shows how far apart Pakistan and India stand on the Mumbai issue, which is holding up wider peace talks. The widespread belief in India is that the ISI runs Pakistan, harbors terrorists that want to attack India and gets away with it. Pakistans military says it has severed links with militants who it nurtured in the 1980s and 1990s to fight the Soviets and then Indian troops in Kashmir and cannot be held responsible for the actions of retired officers.

Meanwhile, U.S. prosecutors Monday charged four other Pakistanis for their alleged involvement in the Mumbai attacks.

The names include a man known only by his alias Major Iqbal, a suspected former Pakistani army major. None of the four suspects are in U.S. custody.

The mens names were added to a case which includes Mr. Rana and David Coleman Headley, the U.S.-Pakistani who is also in U.S. custody and charged with scouting sites for the Mumbai attacks, to which he has pleaded guilty. Mr. Rana is charged with aiding Mr. Headley and his trial is set to start soon. Mr. Rana has pleaded not guilty.

All men are suspected of links with Lashkar-e-Taiba, a Pakistani militant group set up by the military in the 1990s to fight Indian troops in Kashmir. LeT militants are widely accepted as responsible for the terror attack in Mumbai.

Pakistans military says it has severed links with the group. But India believes current military and ISI continue to have links with LET militants.
Tom Wright

T

terex

ISI doodh ki dhooli hai?Tumarein nawaz sharif ke spokesperson (nissar chaudhary) spoke against ISI!!

Everyone knows that ISI and pakistan army are not in civilian control!!

ASQR1

India is again up-to no good and starting the disinformation trick to undermine honesty of Pakistan.

Honest I say and I will back it with facts.

To get freedom from oppression and killing of innocent by the oppressor many people/groups have started freedom fighters, namely Mao tse tung, Israel etc etc. so the the group Lashkar is a group of Kashmiris annoyed by the killings of innocent civilians when these civilians demonstrate against occupation of their land.

India is a two face country, on one it talks about secularism and freedom of Speech, but oppresses and kills Kashmiris if they use that promised freedom.

Pakistani gen. is right when he said that this ex army officer, who is said to be involved in attacks in Bombay, had or has nothing to do with Pak. Army as an ex personal is just that a civilian, and the thing he or she does that is considered unlawful must be treated if evidence is presented in the court of law.

From all this I see India is trying to under mine Pakistan by blames and by innuendos. But the difference this time is that Pakistan has atom bombs and if integrity and existence is in jeopardy it might do unthinkable thing.

India has already started on the path of no good acts by using the good gesture as an admission of guilt, and is therefore guilty of assuming thing wrongly.

My earnest hope is that sane heads prevail and India does not use lies and innunuendos to bring the subcontinent to such a catastrophe.

Cupish Indian DUDES.

Pak_Passion

My My............ how many Indian agents on this forum? This is just a political forum and look at their number. This tells us what is happening to our country............... these people are actually involved in all terrorist activities in Pakistan.

Atleast 20 plus on this forum means 20,000 plus on ground in Pakistan.

ISI doodh ki dhooli hai?Tumarein nawaz sharif ke spokesperson (nissar chaudhary) spoke against ISI!!

ISI is the only agency which is facing the meanest enemies on the face of the earth like RAW (Hindu Chankia sitting pantiless in the lap of Uncle SAM till his satisfaction) and Satanist CIA/MOSAD/MI-16 and their different version, and making them bleat like anything. And the enemies check their blood soaked lower back time and again and show each other the damage done by ISI.

My My............ how many Indian agents on this forum? This is just a political forum and look at their number. This tells us what is happening to our country............... these people are actually involved in all terrorist activities in Pakistan.

Please also count the morons among ourselves whose whose sole aim in life is to abuse Pakistani Security forces, how with disease their hearts are filled. Moreover, some are with false flags and IDs Can we Identify them?

Recently an Indian newspaper started propagating that ISPR head, Gen Athar Abbas, has admitted role of ISI officers in Mumbai blasts (Click here for the news item). Unfortunately Dawn also got carried away and published the story (Dawn news story).

Here is thought provoking analysis throwing light on how the Indian paper twisted Gen Athar Abbas's statement in his goodwill gesture of interacting with Indian journalists:

OB-NQ487_iabbas_D_20110426033151.jpg

It seemed as if Pakistan was conceding the involvement of former Inter-Services Intelligence spies in the 2008 Mumbai attack, a major admission of something India has claimed for years.

CNN-IBN, the Indian cable news channel, put out a story on Monday saying Pakistan military spokesman Gen. Athar Abbas had told them in an interview that former ISI officers could have been involved in planning the rampage, which killed over 160 people. The story, picked up by other Indian and Pakistani media, said Gen. Abbas denied the ISIs involvement but significantly added that the involvement of retired or former ISI and Pakistani army men could not be ruled out.

But listen to the interview, embedded above CNN-IBNs story, and its clear that Gen. Abbas denies the involvement of former ISI operatives in the strikes.

The involvement of former ISI operatives would be an important admission given that the agency is viewed as the cream of Pakistans military establishment and also the most controversial. Britains Guardian newspaper reported Monday, quoting a classified U.S. document from 2007, that interrogators at Guantanamo Bay were told to consider detainees with links to the ISI as being involved in terrorist or insurgent activity.

Gen. Abbas does acknowledge that a former army major, Tahawar Rana, could possibly be involved. Mr. Rana, now a Canadian citizen, is detained in the U.S., where he is facing trial in a Chicago court for helping plan the Mumbai attack.

But Gen. Abbas stresses that Mr. Rana had no connection with the, any, intelligence agencies and a retired officer is a civilian, hes on his own.

Pakistans military issued a statement saying Gen. Abbass words had been distorted and taken out of context.

Surya Gangadharan, head of CNN-IBNs foreign news department, said: We stand by the story.

It might seem unimportant, but this kind of thing shows how far apart Pakistan and India stand on the Mumbai issue, which is holding up wider peace talks. The widespread belief in India is that the ISI runs Pakistan, harbors terrorists that want to attack India and gets away with it. Pakistans military says it has severed links with militants who it nurtured in the 1980s and 1990s to fight the Soviets and then Indian troops in Kashmir and cannot be held responsible for the actions of retired officers.

Meanwhile, U.S. prosecutors Monday charged four other Pakistanis for their alleged involvement in the Mumbai attacks.

The names include a man known only by his alias Major Iqbal, a suspected former Pakistani army major. None of the four suspects are in U.S. custody.

The mens names were added to a case which includes Mr. Rana and David Coleman Headley, the U.S.-Pakistani who is also in U.S. custody and charged with scouting sites for the Mumbai attacks, to which he has pleaded guilty. Mr. Rana is charged with aiding Mr. Headley and his trial is set to start soon. Mr. Rana has pleaded not guilty.

All men are suspected of links with Lashkar-e-Taiba, a Pakistani militant group set up by the military in the 1990s to fight Indian troops in Kashmir. LeT militants are widely accepted as responsible for the terror attack in Mumbai.

Pakistans military says it has severed links with the group. But India believes current military and ISI continue to have links with LET militants.
Tom Wright

All these allegations are not any coincidence at this time. Indian govt has coaxed their media to malign ISI to influence the trade talks currently in progress in Islamabad.

If you look at the history, RAW has been more murderous, and terrorist than any other agency in the world, perhaps even surpassing MOSSAD.

If we had any Pakistani media, they would have now be protecting ISI and other agencies from these ****** Indian media of zionist Hindus, but some haramzadon ney hamarey mulk ko bech dia for a fistful of dollars and yet they want to come back and partake in politics. And the current dakus and chors are also employee of the CIA. I wish I could line them up and use AK47 on these f**** and send their dead bodies to hungry wild dogs in Africa.

Let the dogs devour on their bodies just like dogs devoured on the body of Abu Lahab.

this terex f******* could well be a terrorist himself. terror in one shift and anti-pak posts in 2nd shift

all bros/sis

As you well know I have all Indians in my iggy bucket living comfortably and drinking cow cola.

This new turkey terex is working on its way to the bin also. What do you think? Is it time to grab him by his ankles and drop him in the bin now??:lol:

یہ ریڈیو پاکستان دہلی ہے - اب آپ گزو مارشیں سے خبریں سنیے -

امّت باکستان کے وزیر اعظم جناب وادائچ نے کہا ہے کہ سابقہ بھارت کے مسلمانو ن کو چاہیے کہ رواداری سے کام لیں اور ہندو پڑوسیوں کو نا حق تکلیف نہ دیں - فاتح مسلمان کی یہ شان نہیں کہ مفتوح کو ناحق ایذا پہنچایے -

باقی خبریں ایک مختصر وقفے کے بعد

mt_dilber

Nisar himself is a test-tube politician made by ISI.....and thanks God ISI is not in civilian control, civilians, cheeni ya atta tak do de nahi sakte awaam ko....chale hain ISI ko control karne....lol..ye moon aur masooor ki daal :)

mt_dilber

یہ ریڈیو پاکستان دہلی ہے - اب آپ گزو مارشیں سے خبریں سنیے -

امّت باکستان کے وزیر اعظم جناب وادائچ نے کہا ہے کہ سابقہ بھارت کے مسلمانو ن کو چاہیے کہ رواداری سے کام لیں اور ہندو پڑوسیوں کو نا حق تکلیف نہ دیں - فاتح مسلمان کی یہ شان نہیں کہ مفتوح کو ناحق ایذا پہنچایے -

باقی خبریں ایک مختصر وقفے کے بعد

I think you play lots of video games.....bhai khwab dekhna achi baat hai lakin abhi na paani hai, na bijli, na jobs hain, na khane ko roti. ghar se shopping karne jain to jaldi jaldi bazzar se nikalte hain k kahin dhamaka na ho jay......so think about short term goals first. Dunya fatah karne walon ki shaklain aur kartoor aoor hotay hain hamari tarha nahi jo shaam ko mujra dekhain aur subha uth kar jummay ki tayyari bhi karain... :)

all bros/sis

As you well know I have all Indians in my iggy bucket living comfortably and drinking cow cola.

This new turkey terex is working on its way to the bin also. What do you think? Is it time to grab him by his ankles and drop him in the bin now??:lol:

Do spank his back and redden it to dark complexion before making it in his bin home.

T

terex

Its not just me but entire world which talks same about ISI:

RAW is an intelligence outfit only. ISI is an intelligence outfit and also has a commando outfit- who are ppls like Lakshar-E-Taliba, Hizb-Al-Mujahid, Harkat-Ul-Ansar etc... collectively known as AFGHAN MUJAHIDEEN ,TTP,Lakhanni network(to international media) or BLACK STORK SPECIAL FORCES (inside Pak). RAW Is accountable to the civilian administration in India. ISI doesn't have to report to civilian government. RAW works within the framework of the Indian government, and ISI has de facto parallel administration status.

T

terex

You mean Radio Pakistan Mumbai/Dehli.............

Insallah we will use our bollywood ,media to indianize all pakistan!!One day we wont need to fire a bullet and pakistan will join india by its free will!!
Ameen!!!!!