"India is a *COLONIAL* State for *NON-HINDUS*" says an Indian Hindu

Come on yaar - where is the eloquence, the fire, the wit? Thats it - all we are going to get is "I disagree"? ;-)

He is speechless and the best defense in his opinion is to stay away and not comment thinking it will dies.He will then come back with a vengeance posting against Pakistan and then try to get even.
I think this VDO should be kept in our records to be referred to and posted in many responses to desicad,unicon and others.
very useful VDO.Thanks.

mrk123

She is an Indian and a Hindu......but as you correctly pointed out she is well respected in India as an intellectual and we are proud to have her.....

She is respected by some in India. Google is your friend - a casual read of a few responses to just one blog post doesn't show that she is 'widely' well respected among Indians....This is not a sweeping statement just an observation. Food for thought for people on all side of the argument. I firmly believe that people of India and Pakistan are afflicted with yet unidentified bug that makes them very unique and prone to knee jerk reactions to events, people and ideas.

It is kerala style of "thinkers" to travel in opposite and get attracted.
RAVI
UAE, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

Hope the PAKIS or TALIBAN show mercy on India and retain Arundhathi Roy permanently in Pakistan so that at least she realises the value of Indian society and polity.
AKIL
BANGALORE, INDIA

Arundhati will try to understand Taliban and Swat by sitting in Five star Hotels of Karachi and Islamabad. Would she dare to go to Swat valley in her Jeans and T-shirt and face the consequence???? I sincerely hope she visits Swat Valley in her Jeans and top and the Taliban abducted her, which is a wishful thinking because Taliban knows she would compliment them in damaging India if allowed to return to India.
AKIL
BANGALORE, INDIA

Dear Sir,

The best way to treat this antinational and anti social elements like Arundhati, Teesta is to ignore them.
PRAKASH ADHYAPAK
BELGAUM, INDIA

Arundhati Roy is fanatical,anti-Hindu Catholic.Why can't she write about the priests enjoying sex acts with nuns in almost every seminary?That is a secular act perhaps.
S.S.NAGARAJ
BANGALORE, INDIA

Who is Arundhati Roy? She is someone who has no real vocation and tries desperately to self promote by taking up controversial issues. A real vocation/job means living like an ordinary person which she was not born for; she needs tamasha/gimmick to be famous. Why give her the pleasure. IGNORE her.
RV
MINNEAPOLIS, USA

Initially I had respect for Arundhati Roy but she is only babeling everywhere, a mouth wide open woman. Her thoughts & life is not matching at any point. Muh Fadke Bolti hai, no useful stuff.
DEVENDRA PATEL
AHMEDABAD, INDIA

Come on yaar - where is the eloquence, the fire, the wit? Thats it - all we are going to get is "I disagree"? ;-)

One thing you got to understand about her is that she is a pacifist will not take up arms even when she is attacked. This is where I disagree with her. I do respect her as there will not be a confrontation between us. She was against army intervention in Goa I disagree with her. I support India when it sent army to Kashmir once Pak invaded Kashmir. She is a pacifist and I am not therefore we would tend to disagree a lot.
[MENTION=8742]Star Gazer[/MENTION] What ever is in my heart is out of my mouth. I am not avoiding it. I have made my views about her in previous posts there were many.

mrk123

Thanks - thats more like it.

I follow her and know that she is a pacifist. I just wanted to know where you disagree with her.

One thing you got to understand about her is that she is a pacifist will not take up arms even when she is attacked. This is where I disagree with her. I do respect her as there will not be a confrontation between us. She was against army intervention in Goa I disagree with her. I support India when it sent army to Kashmir once Pak invaded Kashmir. She is a pacifist and I am not therefore we would tend to disagree a lot.

She is respected by some in India. Google is your friend - a casual read of a few responses to just one blog post doesn't show that she is 'widely' well respected among Indians....This is not a sweeping statement just an observation. Food for thought for people on all side of the argument. I firmly believe that people of India and Pakistan are afflicted with yet unknown bug that make them very unique in their knee jerk reactions to events, people and ideas.

It is kerala style of "thinkers" to travel in opposite and get attracted.
RAVI
UAE, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

Hope the PAKIS or TALIBAN show mercy on India and retain Arundhathi Roy permanently in Pakistan so that at least she realises the value of Indian society and polity.
AKIL
BANGALORE, INDIA

Arundhati will try to understand Taliban and Swat by sitting in Five star Hotels of Karachi and Islamabad. Would she dare to go to Swat valley in her Jeans and T-shirt and face the consequence???? I sincerely hope she visits Swat Valley in her Jeans and top and the Taliban abducted her, which is a wishful thinking because Taliban knows she would compliment them in damaging India if allowed to return to India.
AKIL
BANGALORE, INDIA

Dear Sir,

The best way to treat this antinational and anti social elements like Arundhati, Teesta is to ignore them.
PRAKASH ADHYAPAK
BELGAUM, INDIA

Arundhati Roy is fanatical,anti-Hindu Catholic.Why can't she write about the priests enjoying sex acts with nuns in almost every seminary?That is a secular act perhaps.
S.S.NAGARAJ
BANGALORE, INDIA

Who is Arundhati Roy? She is someone who has no real vocation and tries desperately to self promote by taking up controversial issues. A real vocation/job means living like an ordinary person which she was not born for; she needs tamasha/gimmick to be famous. Why give her the pleasure. IGNORE her.
RV
MINNEAPOLIS, USA

Initially I had respect for Arundhati Roy but she is only babeling everywhere, a mouth wide open woman. Her thoughts & life is not matching at any point. Muh Fadke Bolti hai, no useful stuff.
DEVENDRA PATEL
AHMEDABAD, INDIA

one blog spot and few comments should not be the criteria to gauge her popularity.......not everyone is going to agree with her on everything she has to say......but the fact is she is a very popular and highly respected social activist.......

mrk123

one blog spot and few comments should not be the criteria to gauge her popularity.......not everyone is going to agree with her on everything she has to say......but the fact is she is a very popular and highly respected social activist.......

Oh well, I guess my dislaimer that I am not making a sweeping statement was in vain.

I will take 'your' word that she is highly respected and very popular. Thank you for providing irrefutable proof!

note to self: one blog post and few comments should not be the criteria to gauge popularity ;-)

Oh well, I guess my dislaimer that I am not making a sweeping statement was in vain.

I will take 'your' word that she is highly respected and very popular. Thank you for providing irrefutable proof!

note to self: one blog post and few comments should not be the criteria to gauge popularity ;-)
I did read your disclaimer.......:)........neither had any intention of rejecting what you had to say nor was trying to give some irrefutable proof.....other than the social activism the booker prize has also got lot to do with her popularity in certain circles.........:)

BuTurabi

ہر مُلک میں ایک عاصمہ جہانگیر ہوتی ہے

(bigsmile)

malikbhai

Aasma jahangir hoti hai? hoti sai pehle aik K laga daina tha, baat pori ho jati BuTurabi bhai. waise hoti aik qaum bhi hai kaheen hoti wale hatak e izzat ka dawa na kar dain aap par.:lol:

ہر مُلک میں ایک ہوتی ہے عاصمہ جہانگیر ہوتی ہے

(bigsmile)

Aasma jahangir hoti hai? hoti sai pehle aik K laga daina tha, baat pori ho jati BuTurabi bhai. waise hoti aik qaum bhi hai kaheen hoti wale hatak e izzat ka dawa na kar dain aap par.:lol:

Geronimo

The Heading ("India is a *COLONIAL* State for *NON-HINDUS*" says an Indian Hindu ) is obviously meant to do point scoring against India.

Arundhati Roy is one of the most Intellectually honest thinkers of our times in this subcontinent. She has constantly advocated social justice and human rights for the minorities in India and abroad. She is fearless and has criticized injustice wherever she sees it.

I hope you read more about her work before describing her as (says an Indian Hindu). Indians are proud to have an Intellectual like her among their fold.

I've never in my whole life subscribed to the virtual warmongering rhetoric, but that night I was a bit pissed off at all the Tarek Fartah & all videos, so I thought I'd give them a taste or their own medicine.

And the "Indian Hindu" reference was a syntax parallel to what they say when a Pakistani criticizes Pakistan : "Oh, you see, even a Pakistani Muslim criticizes Pakistan, so that must be true" (and sometimes not that polite, believe me.)
Call it an intellectullo-ethnic assurance, but nothing against the fact she's an Indian or a Hindu.

I have some other stuff to post about India (the few I posted were non political, namely cricket innings of Dhoni & co) but it will depend on my mood.

Alright. We know u disagree with her. Can you prove her wrong by rebutting the facts she has presented?

I have already addressed two facts India's intervention in Goa and Kashmir which are factual. Her statement " moments after removing shackles of colonialism India became a colonial power", Is this a statement of fact or an opinion. It is clearly an opinion. Her other opinions are India is responsible for Mumbai attack and attack on Indian Parliament.

Let me give you another opinion that you may disagree according to her " partition was a parting kick to India by the British " is this a fact or an opinion?. According to her statement India, congress party, Muslim league and Hazrat Jinnah R A had nothing to do with it.

She is a poster girl of Indian and western left. There are very few of her statements or opinions that I agree with

I have already addressed two facts India's intervention in Goa and Kashmir which are factual. Her statement " moments after removing shackles of colonialism India became a colonial power", Is this a statement of fact or an opinion. It is clearly an opinion. Her other opinions are India is responsible for Mumbai attack and attack on Indian Parliament.

Let me give you another opinion that you may disagree according to her " partition was a parting kick to India by the British " is this a fact or an opinion?. According to her statement India, congress party, Muslim league and Hazrat Jinnah R A had nothing to do with it.

She is a poster girl of Indian and western left. There are very few of her statements or opinions that I agree with
Intelligence agencies do things of that sort all the time. I will not be surprised if we found that to be true in future.
I agree with her on other things also. Who founded India and Pakistan. Wasn't it Radcliffe?
Truth is always out there. Its called conspiracy theory.

Intelligence agencies do things of that sort all the time. I will not be surprised if we found that to be true in future.
I agree with her on other things also. Who founded India and Pakistan. Wasn't it Radcliffe?
Truth is always out there. Its called conspiracy theory.

If intelligence agencies are involved than the onus is on her to prove. Radcliffe only drew a line between the two countries it was our decision to authorize him to do say, therefore you can not lay the blame on the British or Radcliffe.

@Star Gazer What ever is in my heart is out of my mouth. I am not avoiding it. I have made my views about her in previous posts there were many.

you disagree with her on unjust grounds. You are trying to minimize the issue by portraying her as pacifist.The Kashmir conflict started at the time of partition and if Kashmiris decide not to be pacifist you have a problem with that, strange! There is nothing wrong with being pacifist if it is for the right reasons. Based on your approval of intervention in Goa we should assume it is ok for Pakistan to do an intervention in Kashmir!
How about raising the Muktibahni? That was right? If that is right then what is wrong with other countries when they try to support insurgencies in other countries?
The problem is what is in your heart because that seems to be very hegemonic and selfish.

you disagree with her on unjust grounds. You are trying to minimize the issue by portraying her as pacifist.The Kashmir conflict started at the time of partition and if Kashmiris decide not to be pacifist you have a problem with that, strange! There is nothing wrong with being pacifist if it is for the right reasons. Based on your approval of intervention in Goa we should assume it is ok for Pakistan to do an intervention in Kashmir!
How about raising the Muktibahni? That was right? If that is right then what is wrong with other countries when they try to support insurgencies in other countries?
The problem is what is in your heart because that seems to be very hegemonic and selfish.

How am I portraying her as pacifist?? She is self confessed pacifist(yapping). Kashmir was given the status of a free country but it was attacked by Pakistan and India acted legally. Portugal colonize Goa and India liberated it when it could. Pakistan started its intervention in Kashmir in 1947 lost all wars than resorted to terrorism and now its involved in international terrorism, its not me who is saying it its the almost the whole world.

I don't know if you read the recent poll published right here on this forum most of the Muslim countries has over 55 percent negative opinion of Pakistan the same in your best friend China.

How am I portraying her as pacifist?? She is self confessed pacifist(yapping). Kashmir was given the status of a free country but it was attacked by Pakistan and India acted legally. Portugal colonize Goa and India liberated it when it could. Pakistan started its intervention in Kashmir in 1947 lost all wars than resorted to terrorism and now its involved in international terrorism, its not me who is saying it its the almost the whole world.

I don't know if you read the recent poll published right here on this forum most of the Muslim countries has over 55 percent negative opinion of Pakistan the same in your best friend China.

Kashmir was never given the status of a free country,prove that to me! This is a fabrication totally or the Indian course books are full of lies!

Portugal colonized Goa before the English colonized India.At the time of partition Goa was not an issue because the sub continent was trying to be liberated from the English so how was Goa a part of this?
India wanted Goa and because Portuguese did not want to give it to India therefore India started an insurgency and occupied Goa.

Now that you are running out of arguments you are bringing out poll issues. Stay on the topic, I know you are skilled at diversion! India is the most terroristic state I don't know if you saw the VDO where Kashmiri pandits are saying india is COLONIAL state and wages war against Muslims, Sikhs and tribal people.

Read the following:(Of course it is false? :lol: )

http://www.siasat.pk/forum/showthread.php?122452-Indian-Terrorism-in-Kashmir-and-UN-Security-Council

Kashmir was never given the status of a free country,prove that to me! This is a fabrication totally or the Indian course books are full of lies!

Portugal colonized Goa before the English colonized India.At the time of partition Goa was not an issue because the sub continent was trying to be liberated from the English so how was Goa a part of this?
India wanted Goa and because Portuguese did not want to give it to India therefore India started an insurgency and occupied Goa.

Now that you are running out of arguments you are bringing out poll issues. Stay on the topic, I know you are skilled at diversion! India is the most terroristic state I don't know if you saw the VDO where Kashmiri pandits are saying india is COLONIAL state and wages war against Muslims, Sikhs and tribal people.

Read the following:(Of course it is false? :lol: )

http://www.siasat.pk/forum/showthread.php?122452-Indian-Terrorism-in-Kashmir-and-UN-Security-Council

Ya sure, we should have left the British alone to and remain a colony.

This is from BBC i bet it won't constitute any proof as far you are concerned. It is not Kashmiri Pundits its Arunanidhy Roy a Bengali.

Kashmir: The origins of the dispute

[TABLE="align: right"]
[TR]
[TD]
_38881459_view203.jpg
Current tensions go back decades

[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
By Victoria Schofield, author of Kashmir in Conflict In August 1947 when the Indian subcontinent became independent from Britain, all the rulers of the 565 princely states, whose lands comprised two-fifths of India and a population 99 million, had to decide which of the two new dominions to join, India or Pakistan.
The ruler of Jammu and Kashmir, whose state was situated between the two new countries, could not decide which country to join.
He was Hindu, his population was predominantly Muslim. He therefore did nothing.

Instead he signed a "standstill" agreement with Pakistan in order that services such as trade, travel and communication would be uninterrupted.
India did not sign a similar agreement.
Law and order
In October 1947, Pashtun tribesmen from Pakistan's North-West Frontier Province invaded Kashmir.
There had been persistent reports of communal violence against Muslims in the state and, supported by the Pakistani Government, they were eager to precipitate its accession to Pakistan.

[TR]
[TD]
_1762146_mountbbc150.jpg
Mountbatten favoured Kashmir's temporary accession to India

[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
Troubled by the increasing deterioration in law and order and by earlier raids, culminating in the invasion of the tribesmen, the ruler, Maharaja Hari Singh, requested armed assistance from India.
The then Governor-General, Lord Mountbatten, believed the developing situation would be less explosive if the state were to accede to India, on the understanding that this would only be temporary prior to "a referendum, plebiscite, election".
According to the terms of the Instrument of Accession, India's jurisdiction was to extend to external affairs, defence and communications.
Troops airlifted
Exactly when Hari Singh signed the Instrument of Accession has been hotly debated for over 50 years.

[TR]
[TD]
_1762146_nehru2ap150.jpg
Nehru's representative met the ruler of Kashmir

[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
Official Indian accounts state that in the early hours of the morning of 26 October, Hari Singh fled from Srinagar, arriving in Jammu later in the day, where he was met by V P Menon, representative of Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru, and signed the Instrument of Accession.
On the morning of 27 October, Indian troops were airlifted into Srinagar.
Recent research, from British sources, has indicated that Hari Singh did not reach Jammu until the evening of 26 October and that, due to poor flying conditions, V P Menon was unable to get to Jammu until the morning of 27 October , by which time Indian troops were already arriving in Srinagar.
In order to support the thesis that the Maharaja acceded before Indian troops landed, Indian sources have now suggested that Hari Singh signed an Instrument of Accession before he left Srinagar but that it was not made public until later.
This was because Hari Singh had not yet agreed to include the Kashmiri leader, Sheikh Abdullah, in his future government. To date no authentic original document has been made available.
Pakistan immediately contested the accession, suggesting that it was fraudulent, that the Maharaja acted under duress and that he had no right to sign an agreement with India when the standstill agreement with Pakistan was still in force.
Pakistanis also argued that because Hari Singh fled from the valley of Kashmir , he was not in control of his state and therefore not in a position to take a decision on behalf of his people.
'Bad faith'
In the context of Pakistan's claim that there is a dispute over the state of Jammu and Kashmir, the accession issue forms a significant aspect of their argument.
By stating that the Instrument of Accession was signed on 26 October, when it clearly was not, Pakistan believes that India has not shown good faith and consequently that this invalidates the Instrument of Accession.
Indians argue, however, that regardless of the discrepancies over timing, the Maharaja did choose to accede to India and he was not under duress.
On the basis of his accession, India claims ownership of the entire state which includes the approximately one-third of the territory currently administered by Pakistan.
In 1949 Maharaja Hari Singh was obliged by the Government of India to leave the state and hand over the government to Sheikh Abdullah.

He died in Bombay in 1962.

Ya sure, we should have left the British alone to and remain a colony.

This is from BBC i bet it won't constitute any proof as far you are concerned. It is not Kashmiri Pundits its Arunanidhy Roy a Bengali.

Kashmir: The origins of the dispute

[TR]
[TD]
_38881459_view203.jpg
Current tensions go back decades

[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
By Victoria Schofield, author of Kashmir in Conflict In August 1947 when the Indian subcontinent became independent from Britain, all the rulers of the 565 princely states, whose lands comprised two-fifths of India and a population 99 million, had to decide which of the two new dominions to join, India or Pakistan.
The ruler of Jammu and Kashmir, whose state was situated between the two new countries, could not decide which country to join.
He was Hindu, his population was predominantly Muslim. He therefore did nothing.

Instead he signed a "standstill" agreement with Pakistan in order that services such as trade, travel and communication would be uninterrupted.
India did not sign a similar agreement.
Law and order
In October 1947, Pashtun tribesmen from Pakistan's North-West Frontier Province invaded Kashmir.
There had been persistent reports of communal violence against Muslims in the state and, supported by the Pakistani Government, they were eager to precipitate its accession to Pakistan.

[TR]
[TD]
_1762146_mountbbc150.jpg
Mountbatten favoured Kashmir's temporary accession to India

[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
Troubled by the increasing deterioration in law and order and by earlier raids, culminating in the invasion of the tribesmen, the ruler, Maharaja Hari Singh, requested armed assistance from India.
The then Governor-General, Lord Mountbatten, believed the developing situation would be less explosive if the state were to accede to India, on the understanding that this would only be temporary prior to "a referendum, plebiscite, election".
According to the terms of the Instrument of Accession, India's jurisdiction was to extend to external affairs, defence and communications.
Troops airlifted
Exactly when Hari Singh signed the Instrument of Accession has been hotly debated for over 50 years.

[TR]
[TD]
_1762146_nehru2ap150.jpg
Nehru's representative met the ruler of Kashmir

[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
Official Indian accounts state that in the early hours of the morning of 26 October, Hari Singh fled from Srinagar, arriving in Jammu later in the day, where he was met by V P Menon, representative of Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru, and signed the Instrument of Accession.
On the morning of 27 October, Indian troops were airlifted into Srinagar.
Recent research, from British sources, has indicated that Hari Singh did not reach Jammu until the evening of 26 October and that, due to poor flying conditions, V P Menon was unable to get to Jammu until the morning of 27 October , by which time Indian troops were already arriving in Srinagar.
In order to support the thesis that the Maharaja acceded before Indian troops landed, Indian sources have now suggested that Hari Singh signed an Instrument of Accession before he left Srinagar but that it was not made public until later.
This was because Hari Singh had not yet agreed to include the Kashmiri leader, Sheikh Abdullah, in his future government. To date no authentic original document has been made available.
Pakistan immediately contested the accession, suggesting that it was fraudulent, that the Maharaja acted under duress and that he had no right to sign an agreement with India when the standstill agreement with Pakistan was still in force.
Pakistanis also argued that because Hari Singh fled from the valley of Kashmir , he was not in control of his state and therefore not in a position to take a decision on behalf of his people.
'Bad faith'
In the context of Pakistan's claim that there is a dispute over the state of Jammu and Kashmir, the accession issue forms a significant aspect of their argument.
By stating that the Instrument of Accession was signed on 26 October, when it clearly was not, Pakistan believes that India has not shown good faith and consequently that this invalidates the Instrument of Accession.
Indians argue, however, that regardless of the discrepancies over timing, the Maharaja did choose to accede to India and he was not under duress.
On the basis of his accession, India claims ownership of the entire state which includes the approximately one-third of the territory currently administered by Pakistan.
In 1949 Maharaja Hari Singh was obliged by the Government of India to leave the state and hand over the government to Sheikh Abdullah.

He died in Bombay in 1962.

you are loosing the point again, you are all over. I invite you to stay on the topic.

If intelligence agencies are involved than the onus is on her to prove. Radcliffe only drew a line between the two countries it was our decision to authorize him to do say, therefore you can not lay the blame on the British or Radcliffe.
Really. Were we really in that capacity? I don't think so.