How Bollywood conquered the world

Well, if you want your women to dress in miniskirts and wet sari's with men lusting over them then that's your idea of progression not mine!! Obviously this is also your idea of maturity where mines is of thoughful cinema and clean entertainment, many senior Indian artists like Dilip Kumar and Pran have openly condemned your industry for producing filth so they agree with me! Would you ever allow your daughter to watch such movies where women are mostly depicted as sexual objects of desire!!?

There is nothing "great" about wet sari's, gay relations, or violence that are glorified in your movies and neither is this to be seen as Indian or western culture. Young impressionable minds lookupon these sick freak's as hero's instead of the real great one's in history!

We're supposed to take the good from every culture like democracy and human rights of western society that is certainly to be applauded not blindly follow whatever they do! When at uni your sister's often make boyfriends or even get pregnant then it's the likes of you who accuse them of being cheap and an insult to their culture and religion ignoring that it was Bollywood that brainwashed them!

There isn't a westernised "element" but the whole thing is for the western audience! Bollywood is part of Indian proganda like Hollywood is of the USA so no it would not have died a long time ago rather the exact opposite! What do you mean when "politics get into culture it spells trouble" when you've made many movies on Indo-anti-Pak relations from an Indian perspective.

Sex outside marriage and similar things may have existed for centuries but certain things should remain in the bedroom! Murder is also as ancient as man yet it doesn't mean that we should openly begin killing people yet by watching such things we gradually start to see them as being normal then acceptable and finally cool!. Understand that we are greatly influenced by what we see on TV or glossy magazines.

Dalip Kumar and Pran are no different than my grandfather who believes that there were no artists as they were in his time. KL Sehagal was his idol and Mohammad Rafi and Kishore had no idea what real music should be.

When I go to see a movie I fully expect the manner in a woman and men are dressed and its acceptable to me.

You are right next door you can show us how its done.

Dalip Kumar and Pran are no different than my grandfather who believes that there were no artists as they were in his time. KL Sehagal was his idol and Mohammad Rafi and Kishore had no idea what real music should be.

When I go to see a movie I fully expect the manner in a woman and men are dressed and its acceptable to me.

You are right next door you can show us how its done.

We will show you how it's done in a few short years by reintroducing you to what you once were, a morally upright people with strong values of their own, inshallah. Certainly soft porn movies are acceptable to you because you're paying for them yet that doesn't make it correct.

The 50's and 60's Bollywood is called the "golden period of Indian cinema" due to the superior actors of that era like Dilip Kumar and Pran who are still remembered so they need not prove anything to the likes of yourself! By comparison no one will remember these pimp Khan's of today, Aishwarya Rai or any of your popstars fifty years from now 'cos Bollywood ain't about acting or producing original Music anymore! The whole thing is manufactured...

I judge a great artist by their staying power!. Pak produced some real good movies prior to the VCR generation, i've often noticed how we never use any swear words in our movies too. Our drama's have always been great viewing though the standard has somewhat dropped over the last decade.

The fundamental point is that the Bollywood movies of today with all their lust and violence are corrupting the youth!

We will show you how it's done in a few short years by reintroducing you to what you once were, a morally upright people with strong values of their own, inshallah. Certainly soft porn movies are acceptable to you because you're paying for them yet that doesn't make it correct.

The 50's and 60's Bollywood is called the "golden period of Indian cinema" due to the superior actors of that era like Dilip Kumar and Pran who are still remembered so they need not prove anything to the likes of yourself! By comparison no one will remember these pimp Khan's of today, Aishwarya Rai or any of your popstars fifty years from now 'cos Bollywood ain't about acting or producing original Music anymore! The whole thing is manufactured...

I judge a great artist by their staying power!. Pak produced some real good movies prior to the VCR generation, i've often noticed how we never use any swear words in our movies too. Our drama's have always been great viewing though the standard has somewhat dropped over the last decade.

The fundamental point is that the Bollywood movies of today with all their lust and violence are corrupting the youth!

Let me say in conclusion that Bollywood may have lost you as an audience but Indian culture has found a huge audience and fan base in every country.

Incase it missed you that i've not denied the reach of Bollywood as mentioned in my first post! However, don't give me this rubbish of it represening Indian culture when women dress in western attire and men in nothing at all! There is nothing Indian about Bollywood but watch it all you want, i couldn't care less!

There is even a anti-Bollywood Indian group on facebook!!!

Incase it missed you that i've not denied the reach of Bollywood as mentioned in my first post! However, don't give me this rubbish of it represening Indian culture when women dress in western attire and men in nothing at all! There is nothing Indian about Bollywood but watch it all you want, i couldn't care less!

There is even a anti-Bollywood Indian group on facebook!!!
Well to say that there is nothing Indian about Bollywood is quite far fetched and not true. The society has undergone a change not in India alone, but all over the world in terms of thinking, dressing and many other aspects and that reflects in films everywhere.. But yes I still like the golden era of 50's and 60's. Here is one song from that era.....enjoy!

Nice song, i do enjoy Shashi Kapoor and Rajesh Khanna movies! Don't confuse society with Bollywood, there are many who have not sold their culture. The point still is that Bollywood today is about dressing down not up because they've sold out to the west!

Muslim nations in particular have resisted westernisation to a large degree despite the political mess.

Nice song, i do enjoy Shashi Kapoor and Rajesh Khanna movies! Don't confuse society with Bollywood, there are many who have not sold their culture. The point still is that Bollywood today is about dressing down not up because they've sold out to the west!

Muslim nations in particular have resisted westernisation to a large degree despite the political mess.
I am not confused at all, but then to each onto his own.
Here is one gem of your favourite actor....although its pure magic by one and only KishoreDa.

chandbibi

mere angane me tumhara kya kaam hai, jo hai naam wala wohi to badnaam hai. Bollywood has become big enough to become infamous!
Simple message if you don't like it don't watch it. It doesn't represent culture or any such thing.It is a source of entertainment for people and that's just about it. Some bollywood movies can be termed classics, but by and large bollywood is a masala factory, and a mighty successful one. Somebody mentioned Urdu. Well Hindi/ Urdu are both Indian languages and all over the world these movies are known as Hindi movies. Infact Urdu is the reason why Bollywood is so popular in Pakistan isn't it? We must thank Mohammed Ali Jinnah for popularising urdu - an indian language in pakistan. Thank you very much.

Certainly many people don't watch Bollywood so we don't need to hear this from you! If Urdu is an Indian language in Pakistan then let me equally insist that there are many "Indian's" who are ethnically Pakistani!

Yesteryear gem's Dilip Kumar and Madhubala both originate from Peshawar as does Pakistan loving Shahrukh Khan, Vinod Khanna, late Feroz Khan and his family and above all the entire Kapoor clan!. Dev Anand, Pran and Manoj Kumar have their roots in Lahore...all these people are "ethnically Pakistanis", Kader Khan is originally from Balochistan and there are also many from our Sindh region.

Without the contribution of these ethnic Pakistanis Bollywood would not be what it is today!.

Certainly many people don't watch Bollywood so we don't need to hear this from you! If Urdu is an Indian language in Pakistan then let me equally insist that there are many "Indian's" who are ethnically Pakistani!

Yesteryear gem's Dilip Kumar and Madhubala both originate from Peshawar as does Pakistan loving Shahrukh Khan, Vinod Khanna, late Feroz Khan and his family and above all the entire Kapoor clan!. Dev Anand, Pran and Manoj Kumar have their roots in Lahore...all these people are "ethnically Pakistanis", Kader Khan is originally from Balochistan and there are also many from our Sindh region.

Without the contribution of these ethnic Pakistanis Bollywood would not be what it is today!.

Yes many of Indians are technically of Pakistani origins at the time Pakistani side was one of the center of arts and culture it gave the world the great story teller Waris Shah (Indian Agent). Unfortunately those days all long gone and lets hope that Pakistan once again becomes place of art and culture.

hans

Indian moves have taken a full circle, they are more matured and serious, I am referring to Parallel Cinema . Some movies that stand's out.

1) Anwar
2) LSD
3) The world of Apu
4) Mr And Mrs Lyer
5) Dev D
6) Dor
7) Silent Water
8) Maqbool
9) In Custody < This movie truly reflect death of Urdu language as an identity, another movie that come to my mind
Shatranj Ke Khilari

Chess+Players+Poster+UK.jpg

chandbibi

We are not fighting over who is ethnically from which part. North Indians dominate Hindi film industry but this is where your myopic view about India needs to change. India has flourishing regional cinema too. Hindi is a language of north indians, obviously it will be dominated by them. You dont need to say anything about who watches what. Watch your tv shows. You know the realities better. And what does accepting truth do to you anyway. Bollywood is watched in so many countries. They are not apologetic about it. Similarly we love the fact that we have people whose roots lie in what is now called pakistan.But please do not forget that India is more than bollywood. Shahrukh Khan is born in India and he attained success in Mumbai. He was given the opportunity because he had the talent to succeed and there was a thriving industry that offered him that opportunity. Had his father stayed back in peshawar god knows who shahrukh khan might have become?So its not just about the people, it is about the environment and also encouragement given to arts and culture in India. If you have pride in Indian film stars because their forefathers belong to what is now pakistan, then also say with conviction that you have pride in bollywood. Don't follow double standards.

Bret Hawk

I have respect for Indian parallel cinema and for those exquisite artists, film directors and producers who have had played their exceptional role in the last few decades to promote the concepts of realism in order to highlight the issues of common working and poor class of Indians along with the psychological development of some of those powerful characters who were seemingly belonged to the under privileged class of this region.

As far as the debate of commercialism and realistic cinema is concern then I definitely profess that the boundaries of ethical and moral values should not be crossed in the name of entertainment and projection to the wide spectrum of audiences of the world especially among the Urdu / Hindi speaking diaspora. Talking about the commercial demands and dynamics of Indian cinema have a look on these clips for instance which were one of the biggest revenue earning flicks of their respective era;

Just having a look on the above four extraordinary clips of India’s commercial and art flicks of yesteryears can strike the strings of refined aesthetics of any sensible viewer. The words which are associated with these sequences just purely give the feeling of descending pearls in the elixir of honey and pure milk. The second person phrases like “Aap” and highly delicate and respectful tones of “Baat Kijye” “Sun Lijye” for instance were used to be the norms of those movies even in the commercial mainstream cinema of India but nowadays Indian cinema seems to definitely have lost its values and soul.

The terms of emotional escapism, opium of feigned dwelling in imaginary world and lewd scenes and sequences of drama and dance have spoiled the real beauty of the current commercial cinema and one can expect the eventual downfall of viewer’s aesthetic tastes and choices as well in the past few decades.

The curse of market forces along with the compulsions of financial donors have also crippled the artistic flora of Indian industry to such extent that bar for some Aamir Khan’s selective line of movies one can rarely expect an aberration from those run of the mill trashes which Bollywood seems to be producing nowadays. Surely entertainment and light subject matters can be presented in a decent and articulate manner without resorting to unnecessary skin shows or glorifying anti social & taboo subjects in such a manner as if they seem to have no adverse effect on their targeted audiences.

Powerful and meaningful storylines along with delicate poetry of words in songs seems to have become the relics of the past as in recent memory I haven’t seen those delicacies even in recent art movies of the parallel cinema of India. I think the spirit of Satayjit Ray, Mahboob Khan, K. Asif, Bimal Roy, Shyam Benegal and the likes of these extinct species and their conceptual methodologies are needed to be revived in the current phase of Indian cinema if they want to gain the attention of more sensible and critical viewers of the world in near future.

Powerful and original script, refined line of refined and innovative directors and performers along with making the base of the songs on classical Hindustani and Carnatic Ragaas are the key areas where Indian film industry, mainly its commercial strand is needed to work in a great deal and manner in order to revive its flailing fortunes (One can go through the trade reports of main Hindi commercial movies in the last decade in this regard to get the clear and realistic picture of their concocted myths of grandiosity and influence in local and world markets).

We are not fighting over who is ethnically from which part. North Indians dominate Hindi film industry but this is where your myopic view about India needs to change. India has flourishing regional cinema too. Hindi is a language of north indians, obviously it will be dominated by them. You dont need to say anything about who watches what. Watch your tv shows. You know the realities better. And what does accepting truth do to you anyway. Bollywood is watched in so many countries. They are not apologetic about it. Similarly we love the fact that we have people whose roots lie in what is now called pakistan.But please do not forget that India is more than bollywood. Shahrukh Khan is born in India and he attained success in Mumbai. He was given the opportunity because he had the talent to succeed and there was a thriving industry that offered him that opportunity. Had his father stayed back in peshawar god knows who shahrukh khan might have become?So its not just about the people, it is about the environment and also encouragement given to arts and culture in India. If you have pride in Indian film stars because their forefathers belong to what is now pakistan, then also say with conviction that you have pride in bollywood. Don't follow double standards.

The point is that if Indian's consider Urdu to be their language then we won't hesitate to remind you of our massive contribution in the region only that you people think you own the entire subcontinent! It's your views not mine that need reconsidering, ancient Pakistan was always a seperate entity!

I don't need to hear from you as to what i should or should not watch so go and preach on your own website as this is a PAKISTANI one! You're welcome to Shahrukh Khan...us Pakistanis don't claim him rather it is he who keeps telling all about his roots and love for Pakistan, had he remained in Pesh he could have become a great Cricketer or Squash player! I don't have pride in these artists whatsoever however if you people attempt to hijack Urdu then we can do the same.

We have much talent in our nation too with great musician's and drama's that air regularly to the delight of millions!. You wouldn't know that we also have regional drama's in Sindhi, Pashtoon, Punjabi, Saraiki...Urdu is considered to be the mainstream one!

The point is that if Indian's consider Urdu to be their language then we won't hesitate to remind you of our massive contribution in the region only that you people think you own the entire subcontinent! It's your views not mine that need reconsidering, ancient Pakistan was always a seperate entity!

I don't need to hear from you as to what i should or should not watch so go and preach on your own website as this is a PAKISTANI one! You're welcome to Shahrukh Khan...us Pakistanis don't claim him rather it is he who keeps telling all about his roots and love for Pakistan, had he remained in Pesh he could have become a great Cricketer or Squash player! I don't have pride in these artists whatsoever however if you people attempt to hijack Urdu then we can do the same.

We have much talent in our nation too with great musician's and drama's that air regularly to the delight of millions!. You wouldn't know that we also have regional drama's in Sindhi, Pashtoon, Punjabi, Saraiki...Urdu is considered to be the mainstream one!

You are right Pakistani side WAS a major contributor to art and knowledge it is known as Punjab and Sindh at one time it was called Indus or Hind not by us but by outsiders.

In all honesty Urdu is an Import for you directly from heart of India.

I have respect for Indian parallel cinema and for those exquisite artists, film directors and producers who have had played their exceptional role in the last few decades to promote the concepts of realism in order to highlight the issues of common working and poor class of Indians along with the psychological development of some of those powerful characters who were seemingly belonged to the under privileged class of this region.

As far as the debate of commercialism and realistic cinema is concern then I definitely profess that the boundaries of ethical and moral values should not be crossed in the name of entertainment and projection to the wide spectrum of audiences of the world especially among the Urdu / Hindi speaking diaspora. Talking about the commercial demands and dynamics of Indian cinema have a look on these clips for instance which were one of the biggest revenue earning flicks of their respective era;

Just having a look on the above four extraordinary clips of India’s commercial and art flicks of yesteryears can strike the strings of refined aesthetics of any sensible viewer. The words which are associated with these sequences just purely give the feeling of descending pearls in the elixir of honey and pure milk. The second person phrases like “Aap” and highly delicate and respectful tones of “Baat Kijye” “Sun Lijye” for instance were used to be the norms of those movies even in the commercial mainstream cinema of India but nowadays Indian cinema seems to definitely have lost its values and soul.

The terms of emotional escapism, opium of feigned dwelling in imaginary world and lewd scenes and sequences of drama and dance have spoiled the real beauty of the current commercial cinema and one can expect the eventual downfall of viewer’s aesthetic tastes and choices as well in the past few decades.

The curse of market forces along with the compulsions of financial donors have also crippled the artistic flora of Indian industry to such extent that bar for some Aamir Khan’s selective line of movies one can rarely expect an aberration from those run of the mill trashes which Bollywood seems to be producing nowadays. Surely entertainment and light subject matters can be presented in a decent and articulate manner without resorting to unnecessary skin shows or glorifying anti social & taboo subjects in such a manner as if they seem to have no adverse effect on their targeted audiences.

Powerful and meaningful storylines along with delicate poetry of words in songs seems to have become the relics of the past as in recent memory I haven’t seen those delicacies even in recent art movies of the parallel cinema of India. I think the spirit of Satayjit Ray, Mahboob Khan, K. Asif, Bimal Roy, Shyam Benegal and the likes of these extinct species and their conceptual methodologies are needed to be revived in the current phase of Indian cinema if they want to gain the attention of more sensible and critical viewers of the world in near future.

Powerful and original script, refined line of refined and innovative directors and performers along with making the base of the songs on classical Hindustani and Carnatic Ragaas are the key areas where Indian film industry, mainly its commercial strand is needed to work in a great deal and manner in order to revive its flailing fortunes (One can go through the trade reports of main Hindi commercial movies in the last decade in this regard to get the clear and realistic picture of their concocted myths of grandiosity and influence in local and world markets).

Good to see a real fan of art who doesn't care where it comes from.

desh1857

You r funny 63 yrs old nation ancient Pakistan :lol::lol::lol:
go back to school and learn History my friend

chandbibi

Urdu is an Indian language.It originated in the heartland of India. Why would anybody want to hijack this fact? All these people you mentioned left their hometowns in Unified India long before Pakistan was created. They were citizens of British India . Talent always makes its way to where it gets recognised. You have lot of talent. I agree 100%, but i don't know what you are fighting about? Bollywood isn't the be all and end all. All these indians who migrated from north India to mumbai came because they wanted to follow their desire to act. And the film industry has always been in Mumbai. Where is the question of India and Pakistan coming into this. Even today Pakistani talent continues to contribute to Indian cinema. And what's wrong with that? Its very welcome. I think all the ethnic groups in our sub continent are awesome and have their own distinct culture and its great that we can still have common things to discuss nearly 64 years after partition.

You r funny 63 yrs old nation ancient Pakistan :lol::lol::lol:
go back to school and learn History my friend

It's you who needs to be liberated from his temple doctrine of Akhand Bharat that never existed, you must also believe in the toothfairy??:P!! You're taught in India that Afghanistan and parts of the Middle East also belong to you, must see a shrink ASAP:lol::lol:

Nevermind atleast the invading Muslim and British armies gave you some identity so you should be thankful to them!!![hilar][hilar]

An ignorant like you shouldn't worry about the educational qualifications of other people unless you want a spanking!(clap)

" India is a geographical term. It is no more a united nation then the equator"
Winston Churchill.

The very man also referred to the founding father of your nation Mahathma Gandhi as "a half naked fakeer"..:lol:(bigsmile)