What is Tablighi Jamaat?

mrk123

In this Paksitan which is brimming with impatience, intolerance and pessimism I love your patience and optimism :-)
Lets wait and hope for 100 or more for people's hearts to change.....verdict is still out and most probably will be out for quite a few generations.

Though, I have a minute point to make - I guess that TJ is not trying to change the heart of people what they are doing is to correct the mistakes in their rituals. I am not sure if I have seen the much change of heart. I have hardly see the kindhearted group of TJs, after months of chillas, going out to lend a hand to the oppressed, exploited or the millions suffering....but I take it that they are making people better at performing rituals but not particularly better individuals.

I am sure as you have spent time with them most here have stories of their interaction with TJ and people can recount countless good or bad experiences.

i agree with you.. tats what the TJ point is.. u cant chage a society unless u change the ppl.... it might take 100 years .... theres no short way out... what ive seen from my dealing with TJ is theyre the most sane ppl out of the lot.. they dont ask for chanda, or wall chalk as in chalo chalo raiwind chalo... or use huge loud speakers... like in shabe-e-jumma u cant even listen what the sermon is standing just outside the wall of the mosque.... they never indulge in inter country issues.. which they know they cant solve or add value .....

their point is simple.. change the hearts of the peopple and the world will change... and its a slow process...

amajid.malik

The problem with all sorts of jamats is that they have a particular world view and when you join them , slowly they make you follower of that world view. In other words, they put a box around your thinking and you have the same take on religious,political and social issues. From size of beard to colour of turban or style of clothing, once can identify who belongs to which jamaat or religious group. I stay away from all kind but do listen to good scholars of any school of thought.

cefspan

That's is different approach Mr Barca otherwise can you name any Waliullah or Aima like Mr Abu Haneefa, Abu Malik, Imam Bukhari etc. who have not been involved in the then Politics but still they have millions of followers.

For Example, Imam Abu Hinafah, He Was Jailed For STANDING UP TO THE KING. ~_~ I mean That. Amar Bil Maroof Nahi Anil Munkir. Calling Out Loud About A Wrong Deed. Telling The Mighty Where They Are Wrong.(serious)

brilTek

Tablighi jama'at is just another show off for being religious while doing all the looting and plundering during normal days. You might generally get this dialogue in markets tablighi hai bach ke rehna kha jayega molvi.

They would keep insisting that you can't ever learn deen till you go out with them, if you insist that you want to stay home and learn it, they would deem and label you hopeless and paste a statement upon you that you don't want to live your life the good way. I was with them for a couple of years, day and night and I wasn't very impressed albeit during a few early days.

Well this is new for me --- I have never heard this and last I visited Pakistan, is 3 years ago.

The most honest person I've dealt with, happened to be part of this jamaat --- that's inspired me to attend their gatherings.

Anyway every community have black sheep --- Will you consider yourself a 'terrorist' because some Muslims did actually slaughter innocent humans? I'm sure your reply will be negative. I can assure none of the 'zimaadaar' (persons who were assigned responsibilities ) will ever advise to loot and plunder.

Lastly, there are many ways to get Allah subhan talaah blessings --- You can become Aaalim, Mufti, hafiz or shaheed. Going out with jaamaat is for those who already missed the train, and this requires least effort.

---
brilTek

I used to debat ewith my tabeelghi friends about the ways.. n he jsut kept on saying come with us on a seh roza... and when i did.. i didnt get answers to those questions and the questions became totally irrelevant..

as u said.. no phone no laptop nothing.. it was peaceful and n had my best salaats during that time.. like if felt really good after praying.....
I went to the jamat on 2 separate occasions just for the weekend. It was interesting. No internet, no email, no financial news, no economic books. It was challenging 1st but then the mind starts to calm down. In our batch there was a University of Texas Professor. Mashallah fulltime Molana sahab. Lekin what a fun guy he was! It was interesting to watch him teach us about the Akeeda while joking around with us.

i think ur confusing the TJ with some one else.. they dont talk tat ,much abt correcting the rituals.. yes they mention this shu dbe done tat way.. but in theri lecutres during seh roza... its only abt Allah and eeman and praying.. not how to pray....

i aigree with you on god and bad/.... ive seen ppl with TJ in teh same lot of critisizing other sna debating TJ way is the best.. but then again .. if they do it in the jamaat.. theyll be told not to....
In this Paksitan which is brimming with impatience, intolerance and pessimism I love your patience and optimism :-)
Lets wait and hope for 100 or more for people's hearts to change.....verdict is still out and most probably will be out for quite a few generations.

Though, I have a minute point to make - I guess that TJ is not trying to change the heart of people what they are doing is to correct the mistakes in their rituals. I am not sure if I have seen the much change of heart. I have hardly see the kindhearted group of TJs, after months of chillas, going out to lend a hand to the oppressed, exploited or the millions suffering....but I take it that they are making people better at performing rituals but not particularly better individuals.

I am sure as you have spent time with them most here have stories of their interaction with TJ and people can recount countless good or bad experiences.

mrk123

My belief is that even if I strongly disagree with someone's ideology and way of life as long as they are not trying to encroach on my space they are free to do whatever pleases them.

Lets leave it at that - that I am confused ;-)

i think ur confusing the TJ with some one else.. they dont talk tat ,much abt correcting the rituals.. yes they mention this shu dbe done tat way.. but in theri lecutres during seh roza... its only abt Allah and eeman and praying.. not how to pray....

i aigree with you on god and bad/.... ive seen ppl with TJ in teh same lot of critisizing other sna debating TJ way is the best.. but then again .. if they do it in the jamaat.. theyll be told not to....

AsifAmeer

We went to Lousiana. There was a small masjid there. During our first Fajr, there was NO ONE who showed up from the locals. In the afternoon, we went for a "GUSHT", say so many stores run by Arabs, Indians, Pakistanis.. muslims. Later a old man came to the masjid and said, please teach someone here how to give Gusul to a dead body, I dont wanna be buried without one when i die." I mean that was pretty shocking. Made me realize that these things are just for "others" to learn but for me too. Lekin I do not have the stomach for it.

Mujhe aysa lagta hai.. har cheez apni had mein achi lagti hai. Whether be it wealth or religion.

I used to debat ewith my tabeelghi friends about the ways.. n he jsut kept on saying come with us on a seh roza... and when i did.. i didnt get answers to those questions and the questions became totally irrelevant..

as u said.. no phone no laptop nothing.. it was peaceful and n had my best salaats during that time.. like if felt really good after praying.....

Temojin

Well this is new for me --- I have never heard this and last I visited Pakistan, is 3 years ago.

The most honest person I've dealt with, happened to be part of this jamaat --- that's inspired me to attend their gatherings.

Anyway every community have black sheep --- Will you consider yourself a 'terrorist' because some Muslims did actually slaughter innocent humans? I'm sure your reply will be negative. I can assure none of the 'zimaadaar' (persons who were assigned responsibilities ) will ever advise to loot and plunder.

Lastly, there are many ways to get Allah subhan talaah blessings --- You can become Aaalim, Mufti, hafiz or shaheed. Going out with jaamaat is for those who already missed the train, and this requires least effort.

---
brilTek

So if you had a few persons who were good, does that mean all jama'at is good. I have been with them for two years day and night and I don't go or be with people just for the sake of it or don't learn for that matter my mate. I wouldn't consider myself a terrorist because I fight that ideology and its carriers openly who call themselves Muslims but are takfeeris. So the formula doesn't imply here, innit?

I assure you that whenever dealing with a tablighi, market people are always worried that some bad thing would come out of the deal. Moreover, their dealings with TTP people aren't hidden anymore so what say???