Solar Drones- India's new breakthrough!

M_Adnan.L

2264ae2f019911466b03efc6849ff0ab.jpg

c0bcc3c25a4c6acb83133e4d7db05deb.gif

M_Adnan.L

After combat drones, India eyes solar-powered UAVs capable of flying for a fortnight

NEW DELHI: After launching development of stealth UCAVs (unmanned combat aerial vehicles), India is now also looking at designing solar-powered spy drones which can cruise in the sky for several days at a time.

The high-altitude, long endurance (HALE) solar-powered UAV will not just reduce Indian military's carbon footprint but more importantly provide a cost-effective and flexible 24x7 ISTAR (intelligence, surveillance, target acquisition and reconnaissance) platform akin to "a pseudo-satellite'' orbiting closer to the ground.

"Yes, Army and IAF have asked us to develop the solar-powered HALE UAV. Initial work is in progress for such a drone which can undertake a 15-day continuous flight over 30,000-feet,'' DRDO's chief controller R&D (aeronautics) Dr Prahlada told TOI.

The drone will harvest solar energy during the day, storing it in fuel cells to provide power for electric motors for night flying. "Solar efficiency is low but we are looking at a payload of around 50kg (sensors, cameras etc). We will seek some collaboration from either US or European companies,'' said Dr Prahlada.

This comes at a time when several international aviation majors are doing cutting-edge research on solar UAVs. Boeing, for instance, is developing a UAV with a 400-feet wingspan, called Solar Eagle, which can operate continuously for an astonishing five years. It is being described as a "zero-maintenance, launch-and-leave UAV''.

With remotely-piloted spy as well as combat drones being seen as major force-multipliers or game-changers in modern-day warfare, DRDO has launched a series of UAV programmes for Indian armed forces, which have largely depended on Israeli drones like Searchers and Herons till now.

As was first reported by TOI recently, this includes the secretive AURA (autonomous unmanned research aircraft) programme to develop UCAVs capable of firing missiles, bombs and PGMs (precision-guided munitions).

The Cabinet Committee on Security has also now cleared a Rs 1,500 crore DRDO project to develop the Rustom-H MALE (medium-altitude, long-endurance) drone, capable of operating for 24 hours with a 350-kg payload. "Its first flight will take place in two years,'' said Dr Prahlada.

Then, of course, there is the smaller Rustom-I drone, with an 8-12 hour endurance and a 100-kg payload, as well as the already-developed Nishant UAV, which has a 4.5 hour endurance level.

Army, in fact, has projected a requirement of seven "troops'' (akin to squadrons) of Rustom drones. As for Nishants, Dr Prahlada said, "Army has already inducted four such drones, which can be launched from hydro-pneumatic launchers without the need of runways, while eight more are being manufactured.''

"Nishants can carry electro-optical, electronic intelligence and communication intelligence payloads so the home ministry is also interested,'' added.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...-to-be-eye-in-the-sky/articleshow/8069041.cms

M_Adnan.L

For RUSTOM-H Tatas, Larsen and Toubro, Godrej and Hindustan Aeronautics Limited-Bharat Electronics

these companies ...were selected from 23 ...

cefspan

the point is simple , Indains have launched a satellite , thats evident enough , moreover they also have contracts with Israelian Artillery companies.....

FaisalLatif

just starting a program for drones does not automatically mean it will be successful. see how the indian missile program and their argun tank fiasco turned out to be, even after decades of research, both are considered a waste of money and mega failures.

mdanishtaha

Pakistani govt indai ka drone attackers dakh kar talia mary gay....dub kar mar jay ye gandy siasat dan...

swing

Dont to u think k india ki ziada ter khabrain aisee hootee hai -------- o a muj say dero mai badmash hoon ---------
(waisay agar aisa sach much hai tou well its good for india)

T

terex

the point is simple , Indains have launched a satellite , thats evident enough , moreover they also have contracts with Israelian Artillery companies.....

India has been launching satellites(indigenous) from its indigenous launch vehicles for last 20 years!!

They even sent a chandrayaan to moon!!

Since now they have no sanction,the work should progress fast.

T

terex

just starting a program for drones does not automatically mean it will be successful. see how the indian missile program and their argun tank fiasco turned out to be, even after decades of research, both are considered a waste of money and mega failures.

Arjun tank is in service for last 2months

The Arjun entered service with the Indian Army on 12 March 2011. The tanks were first inducted into the 75th Armoured Regiment in Jaisalmer, replacing T-55 tanks.[10]

http://articles.timesofindia.indiat...arjun-tank-armoured-regiment-southern-command

Which missiles program of india has failed??

India doesnt test chinese made missiles with 100% success rate.It designs and makes them with their own capability!!
Every missiles in development fail.

Even LCA which took 25 years to make ,is finally going to be inducted by end of this year

India has been launching satellites(indigenous) from its indigenous launch vehicles for last 20 years!!

They even sent a chandrayaan to moon!!

Since now they have no sanction,the work should progress fast.

Oh boy, some people just do not accept the reality, what a shame.[hilar][hilar]
Please watch this, it will give you the honest answer to your lofty claims.

The Arjun entered service with the Indian Army on 12 March 2011. The tanks were first inducted into the 75th Armoured Regiment in Jaisalmer, replacing T-55 tanks.[10]

http://articles.timesofindia.indiat...arjun-tank-armoured-regiment-southern-command

India doesnt test chinese made missiles with 100% success rate.It designs and makes them with their own capability!!

Even LCA which took 25 years to make ,is finally going to be inducted by end of this year

Terex,

Well we know the reality of your indigenous weapons, they all were Russian indigenous weapons once, before technology transfer to India.

Please, look at this Indian TV report on duds in Indian armoury, it is apparent, you can not even manage and use the foreign produced weapons. Once you receive them and tinkered with them, even the tested and deployed weapons with other countries do not work in Indian hands.[hilar][hilar][hilar]

FaisalLatif

the tank is under development since 1983. yes, thats right, not 1993 but 1983. Ofcourse it was called "Chetek" at the time. The the project froze and was restarted in 1985 and was named "Arjun". So almost 28 years and there was faults till last year. Not me saying it, ur own indian newspapers are. As of the last tests conducted in 2008, there were massive failures.

See the Indian express article http://www.indianexpress.com/news/mod-calls-for-probe-into-arjun-tank-failure/301315/ for details.

Or perhaps u might want to look at the article by IndiaDaily.com titled Failure of Arjun Tank is an example of failed Indian technocrats running after quick money American body shop contracts by Harish Biligaon http://www.indiadaily.com/editorial/19807.asp

and how about http://frontierindia.net/indian-army%E2%80%99s-claims-over-arjun-tank-was-expected from Frontier India the list goes on and on. The cost has exceeded 25 times than originally expected!!!

And as for ur missile program, enjoy this video

and, if u are still proud of ur nuclear capabilities, how about this, ur atomic scientist calling ur test failure

or how about this

and munna, answer me something. Who invented the first car? American right. Whose automobile industry is bankrupt now? and Who is leading the world in automobiles? Exactly!

and as for the indigenous program? Arjun has a German turret, and a Russian engine. ur drones come from Israel, so does ur patriot missile shield.

plus why buy a cow, when u can get milk from the supermarket? why waste 40 years, significant time, money and resources to attain indigenous technology, why not instead get them from friends, ask for technology transfer and then make them ourselves. the point is to defend ourselves and modernize the defense infrastructure, not to repeat India blunders and come up with failures for 30 years and in the end get it right with much loss of time and treasure.

hope to hear a reply soon....

O i so wish i can go on and on and on. but for now, these examples are enough. lets save other for some other time

T

terex

The tank is finally inducted!!Russian weapons are unreliable and chinese weapons are like cheap chinese toys!!
Weapons system preciseness and perfection cant be said from 1 or 2 media reports!Americans have mastered it after R&D of 100 years!!

Israel is a reliable partner in technology but india is developing almost everything with limited help.

We made a decent kaveri engine after 25 years of investment.even china has not been able to make a reliable engine .So with little technology assistance we can aim to produce engine for all our future weapons..Pakistan is busy importing everything from china!!
India is making its own AWACS and radars on embrarer brazil aircrafts.
India has been able to make LCA and it can use this experience to make 4.5 generation aircraft!!
It has been able to produce space craft and Launch vehicles which pakistan cant dream of in next 25 years!!

Dont worry about indian nuclear program its older,reliable and progressive compared to cloned chinese technolgy!!
We have indigenous thorium reactors for electricity generation which very few nations including russia,china didnt have!!
Research in nuclear technology and life sciences are happening on large scale!!

You all simply cant compete with a nation which is 10 times bigger than you in every field!!
(except land size)

T

terex

Terex,

Well we know the reality of your indigenous weapons, they all were Russian indigenous weapons once, before technology transfer to India.

Please, look at this Indian TV report on duds in Indian armoury, it is apparent, you can not even manage and use the foreign produced weapons. Once you receive them and tinkered with them, even the tested and deployed weapons with other countries do not work in Indian hands.[hilar][hilar][hilar]

none of this weapons are indigenous !!Not even media says that they are made in india!!
India knows where to procure weapons from!!Israel is reliable partner with no clauses ,americans weapons are bought with no electronics in it which is developed by indian company at home!!

Most of this weapons are being developed by in house technology which although may be not as good as american weapons but it will surely help india in developing its own weapons..

Not to forget that india private companies have started investing a lot of money in defense technology!!

so we will soon some rapid industrialization of defense industry in india in this decade

Useless effort similar to what they did in missile branch. Such efforts have lot to do with putting psycological pressure on enemy than a reality effect. Just think, what a solar drone could better? Saving energy and long flying times? That is why Useless effort. Better invest money in missil sector that they may hit target.

Allhamdulillah Pakistan is much advanced in Atom and missile sector. Genius Pakistani brains are working in this area. I know it because i met those young talent and i am Proud of them.

The tank is finally inducted!!Russian weapons are unreliable and chinese weapons are like cheap chinese toys!!
Weapons system preciseness and perfection cant be said from 1 or 2 media reports!Americans have mastered it after R&D of 100 years!!

The tank is finally inducted is based on Russian weapons technology, thank you for admitting it is unreliable. You are not alone in the assessment of your junk "Arjun" tank, your army rejected it, and only procured it for training purposes. For fighting they went for "real" T-90 tanks, Russian made, which you think are not reliable. Would you give this advice to your military not to buy unreliable weapons?

No wonder your inventory is full of junks. what a shame despite showing your own media reports you are still insisting like a fool. Listen to the comments of the presenter of one of the video. He said, the weapons which are tested in pristine conditions, do not seems to work in Indian hands.[hilar][hilar][hilar]

We know, why your so-called indigenous weapons regularly failed and why it took almost 3 decades to built after over run of costs and at the end the Indian army still got duds on their hands. :lol::lol:

I must admire you for stupidity though to defend the un-defensible .

Israel is a reliable partner in technology but india is developing almost everything with limited help.

Once you get all the help from the kits to technical know how, you will declare them as indigenous weapons. :P

We made a decent kaveri engine after 25 years of investment.even china has not been able to make a reliable engine .So with little technology assistance we can aim to produce engine for all our future weapons..Pakistan is busy importing everything from china!!

If Kaveri was good, why your DRDO didn't use this engine in LCA? Why they fitted it with imported Engine first for test flights? You keep repeating little technology assistance. Who knows how little, indications are you got full technological assistance from Russia and now from your new friend the Israel.

India is making its own AWACS and radars on embrarer brazil aircrafts.

Please tell us why Indians have bought AWACS planes from Israel in 2009 when as much as I remember the plan to produce indigenous AWACS was announced in 2004, with a time line of 6/7 years? Did DRDO realised their (pipe) dreams of so-called indigenous AWACS would meet the same fate, like many other projects in the past. [hilar][hilar][hilar]

India has been able to make LCA and it can use this experience to make 4.5 generation aircraft!!
well, well, when you be able to induct your LCA a 3rd generation aircraft in numbers, then please come back and tell us super stories about your 4.5 generation pipe dream.:lol:

It has been able to produce space craft and Launch vehicles which pakistan cant dream of in next 25 years!!

You have answered your own riddle above. let me simplify it for you. It took you almost 30 years to produce a 3rd generation aircraft, that is not yet inducted with full operational capacity.

Your pipe dream of 4.5 generation will take another 20/25 years.
You next super pipe dream of producing of space craft would take another 20/25 years. This makes a total of 40/50 years or even more, who knows.

Pakistan got their 4th generation aircraft JF17 in co-production with China in less than half of the time it took you to develop LCA. It is operational with two squadron strength now. While you are still waiting for LCA deployment.
Another Aircraft Pakistan took part in design and development with China is J10 or FC20 the Pakistani name for their version. It will be inducted in PF with in a year or so. It is reportedly a 4.5 generation aircraft. Are you getting my drift? what you are describing about Pakistan, has already partly happened and part will happened in next year or so. Same goes for AWACS Pakistan took part in the development and production of AWACS with China. 4 Planes with Pakistani requirements are already delivered to PAF few months ago.

You keep dreaming man, dreaming is good for you, DRDO wants you to keep dreaming, so they can waste few billions more in coming 2/3 decades on the name of indigenous weapons.(bigsmile)

Dont worry about indian nuclear program its older,reliable and progressive compared to cloned chinese technolgy!!
We have indigenous thorium reactors for electricity generation which very few nations including russia,china didnt have!!
Research in nuclear technology and life sciences are happening on large scale!!

Nuclear test was a failure according to your scientist, reported by your own media. It proves reliability of your nuclear program and your lofty claims. Has it progress from Pokhran's disaster? Have you conducted another test to become nuclear nation first?

I will burst your buble about life sciences too. American companies are using India as a guinea pig for their life sciences and medicines. India does not have much controls and regulations which allows Americans to do things which are difficult for them to do in America.

You all simply cant compete with a nation which is 10 times bigger than you in every field!!
(except land size)

You are right, we cannot compete with your nation. Who says we are competing?

We are leading you, we are miles ahead of you, in every field of weapons production, be it Al-Khalid tanks, JF17, soon to be FC20, missiles, nuclear technology. Western journals now write Pakistan is the 4th largest nuclear power in the World, even over taken GB and France. According to your own scientist, your nuclear tests failed, they were fizzle rather than a blast. This mean you are not strictly a nuclear nation, but India is fooling the world like you are trying to fool us about your indigenous technology.:lol:

I will finish this post of another project, PAKFA, India and Russia's co-production. India's co-operation in the project? Billions of dollars, rest is all Russian. But I am sure after a decade or so, when you receive kits for assembly in India, it would become an indigenous aircraft.

Please remember, what your reporter said, "the weapons tested in pristine conditions became duds in Indian hands". You have done the same with Brahmos, be careful before you do the same with your most expensive indigenous toy to date.[hilar]

T

terex

1.Arjun tank is better than T 90 tanks
http://www.business-standard.com/india/news/arjun-tank-outruns-outguns-russian-t-90/389650/

2.LCA is better than JF 17
JF17 is made in china and merely assembled in pakistan
LCA is close to 4 Technology and few things missing will make it 4 but pakistan jf17 is not even 3.5

LCA is offensive and multi roll aircraft where as jf 17 ( a cheaper version of J10 :))is defensive aircraft,

See the video here =>

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gX4W-goLSIo

http://weapons.technology.youngester.com/2010/10/jf-17-not-as-advanced-as-lca-nawaz.html

JF 17 not advanced as LCA :Nawaz Sharif

3.Kaveri engine is short of 10% ,power needed to make it fit for perfect engine!!
but it can be used in dual engine of future LCA even with present performance ..
so it will be used for 4.5 G fighter LCA Tejas 2.

Moreover ,we will also be able to upscale the performance by 10%

4.Pakistan missiles never fail since they are directly procured from north korea and china!!

5.Pakistan nuclear weapons tested were not thermo nuclear where as india testes a small yield thermo nuclear device whose performance was a question

6.India is sending satellites to all orbits,moon and planning manned missions to space,moon and mars!!
why pakistan is not able to use the same hi fi missiles and send its satellites to space :)
you cant even send a stone into space !!Iran is light year ahead of you atleast they can send pussy,dogs,cockroach and animals into space :lol::lol:

All launching vehicles performance are 10 times more superior than A missile !!Although we dont mix our civil programmes of space and satellites with nuclear and missile program!!

we also are going to test our First ICBM agni 5 this year!!
We have nuclear submarine and all kinds of ballistic missile and we will be testing our own indigenous hypersonic cruise missile (so you dont have to feel happy about middle sonic cruise missiles which fly at speed of heli cofter)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shaurya_(missile)

http://www.flightglobal.com/article...-first-flight-for-nirbhay-cruise-missile.html

We will also have our indigenous Air craft carrier by 2014 and we will have 5 nuclear submarine by 2015-16!!

7.See our awacs is on release :
http://www.domain-b.com/aero/mil_avi/mil_aircraft/20110418_systems.html

1.Arjun tank is better than T 90 tanks

I think you are determined to humiliate yourself. So be it.

We deal with your issues gradually, first Arjun failing winter trials in 2007.

'We have just carried out the trial in winter. The tank performed very poorly. There have been four engine failures so far,' parliament's Standing Committee on Defence quotes an Indian Army officer as saying. Defence Minister A.K. Antony tabled the committee's 29th report in both houses of parliament Wednesday. 'The defence ministry has been apprised. A lot of improvements have to be done before the army is satisfied with the tank,' the report quotes the army officer as telling the committee at its meeting here last month.

The report could prove to be the last nail in the MBT project, analysts said. Ahead of the winter trials, conducted in the deserts of Rajasthan, an army officer had told IANS: 'We are currently re-evaluating the Arjun (as the MBT is named) to find out if the defects we had pointed out have truly been rectified.'

Fourteen Arjun tanks had been handed over to the Indian Army for user trials last year but were returned to the manufacturer - the Combat Vehicles Development Establishment - with a list of defects. These included a deficient fire control system, inaccuracy of its guns, low speeds in tactical areas - principally the deserts - and the tank's inability to operate in temperatures over 50 degrees Celsius. Indian Army chief General Deepak Kapoor and his predecessor, General J.J. Singh, had on separate occasions expressed their unhappiness with the tank.

'What we have today is a mid-level technology. What we need is a tank of international quality,' Kapoor said last November.

http://www.india-defence.com/reports-3812

let's list it one by one for your pleasure;

1- 4 failures in winter trials, needs lots of improvements before army is satisfied.

2- Report could be last nail in the coffin of Arjun, not sure if defect pointed out earlier are fixed.

3- 14 tanks delivered were returned with list of defects, A- Fire control, B- inaccuracy of its guns, C-low speed in deserts, D- can not operate temperature over 50C, meaning ineffective near the western desert borders with Pakistan.

4- The top dogs, Gen Kapoor and Gen Singh expressed unhappiness on different occasions. Not limited to one incident, meaning they were unhappy, period.

5- Gen Kapoor said, it is midlevel technology, while the army need international quality. [hilar] (Do you know better than Gen Kapoor?)

Now lets see the speed of work by your DRDO;

The Indian Army laid down its qualitative requirement (QR) for the Arjun in 1972. In 1982, it was announced that the prototype was ready for field trials. However, the tank was publicly unveiled for the first time only in 1995. Arjun was originally meant to be a 40-tonne tank with a 105 mm gun. It has now grown to a 50-tonne tank with a 120 mm gun. The tank was meant to supplement and eventually replace the Soviet-era T-72 MBT that was first inducted in the early 1980s.

1- It took 10 years for the prototype to be ready.

2- But it took another 13 years before it was presented for trial in 1995. It took whopping 23 years to be presented for trials.

3- Planned to be 40 ton tank, but ended up 50 ton tank. I suppose it was getting fat in those 23 years. But did you see the efficiency of your design team of DRDO; they just increased 10 tons weight over the planned product. G this is over 25% increase from the plan. Or say deviation from the actual plan. Any project manager and architect would be fired immediately if he exceeds 25% of the planned product. :lol::lol:

Your army got fed up from the delays and were pushed to buy T90 because of Pakistan purchase of T80s.

However, delays in the Arjun project, and Pakistan's decision to purchase the T-80 from Ukraine, prompted India to order 310 T-90s, an upgraded version of the T-72, in 2001. Of these, 186 were assembled from kits at the Heavy Vehicles Factory at Avadi in Tamil Nadu. An agreement was also signed for the licensed production of another 1,000 T-90s. With the Arjun development delayed further, India last year signed a fresh contract with Russia to buy another 330 T-90s.

Did you notice how many T90 were ordered and future possible order and local licensed production of T90s? Man your army is clueless about the quality of good tanks. They should have taken your advice before ordering T90 and applying for local production. You could have advice them, no no no, no T90, the Russian technology is unreliable.

How does your Army appoint these generals? Dont they realise your Generals dont know anything about the technology? [hilar][hilar]

I am still on Arjun, but lets deal with your mention of Nawaz Sharif.
Funny, the writers of the article just happened to meet NS in Farnborough show. And NS intimately knew the deep dark secret of JF17 and he conveniently whispered those secrets in your writers ears, right!

Since when NS become technology expert? Secondly, by the time of FS he had been out of the Government for well over 10 years and in exile. How could he have known any details about JF17 to make such an informed judgement and declare LCA superior, immediately on the spot. NS must be the best technology suave person on the planet.

Man, the Ganga idiot does not even know where his nose is. Are you kidding us or what![hilar]

India's new breakthrough technology: World beaters,

I will come back to the Arjun tank later, lets deal with JF17 and LCA while we are on the topic of NS whisper to the writer of the article.

The video you presented was definitely by an Indian. The turns and clock for all was not visible, secondly JF17 footage was barely visible. Different clips could be slowed down or made faster and then combined for the display.

We Pakistani do a better through job, so lets watch a video by a Pakistani, with full detailed comparisons between the two aircraft, not some granny video, details provided for LCA by Indian Express, your own media.

In most of comparisons, JF17 is better or equal to LCA. But the killer blows for LCA are shown later in the video.

1- It can not fly with full weapon load.

2- It needs new Engine, which I am sure you know too, I will present the evidence about Kavri engine, later on.

3- It needs to be re-designed. Re-designed????

4- It has restrictive angle of attack. Perhaps your pilots will beg the Pakistani pilots to present themselves to correct angle of attack. Man, no not on that side, I can not attack from that angle, come right in front of my plane, yeah that is a good angle of attack by my LCA.

5- Engine gives less power according to IAF.

6- Can not pull more than 6Gs, IAF requirement 9Gs.

7- Not all weather Aircraft.

8- It is 1.5 tones heavier than planned. What is with your Project manager, they get every product fat, while in production. But you can not blame them really, it takes them so long to produce a product it gather dust and weight by picking up all extra garbage scattered around the sheds.

9- Its AoA is 17 degrees while the requirement was 21 degrees by IAF.

10- Over run of cost, same as Mig-29, which can actually attack and work in all weather conditions, not have restrictive angle of attack. But then you already said Russian technology is not reliable. Could you tell us what Indian had been doing with unreliable technology for 60 years? What about SU30MKK? And the expensive bird PAKFA? Not reliable technology, why then India wasting the money?

I leave it to that, but when LCA is deployed in great numbers and it does not start falling from the skies like your Migs had been, then please come back and talk to us. For that you have to wait for another 10+ years.

JF17 took 6 years from development to induction and now deployment of 2 squadrons. In next few years we will have over 250 of these birds flying in the air, improved stealth version due in very near future with improved avionics and engines. Your LCA has already taken whopping 27 years, and still no end is near, what a shame. With so many flaws you better give it away free of cost to some other Air force your money is already wasted. Meanwhile we wait for the time when we have enough for our requirements before we start exporting it. Like we are exporting K8 trainers to many air forces around the world. Shall I tell you the story of your planned trainers? It may be more interesting than LCA story.

T

terex

1.you are comparing arjun tank performace of 2007.

tanks are being inducted 2months ago which were manufactured in 2010.
Prototypes tanks have many flaws and they are tested rigorously ,compete with other thanks !!

i gave you the links of 2011

http://articles.timesofindia.indiat..._arjun-tanks-indigenous-main-battle-tank-t-90

India is going ahead with arjun tank 2 Whose first prototype is being tested.

2.please see the video about LCA vs JF 17 !!
LCA is a 4 G attack aircraft where JF17 is not!!

NAwa sharif meeting is hardly a year old!!He was on the airport with some of jf17 pilots and he is the opposition leader and knows more about it than you all know :)

you cant compare a mig21 with sukhoi!!
JF17 is cheap chinese dud which can give you some numbers ...india would make LCA inferior version to compete against JF17 :)

see the image !

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-3Ypw_Ma1gug/TVeFu_sULnI/AAAAAAAAAHM/zKh2MylRys4/s1600/DSC03688.JPG

see all details on this page

http://iafnews.nuvodev.com/posts/lca-delayed-but-still-a-milestone-capability/

Limited Series Production (LSP) aircraft
Currently, 28 LSP series aircraft plus 20 aircraft are on order.
LSP-1 (KH2011) - 25 April 2007. This LCA is powered by F404-F2J3 Engine.[69]
LSP-2 (KH2012) - 16 June 2008. This is the first LCA fitted with F404-IN20 engine.[69]
LSP-3 23 April 2010. The first aircraft to have the Hybrid MMR radar[41][42] and will be close to the IOC standard.
LSP-4 (KH2014) - 2 June 2010 The first aircraft that was flown in the configuration that will be delivered to the Indian Air Force[43] In addition to the Hybrid MMR, the aircraft flew with a Countermeasure Dispensing System and an identify friend or foe electronic system.[70]
LSP-5 (KH2015) - 19 November 2010 IOC standard with all sensor including night lighting in the cockpit, and an auto-pilot.[71]
LSP-6 - Will be used to increase the Angle of Attack.[72]
LSP-7 to LSP-8 - Will be given to IAF for user trials.
SP-1 to SP-40 - Planned to fly by late 2013.

SP version are going to have 9G capabilty !!
This is being worked out in LCA Tejas 2 prototype which will be soon available in SP version

Kaverin engine is producing 70-75 KN thrust and it is going to be increased to produce 90 KN and it will be fitted in LCA 2 amd AMCA aircrafts!!

LCA already has stealth capability and its avionics are far advanced thant JF10 (forget jf17).

Moreover JF17 is entirely developed by china in pakistan.You learn nothing from assembling the parts in pakistan :)

Remember that LCA is adding value to it every day.its fixing all kinds of defects where as you are taking the same junk from china and assembling it !!
Angle of attack is already solved now and we have recently tested 8 G last month!!/It was 6 G in december and by end of this year,we have planned to test 9 G and LCA2 versions will have 9+G versions!!

Its learning for india since we are making it on our own!while pakistan cant think of taking up such project in future !!
JF17 has weak avionics and weaker RD93 russian engine(fitted in mig21) while tejas has better multi role,avionics and advanced american engine while our engine
will be used in LCA2 and AMCA versions!!

test pilots have flight tested LCA Tejas over the last 10 years. The Light Combat Aircraft (LCA)Tejas on 7 Jan 2011, had cleared its last hurdle before attaining the scheduled Initial Operational Clearance (IOC) with the aircraft’s integrated flight control system receiving the necessary documentation from the certifying authorities. The Regional Centre for Military Airworthiness (RCMA) had handed over the certification for the LCA’s integrated flight control system (IFCS). The FCS will enable aircraft perform 8 or 9 G’s maneuvers.

The Regional Centre for Military Airworthiness (RCMA) handed over the certification for the LCA’s integrated flight control system (IFCS) – the pilot-friendly flight controls.

IAF had announced plans for five LCA Tejas squadrons in the coming years. It means some 100 aircraft’s will be producted with more powerful engine.

LCA tejas program has so far produced two Technology Demonstrators, four Prototype Vehicles and five Limited Series Production aircrafts. The project has completed over 1500 flights. It has completed integration of sensors as well and carriage & release of stores.

The project has carried out extensive outstation trials to demonstrate the capabilities of the aircraft in hot weather, cold weather, Sea level and high altitude conditions. The limited series production aircraft 7 and 8 will be available for user evaluation from March onwards. Induction of series production aircraft would commence from July 2011 onwards. The Final Operational Clearance of Mk 1 by 2012

The first 20 aircraft would be delivered by 2013 and the next 20 aircraft in about 2 years after that. Tejas Mark 2 with higher thrust engines will have its first flight in December 2014. Production version of Mark 2 will be in June 2016. Overall funds allocation for development and production is of the order of Rs 25000/- crore

Could you tell me :what has pakistan contributed in JF17 except creating assembly plants!!

India has enough money and defence budget to spend on learning process and we learn from it !!
LCA desgins are not copy cat like JF17 ( copied from Mig21)!!