Should Quetta be the capital of Pakistan?

• Thread starter Thread starter gotti
  • Start date Start date

Should Quetta be the capital of Pakistan?

• Yes

Votes: 10 41.7%
  • No

Votes: 14 58.3%

• Total voters
G

gotti

Mods, please turn this into a poll.

Baluchistan is Pakistan's most resourceful and strategic province with Gwadar being one of the most significant achievements of Ayub's era (when he purchased it from Oman).

It is strategically located in the cross-roads of the Middle East and Central Asia.

Has one of the largest coal and gas reserves. Will be a conduit to get gas from Central Asia.

A lot more has to be added to this but I can't as it is politically incorrect and offensive to a certain group of people that the majority of Pakistanis cannot criticize because they are "baray soobay walay" and also use "baray" fonts to make their points.

Although, the actual "bara sooba" of Pakistan is Baluchistan given its resources and land-mass, we still have to accept them, and have their culture imposed upon us.

Since free speech is not allowed to other communities of Pakistan and only these "baray" people have that right, we can't write anything against them but they can say whatever they want, to whoever they want.

Ahywhoo, I leave this poll to your judgments - you guys can decide and share with us, why you chose that option.

I requested no "baray soobay walay" in original thread but they deleted it. Since we have no choice and you are unfortunately part of Pakistan, too, share with us your views, as well. (But we don't care about what you think - just a heads up).

God bless Baluchistan, God bless Pakistan!

In the words of Shakespeare:
What's in a name? that which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet;

Was it necessary to use the very world "Punjabi". .. .. The people like us who have never thought in the context of ethnicity and locality.. ..may feel it like an abuse. It did really hurt me. However, May Allah :subhanahu: bless U. A very workable Idea. If Gawadar becomes the hub of economic activity, this shift may be a wise and welcome decision.

rana-umair

i say yes. i am a punjabi and i feel that we have been unfair to balochis. If making quetta the capital resolves the problem then GO FOR IT.

G

gotti

i say yes. i am a punjabi and i feel that we have been unfair to balochis. If making quetta the capital resolves the problem then GO FOR IT.

Thanks brother, you're the true face of Punjab being hidden from our Baluch brothers who are equally (if not more) Pakistani than any other community!

I hope the vast majority of moderate Punjabis like yourself are seen by them so other Pakistanis also see a good image of Punjab and don't hate it but unfortunately, the policies of the past have clouded the lens through which only usurping of rights, property, power, resources and land can be seen by them.

I hope people like you can become more vocal and remove this misconception.

God bless you, god bless all those that think like you.

CA 5 O

No doubt that Balochistan is the province with the most resources and it should be the Dubai of Pakistan. But I don't understand how making it a capital would resolve any problems. What happened by changing the name of KPK. A big nothing.

Balochistan must be given its share based on its resources. Balochis have been ripped off for such a long time now and it's time that they get their fair share.

Unfortunately, the current rulers wont do anything but false promises as usual. That is why a change is needed ASAP.

G

gotti

No doubt that Balochistan is the province with the most resources and it should be the Dubai of Pakistan. But I don't understand how making it a capital would resolve any problems. What happened by changing the name of KPK. A big nothing.

Balochistan must be given its share based on its resources. Balochis have been ripped off for such a long time now and it's time that they get their fair share.

Unfortunately, the current rulers wont do anything but false promises as usual. That is why a change is needed ASAP.

Brother, the share, like with every government's budget is taken by the corrupt government, usually installed as a puppet by Punjabi establishment and the Baloch awam gets nothing, just like now, you've seen and heard of the corruption in the aghaaz e huqooq package.

This is not changing the name but moving the resources to a neutral city with 50/50 population of Pashtun and Baluch. Islamabad is not ina neutral location. And, strategically, it is better to place it in the West part of Pakistan, which has a lot of room for development.

The moving of the capital will allow more development (if capital moves, investment has to be done by the government for offices, secretariat, etc., which can easily afford it as we know after looking at Zardaris new mansion in Lahore, Punjab).

The need to build defence on this side of Pakistan is important to stop Afghan, Central Asian and Iranians coming to Baluchistan and meddling in our affairs. India is a threat but there is defense there, what about Western border?

Plus, Baluch are very welcoming and have allowed peace to prevail with Pashtun for years and we don't have ethnic riots like in Karachi, we accept all.

Baluchistan should be given the same stature as Punjab, who decided for Punjab to have this stature? It's not fair for Baluchistan to not be awarded these same rights especially when its so strategically located and it's importance having grown manifold.

In its current state, it can be easily removed and as Mengal said, if we remove Punjabis from our land, someone else can take over us, so we need to stop this threat and stop it, now! The only way is to militarize all of Baluchistan, make majority of our sarmachars as army people and fill the rank of the bureaucracy with the Baluch but this can only happen if the capital is moved here.

Lastly, Gwadar is more secure than Karachi if India was to attack through its navy. And geopolitically, Baluchistan can lead to ties and introduction to new communities and peoples of the world. Right now, who do you know or hear about except Indians?

Baluchistan is Pakiatan's future and it's new home, like Punjab before (since the past 60-65 years).

Mir Jaffer

That will be last naill in Balochistan's coffin as Balochs and Pushtuns there will percieve this as systematic ethnic cleansing at the part of Pakistan state by converting them into minority. I am happy with intellect of people here in Pakistan that only solution for develoment is to make some area as capital.Wah bhai wah. I am sure, Punjabis donot know even where Balochistan is located. Look at naive ideas.

G

gotti

I am absolutely in favor of this idea. but before doing this we need to make sure situation is under control

The only way for the situation to be under control is to move state institutions there because if that happens, it becomes the state's main interest to maintain law and order there, too.

How else do you think Punjab has relative calm while the rest of Pakistan is on fire?

Its because GHQ and Islamabad is in Punjab. The military's elite is in Punjab and have homes, businesses there. Wouldn't they want the region where their entire livelihoods are based to be peaceful?

Similarly, if Baluchistan has this happen, it can be in peace and be secure. Do you possibly think Punjabis will separate or join Indian Punjab if you moved the capital, here?

G

gotti

That will be last naill in Balochistan's coffin as Balochs and Pushtuns there will percieve this as systematic ethnic cleansing at the part of Pakistan state by converting them into minority. I am happy with intellect of people here in Pakistan that only solution for develoment is to make some area as capital.Wah bhai wah. I am sure, Punjabis donot know even where Balochistan is located. Look at naive ideas.

Ethnic cleansing because people will move there?

Its ironic because this solution is right out of the books of Baluch separatists and their only solution behind staying in Pakistan.

You're the naive one, Mir Jaffer, who betrayed Siraj ud doula only to have his recently usurped throne lost to another British tout, Mir Qasim. If they kicked him out, why wouldn't they do the same to your role model, I mean, it's not like your British

No one is arguing with Punjabis being ignorant but I'll have to shut you up, right here, regardless, as you haven't got the slightest clue about Baluch nationalism, rights and political philosophies, which is why it's highly appropriate for you to not talk out of turn and stay within your place, (a silent observer, silently watching what happens and learns, accordingly).

Given that history isn't your field of expertise, I will avoid getting into it to convince you of the examples we have of leaders moving their capitals and if you didn't know, here's some recent historical facts for you: Islamabad was moved from Karachi in the 60s and I would also like to request you to make yourself worthy of something and tell us when Istanbul was moved to Ankara. Read history and tell me why the capital was moved to Lahore from UP (this example applies to the security situation just like Islamabad).

Auqaat chanay baichnay ki nahi hai, chalain hain humain siasat per sabaq dainay, jaahil aur behooda log. Idiot's trying to be rebellious and audacious but picks the wrong guy in history to do so. Should've picked nasr al-din toosi, idiot

Mir Jaffer

Its ironic because this solution is right out of the books of Baluch separatists and their only solution behind staying in Pakistan.

You're the naive one, Mir Jaffer, who betrayed Siraj ud doula only to have his recently usurped throne lost to another British tout, Mir Qasim. If they kicked him out, why wouldn't they do the same to your role model, I mean, it's not like your British

No one is arguing with Punjabis being ignorant but I'll have to shut you up, right here, regardless, as you haven't got the slightest clue about Baluch nationalism, rights and political philosophies, which is why it's highly appropriate for you to not talk out of turn and stay within your place, (a silent observer, silently watching what happens and learns, accordingly).

Given that history isn't your field of expertise, I will avoid getting into it to convince you of the examples we have of leaders moving their capitals and if you didn't know, here's some recent historical facts for you: Islamabad was moved from Karachi in the 60s and I would also like to request you to make yourself worthy of something and tell us when Istanbul was moved to Ankara. Read history and tell me why the capital was moved to Lahore from UP (this example applies to the security situation just like Islamabad).

Auqaat chanay baichnay ki nahi hai, chalain hain humain siasat per sabaq dainay, jaahil aur behooda log. Idiot's trying to be rebellious and audacious but picks the wrong guy in history to do so. Should've picked nasr al-din toosi, idiot
Gotti bhai, what a refined language you have plus what a knowledge about history. i appreciate.
Ask any Punjbai or Urdu speaking to move to Baloch areas in Balochistan and i will see how you survive. Mohajirs and Pujbais few years back were busy in selling and buying of lands in GAwadar and every thing is finished now. Hope you understand what was that all about.

Never lecture about Baloch history, culture and politicis to me again as you donot know my ethnic roots though i am above all these ethnic biases. Plus donot criticize my hero" Mir Jaffer" as i am very sensitive about his place in our history.

Donot compare moving capital to Quettea to Islamabad and Ankara etc examples as you donot know ethnic politics, nationalism and compossition of society in Balochistan as it is not your cup of tea. Hope you understand.

Sheeba

The only way for the situation to be under control is to move state institutions there because if that happens, it becomes the state's main interest to maintain law and order there, too.

How else do you think Punjab has relative calm while the rest of Pakistan is on fire?

Its because GHQ and Islamabad is in Punjab. The military's elite is in Punjab and have homes, businesses there. Wouldn't they want the region where their entire livelihoods are based to be peaceful?

Similarly, if Baluchistan has this happen, it can be in peace and be secure. Do you possibly think Punjabis will separate or join Indian Punjab if you moved the capital, here?
dont you think after all your suggestions punjab will become balochistan?

Sheeba

i agree with you , we need to take drastic and courageous steps to save the country.. it is not going to run like this

CA 5 O

Brother, the share, like with every government's budget is taken by the corrupt government, usually installed as a puppet by Punjabi establishment and the Baloch awam gets nothing, just like now, you've seen and heard of the corruption in the aghaaz e huqooq package.

This is not changing the name but moving the resources to a neutral city with 50/50 population of Pashtun and Baluch. Islamabad is not ina neutral location. And, strategically, it is better to place it in the West part of Pakistan, which has a lot of room for development.

The moving of the capital will allow more development (if capital moves, investment has to be done by the government for offices, secretariat, etc., which can easily afford it as we know after looking at Zardaris new mansion in Lahore, Punjab).

The need to build defence on this side of Pakistan is important to stop Afghan, Central Asian and Iranians coming to Baluchistan and meddling in our affairs. India is a threat but there is defense there, what about Western border?

Plus, Baluch are very welcoming and have allowed peace to prevail with Pashtun for years and we don't have ethnic riots like in Karachi, we accept all.

Baluchistan should be given the same stature as Punjab, who decided for Punjab to have this stature? It's not fair for Baluchistan to not be awarded these same rights especially when its so strategically located and it's importance having grown manifold.

In its current state, it can be easily removed and as Mengal said, if we remove Punjabis from our land, someone else can take over us, so we need to stop this threat and stop it, now! The only way is to militarize all of Baluchistan, make majority of our sarmachars as army people and fill the rank of the bureaucracy with the Baluch but this can only happen if the capital is moved here.

Lastly, Gwadar is more secure than Karachi if India was to attack through its navy. And geopolitically, Baluchistan can lead to ties and introduction to new communities and peoples of the world. Right now, who do you know or hear about except Indians?

Baluchistan is Pakiatan's future and it's new home, like Punjab before (since the past 60-65 years).

Its sad that because of the deeds of some people, you are holding 60% of Pakistan responsible. Ethnicity doesnt have to do anything with it. There are a bunch of families, from all provinces and ethnicities, responsible for the current disastrous situation of Pakistan. No doubt Balochistan is suffering the most.

G

gotti

Its sad that because of the deeds of some people, you are holding 60% of Pakistan responsible. Ethnicity doesnt have to do anything with it. There are a bunch of families, from all provinces and ethnicities, responsible for the current disastrous situation of Pakistan. No doubt Balochistan is suffering the most.

Kindly clarify as to where you got the 60% figure from?

Historically, Pothwaris, Seraikis, Kashmiris and Hindko had all, always been included in the list. Half of Punjab is Seraiki, and I am sure you are aware that they want a separate province (they had been working towards it since the provinces were made after the fall of Dhaka). None of these communities identify themselves with being Punjabi and feel rather annoyed if such confusion takes place.

If you ever confuse a Kashmiri's Pahari with Punjabi, you'll get a lecture on the difference between Punjabis and Kashmiris that you wouldn necessarily want to have to listen to, especially, if you're Punjabi.

BTW, even recent figures show that Punjabis are only 40% and may be even less if the other communities I had just mentioned are removed. Even 10% of Lahore is Urdu-Speaking Mohajir. Pashtun live there in huge numbers, too.

You can confirm it with whatever source of information you'd prefer to get this confirmed.

Given the weak and inaccurate census information, the correct figure would likely be around 15-30% if all of the factors mentioned above, are included. But, it is unfortunate that the previously quoted and artificially inflated figure of 60% is engraved into our psyches for reasons, I can't possibly understand.

Also, the current army chief identifies himself with Pothwari and if you listen to his brother's interview on Potohari people and their rights, you would know. Even the DG ISI is from the same community.

Lastly, it is not me but the entire Baluch qaum who believes in the points I have raised, so, to somehow suggest that I am individually inciting "ethnic hatred" is comical, at best, and fantasy-ridden, at worst. Just the fact that you made these comments, goes to show that, not only are you completely ignorant of the political philosophies of other communities of Pakistan, you're also living in a bubble in which Punjabis are a majority and that's all that matters while the reality is the exact opposite. Punjabis are a minority, vis-a-vis the other communities and those days when you could just win Punjab to win the centre, are over.

It is highly probable that the Pashtuns will gain majority at the rate that we are going but the numbers game never did anything, did they? The Bengalis were in a majority but did we even bother to care about their grievances? No!

This so-called majority fallacy only gives you folks living in Lahore and Islamabad comfort about how greatly justified you are in ruling Pakistan, a Pakistan, you know nothing about and it's people you don't care about.

I take it that you're indifferent to the grievances of the Sindhis, Pashtuns, Seraikis, Mohajirs, Kashmiris and Hindkos, as well?

G

gotti

dont you think after all your suggestions punjab will become balochistan?

i agree with you , we need to take drastic and courageous steps to save the country.. it is not going to run like this

Demographics, populations and the "majorities" often change in a country without any regard for those who want to maintain status quo.

Karachi was once a Parsi-majority city, with people from Goa, Ismailis and Gujaratis in huge numbers. Then, it became a Bihari majority by the 70s and now, boasts the highest Pashtun population of any city in any part of the world.

Similarly, the second most spoken language of Britain is now Polish and that of America is Spanish with whites being in less number than all other non-white people combined.

Furthermore, its difficult to imagine Quetta will be a Punjabi city, let alone a Baluch or Pashtun city because it could quite possibly become a Farsi-majority city due to influx of people from Afghanistan, Tajikistan and Iran. Karachi also attracted Indian and even Bengali immigrants when it was the "Dubai" of the region.

So, judging trends and those of the populations aren't possible and neither should it be our job to worry about it. We should only try and set up an infrastructure for a new beginning of Pakistan, which looks westward (who knows, the sun just might rise from the west, after all).

Rommel

901391323-andquot-An-idle-brain-is-the-deviland-039-s-workshopandquot-written-on-a-blackboard.jpg