PM will have to come to the court: CJ

Bilal_Mushi

Updated at: 1759 PST, Monday, April 18, 2011
4-18-2011_80512_l.jpg
ISLAMABAD: The Chief Justice of Pakistan, Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry in his remarks during the hearing of NRO review case on Monday said Federation represents the Prime Minister and if no one comes forward for presenting the arguments in the case then the PM himself will have to come to the court, Geo News reported.

In case the NRO reviews petition is dismissed, then hearing of another case of NRO implementation will immediately be started, the Chief Justice said while heading a 17-judge full-court that was hearing the NRO review petition.

During the course of hearing, the CJ directed the Attorney General Maulvi Anwar-ul-Haq to present the arguments but in response the latter said he had no instructions to do so.

On this the CJ expressed his dismay in his remarks, saying the Federation neither trusted the Attorney General nor the Additional Attorney General K K Agha or Kamal Azfar or Advocate on Record. Who is it that the Federation really trusts? he asked.

Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry said the NRO implementation case had to be suspended for NRO review petition to be disposed of first. Once the NRO review case is dismissed, hearing of NRO implementation case will immediately be resumed, he added.

He said the NRO had been sent to the Parliament but even there it was not touched.

The Attorney General told the court that the government intended to appoint a counsel of its own will and sought one days time, saying he would inform the court on the progress tomorrow.

The apex court on the occasion issued show cause notices to Advocate On Record Raja Abdul Ghafoor and Solicitor Nasir Ali Shah on misrepresentation of facts.

Later, the hearing of NRO review petition was adjourned till Tuesday.

http://www.geo.tv/4-18-2011/80512.htm

Bilal_Mushi

Bhutto reference case flawed: CJP

24226_95757409_SC-2(Big).jpg
Bhutto reference case flawed: CJP
The court said that the legal question was not clear in the prime minister’s summary.

A three-member Supreme Court bench, headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, on Monday heard the presidential reference about retrial of former prime minister Zulfikar Ali Bhutto’s case.

During the hearing, the CJP said that before the formation of a larger bench, legal flaws in the reference were needed to be corrected.
The Supreme Court summoned the copy of Bhutto’s court statement.

Justice Sair Ali remarked that the legal question was not clear in the cabinet’s decision and the prime minister’s summary.
The defence lawyer Babar Awan said that the entire reference was a legal question and the cabinet reviewed the summary thoroughly before finalising it.

The CJP said that Bhutto had mentioned about the biasness of the judges, during his trial, in his book and his lawyer also raised this question on several occasions.

Awan said that there was not a single precedent in the judicial history of the country when capital punishment was awarded under Section 109. The CJP remarked that the president and the prime minister did not know legal points and he (Awan) had to assist the court. Awan said that both the president and the prime minister remained in jail for a long time and understand the legal points.

The CJP remarked that he had something off the record, but would not disclose it at the moment. The case has been postponed until April 21.
http://www.dunyanews.tv/index.php?key=Q2F0SUQ9MiNOaWQ9MjQyMjY=

Bilal_Mushi

NRO case: SC issues show cause notice to govt

24205_90439887_SC_1Big.jpg
NRO case: SC issues show cause notice to govt
The advocate on record told SC he has been removed, but the record of his change was missing.

A 17-member bench of the Supreme Court took up the review petition on the National Reconciliation Ordinance (NRO) on Monday. As the hearing started, former advocate-on-record Raja Abdul Ghafoor told the court that the Federal Law Ministry had stopped him from pleading the case.

In an application filed with the Law Ministry, Abdul Ghafoor took the plea that he was suffering from earache and could not plead the case.

Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry remarked that the court was being ridiculed. On one occasion, the government lawyer is changed and on the other, the advocate-on-record. If the federal government has no confidence in the attorney general, additional attorney general or Kamal Azfar, then who else is there to plead the case, the CJP remarked.

The CJP said that in the absence of a government counsel and advocate-on-record, the matter of NRO review could be finished. He also told Raja Abdul Ghafoor and solicitor general to reverse their decision of withdrawing from the case otherwise the court would start proceedings on the NRO implementation case. He also expressed displeasure when he called the record of the advocate on record’s change and was told that it was missing.

Additional Advocate General KK Agha submitted that the federal government had also not allowed him to plead the case, and that the federal government wanted permission to change the lawyer in this case. The CJP told additional attorney general that he wasting the time.

Raja Abdul Ghafoor said that the Law Ministry had taken back his power of attorney, therefore, a notice should be issued to the government for the same. The CJP said that the review petition could be dismissed on this ground.
Meanwhile, inspector general of Islamabad police has submitted a report in the Supreme Court regarding threats to Kamal Azfar. The case hearing has been adjourned for a day.

Bilal_Mushi

SC wants relevancy of questions over Bhutto’s murder case

ISLAMABAD - 18th April 2011 (54 minutes ago) By APP
sc3.jpg
The Supreme Court on Monday suggested to Dr Babar Awan, appearing as counsel in a Presidential reference, to further consider relevancy of questions of law raised by the worthy President upon which the apex Court might express its opinion.
A three-Judge bench comprising Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, Justice Muhammad Sair Ali and Justice Ghulam Rabbani adjourned further hearing till April 21 by asking the counsel to look into questions posed by them regarding relevancy of presidential question of law over which probably a larger bench of the apex Court might give its opinion under Article 186.
The Chief Justice told Dr Babar Awan that they wanted clarity about certain aspects of the Reference especially rising of a specific question, so that they could proceed ahead for giving their opinion.
He said the President and the Prime Minister both did not know the technicalities but they had wisdom with them.
He said that a lager bench might be constituted along with a number of amicus curiae to assist it over the issue, and suggested that if the worthy President could re-frame the reference and transmit them on Tuesday over specific question of law.
“You are not alien, nor we are, the whole nation knew the case, the case of a leader of Muslim world,” he added.
He said that all judges were really interested in the issue but he should assist them on the question of law involved in it.
He hinted that they would adjourn all other cases to hear such an important issue. “By doing so, we are fulfilling the command of the Constitution and our opinion in this case would be looked upon by the whole world. That is why we are giving you an option as we are very much interested,” he added.
There were international cases in which courts opinions were sought. In the reference the President desired to seek Supreme Court opinion on question of law but you had to formulate that question of law for their consideration, he said in the same tone.
He said “Unfortunately, formulations framed grounds without question of law!” “The cabinet is for revisiting of the murder trial and I do not know whether my brothers agree or not but I agreed that it could be a case of miscarriage of justice. It is a phenomenon not only known in this part of the world but across the globe. The worthy President of Pakistan is before the Supreme Court for rectifying it and acquittal,” he added.
He said that it was the most important case before the Supreme Court but they did not know what would be its result.
Justice Muhammad Sair Ali suggested that if there were technical impediments, the issue could be re-referred.
Dr Babar Awan replied that he would not hide behind technicalities or ego as everybody knew that a letter about murder was sent to the apex Court.
He said that he would approach the President and by evening it could be done.
The counsel also touched preliminary points by referring to a book “Leopards and Fox” of Tariq Ali, and said that the author had stated that it was not a case of execution but of custodial killing of a Prime Minister of Pakistan.
He contended that there was no case in entire judiciary when a person was hanged on basis of Article 109. He said the reference was in accordance with procedural requirements under Rules of Business and the question raised by the President was before the cabinet and the Prime Minister.
Referring to an Indian verdict he said that such a practice was termed as procedural law and procedural judgement.
Raising another question he said that a testimony of an approver could not be a basis for death sentence.
He said a question arose out of Bhutto’s trial case whether it met provisions of fundamental rights of Articles 4, 9, a and 14.
The case was a miscarriage of justice and a glaring example of bias against late Bhutto, he added. He said that law of repentance would also be applicable in this case as laid down in the Islamic injunctions.
He said this Court in its judgements of PLD 2001 and 2009 by a seven member’s bench and a five-member bench respectively dealt with the issue of bias.
Dr Babar said the judges’ bias issue was mentioned by late Zulfikar Ali Bhutto in his book. The Chief Justice told him that they were bound by judgements and also by the Islamic injunctions.
He said the issue of bias was raised from the very beginning in his book. A former judge had expressed his mind by saying about ZAB that he was there for publicity, he added.
Justice Ghulam Rabbani also raised a question saying whether issue of bias could be reason for revisiting of the judgement under the scope of Article 186!.

Urooj_lbw

ye sab bakwaas he, ye azaad adlia ne apne mun pe kalik malwa li, jab Davis ko Lahore se bhaga dia , i don't know what they r trying to prove to ask PM o come to the court, sab ko bewaquuf nahi bana sakte ye, this CJ is not azaad, sab bakwaas he

Bilal_Mushi

Why suddenly all Musharraf supporters now supporting this Zardari agenda? Jis nay America ko banday baach ker dollar liyay ab woh Raymond Davis ka rona roh rahay hain.......... Why is Musharraf reconciling with those who let Raymond Davis go? Why isn’t APML filing a petition against both governments for letting Davis go. Don't be a supporter of Faisal Raza Abidi's agenda (to defame CJ to secure personal gains).

ye sab bakwaas he, ye azaad adlia ne apne mun pe kalik malwa li, jab Davis ko Lahore se bhaga dia , i don't know what they r trying to prove to ask PM o come to the court, sab ko bewaquuf nahi bana sakte ye, this CJ is not azaad, sab bakwaas he

Muhammad Tauseef A. Bajwa

SC remarks on Bhutto reference case

SupremeCourt-5432.jpg

Supreme Court of Pakistan. File Photo

ISLAMABAD: The Supreme Court of Pakistan heard the Presidential reference against the judicial murder of former Prime Minister Zulfikar Ali Bhutto on Monday, DawnNews reported.

During the hearing the Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry remarked that unlike past references, their was no clear question being put forth in this one.
The Chief Justice added that he did not know what the outcome of the case would be. The hearing of the case has been adjourned till April 21.

Why suddenly all Musharraf supporters now supporting this Zardari agenda? Jis nay America ko banday baach ker dollar liyay ab woh Raymond Davis ka rona roh rahay hain.......... Why is Musharraf reconciling with those who let Raymond Davis go? Why isn’t APML filing a petition against both governments for letting Davis go. Don't be a supporter of Faisal Raza Abidi's agenda (to defame CJ to secure personal gains).

Ab tumhara hero Musharraf say change hokay Zardari hogaya?

For the Satanists the only thing which matters is as to who is the incarnation of Satan (the Ibless ***** Ullah). And Zardari is true "Satan Incarnate" and has surpassed the previous one (Busharaf). So they must prostrate before him. So you have no right to interfere in their religious matters. Give them freedom of religion.

faqira786

You's education is very basic in pak politics who dont know who release Raymond Davis. You should better study newspaper and watch show atleat 1 year and then come back with some knowledge and wisdom. until tell its better to be quite

Look who is talking...

faqira786

Din may tu peena chor do.............. jiyaloo kay paas bohat paysa aagaya hay.

Truth is little bit biitter. Tell me what he has done. You people are little excited about CJ. Bcoz of him, many people Killled and he got the SEAT but CASES are still there. He is a LAZY and COWARD man.

NRO = Result ???????????
Raymond David = Result ???????????
and many more to be list here

Zardari has done a lot and lots of credit goes to him as compare to Iftikhar choudhary

Pak_Passion

NRO issued by Musharraf to Zardari............................. both your masters ........why are you crying ?
Raymond Davis was allowed by your master Musharraf and was allowed to escape by your new master Zardari..... again why are you crying?

Of-course Pakistan ka yeh haal karney ka credit aap kay chahetay Musharraf aur Zardari ka hee hay.

Truth is little bit biitter. Tell me what he has done. You people are little excited about CJ. Bcoz of him, many people Killled and he got the SEAT but CASES are still there. He is a LAZY and COWARD man.

NRO = Result ???????????
Raymond David = Result ???????????
and many more to be list here

Zardari has done a lot and lots of credit goes to him as compare to Iftikhar choudhary

Updated at: 1759 PST, Monday, April 18, 2011
4-18-2011_80512_l.jpg
ISLAMABAD: The Chief Justice of Pakistan, Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry in his remarks during the hearing of NRO review case on Monday said Federation represents the Prime Minister and if no one comes forward for presenting the arguments in the case then ‘the PM himself will have to come to the court’, Geo News reported.

“In case the NRO reviews petition is dismissed, then hearing of another case of NRO implementation will immediately be started,” the Chief Justice said while heading a 17-judge full-court that was hearing the NRO review petition.

During the course of hearing, the CJ directed the Attorney General Maulvi Anwar-ul-Haq to present the arguments but in response the latter said he had no instructions to do so.

On this the CJ expressed his dismay in his remarks, saying the Federation neither trusted the Attorney General nor the Additional Attorney General K K Agha or Kamal Azfar or Advocate on Record. “Who is it that the Federation really trusts?” he asked.

Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry said the NRO implementation case had to be suspended for NRO review petition to be disposed of first. “Once the NRO review case is dismissed, hearing of NRO implementation case will immediately be resumed,” he added.

He said the NRO had been sent to the Parliament but even there it was not touched.

The Attorney General told the court that the government intended to appoint a counsel of its own will and sought one day’s time, saying he would inform the court on the progress tomorrow.

The apex court on the occasion issued show cause notices to Advocate On Record Raja Abdul Ghafoor and Solicitor Nasir Ali Shah on misrepresentation of facts.

Later, the hearing of NRO review petition was adjourned till Tuesday.

http://www.geo.tv/4-18-2011/80512.htm

Here is a suggestion to the CJ. Cut all the crap and hire a constitutional lawyer to represent the federation. Court should have the power to direct a public attorney (s) to do the work for the govt attorney(s) and make the case outcome a binding one.

But you know brother n sisters, this is all dhakosla, show to public. All this delay and court rulings, PPP will complete its term. By that time NRO trial will be useless because Zardari clan will be laughing to the banks in Europe

All these trials make me sick. These are nothing but bull shit. No courts is interested in resolving the case, behind the scene they are all the same

faqira786

NRO issued by Musharraf to Zardari............................. both your masters ........why are you crying ?
Raymond Davis was allowed by your master Musharraf and was allowed to escape by your new master Zardari..... again why are you crying?

Of-course Pakistan ka yeh haal karney ka credit aap kay chahetay Musharraf aur Zardari ka hee hay.

We are showing you MIRROR and when you look your face, you started blaming us

Your Cheif Justice has occupied the FRONT Seat in Pakistan, He can just pass a judgement that that NRO Cancel? What a big deal for your CJ? why you are blaming on Musharaf or Zardari. Musharaf and Zardari both are under his judgement? Dont you agree with that

As far as Raymod David, Musharaf is not even in a coutry and all Politician are running a Pakistan show? why you are blaming Musharaf? Why dont you blame your politician?

You know what I mean A=B=C mean A=C=B

faqira786

Here is a suggestion to the CJ. Cut all the crap and hire a constitutional lawyer to represent the federation. Court should have the power to direct a public attorney (s) to do the work for the govt attorney(s) and make the case outcome a binding one.

But you know brother n sisters, this is all dhakosla, show to public. All this delay and court rulings, PPP will complete its term. By that time NRO trial will be useless because Zardari clan will be laughing to the banks in Europe

All these trials make me sick. These are nothing but bull shit. No courts is interested in resolving the case, behind the scene they are all the same

Gazo bhai you gave me negative on my post however we both are saying samething in different way

A= B = C OR

A = C = B

I like you post bcoz you understand Pakistan politics now

We are showing you MIRROR and when you look your face, you started blaming us

Your Cheif Justice has occupied the FRONT Seat in Pakistan, He can just pass a judgement that that NRO Cancel? What a big deal for your CJ? why you are blaming on Musharaf or Zardari. Musharaf and Zardari both are under his judgement? Dont you agree with that

As far as Raymod David, Musharaf is not even in a coutry and all Politician are running a Pakistan show? why you are blaming Musharaf? Why dont you blame your politician?

You know what I mean A=B=C mean A=C=B

when you have time, show ME a MIRROR too but make sure its made of metal. they usually brake due to my beauty (bigsmile)(bigsmile)

Gazo bhai you gave me negative on my post however we both are saying samething in different way

A= B = C OR

A = C = B

I like you post bcoz you understand Pakistan politics now

I have been saying that our judiciary is corrupt since probably before you were born