Pepsi causes cancer, says watchdog

modern.fakir

Pepsi still contains worrying levels of carcinogen: Group
AP | Jul 3, 2013, 08.11 PM IST
213668_962_1224247311165-Cola.jpg

NEW YORK: An environmental group said on Wednesday that the caramel coloring used in Pepsi still contains a worrisome level of a carcinogen, even after the drink maker said it would change its formula.

In March, PepsiCo Inc. and Coca-Cola Co. both said they would adjust their formulas after California passed a law mandating drinks containing a certain level of carcinogens come with a cancer warning label. The changes were made for drinks sold in California when the law passed.

The chemical is 4-methylimidazole, or 4-Mel, which can form during the cooking process and, as a result, may be found in trace amounts in many foods.

Watchdog group The Center for Environmental Health found via testing that while Coke products no longer test positive for the chemical, Pepsi products sold outside of California still do.

Pepsi said its caramel coloring suppliers are changing their manufacturing process to cut the amount of 4-Mel in its caramel. That process is complete in California and will be finished in February 2014 in the rest of the country. Pepsi said it will also be taken out globally, but did not indicate a timeline.

Meanwhile, the company said the FDA and other regulatory agencies around the world consider Pepsi's caramel coloring safe.

Coca-Cola said it has transitioned to using a modified caramel in US markets beyond California that does not contain Mel-4, so it wouldn't have to have separate inventory of products for different locations. It also said all of its products, whether they have the modified caramel or not, are safe.

The watchdog group Center for Environmental Health said it commissioned Eurofins Analystical laboratory in Metairie, Louisiana, to test Coke and Pepsi products from California in May and from across the country in June.

The lab did not find the chemical in California products. And it found no 4-Mel in nine out of 10 Coke products outside of the state. But it found levels of 4-Mel that are 4 to 8 times higher than California safety levels in all 10 Pepsi products purchased outside California, according to the Center for Environmental Health.

Trace amounts of 4-Mel have not been linked to cancer in humans. The American Beverage Association said that California added the coloring to its list of carcinogens with no studies showing that it causes cancer in humans. It noted that the listing was based on a single study in lab mice and rats.

The Food and Drug Administration has also said that a consumer would have to drink more than 1,000 cans of soda a day to reach the doses administered that have shown links to cancer in rodents.

Coca-Cola and PepsiCo account for almost 90 percent of the soda market, according to industry tracker Beverage Digest.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...-of-carcinogen-Group/articleshow/20897196.cms

Liberal.Punjabi

Re: Pepsi still contains worrying levels of carcinogen: Group

Will Mian Nawaz Sharif Butt dare ban Pepsi factories in Pakistan?

ASQR1

Don't ban them, defeat them by your brilliance business, make a drink that supersede these drinks an compete them, out of not only Pakistani markets but world markets.

4-Methylimidazole is a known cancer causing agent which is a part of COKE/PEPSI formula. It gives caramalized taste to the drink. FDA says it safe if consumed in small amount as present in COLA drinks. According to FDA it should not be causing any problem if consumed in moderate amount. But in my opinion it is a corporate stunt. This chemical is proved carcinogen and can cause cancer especially bladder cancer even consumed in small amount over long period. Better to stick with Lassi.

Humi

I haven't had pepesi or coke in about a year...we are better off without these drinks anyway...drink fresh and homemade beverages instead!

یہ اصلی والی کا حال ہے ۔ جو کہ پاکستان میں کم ہی ملتی ہے ۔ نقلی والی بھی مہمان کو نا پلائی جائے تو مہمان ناراض ہو جاتا ہے ۔ بوتل تک نہی پوچھی۔۔۔۔۔۔۔

اپنا لسّی کا گلاس ہو
سکونّجی ٹھنڈی ٹھار ہو
گنّے کا رس میٹھی آبشار ہو
تھادل دل بہار ہو
پھر بھی پتہ نہی کیوں کالی گٹروالی بوتل سے پیار ہو۔۔۔۔

Humi

Don't ban them, defeat them by your brilliance business, make a drink that supersede these drinks an compete them, out of not only Pakistani markets but world markets.

I think some Arab countries have a similar drink to coke :/

I haven't had pepesi or coke in about a year...we are better off without these drinks anyway...drink fresh and homemade beverages instead!

کوئی تین سال پہلے جب میں نے ایک رپورٹ میں پڑھا کہ ایک بوتل میں دس چمچ تک چینی ہوتی ہے ۔ وہ بھی کیمیکل والے سیرپ والی ۔ تو اس کے بعد اسے ہاتھ نہی لگایا۔ پاکستان جب گیا تو ہر کوئی بوتل اٹھا کر لا رہا ہے ۔ سادہ پانی پینا پسند کیا۔۔۔۔۔
اگر ہم ٹافی ،چھالیہ ، پان ، بیڑی سیگریٹ ، بازاری کھانا چھوڑ دیں تو ڈاکٹر کے پاس جانے کی ضرورت نا رہے ۔ ،

Humi

کوئی تین سال پہلے جب میں نے ایک رپورٹ میں پڑھا کہ ایک بوتل میں دس چمچ تک چینی ہوتی ہے ۔ وہ بھی کیمیکل والے سیرپ والی ۔ تو اس کے بعد اسے ہاتھ نہی لگایا۔ پاکستان جب گیا تو ہر کوئی بوتل اٹھا کر لا رہا ہے ۔ سادہ پانی پینا پسند کیا۔۔۔۔۔
اگر ہم ٹافی ،چھالیہ ، پان ، بیڑی سیگریٹ ، بازاری کھانا چھوڑ دیں تو ڈاکٹر کے پاس جانے کی ضرورت نا رہے ۔ ،

I believe there are some health concerns with the artificial sweetener used in diet pepsi as well...and I agree with you...you feel way healthier when you eat healthy...

Humi

یہ اصلی والی کا حال ہے ۔ جو کہ پاکستان میں کم ہی ملتی ہے ۔ نقلی والی بھی مہمان کو نا پلائی جائے تو مہمان ناراض ہو جاتا ہے ۔ بوتل تک نہی پوچھی۔۔۔۔۔۔۔

اپنا لسّی کا گلاس ہو
سکونّجی ٹھنڈی ٹھار ہو
گنّے کا رس میٹھی آبشار ہو
تھادل دل بہار ہو
پھر بھی پتہ نہی کیوں کالی گٹروالی بوتل سے پیار ہو۔۔۔۔

If someone offers me coke/pepsi...I just tell them I no longer drink it...so far, it has not been seen as being rude...dunno if it will be considered rude if I were in Pakistan..

کوئی بھلا برُا کیوں منائے گا۔ مجھے نا پینے کی صحیح وجہ بتانی پڑی تو سب نے اتفاق کیا۔

Fatema

Phir bhi ye dil mange more. . . :(

Humi

Phir bhi ye dil mange more. . . :(

not even a little bit in my case...:biggthumpup:...well ok, once in while but extremely rarely..:P

Fatema

not even a little bit in my case...:biggthumpup:...well ok, once in while but extremely rarely..:P

i envy your determination. . . but in my case ye dil mange one every day. . :(

FaisalKh

Mirza ghaalib ka aik shair hai...
Zamana kahe latt ye ghalat lag gaee...(blah)(blah)(blah)(serious)

Pepsi ya kisi bhi soft drink ki latt achi nahi khaas tor se females ke liye to bilkul bhi nahi

modern.fakir

Just quit it slowly and gradually over a period of time.. :)

First thing is to find a good alternative and then start quitting it over a period of time...

seriously its too hot to resist. . . (cry) (cry)n(cry)

Humi

start in ramadan...its easy to stick to not drinking it in that month..if you make it one month, its easier to go on after that..