Pakistan Throw It Away- Who's at fault?(2nd Test Aus Vs Pak)

• Thread starter Thread starter Admin
  • Start date Start date

Pakistan Throw It Away- Who's at fault?

• Total voters

Admin

Cricket is in our blood, no matter how much you try to avoid, It's hard to resist.

This poll is a little off topic(nothing to do with politics but I'm sure you will all be interested, since this is the hot topic everywhere for the past day or two).

I was extremely devastated and disappointed. At the end of the day It is just a match but losing from that position is completely unacceptable.

Use this thread to exhaust your frustration :)

sher_khan

Mohammad Yousuf: Poor captainship but a brave man

After losing the Sydney test, I was of the opinion that Yousuf would be better off as a non-captain member of the team. That was until I read about his press conference. The man was brave enough to handle the tough questions all by himself. The manager and coach of the team did not have the guts to face the embarrassment. This is unlike Shoaib Malik who would rather not show up for the press conference after the defeat. Instead he would let the coach Geoff Lawson conduct the tough press conferences.
Instead of blaming other people Yousuf blamed himself during the conference. I was specially moved by his comments that I have put in bold below. This is the stuff leaders/heroes are made of. I do believe that although he has flawed heavily in this test match, but the captaincy should not be taken away from him. One thing is for sure, Yousuf will not desert Pakistan and his team-mates. There are only few Pakistani captains who accept their mistakes and try to work on them. I think that Yousuf needs to be a little harder on his players. He could be a loyal captain of Pakistan. He should be given at least one more chance.

http://www.cricinfo.com/ausvpak09/content/story/442861.html

The inquisition begins for Yousuf
There were plenty of harsh questions for Pakistan's captain after the Sydney loss
Osman Samiuddin in Sydney
January 7, 2010

Mohammad Yousuf came to the press conference alone. Usually he has been accompanied by the team manager but something about such defeats is a very solitary endeavour. He answered his questions with as much dignity as you can muster in these situations. All the while his eyes looked like nothing, not thinking, not smiling, not working where they usually are the most interesting thing after his beard to look at. After the questions had been asked, a real inquisition began.

Four journalists from Pakistan took Yousuf aside as had been the practice after most days to get not only the inside dope, but some coherence. Most Pakistan players are more comfortable and articulate in their own language and their answers in Urdu have much more than in English. Usually his eyes have a working mischief to them but he looked as shattered as a naturally unexpressive man can.

He sat slumped on a bench to the side of the press conference area, two journalists sitting either side of him and two standing up in front of him; it felt fully and distastefully like an interrogation.

Was this the worst we have ever played, no loosener, good short ball first up. "I am not saying we played well," Yousuf fended it nicely to square leg. "We played very poorly, very poorly. First of all my shot, I will say it was horrible. But what else can I say. We played really badly, they played well. You can write whatever you want on how badly we played."

People will write it too. Some more venting was required. Things had to be taken off the chest and scapegoats had to be found. There were quite a few. Harsh questions were asked, but I always thought such situations would be more heated, tenser. Words would be exchanged, some shouting and pointing of fingers. But questions came wrapped in sweet, inoffensive tones, even soothing. We could have been at a funeral where nobody died.

'Why do we do it?' asked one, a simple and impossible question. "It wasn't a difficult chase," Yousuf began. "We should've done it easily. We can't take pressure. Many of the side are young. If some players have been playing for 8-10 years" Another interrupted him, to point out that the young had been playing well. 'It's the seniors who aren't performing. Misbah, Kamran and you are three seniors.' Solid cut.

"Yahmine was a really poor shot," Yousuf said again.

'And what about Danish? Compare him to Hauritz - Danish gave 150 runs, Hauritz only 50.'

"Danish gave a huge effort," Yousuf continued his defense. "He bowled 50 overs. Danish had to take wickets. We gave Hauritz wickets."

Someone interrupted the lynching to ask about the moment Pakistan really lost this Test, in the field in the morning, when Pakistan went at Australia like a goldfish encircling a shark. Yousuf didn't think much of that period, just that Pakistan had to be defensive against Michael Hussey. "We had to stay defensive with Hussey. Siddle ended up playing well, scoring 40 runs. We didn't realize he could." Not recognizing the flaw of his plans revealed more than the answer itself.

Most venom and time was reserved for the wicketkeeper. Kamran Akmal is a sweet man. That doesn't help in holding onto catches or scoring runs and he hasn't done either here. Questioners then became solution-providers, an uncomfortable crossing of a sacred line.

'Misbah alsohe is old now, reflexes are slow. Body language is also poor,' started one journalist.

"You are right, no doubt about that," replied Yousuf, though not really and leaving it, teasingly, at that.

One told Yousuf that by his thinking nobody will ever get replaced in the side. Before he could answer another asked why Shahid Afridi and Rana Naved-ul-Hasan can't play in this side, given how long the tail is. For the first time, Yousuf revved up. "Afridi says sometimes he wants to play, sometimes he doesn't want to play. What can a guy do? You tell me, what can I do?"

It was only left to wrap up and look ahead to pointlessness. Here was the making of a summer and it was now undone. Not that he had been agitated but some of Yousuf's calm filtered back into him. "We have lost but cricket hasn't stopped, or come to an end. When it does end, we will stop. We will try to play well in the next Test and try to win it. We have seen we can win if we bat well."

A couple of the journalists rubbed it in a little. 'We haven't smiled for two hours. Only now once you are here we smiled.'

"What can I say?" Yousuf asked, before saying it. "If I fall now, everyone else will fall too. What I am feeling inside right now, what can I tell you? What can I do? If I fall those guys inside will fall. They need to think themselves too and accept. I made a mistake, I accept it. I will try not to do it again. There is no doubt if I had stuck around for a while, put on another 15-30 runs we could've been okay. But I took a chance and I got to the ball but the ball came too low at the bottom. Okay wrong shot but he held on to it. Since yesterday things were working against us

"The first innings, that was it. If we had taken a 300 lead" he trailed off as Ricky Ponting walked past, looking not enough like the man who had been pardoned just as the noose was going around his head

It was Kami. You can't drop sitters and expect to win matches.

I feel kind of sorry for yosuf after reading the above interview.

I think, we will remember this loss for a long long time. That's how bad It was. Probably one of the best come backs by a team in the history of cricket.

We can mourn for a day or two , learn from our mistakes and must move on.

May be, MQM involve in it.
I heard in a radio interview that,
once Bob Wolmer asked,
Can anyone give name of any domestic team in Pakistan,
who can play 100 overs in a single innings?
Everyone was dead silent.

hnuter555

yep they need new players in middle order and kamran akmal had a
bad day but he is good i beleive surfarz is only good with keeping modern cricket needs batting too
they need one good middle order batsmen
one good all rounder
and good capitan like afridi

Nawazish

hnuter555 said:
yep they need new players in middle order and kamran akmal had a
bad day but he is good i beleive surfarz is only good with keeping modern cricket needs batting too
they need one good middle order batsmen
one good all rounder
and good capitan like afridi

I agree with you. We need someone agressive like Afridi as a captain. I think Kamran is good enough to play as a specialist batsman. He has got 11 centuries and he will get more if he concentrate more on his batting.

Sarfraz is an excellent batsman. Do you know he was with the A team on a recent tour to Australia and he averages 60 there.

Abdul Haadi

Br. you forgot about Misbah-ul-Haq. Kamran Akmal also the way he batted like he was
playing 20/20. We need new captain and batting coach like Miandad & fielding coach.
[videogylcpel]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=menHNFmCSD4[/videogylcpel]

Nawazish

Misbah is 35 years old. He can't bat anymore to save his life. These guys can't perform anymore. How long can they live off the glory of T20 world cup victory?

We have been kept giving Kami chances since 2004/2005. It is time to move on. Thank fully Sarfraz is in the squad and I'm sure It is over for Misbah as well. Kami should play as a specialist batsman and replace Misbah in the third test

armani

Nawazish :
I really liked your idea of playing Kamran as a batsman and bringing in Sarfaraz for Misbah. I hope they dont bring in malik now. Misbah and Malik are finished. They can only play on pakistani surfaces. I have been against their inclusion in the team since last one year but who listens. I wonder what big bosses of cricket in pakistan use to think with. I have faith it's not atleast the head part. And knowing about a person's abilities in any field is not even a rocket science thing. It just needs a normal brain and vision to figure out. O' well it just hurts to think and write about those idiots.
The basic reason of every downfall in our country is the unprofessional approach however sydney test goes to Mr Kamran khatmal.

highflier

my brothers don't get too down kabhi khushi kabhi gum Pakistan na hi world cup bhi jita tha our ab har bhi gie ha ya game ka hesa sometime you win sometime you lost unfortunate for us we are losing more but we can improve and like yousuf says if we learn from mistake and don't repeat them we can surely do better.
Pakistan Zindabad!!!!!!!!

S

Siasati

highflier said:
my brothers don't get too down kabhi khushi kabhi gum Pakistan na hi world cup bhi jita tha our ab har bhi gie ha ya game ka hesa sometime you win sometime you lost unfortunate for us we are losing more but we can improve and like yousuf says if we learn from mistake and don't repeat them we can surely do better.
Pakistan Zindabad!!!!!!!!

The reason, all Pakistanis are mad(rightly so), not because we lost the match but how we lost it. We should have won this by an innings and look what happend at the end.

Learn from mistake? We keep making the mistake of keeping Kamran as a wicket keeper since 2004. Looks like we never learn and keep making the same mistakes. Bloody hell!! Selectors must be ruthless. Look at Australians, they don't seem to keep making the same mistakes. We must move on and stop being pussies

Spine-less and ultra-defensive captaincy
Unprofessional and indifferent approach of the team
Unbelieveably weak nerves and lack of mental strength
Pathetic fielding display
Lack of self-belief
Wishful faith in old and oft-failed horses (Misbah, Iqbal & Akmal)

and the list goes on

Only ONE of our batsmen scored more than the Aussies no.9 Peter Siddle, that says it all, and he is the youngest and newest addition to the team too !!!!

GASindh

I am sure all you guys play cricket so you will understand my point.

On test level, most of them have about equal abilities with only difference of their strength either on or off side with some exceptional ability of playing on drive like Sachin, late cut like Zaheer Abbas or pull like De Silva.

But most important is the level of confidence you have. Imran Khan has won the matches with not so exceptional teams but with mental strength.
Last few matches we have lost is purely due to the lack of mental strength and blame to some extent lies with our current captain. Even Inzi with all his fielding deficiencies had good mental strength.

They need someone who can shout at them at they get out or bowl badly, be it in the ground as captain or outside as manager. Can't see any strong character as a captain in our team so need to bring someone as manager.

Change the captain, Imran Nazir another opportunity to open with Butt, Fawad Alam at no 3, Yousaf, Younis, two Akmals (kamran had a bad patch, he is match ka mujram, forgive him) and bowlers.

Bring Miandad as Coach, give him the responsibility to chose the team, he will deliver.

C

commander

Its time to send Yousuf and Intikhab Alam Home

http://www.dunyanews.tv/main_category_e ... d=4&flag=d
Pakistan's shocking defeat in the Sydney Test against Australia has the entire nation seething in anger with former players on Thursday demanding sacking of captain Mohammad Yousuf, coach Intikhab Alam and even cricket board chief Ejaz Butt.
The aftermath of the 36-run defeat could be sensed from the fact that it also prompted a statement from the Presidential spokesman who appealed for calm and patience from everyone.
The appeal, however, did little to placate the angry former players like Inzamam-ul Haq, Aamer Sohail, Moin Khan and Rashid Latif and administrators, who demanded that heads, should roll.
Former Pakistan Cricket Board Chairman Nasim Ashraf felt it was embarrassing to lose a match after dominating the first three days and said Yousuf should be stripped of captaincy.
"What happened in the Test was so embarrassing. It made a complete mockery of Pakistan cricket and the entire team management. The captain should be fired for it," Ashraf demanded.
Also training the guns on the coach, Ashraf said, "If Yousuf was not right in his cricketing decisions there was also the team management led by coach, Intikhab Alam which could have guided him into changing his strategy."
Ex-captain Moin Khan held a similar view and felt both Yousuf anb Alam were to be blamed for the debacle. "I don't know what happened but I think even if Yousuf was not thinking right and his strategy was wrong after the first half an hour, the support staff including coach Intikhab Alam should have sent out a message to him to change his strategy," Moin said.
Former pacer Sarfraz Nawaz also lashed out at the senior members of the side and demanded axing of the entire team management. "I think the selectors now need to give more opportunities to younger players so that we can move ahead. This management needs to be sacked as they are unable to provide proper support to the players," he said.
Former leg-spinner Abdul Qadir, who headed the selection committee until last year, suggested PCB chairman Ejaz Butt and the selectors should also quit, owning up the moral responsibility. "Had I been the board's Chairman or chief selector, I would have resigned from my post after such a pathetic performance by the national team," Qadir said.
It was a strange performance by the Pakistani team which bowled out Australia for just 127 runs and took a 206-run first innings lead. Thanks to Yousuf's defensive tactics, Australia managed 381 in their second essay and chasing 176 for a victory, Pakistan imploded for 139 to slump to a morale-shattering defeat.
Former captain Aamer Sohail was baffled by Yousuf's captaincy Down Under. "It is beyond comprehensions what he was trying to do by sending around seven to eight fielders to the boundary ropes early on in the day at a time when he should have attacked both batsmen with the second new ball," Sohail wondered.
Even former captain Inzamam-ul-Haq, a close Yousuf friend who allegedly orchestrated behind-the-scenes movements to oust Younus Khan and elevate Yousuf, found it difficult to support the team. "I think this Pakistan team lacks confidence. We dominated the match for three days and then let it go all in one day which is unacceptable," he said. "In the series they are always in a hurry to play their shots which does not work all the time in Test matches," he added. He also felt that seniority should no more be a criterion for selection. "I believe that deserving players should be given the chance and the management and players must all stand up and play their roles in the team," said the former skipper.
Presidential spokesman Farhatullah Babar, meanwhile, told the media in Islamabad that losing was part of the game and people should maintain their calm. "Winning and losing are parts of the game. The loss, no doubt, was disheartening and calls for greater effort on the players part in the future to win crucial fixtures," Babar said. The President is also the chief patron of the board and directly appoints the PCB Chairman.
The PCB initially played down the defeat but their statement today made it clear that the Board itself was not taking it lightly. "Pakistan Cricket Board shows its utmost concern over the poor performance of Pakistan cricket team in second Test played in Sydney. An overall review of performance of the team shall be carried out by the board after the completion of the Australian tour," it said.
While Yousuf drew most of the flak, the demand to replace butter-finger stumper Kamran Akmal also grew in strength.
Former captain Rashid Latif, himself a top class keeper, slammed Akmal for dropping catches and said he didn't deserve to be in the Test team. "The wicketkeeper is the backbone of any team and his performances are crucial. I think it is time to give other deserving players a chance in the Test team," he said.

Paki_Loyal

Pakistan cricket team main hangami buniyado per changes kerni parey ge, issi terhan PCB main bhe,,
Openers,, Taufeeq Umer and Yasir Hameed,, dono ke average over 40 hai aur dono he test cricket k player hein,, jo wicket per ruk ker k khailtey hein,,
Misbah ke jaga hamein Asim Kamal ko chance dena chahiay, Asim Kamal bhe Test Crickter hai, aur uss ke record bhe acha hai,,Pakistan Cricket Board ne sab se bari galti ye ke k Kamran Akmal ko Vice-Captain bana dia, aur uss k pur nikal aaey,, means Kalar kharey ho gay,, pakistani selectors ne kabhi bhe replace main koi bhe player nahi bana raha from last 20 years,, Sarfaraz ko team ka hissa hona chahiay tha, aur ussey saath saath chances bhe dene chahiay thay, magar nahi,, Asim Kamal ko ham ne 2 saal ho gay ignore keya hoowa hai, yasir hameed jis k tareef australia aur england aur sunil gavaskar jese log kertey hein uss ko ham ne team se drop keya hoowa hai,,, aur imran aur salman dono sifarshio ko team ka hissa bnaya hoowa hai,,

2nd,, Intikhan Aalam
Ijaz But,, Wasim Bari,, Aaqib Javed,, Saleem Jafar, Shoaib Muhammad, in sab ke hamehsan hameshan k liay chutti ker do,,
PCB ka chairman Tauqeer Zia ko bnaao,, jitna kaam Tauqeer Zia ne cricket k liay keya tha aaj tak kisi ne nahi keya,,
Chief Coach Dave Watmore ko bnana chahiay,wo intihai sakht insan hai, aur sakht se sakht training bhe kerwata hai aur boys ko bhe control kerna janta hai,,
Fielding Coach aap ko acaedmy level per rekhna chahiay,, na k pakistani team k saath,,Chief Selector Aamir Sohail ya Wasim Akram ko bnana chahiay,,
Saeed Anwar, Basit Ali,, ko academy main juniors player ko train kerne k liay coach bnana chahiay,,
agar ye changing na ke gai to beileve me pakistan bangladesh se bhe test match haar jaey ga,,
for test team: 1-yasir Hameed 2-Taufeeq Umar 3-Younis Khan 4-Muhamamd Yousaf 5-Aasim Kamal 6-Umer Akmal 7-Sarfaraz Ahmed 8-Muhammad Amir 9-Danish Kaneria- 10-Muhammad Asif 11-umar Gull 12th Man-Rana Naveed 13-Muhammad Sami 14-Saeed Ajmal 15-Nasir Jamshed

Jury said:
May be, MQM involve in it.
I heard in a radio interview that,
once Bob Wolmer asked,
Can anyone give name of any domestic team in Pakistan,
who can play 100 overs in a single innings?
Everyone was dead silent.

hahahahah hahaha very funny jury bhai. Agar Rashif Latif khal ra hota tu ye ilzam bhi MQM per ajata.

Saladin A

Pakistani cricketers brought shame & disgrace

Pakistani cricketers panicked and farted in the second innings and threw away wickets for pennies. I got the impression that they were suffering from bad indigestion, diarrhoea, wind problem, mental collapse and brains blockage while batting in the second innings. It was totally brainless, reckless and disgraceful display of batting and shameful performance in fielding, dropping catches, short pitch bowling and bad captaincy when the Australians batted in the second innings.

Even in the Pakistan's first innings, they could have easily built up their lead to 350 if they had batted sensibly but with cavalier and reckless approach some of them started to bat like if they were playing a T20 match and started to slog with eyes and brains closed.

I think every one of them deserves 20 lashes on their bare back sides so that in the future they do not disgrace the country and nation so shamefully.

furry87

Bad captaincy, yousaf doesnt have a spine on the field...Bad batting , the openers and umar akmal especialy threw away good starts , so did yousuf...Akmal should be shot ...Misbah ,has no place in the pakistan team...we cannot play test matches ,its that simple, we do not have the skill ...the only people who can call them selves players in the team are the bowlers and younis and yousuf ...the rest are just bullshit slogging their way to 30 40

GASindh said:
I am sure all you guys play cricket so you will understand my point.

On test level, most of them have about equal abilities with only difference of their strength either on or off side with some exceptional ability of playing on drive like Sachin, late cut like Zaheer Abbas or pull like De Silva.

But most important is the level of confidence you have. Imran Khan has won the matches with not so exceptional teams but with mental strength.
Last few matches we have lost is purely due to the lack of mental strength and blame to some extent lies with our current captain. Even Inzi with all his fielding deficiencies had good mental strength.

They need someone who can shout at them at they get out or bowl badly, be it in the ground as captain or outside as manager. Can't see any strong character as a captain in our team so need to bring someone as manager.

Change the captain, Imran Nazir another opportunity to open with Butt, Fawad Alam at no 3, Yousaf, Younis, two Akmals (kamran had a bad patch, he is match ka mujram, forgive him) and bowlers.

Bring Miandad as Coach, give him the responsibility to chose the team, he will deliver.

Its Pakistan Cricket, and it is filled with these kind of tragedies, I don't even want to remember the worst lost of Pakistan. But it happened we cursed every single cricketer and after that again we praise them too. so this is show, which no one have control, so just wait and see. OR
I wish some one could use their brain to save our Cricket