Pakistan Economic Recovery Underway: Car Sales Jump 72%; Cement Sales Rise 17%

RiazHaq

http://www.riazhaq.com/2015/10/pakistan-economy-car-sales-up-72-cement.html

Pakistan auto industry is booming. Toyota, Suzuki and Honda factories are working around the clock in the southern port city of Karachi and eastern city of Lahore -- yet customers can still wait for up to four months for new vehicles to be delivered, according to media reports. At the same time, increased construction activity is visible everywhere in the country.

Pak%2BCar%2BMarket.jpg

Local car sales, excluding imported cars, jumped to 54,812 units in the first three months (Jul-Sep) of fiscal year 2016, up 72% from 31,899 units in the same period of last year, according to data released by the Pakistan Automotive Manufacturers Association (PAMA).

Pak Suzuki led the pack with 33,770 units followed by Indus Motors (Toyota) 14,767 cars and Honda Motors 6,184 units. Industry analysts at Topline Securities expect local car sales to reach 203,653 units during the current fiscal year.

Car sales (excluding imported ones) in Pakistan grew at a five-year (FY11-15) compound annual growth rate (CAGR) of just 5.3% to 179,953 units. While volumes surged by 31% in fiscal year 2015 (FY15) on the back of the new model of Toyota Corolla, Punjab taxi scheme and an increase in car financing due to 42-year low interest rates in the country also helped, according to Express Tribune newspaper. “We forecast local car sales to grow at 13% in FY16 to reach 203,653 units,” Topline Securities reported on Monday.

Cement%2BPlant.jpg

In addition to car sales, domestic cement sales have also
jumped by a phenomenal 16.89% to 4.29 million tons during July and August 2015 from 3.67 million tons shipped in the same period last year.

Car sales and construction activity are both believed to be driven by low interest rate financing available from banks andimproved security situation across the country. With record low inflation, the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP), the nation's central bank, has cut discount rate to a 42-year low of 6%.

After its September meeting, the SBP said the rise in fixed investment financing in the energy generation and distribution, chemicals and services sectors signal possible increase in their productive activity in coming months. “The implementation of infrastructure development and energy projects under the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) will further enhance the improving investment environment. Therefore, there is anticipation of higher economic activity in 2015-16, which is expected to boost credit uptake,” it said.

[TABLE="class: tr-caption-container, align: center"]
[TR]
[TD]
Per%2BCapita%2BCement%2BConsumption.png
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: tr-caption"]Per Capita Cement Consumption Source: Global Cement[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]

A dramatic decline in terrorist violence in the country since the launch of Pakistan Army's Operation Zarb-e-Azb and a big drop in international oil prices have helped drive economic recovery in the country in recent months.

http://www.riazhaq.com/2015/10/pakistan-economy-car-sales-up-72-cement.html

rakaposh

سب اعداد کا ہیر پھیر ہے. جب تک خان صاحب وزیر اعظم نہیں بن جاتے اس ملک میں ترقی نہیں ہو سکتی.

olympian

A hike in car sales can be partly attributed to low oil prices. Cement is too little to project whole production industry.

In my humble opinion, Foreign Direct Investment and Growth of exports are a good indicator for Pakistan economy. Rising exports depict that country is making its mark as a producer and not as a consumer. Unfortunately Pakistan is lacking any noticeable progress in both as of now. Just my opinion, not an economist... Thanks :)

Talwar Gujjar

PTI has another cause to do a dharna. Bas ab tau rona h rona ha aglay election tak. Yrh kaisay ho skata ha k koi achi khabar Pakistan baray hau aur PTI k pait mein maror na ho.

RiazHaq

I don't understand why any good news about Pakistan is hard to digest for some of the posters here. The figures I quote in my post are industry figures, not government figures.

modern.fakir

Riaz bhai, they are idiots, and have no clue of what is going on. Even Allah swt said to trust the ones who have knowledge about a particular matter. They just keep on barfing about stuff without knowing how to measure and what indicators to look at.

anarion ko kiya pata economics aur economic indicators kya hotay hain ?? . But you are THE EXPERT !

So you keep up the good work. Good to see rising consumer confidence being reflected in car sales and construction. The export market will grow too once the CPEC is fully setup. :biggthumpup:

I don't understand why any good news about Pakistan is hard to digest for some of the posters here. The figures I quote in my post are industry figures, not government figures.

arafay

because numbers are misleading. punjab govt is distributing 50000 vehicles in the guise of some rozagar scheme. clearly this demand is artificial and will subside once govt stops buying so many cars. I dont know how much cut suzuki gave to ctbt for coming up with this shameful scheme.

instead of wasting money on gimmicks, govt should have reduced sales tax to increase consumption/demand. That would have spurred some genuine, sustainable growth that doesnt rely on tax payer money.

As for cement production, the only industry booming right now in pakistan is construction and real estate because it doesnt require electricity. even farmers and telecom (2 traditionally every green sectors) are crying right now.

arafay

Riaz bhai, they are idiots, and have no clue of what is going on. Even Allah swt said to trust the ones who have knowledge about a particular matter. They just keep on barfing about stuff without knowing how to measure and what indicators to look at.

anarion ko kiya pata economics aur economic indicators kya hotay hain ?? . But you are THE EXPERT !

So you keep up the good work. Good to see rising consumer confidence being reflected in car sales and construction. The export market will grow too once the CPEC is fully setup. :biggthumpup:

Mark my words. "CPEC will be death of small and medium industry in pakistan."

Already, pakistani manufacturers are under pressure from china and even india. When tonnes of cheap chinese goods will enter pakistan by road, many factory owners in pakistan will start defaulting on loans and start firing employees by the thousands.

Galaxy

All Bullshitt,How is that possiable when pakistan owes Billions to IMF and world bank,and pays 75% of its GDP to in loan payments

kkkkk

Car sales show recovery? Employment, industrial & agricultural production, the supply of necessities, education, health, infrastructure, human indicators etc show socio-economic progress.
With car sales up, inshallah we will move a kilometer in 5 to 6 hours in a car. This is already happening in many cities of the world with poor public transport and reliance on private cars. Lagos, Cairo are examples.
God saves Pakistan. If we continue the way things are, life will be a great Hell for all of us, whether rich or poor, though it is already no less!

RiazHaq

notsospecial

our exports are reducing at alarming rate.our gdp growth rate is lowest in south asia.this consumerism does not show progress.it just shows increased purchasing power of tax evading elite.

RiazHaq

our exports are reducing at alarming rate.our gdp growth rate is lowest in south asia.this consumerism does not show progress.it just shows increased purchasing power of tax evading elite.

Yes, the exports are down. It indicates lower prices of exports and lower demand due to weakness abroad.

Construction industry is a huge employer. 17% rise in cement consumption means more jobs are being created in Pakistan.

Car factories working 24X7 means lots of people are working making those cars. It also means there will be more investment in manufacturing and more jobs created.
To me, that is progress.

notsospecial

Yes, the exports are down. It indicates lower prices of exports and lower demand due to weakness abroad.

Construction industry is a huge employer. 17% rise in cement consumption means more jobs are being created in Pakistan.

Car factories working 24X7 means lots of people are working making those cars. It also means there will be more investment in manufacturing and more jobs created.
To me, that is progress.
ki these are
what about gdp growth rate and employment data record.?

RiazHaq

ki these are
what about gdp growth rate and employment data record.?

What I have shared with you are leading indicators.

What you are asking for are lagging, not leading indicators.

Data for this quarter won't show up for at least another quarter.

Awan-1

سارے ہوٹل اسٹور فلل ہوتے ھیں پتا نہیں لوگو کے پاس پیسا کہاں سے اتا ہے