Niqab is not required : According to Sheikh Naasiruddeen al-Albaanee

Mughal1

khawaja bhai apko ghalat fehmi hoee hai ...

charoon aima rh k nazdeek niqab necessary hai...

main un members ko yeh bata doon k mainay post es thread main nahi kia tha bal k new thared bana k post kia tha yeh modz nay merge kia hai..

jin logo ko apni maan behno k cheray dekhanay ka shooq hai wo osko pura karayin hum nahi roktay un ko ...

JazakAllah khair

Dear wanted, in islam all people are equally free be they men or women to make their own decisions. To free anyone enslaved is a binding duty on muslims if they are capable to do so.

So it is up to our women folk which of them want to show their faces and which of them do not and we should respect that. It is not up to us to forcefully cover or uncover anyone because that is aggression by one person against another.

Anyone's remarks should be in context of discussion and respectful not giving cause for concern to others. It is because people who view others with respect gain respect for themselves. If we do not respect our women ourselves then how can we expect others to do so? So buzz word is mutual respect and doing things sensibly.

regards and all the best.

w-a-n-t-e-d-

Dear wanted, in islam all people are equally free be they men or women to make their own decisions. To free anyone enslaved is a binding duty on muslims if they are capable to do so.

So it is up to our women folk which of them want to show their faces and which of them do not and we should respect that. It is not up to us to forcefully cover or uncover anyone because that is aggression by one person against another.

Anyone's remarks should be in context of discussion and respectful not giving cause for concern to others. It is because people who view others with respect gain respect for themselves. If we do not respect our women ourselves then how can we expect others to do so? So buzz word is mutual respect and doing things sensibly.

dear bro mughal

apko pata hai jab Jinab-e-rusool Allah saw apni azdwaj-e-muthairaat rz k sath ummarh kia kartay thay tu Umhatul-momineen rz
os waqat bhi apny cheray ko chupa k rakhti thi ??

Jshah

Should we listen to this sheikh or our the Holy Quran, and the Prophet PBUH, and the Wives RAT of the Prophet PBUH and the Companions of the PBUH?

An example, if you leave the main door of your house open and close all other doors, will it prevent your home from burglars/thieves, NO it will not. You must have to install a strong main door as well as to close it properly that no one enter from there and if rest of the doors remain open no issue.

This shaikh's strategy is absolutely against it.\

Night_Hawk

:subhan: What a debate? We keep bringing point after point for what? So we can label each-other with sectarian hate names.
May Allah Guide us to His path and straight path. Ameen.
I wish we could spend that much time in educating people the wisdom of tolerance, accepting and respecting each-others point of views. The rights of family and friends. (Huqooqul-Ibad) to bring tolerance in our ummah.

samar

Re: چہرہ کے پردہ پر چند اشکالات کا جواب

If you dont mind , lets change the turn...

1400 years , woman was covered ...next 1400 years men could cover with Burqa....

Only one week with wearing burqa will tell men , how dificult it is .....only women could tolerate it.....

So be generous and nice with them. keep your eyes down ,as much as possible.

If men start getting burqa it will help finishing the bad habits of same sex in men , as it is on top in northern areas...

What is the problem , why women are still beaten even after wearing burqa....

Taliban-women.jpg

I know , everyone will throw the arrows on me , but I am not serious...

what do you say about this ??????????

palestineAfghanistan.jpg

U coud decide by yourself...as written under neath the picture u posted...

Beating own women is worst ....If American beat Afghani or Pakistani women , thats bad but they are bad from the bottom...

could we compare these two pictures...

no prophet beaten women like that..

Pakistani1947

Is wearing niqaab one of the conditions of Islamic dress for women?

I agree with brother Mughal1 that "It is not up to us to forcefully cover or uncover anyone because that is aggression by one person against another."

Hijaab in Arabic means covering or concealing. Hijaab is the name of something that is used to cover. Everything that comes between two things is hijaab.
Hijaab means everything that is used to cover something and prevent anyone from reaching it, such as curtains, door keepers and garments, etc.
Khimaar comes from the word khamr, the root meaning of which is to cover. For example, the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Khammiru aaniyatakum (cover your vessels).” Everything that covers something else is called its khimaar.

But in common usage khimaar has come to be used as a name for the garment with which a woman covers her head; in some cases this does not go against the linguistic meaning of khimaar.

Some of the fuqahaa’ have defined it as that which covers the head, the temples and the neck.
The difference between the hijaab and the khimaar is that the hijaab is something which covers all of a woman’s body, whilst the khimaar in general is something with which a woman covers her head.

Niqaab is that with which a woman veils her face (tantaqib)…
The difference between hijaab and niqaab is that the hijaab is that which covers all the body, whilst niqaab is that which covers a woman’s face only.
The woman’s dress as prescribed in sharee’ah (“Islamic dress”) is that which covers her head, face and all of her body.
But the niqaab or burqa’ – which shows the eyes of the woman – has become widespread among women, and some of them do not wear it properly. Some scholars have forbidden wearing it on the grounds that it is not Islamic in origin, and because it is used improperly and people treat it as something insignificant, demonstrating negligent attitudes towards it and using new forms of niqaab which are not prescribed in Islam, widening the opening for the eyes so that the cheeks, nose and part of the forehead are also visible.

Therefore, if the woman’s niqaab or burqa’ does not show anything but the eyes, and the opening is only as big as the left eye, as was narrated from some of the salaf, then that is permissible, otherwise she should wear something which covers her face entirely.
Shaykh Muhammad al-Saalih al-‘Uthaymeen (may Allaah have mercy on him) said:

The hijaab prescribed in sharee’ah means that a woman should cover everything that it is haraam for her to show, i.e., she should cover that which it is obligatory for her to cover, first and foremost of which is the face, because it is the focus of temptation and desire.
A woman is obliged to cover her face in front of anyone who is not her mahram (blood relative to whom marriage is forbidden). From this we learn that the face is the most essential thing to be covered. There is evidence from the Book of Allaah and the Sunnah of His Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) and the views of the Sahaabah and the imams and scholars of Islam, which indicates that women are obliged to cover all of their bodies in front of those who are not their mahrams.

Fataawa al-Mar’ah al-Muslimah, 1/ 391, 392)
Shaykh Saalih al-Fawzaan (may Allaah preserve him) said:
The correct view as indicated by the evidence is that the woman’s face is ‘awrah which must be covered. It is the most tempting part of her body, because what people look at most is the face, so the face is the greatest ‘awrah of a woman. This is in addition to the shar’i evidence which states that it is obligatory to cover the face.
For example, Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):
“And tell the believing women to lower their gaze (from looking at forbidden things), and protect their private parts (from illegal sexual acts) and not to show off their adornment except only that which is apparent (like both eyes for necessity to see the way, or outer palms of hands or one eye or dress like veil, gloves, headcover, apron), and to draw their veils all over Juyoobihinna (i.e. their bodies, faces, necks and bosoms)…”
[al-Noor 24:31]

Drawing the veil all over the juyoob implies covering the face.
When Ibn ‘Abbaas (may Allaah be pleased with him) was asked about the aayah (interpretation of the meaning):
“O Prophet! Tell your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks (veils) all over their bodies”
[al-Ahzaab 33:59] –
he covered his face, leaving only one eye showing. This indicates that what was meant by the aayah was covering the face. This was the interpretation of Ibn ‘Abbaas (may Allaah be pleased with him) of this aayah, as narrated from him by ‘Ubaydah al-Salmaani when he asked him about it.

In the Sunnah there are many ahaadeeth, such as: the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “The woman in ihraam is forbidden to veil her face (wear niqaab) or to wear the burqa’.” This indicates that when women were not in ihraam, women used to cover their faces.
This does not mean that if a woman takes off her niqaab or burqa’ in the state of ihraam that she should leave her face uncovered in the presence of non-mahram men. Rather she is obliged to cover it with something other than the niqaab or burqa’, on the evidence of the hadeeth of ‘Aa’ishah (may Allaah be pleased with her) who said: “We were with the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) in ihraam, and when men passed by us, we would lower the khimaar on our heads over our faces, and when they moved on we would lift it again.”

Women in ihraam and otherwise are obliged to cover their faces in front of non-mahram men, because the face is the center of beauty and it is the place that men look at… and Allaah knows best.
Fataawa al-Mar’ah al-Muslimah, 1/396, 397
He also said:

It is OK to cover the face with the niqaab or burqa’ which has two openings for the eyes only, because this was known at the time of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), and because of necessity. If nothing but the eyes show, this is fine, especially if this is customarily worn by women in her society.
Fataawa al-Mar’ah al-Muslimah, 1/399

And Allaah knows best

Source: http://www.islamqa.com/en/ref/21134

Mughal1

Re: Is wearing niqaab one of the conditions of Islamic dress for women?

Dear friends, thank you for being kind in sharing your thoughts.

My points is not whether hijaab is right or wrong. My point is its purpose in various situations and different circumstances in a muslim society.

My stand is that hijaab is not an end in itself but means to an achievable end.

My argument is to explain how best the end may be achieved.

Therefore interpretation of the quran and the ahadith has to be accordingly.

To help us get the goal the following points can be of help.

The quran is textually perfect but its translation and interpretation is only perfect if it can be proven that it serves the purpose.

The ahadith are not reliable on there own but only if they serve the purpose of the quran.

The same is true about what ulema say ie if what they say is according to the quran then fine otherwise not.

It is an undeniable historical fact that people claiming to be muslims invented many ahadith, mistranslations or misinterpretations of the quran and fatwas and stories over past 1000 plus years.

It is not in doubt even today that people who claim to be muslims have many beliefs that cannot be proven from the quran in quranic context.

Taking all these points in to account should help us reach the right conclusion if we are thoughtful and wise enough about the end goal and how best to achieve it.

Unless we can think that far, we will be childish to take anything for granted.

Reason based upon realities of the world dictates that sexual attraction is natural because it is one of the human drives or motivations for life. To fight against nature is self destructive so it cannot be purpose of islam to kill this motivation in people but to direct it sensibly so that it is beneficial and healthy for a good human society.

Sexual motivation is not dependent on one sex only but both genders therefore any path taken to guide it should be even handed. If we tilted the balance in favour of one or the other gender, the result will be a half of human population unhappy. The unhappy people will be looking for way out and could conspire against a system that they see is oppressive or suppressive. In other words this will be a systematic abuse of one gender by the other.

Social imbalances causes many problems this is why a socially unbalanced society can never be free of reactions or so called crimes against society.

All this means islam is not about creating an imbalance society or a society that is never free of fighting against each other. So if we want to be peaceful and free then we must not try to be masters or keepers of others. We should be like a single family and if we are a single family then we cannot partial with our family members or family will not be happy and content. If parents favour one child the others feel uncomfortable and fight between them becomes inevitable.

A society feels fully secure when it is balanced fully and as this balance alters so does level of security therefore the more unsafe you feel the more security measures you take.

It is therefore absolutely necessary to not to interpret the quran in isolation of realities of life or the quran becomes irrelevant. By doing so one is proving the quran is just a useless book because it is of no practical value for humanity. This is why it is not question of what the quran says but what it says in light of realities of life. That is what guidance means. A road map that is just drawn without any place in mind is just figment of one's own imagination and nothing more ie it has no practical use. A map is only useful if it provides guidance to roads that exist in reality.

More may be later, meanwhile thanks again and all the best.

Mughal1

dear bro mughal

apko pata hai jab Jinab-e-rusool Allah saw apni azdwaj-e-muthairaat rz k sath ummarh kia kartay thay tu Umhatul-momineen rz
os waqat bhi apny cheray ko chupa k rakhti thi ??

Pyare bhai, may be I have not been able to explain things sufficiently or may be what I am trying to explain has escaped your consideration. I am not against pardah per se or for it for that matter. This isn't the point at all. The point is laws and their applications.

Laws are simply put legal instructions dependent upon qualifying conditions for their applications eg the laws about driving only apply to situations and circumstances relevant to driving and only for the set purposes. Just because certain laws exist, does not mean that they apply aimlessly to any situations or circumstances.

Let me try and put it another way. You eat roti but you do not eat it all the time. You only eat it for a reason so that it serves a purpose for you. Or putting it another way, you eat roti but you cannot eat roti all the time because that does not serv any purpose nor the situations remain constant or the circumstances. May be one day you find there is no aata in the house or may be there is no one to make roti for you and you cannot make it yourself. So your eating of roti depends on a lot of factors, some in your control others not.

This is why nothing can be permanent in life. Therefore you shift from purpose to purpose, situations to situation and circumstances to circumstances. One day you are a one day baby the next day you are two day old and so you keep on changing till the dying day. Therefore rules and laws that apply to a person when one was a baby do not apply to him when he is grown up eg when you are a baby namaaz is not farz on you.

Likewise application of laws is not dependent solely on existence of laws but their qualifying conditions. Unless certain conditions are met laws do not apply eg if we have no sense of purpose of law then we cannot be right in applying it because the law in that case has no purpose to serve. So definition of purpose is must before we form or apply any law. Likewise we need to take into account ground realities to see whether the law is practically applicable or not in the given situations and given circumstances.

This is where kufaar get confused when the quran states kill the kaafir because our mullas who do not understand the quran in its context properly tell them things about the quran in a confusing way because they think they are doing some service to islam. So anyone who thinks he is serving islam must be careful that one is not overly emotional rather wisdom is needed here. Otherwise we could be damaging the cause of islam instead of serving it. It is due to this carelessness that we have given sticks to kufaar to beat us with. They have raised so many senseless objections on the quran thanks to senseless interpretations of islam by our muslims brethren that with friends like these who needs enemies?

Nonmuslims are always looking out for excuses to confront us with and if we are so willing to provide them so many free of charge then they do not need to come up with their own, do they?

Also islam does not discriminate rather it condemns double standards by saying same thing to all that is right and good for them regardless they like it or not.

So kindly see beyond existence of laws and search on how laws are applied. Read books written by people who speak wisely. This is not to say that you should not listen to mawlanas please do, so do I but be able to discriminate between when one is talking sense and when you need to go your own way because that is better way comparatively.

It is not necessary that we each agree with everyone else on everything but wherever we agree we must try and agree on what is right based on proof and proving. Any disagreements can be left till later when e have proof anf can prove them one way or the other. I have explained the idea of proof and proving fully on this forum elsewhere.

I hope this clarifies my stance on the matter a bit more and helps others. Thanks again for the opportunity, regards and all the best.