Looking for an answer

Ozmurd

Assalam'O'Alykum!

I hope everyone is doing fine. I have a couple of questions that I needed to ask for a while now. I really hope that I may get a logical answer out of it.
1. The concept of "Kaneez" (a female servant or slave) in Islam. To my knowledge and understanding it's still approved and it had not been cancelled out by Prophet (saw) and later on by his companions. So, having a kaneez (and for that matter you can have personal relations just the way one has it with a wife) is still legal and if it is, what logic is in it to go buy a woman (with or without her willingness) and keep her and what right does it give to a person to make anyone a slave?
2. If a person turns away from Islam (may be due to various reasons, e.g, not have been guided properly or something similar) there's a death penalty. Can anyone please shed light on it why is it so? Is there some time period given for that individual to focus or give his/her decision a second thought or even if he/she still doesn't want to come back, what's the logic behind taking an individual life just for a change of his thoughts.

I'll appreciate if some one can come up with some analytical or convincing answers. I'm asking it because I myself have been asked this query and I didn't have any compelling reply to it. Thanks. JazakAllah.

Admin

This is not an Islamic forum and none of us are expert to answer Islamic related questions here.

Please go to islamonline.net and submit your question there. They will surely get back to you.

wamz4

reply to Ozmurd: looking for an answer

salam on all, i used to come on this forum and read certain posts and see how our people see it but i never joined it, the only reason reason i joined it today was because i wanted to reply a brother, i am not interested in politics thus never have i had any desire to join the forum, but as a muslim it is my responsibility that i try to answer a queation about islam. I want to make it clear that i am not a scholor but i will try to answer it as much as my knowledge permits.
the first question was about "kaneez".
1. to start with, none of the Prophets(A.S) stopped this tradition and there was a reason bahind it, but it is only asked to muslims, only to target Islam. so if you tell any non muslim that no religion ever stopped this tradition this will shut their mouths, Even Hazrat Ibrahim (A.S) had a kaneez for Bibi Sarah their first wife who after sometime Hazrat Ibrahim (A.S) married with the permission of Bibi Sarah and their name was Bibi Hajira.
2. the reason behind permitting was that there were thousands of women caught as war prisoners, so to save them from being treated as slaves and taken advantage of them physically or emotionally. they were taken into care by individuals, and they worked as servants not as slaves and they had proper rights which is that they would be provided shelter, food, clothing and all other expenses should be met.
3. for having physical relationship with them, there are certain guidlines, which to my knowledge includes marriage and giving them rights as your wife.(Allah knows better). you can read about it anywhere else as well and will clearify your doubts in a better way. InshAllah.
4. It was needed not to be ended at that time but the ummah was given the right to end it by "Ijtihad" and after the need was over muslim Ummah abondened it and no one can carry out that practise anymore. but even in those times there were certain procedures which i mentioned above to my knowledge.
I hope this answered the first question to some extent.
for second question:
1. the punishments given for "mutid" in Quran are four. and murder is the last one. there is proper reason behind it, if you think about it with open mind.
Islam is not only "Mazhab" or "Deen". It is the combination of both. it effects on every aspect of life and society. and muslim is a member of that society.
The easy way to explain to you is that, In every country of the world "muslim or non muslim" the punishment for treator is "Death Penalty" despite of the fact that they have abandoned it for murder and rape but it is still there in every single country for "Treason". so if someone changes his religion then he is a "treator" and so the punishment for "treason" is death. because he not only changed his thoughts but also became an "insurgent" to Islamic ideology and sociology. and most of the "Murtids" do speak lies about Islam and try to create fitna, which you can see alot on youtube.
3. Do remember that killing them is not the first option for murtid. this is the last punishment.
"kindly if anything is wrong here this is because my lack of knowledge is very limited and you may confirm all i said from a proper source. I only tried my best to explain the issue." May Allah helps you find your answers.

wamz4,
Welcome to this forum.
The reasons you stated above may be accepted by devoted muslims. But if you were to give these explainations to non muslims, they will laugh at you.
So, I believe a real mufti can answer logically.

wamz4

W.salam brother, thnx for welcoming me.
i told you that i am not a scholor brother but the second answer is what i have taken from Zakir naik and many other scholors as well like Ghamdi, Dr. Israr Ahmed. about the first question is as per my knowledge of the issue.
and for non muslims who just want to provoke sentiments of muslims only this answer is enough that "why Christ(A.S) or any Previous Prophets(A.S) didn't stop it?". It just really depends whether they are seeking answers or are they just trouble makers. which remids me of a debate of Shah Ahmen Dehlvi (R.A) with a Christian Priest. Kindly do not make a debate of my post as it is just a sincere effort to answer the question, and i would say that i am open to correction and one may search for the truth from somewhere else as well. May Allah keeps all of us in his Protection and Blessing and give us the strength to learn.

taul

shaheedchoudry said:
The reasons you stated above may be accepted by devoted muslims. But if you were to give these explainations to non muslims, they will laugh at you.
So, I believe a real mufti can answer logically.

---Brother,First and foremost we must realize Non-Muslims would laugh at just about any aspect of Islam if they're not thinking straight and we must never ever resort to ways that would appease them coz they will never ever be!!

--We must tell the truth as is and if they truly would like to get things straight then they have to abide by the rule of "Context and Entirety" of any issue regarding Islam,as some one so beautifully said

In Islam "Obedience comes first,Logic comes second"

But such a parameter would be openly understood by Muslims,as in The Holy Quran so many aspects of science are covered that were not even remotely known to mankind in earlier times but now we all are witness to it that every word of it made logic and True.

--Nothing was introduced in Islam and some practices were already prevalent in those times and culture was addicted to it,and all had to be cleared gradually.

--Similarly Stern Punishments are even present in Bible such as chopping of hands for robbery and Stoning at the time of Prophet Moses (Peace be upon him) but christians due to lack of their own knowledge would point a finger on us not knowing about their own religion..These days everyone would wanna go with a flow without proper and complete knowledge.

--Last but not least i second admin's opinion any such issues should be asked by a Proper Scholar of Islam and trust me it would serve everyone good.

Ozmurd

Thanks for the answers. I really appreciate the effort you have put into it and also welcome to the community. Now my point basically is not to look at the issue in terms of comparative analysis, i.e., what other religions have to say about these matters or issues. The concept of having someone as a slave is still something that may sound unacceptable regardless of any religion. So, I was kind of looking for an answer that may suit to the modern society's perspective (in a positive way, that is).
Brother Taul, I think the intellect or understanding faith is as important as following it blindly because Prophet (saw) himself has said that a prayer without knowledge and knowledge without understanding has no good/khair in it and also reading (QIRAT) without complete understanding has no good/khair (Sunan Darmi). The second thing is during Prophet (saw) era he himself did quite many miracles to make people believe to what he has to offer and also his presence himself was a great sign that even his enemies couldn't reject. I think for every generation there's something new to discover in Quran, just something that people can hold on to cuz miracles are not gonna happen now. One just need to extract knowledge out of what's in it, and that's the beauty of it of what Allah says that it's hidaya, for all generations till the day of judgement, for ones who seek for it.

taul

Brother Ozmurd,

--You misunderstood my notion here "Obedience comes first and logic comes second" was infact the basis of our religion for instance when hazrat Ibraheem (Peace be upon him) was ordered to sacrifice his son Hazrat Ismaeel (Peace be upon him) he Obeyed straight away and Allah (SWT) wanted just that obedience,though we all know the story that followed..

--As far as knowledge is concerned how could anyone deny such a basic tenet,especially when Prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon him) was asked to say "Read" upon first revelation and so much emphasis has been put on education in Islam.

--Being humans our intellect is limited and is subjected to limited understandings of a lot of matters though we may be able get across some facts and some not,that doesn't mean laws or a certain practice is flawed rather it's beyond our intellect and understanding.I mentioned Capital punishments in previous religions as well but today's NGO's and human rights activists may consider them inhumane and brutal but we being muslims have a firm belief on all aspects of our religion and know all Divinely ordained laws are absolute and Most just..Human with their limited mind think of a certain thing being good whereas in reality it's not.

--We all are aware of Sunnah of our Holy Prophet (Peace be upon him) to keep our pants/shalwar above the ankles,now a non muslim may even question that and such an explanation of being a Sunnah would not sit well with him but if he saw Michael Jackson doing it he'd not simply follow it but may even overdo it :) Another scenario a US marine may inquire, "How could one die for his religion"?but,yet would be speechless if asked, "How could one die for his country"?..Point being divine laws are pure and most accurate,it's only trivial mind of ours playing tricks :|

patriot

Brother Ozmurd, Salaamun Alaikum...

If we read the Quran with understanding, we need not ask such questions to other people to get a response. Allah has answered all the questions we need answers to. According to the Quran there is no room for slavery in Islam.

Prisoners of war were made into slaves before Islam in all communities in the Roman Empire, Persian Empire, etc. But in Isalam when you say: "La ilaha illallah" meaning that there is no authority except Allah, slavery is automatically ended. No man can be master of another human being. It is so , if you believe in the Quran, but if you believe in something other than God's book then it is free to take and there is no ban at all. Quran says about the POWs that they must be released as a good deed or they can be freed in exchange for compensation.
Surah Muhammad 47:4 If you meet the disbelievers in battle, then, strike at their Command centers. Until you have subdued them, then, bind them firmly. And thereafter, must be an act of kindness or ransom when the battle lays down its weapons. And if God willed, He could indeed punish them Himself, but that He may let you test one by means of another (as to which nation remains vigilant.) And, as for those who are slain in the Cause of God, He does not renders their actions vain.

[8:37, 38:40. Free the captives as an act of kindness or ransom, such as in exchange for your men in their captivity. There is no third option. Fadharb ar-riqaab is usually rendered as smite their necks. A little contemplation, however, makes it plain that in a battle of swords and arrows no commander would order his soldiers to aim for the necks alone. Therefore, the stated term has been used idiomatically, indicating knocking out the command centers. It is interesting to note that even in todays encounters with high technology this principle is given a top priority]

And now your second question about apostate "Murtad" -.

If you ask a Mufti and you'll get the answer that an apostate should be killed, no doubt about it. But if you ask Allah SWT,that is to say his book, the answer is negative. You are not allowed to kill someone because of one's beliefs.
Here is what Allah SWT says:
4:137 Those who believe, then disbelieve and again believe, then disbelieve, and thus grow stubborn in denial of the Truth, God will not preserve them against the Law of Requital, nor will He intervene to walk them through on to the Way.

[Forgiveness = Protection = Preservation = Saving from the ill effects of misdeeds. Note that God has prescribed no earthly punishment for apostasy since there is no compulsion in religion. 2:256]

Brother these are answers from the Quran it self.

May Allah SWT guide us to his path.