Kissinger: Yahya promised Nixon in Nov '71 that he will grant East Pak independence by March '72

M Ali Khan

Below is an excerpt of an interview of former US Secretary of State and ex National Security Adviser, Henry Kissinger detailing what US role was in 1971 East Pakistan crisis.

Kissinger was National Security Adviser to US President Richard M. Nixon at that time. Full Interview discussing Trump, China, Russia, Middle East etc is for the Nov 2016 edition of The Atlantic magazine.

[FONT=&quot]Goldberg: Was the opening to China worth the sacrifices, the deaths, experienced in the India-Pakistan Bangladesh crisis?

[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Kissinger: Human rights are an essential goal of American policy. But so is national security. In some situations, no choice between them is required, making the moral issue relatively simple. But there are situations in which a conflict arises, specifically when a country important to American security or international order engages in conduct contrary to our values, requiring the president to make a series of judgments: about the magnitude of the conflict; the resources available to remedy it; the impact of our actions on its foreseeable evolution; and finally, if the president identifies a path forward, the willingness of the American public to maintain that effort. Emphasizing human rights led us into failed nation-building in Iraq; ignoring them permitted genocide in Rwanda. Contemporary policymakers face this challenge all over the world, especially all over the Middle East.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
The statesman can usually only reach his goal in stages and, by definition, imperfectly. The art of policy is to move through imperfect stages towards ever-more fulfilling goals.
[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]
Your question on Bangladesh demonstrates how this issue has been confused in our public debate. There was never the choice between suffering in Bangladesh and the opening to China. It is impossible to go into detail in one far-ranging interview. However, allow me to outline some principles:

[/FONT]

1. The opening to China began in 1969.
  2. The Bangladesh crisis began in March 1971.
  3. By then, we had conducted a number of highly secret exchanges with China and were on the verge of a breakthrough.
  4. These exchanges were conducted through Pakistan, which emerged as the interlocutor most acceptable to Beijing and Washington.
  5. The Bangladesh crisis, in its essence, was an attempt of the Bengali part of Pakistan to achieve independence. Pakistan resisted with extreme violence and gross human-rights violations.
  6. To condemn these violations publicly would have destroyed the Pakistani channel, which would be needed for months to complete the opening to China, which indeed was launched from Pakistan. The Nixon administration considered the opening to China as essential to a potential diplomatic recasting towards the Soviet Union and the pursuit of peace. The U.S. diplomats witnessing the Bangladesh tragedy were ignorant of the opening to China. Their descriptions were heartfelt and valid, but we could not respond publicly. But we made available vast quantities of food and undertook diplomatic efforts to resolve the situation.
  7. After the opening to China via Pakistan, America engaged in increasingly urging Pakistan to grant autonomy to Bangladesh. In November, the Pakistani president agreed with Nixon to grant independence the following March.
  8. The following December, India, after having made a treaty including military provisions with the Soviet Union, and in order to relieve the strain of refugees, invaded East Pakistan [which is today Bangladesh].
  9. The U.S. had to navigate between Soviet pressures; Indian objectives; Chinese suspicions; and Pakistani nationalism. Adjustments had to be madeand would require a book to coverbut the results require no apology. By March 1972within less than a year of the commencement of the crisisBangladesh was independent; the India-Pakistan War ended; and the opening to China completed at a summit in Beijing in February 1972. A summit in Moscow in May 1972 resulted in a major nuclear arms control agreement [SALT I]. Relations with India were restored by 1974 with the creation of a U.S.-Indian Joint Commission [the Indo-U.S. Joint Commission on Economic, Commercial, Scientific, Technological, Educational and Cultural Cooperation], which remains part of the basis of contemporary U.S.-India relations. Compared with Syria, Libya, Egypt, Iraq, and Afghanistan, the sacrifices made in 1971 have had a far more clear-cut end.

Full interview https://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2016/11/kissinger-order-and-chaos/506876/

arafay

Punjabi establishment always had a problem with bengalis and never really accepted them as equal pakistanis. First they kicked out urdu speakers from bureaucracy and government because they were a minority. After that punjabis introduced one unit scheme to counter bengalis who were in majority. Finally after 25 odd years in 1971, the first real election based on adult franchise was held and expected a bengali leader won. This is when punjabis decided to use force on bengalis which obviously didnt work and bangladesh was created in december 1971.

Today punjabis use gas from SUI, electricity from KPK, ports of sindh yet cannot even supply wheat to these province. On the other hand, bangladesh which was left in ruins by punjabis is now one of the fastest growing economies in the world. As long as pakistani state is in control of punjabis, it will always face embarrassment.

Kavalier

It is not Punjabi establishement, it is only Fouj who is involved everywhere. All other state institutions are suppressed by fouj.... I tell you, if you dig deep, in every single problem that Pakistan has, there will be only one cause and that will be some interference or policy by Khakis...

Admiral

Punjabi establishment always had a problem with bengalis and never really accepted them as equal pakistanis. First they kicked out urdu speakers from bureaucracy and government because they were a minority. After that punjabis introduced one unit scheme to counter bengalis who were in majority. Finally after 25 odd years in 1971, the first real election based on adult franchise was held and expected a bengali leader won. This is when punjabis decided to use force on bengalis which obviously didnt work and bangladesh was created in december 1971.

Today punjabis use gas from SUI, electricity from KPK, ports of sindh yet cannot even supply wheat to these province. On the other hand, bangladesh which was left in ruins by punjabis is now one of the fastest growing economies in the world. As long as pakistani state is in control of punjabis, it will always face embarrassment.

Blaming others for failures, won't lead to any solution.
Bhutto was Sindhi, so were the many other leaders in his party.
Even those Punjabis who were in his party, were leftists "anti-establishment".

Yahya Khan, and many other senior military generals (also during Ayub Khan era), were not Punjabis.
One can easily find the names and run a check.

Regarding the causes of failures, the two most read-worthy books are:
1. "Pakistan: A Hard Country" by Anatol Lieven (King's College London)
2. Faraib-e-Natamaam (originally published in Pashto, then translated into Urdu) by Sufi Juma Khan (ex-Soviet/communist activist in Afghanistan)

arafay

It is not Punjabi establishement, it is only Fouj who is involved everywhere. All other state institutions are suppressed by fouj.... I tell you, if you dig deep, in every single problem that Pakistan has, there will be only one cause and that will be some interference or policy by Khakis...

If you read material from back in 50s, 60s, 70s you will find that media and most punjabi intellectuals had bias against bengalis. Even though bengal provided bulk of pakistan's foreign exchange earnings, the only thing bengalis were famous in west pakistan was kaala, bhooka, nanga and jaadooo. This elitist attitude and racism was one of the main reasons bengalis wanted independence.

Just a few days ago 50+ people died in balochistan and there was no hospital to treat them. This is the a province whose gas has been used in households in punjab (and sindh) for the last 50 years. 12 hours later, PM and punjabi army chief was seen smiling and enjoying the singing and dancing on the inauguration of gawder port. Now imagine if 50+ people died in blast at data darbar lahore or lahore cantt instead of shah noorani in hub. what would be the reaction or army chief and PM?

Kavalier

I fully agree wth what you are saying but my point is quite simlpe, it is all about Khakis, every problem has its roots with khakis.... What do you think any party , any politician has access in Balochistan? Any civilian can make some policy decision concerning Balochistan? No sir, no one can and no one is allowed..... Last bold and national leader was BB and she too because of her cleverness was able to at least show her indipendence, realities might had been soemthing else....

Bangladesh was anyways a destined country since 1947, it was just a british gimmick and nothing else.... Begalis were more literate, politically aware and culturally closer to India than Pakistan. So that was not possible anyways and with such establishment, out of question. But these provinces are all in land connected, still I can safely say that it wont long more than 10, 15 years, provided Fouj changes its attitude/role or people force it to do so.... Otherwise bye bye Pakistan in next dacade or so... sad but true... :(

If you read material from back in 50s, 60s, 70s you will find that media and most punjabi intellectuals had bias against bengalis. Even though bengal provided bulk of pakistan's foreign exchange earnings, the only thing bengalis were famous in west pakistan was kaala, bhooka, nanga and jaadooo. This elitist attitude and racism was one of the main reasons bengalis wanted independence.

Just a few days ago 50+ people died in balochistan and there was no hospital to treat them. This is the a province whose gas has been used in households in punjab (and sindh) for the last 50 years. 12 hours later, PM and punjabi army chief was seen smiling and enjoying the singing and dancing on the inauguration of gawder port. Now imagine if 50+ people died in blast at data darbar lahore or lahore cantt instead of shah noorani in hub. what would be the reaction or army chief and PM?

Galaxy

I dont know why anybody keep on bringing this stupid Bangladashi war issue .Any army will do what it has to do in a war.Why don't they talk about the US,British crimes in Iraq,or ISAF crimes in Afghanistan.

Galaxy

You are back again with this punjabi establishment bullshitt again.Why dont you talk about your Baluchi chieftains who swallow millions.Most of budget money that was given to to them,where did it go ????????????

Balochistan tribal war lord resist development since 1951 till today. They prefer all shares of gas revenue to them and then used as per their wishes. Thats the truth.

Its the past imposed by a world super power. Old story past no solution.

Reality is what lesson did we learn and think of pakistan as one unit and musalman.

Good n bad people exist in all cultures. So no perfectionism available.

You as an individual being musalman keep spreading the word of love n humanity as our prophet peace be upon him.

As eventually this duniya is temporary love pakistan and spread patriotism unity that goes a long way.

As remember this world is temporary DO THE RIGHT THING

I fully agree wth what you are saying but my point is quite simlpe, it is all about Khakis, every problem has its roots with khakis.... What do you think any party , any politician has access in Balochistan? Any civilian can make some policy decision concerning Balochistan? No sir, no one can and no one is allowed..... Last bold and national leader was BB and she too because of her cleverness was able to at least show her indipendence, realities might had been soemthing else....

Bangladesh was anyways a destined country since 1947, it was just a british gimmick and nothing else.... Begalis were more literate, politically aware and culturally closer to India than Pakistan. So that was not possible anyways and with such establishment, out of question. But these provinces are all in land connected, still I can safely say that it wont long more than 10, 15 years, provided Fouj changes its attitude/role or people force it to do so.... Otherwise bye bye Pakistan in next dacade or so... sad but true... :(

lol hahaaahaa i know khakis tumhaarae saarae evil plans koe neutralize kurrdaetae hein by giving up their lives and that causes issues for you bhaarutee hindu indian buneeyae. Lol. Haaaaaahaaa

Kavalier

Chalo ji Allah kaay aisa hi ho k saray plans neutrlize krdayn lakin abhi tak tou mounh ki hi khai hay har mahaaz pay.... Agay dekho , kiya khabar koi moujza hojaye....

lol hahaaahaa i know khakis tumhaarae saarae evil plans koe neutralize kurrdaetae hein by giving up their lives and that causes issues for you bhaarutee hindu indian buneeyae. Lol. Haaaaaahaaa

MUNSIF

kul mila kar army ki chit aur pat dono head and tail dono case me victory army ki -----aisa pakistan me shuru se hi ho raha hai hota rahega .

PappuChikna

zara zor se bolo
Thank you Raheel Shareef!

military establishment has ruined and broken this country.
lekin aaj bhi, saray siasatdaan security risk hein and everyone says thank you raheel shareef.