Just $ 25 every month.

sem+t%C3%ADtulo.bmp

Salam friends.

I have been thinking about a simple thing that we can use to help increase the revenue and exports from Pakistan, I will appreciate comments from the members.

The following idea will not only help to promote Pakistani products and thus boost the economy, contribute to the job market in Pakistan, but will also contiributes to the revenue of the country that the Ex-Pakistanis are residing in but will also be a means to donate millions of dollars of worth of products every month back to Pakistan or to any other country in this world.

The contribution to the revenue of the country of residence will not only be a contribution to the economy of the country, it will also be a giving back to the society and it will be a political leverage in that area.

Lets take the example of USA for discussion.

A) -There are at least about 3 million Pakistanis in this country. Now if out of these only 1 million people buy $ 20 worth of Made in Pakistan products every month :
100,000 X 20 = $ 20,000,000/ month
20,000,000 X 12 = $240,000,000/year

B) -To mail these purchased products to an address for further processing possibly to the embassy of the country that we are donating to @ 4 dollars per package:
100,000 X 4= $ 400,000/month
400,000 X 12 = $ 4,800,000/year

C) -Additional donation of $ 1 per purchase donated to the government of Pakistan(PTI (bigsmile) ) = $100,000/month : 100,000 X 12 = $1,200,000/year.This could be used for covering the transportation expenses also.

D) -Total amount one person will be using every month = $25 = $300/year
E) -Total amount combining A+B = $ 244,800,000

The figures are large and once successfully implemented they can multiply rapidly and does not dent the pocket of an individual but the collect effort is massive.

As I mentioned earlier, the contribution to the economy of Pakistan leading to exports and jobs there will be so satisfying.
Contribution to the postal service in particular of the country and circulation of money leading to job creation in US in general is very important and politically strong also.
In addition the country/ies that we send the products to for donations will also lead to good relations with those countries and educate people about us. Hazrat umar(RA) said, "Ghurbat kufar kay kareeb tareen hai"

If we apply this to most of the Pakistanis residing all over the world and in different countries, the multiplying effect is quite massive and sobering if we can organise this and use it honestly.
Jazak Allah.

This is corrected after some friends pointed out the errors.Thank you. If you find any errors please let me know, I confess I do not deal good with very large numbers.

JojoBubble

i stopped reading right after the calculations for USA. dude get your effing numbers right first, simple math dude and common sense .
1Million is 10 lakhs not 100,000( hunders thousand or for your sake 1 lakh)

famamdani

A) -There are at least about 3 million Pakistanis in this country. Now if out of these only 1 million people buy $ 20 worth of Made in Pakistan products every month :
10,00,000 X 20 = $ 20,000,000/ month
20,00,000 X 12 = $240,000,000/year

B) -To mail these purchased products to an address for further processing possibly to the embassy of the country that we are donating to @ 4 dollars per package:
10,00,000 X 4= $ 40,00,000/month
40,00,000 X 12 = $ 48,000,000/year

now is better......................thanks..!!........... not at all...............
(bigsmile)

i stopped reading right after the calculations for USA. dude get your effing numbers right first, simple math dude and common sense .
1Million is 10 lakhs not 100,000( hunders thousand or for your sake 1 lakh)

Thanks for pointing out the mistake, but all I can say it my math is not good, but I do apologize for the mistake.And you did miss the point of the post.

But I do not see the reason for such an extreme reaction from you, don't you ever make a mistake and appreciate when some one points it out to you nicely?

10,00,000 X 20 = $ 20,000,000/ month
20,00,000 X 12 = $240,000,000/year

10,00,000 X 4= $ 40,00,000/month
40,00,000 X 12 = $ 48,000,000/year

now is better......................thanks..!!........... not at all...............
(bigsmile)

Thanks for the math and attention.
The reason I chose the figure of 100,000 for this was thinking that we could consider 100,000 packages rather than 1,000,000.
But your figure is highly possible and if so zabardast!

M.Aslam

Thanks for the math and attention.
The reason I chose the figure of 100,000 for this was thinking that we could consider 100,000 packages rather than 1,000,000.
But your figure is highly possible and if so zabardast!
Idea is not bad , but I think poor people who keep voting these looter should make some rule this time.
they should keep condition for all candidate, if they should bring their looting wealth and start at least one project in their locality then welcome to get vote. Other wise...........................

Yaar just idea, I know it would not work, b/c I see Gilanis son is elected. and these pooor voter voted them again.
Allah Pakistan pey raham karey.

thedude

There are 6.3 million total overseas pakistanis all around the world (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pakistani_diaspora)

round it off to 6 million

your figure generates a revenue of $244 million ... let's say $250 million ... per year per 1 million pakistanis

if all 6 million pakistanis do what you say (which is highly highly unlikely) ... it will bring $250m x 6 = $1.5 billion worth of revenue per year to pakistan ... essentially

$1.5 billion of foreign remmittances per year

do you know how much those 6 million pakistani already send home per year? ...

more than $12 billion of foreign remmittances ... almost 10 times the unlikely case you're suggesting

I call your method 'treating cancer with a placebo, not even an aspirin'

don't even make me start talking about those $12b plus sent to pakistan, and what happens to that money, and how many crooked customs officials, police, bureaucrats, etc warm their pockets because of those remmittances ... because of which most overseas pakistanis use "illegal" channels to send their money to pk ... which hurts the economy way more than what the baby-fix that you're suggesting could compensate for ...

saeed khan

I thought once that we give money to the Govt of Pakistan to build dams in Pakistan but it is possible only when Imran Khan will be our PM.

zeshaan

Kion,SADAR,PM,Ministers,aoor Pariament /senat kay membraan kay liay BULLETPROOF garion kee kamee hoo gaayee hay?
Yaa unkay mehngay soots TAR TAR hogaay hain,makaam oor plats too govt free main day daity hay inkoo.

There are 6.3 million total overseas pakistanis all around the world (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pakistani_diaspora)

round it off to 6 million

your figure generates a revenue of $244 million ... let's say $250 million ... per year per 1 million pakistanis

if all 6 million pakistanis do what you say (which is highly highly unlikely) ... it will bring $250m x 6 = $1.5 billion worth of revenue per year to pakistan ... essentially

$1.5 billion of foreign remmittances per year

do you know how much those 6 million pakistani already send home per year? ...

more than $12 billion of foreign remmittances ... almost 10 times the unlikely case you're suggesting

I call your method 'treating cancer with a placebo, not even an aspirin'

don't even make me start talking about those $12b plus sent to pakistan, and what happens to that money, and how many crooked customs officials, police, bureaucrats, etc warm their pockets because of those remmittances ... because of which most overseas pakistanis use "illegal" channels to send their money to pk ... which hurts the economy way more than what the baby-fix that you're suggesting could compensate for ...

I see you are a bit upset, this is just an idea with the intention of BUYING products which are Made In Pakistan so that a downstream effect is created, more over the remittances are in the kind of money which is easy for the government to plunder and the overseas Pakistanis have no way of knowing what is going on.
I am trying to highlight the advantages of Buying products verese sending money back home only. This is a new idea but in my mind very workable and useful, just needs organization at a level where it can have it's impact.
By the way Aspirin has uses in cancer, depends what kind we are talking about,Aspirin is considered protective for Colon cancer, just so you know!;)
When purchases are in the form of kind then they can be utilized for a apecific purpose. These same products will then need to be imported to the coutries where they have been bought from and this will create a market for the products there, exports worth that much can increase from Pakistan leading to job creation and at the same time where ever the donations are made those places will aso begin to see our good side and improve our standing with them.
More over with money sent back home there is no political pressure on the country the money is being sent from.When we buy things and mail them using the postal system weare circulating the money which will create jobs in that country in the form of in store hiring at least and the postal services will generate revenue. With this we can have some political leverage with the society because we would be contributing to their revenue and that is a huge thing that they respect.

Because $ 12 billion at least are sent by Pakistanis every year and there is no use the government puts it to and the frustration increases there fore there is no harm in trying something different. Think about it I invite you to.

Thanks for pointing out the mistake, but all I can say it my math is not good, but I do apologize for the mistake.And you did miss the point of the post.

But I do not see the reason for such an extreme reaction from you, don't you ever make a mistake and appreciate when some one points it out to you nicely?

Gazer dear,

Different members are responding in their own ways and abilities.

I think your idea is great but:

1. It must not be publicized during this govt, or the Swiss account would jump to $1B.

2. Change the govt, then you can set up a 'Overseas Pakistani Financial Contribution Council' (or similar) and publicize it to the most benefit to the country. You also have to convince the targeted countries that its in their benefits also. No country would want outward flow of their money, specially white countries, US, UK. Europe

Your thread is great for me but I am sure many have been turned off when they read '(PTI(bigsmile))'. This lost its impartiality an seriousness of your otherwise such a wonderful thoughts.

here I just contributed two cents and did not even cost me a penny (bigsmile)

UKPakistani

Here is my pennys worth

Some People are being incredibly harsh here but the @TS has a valid point, even if his maths is a little off

Remittances whilst enormous and necessary are quite different from what is being said here

Buying Pakistani products overseas and perhaps encouraging others to do so,would bring about wealth filtering downwards, in terms of people being employed in production, and processing.

Encouraging Export and Growth at grass roots level can only be of benefit to ordinary Pakistanis

The other difference is that what we remit is for the use of others,ie our loved and dear ones IN Pakistan, this is about changing OUR patterns in what we buy,whilst residing abroad. What we buy in the UK would for example be for OUR Own use in the UK, but still of benefit to someone in Pakistan

So

Be Pakistani Buy Pakistani ( freezing cold Pakistani Mangos later)

or pickles, rice, pulses or spices, little things basic everyday things.

We have a vast choice here, and if we did stick to buying Pakistani products

It can only do good and certainly it cannot do any harm

JojoBubble

I am sorry if i hurt gazer'a pretty little feelings, this idea is so juvenile on so many levels. just go back and read @thedude comment. plus what you are talking about PTI government, if Imran Khan did half the things he promised you wouldnt need this Brilliant Idea, you have no idea in months of winter and summer vacation , when most of us visit Pakistan , even the prices are different. all the sales happened when we are back in our respective countries, you know why cuz we spend dollars as it is when we go there. like dude said. Pakistan's collects more money from foreign remittances than tax collection,
Do you how many people filed taaxes in 2010 , 1.9million in a country of 170 million .

are you kidding this kids idea is a JOKE, why would i send my hard earned 25 bucks when *** holes wont even pay taxes, If Imran Khan could only fix this , there wont be no need for 25 bucks a month.,
by the way there are 10 million people are registered to pay taxes in Pakistan , i already gave you the number how many pay .

Gazer dear,

Different members are responding in their own ways and abilities.

I think your idea is great but:

1. It must not be publicized during this govt, or the Swiss account would jump to $1B.

2. Change the govt, then you can set up a 'Overseas Pakistani Financial Contribution Council' (or similar) and publicize it to the most benefit to the country. You also have to convince the targeted countries that its in their benefits also. No country would want outward flow of their money, specially white countries, US, UK. Europe

Your thread is great for me but I am sure many have been turned off when they read '(PTI(bigsmile))'. This lost its impartiality an seriousness of your otherwise such a wonderful thoughts.

here I just contributed two cents and did not even cost me a penny (bigsmile)

JojoBubble

by the way how on earth buying $20 worth of made in pakistan stuff is equal to sending 20 dollars to Pakistan. by buying that product , some one here just made probably $15 dollars, now you are recycling that thing and sending it back home, where the cost on that to be made was probably $3 dollars. man iam blown away by the logic of this post .

I think @UKPakistan,i has been able to explain the core of my idea but I know for it to be accepted as doable we need more debate and critisizm is welcome. please bring out some arguments, not decisions because if you have decided already then there is perhaps not much to say.

Bhai Gazoomartian, my idea is free and I don't really care who implements it because my intention is to try my two cents out there for who knows if I do not say it today, tomorrow I may be no more and then the idea will come forward and if good it will be put to use but i would have had no role in it, right?

As for PTI, well I am more and more inclined to vote for them but who ever wants to benefit they are welcome. But I have a very strong feeling that PML-N and PPP have egos too strong to consider ideas from puny people like us, mqm and JUI-F,ANP,PML-Q are all in for a ride and really have no role in anything constructive.

casper

I reckon it's a great idea . Pakistani products can make a joint website, outlining which product they are and how they are benefiting the common man. We could have forums on there for performance on the ground updates.

When i go out shopping i try to always buy Pakistani products .....what we lack is a website or even a iphone or android app, helping us.

Star gazer this is a top idea, don't let anybody put you off .

Think about it ur gona buy rice from your local shop, u got ten brands to choose from.... Why not the Pakistani brand, more then likely its gona be one of the cheapest ones, even if its not, a few pennies are not gonna kill you.
if its worked right, and no fraud goes into it, its like paying zakaat.
This idea should be managed by someone honest from Pakistan, a real patriot, somebody like aq khan ......etc.........

UKPakistani

Think of it this way,
everytime you eat Pakistani Rice, or Dhal, or Flour or Spices,
a tiny weeny small grain or morsel might also end up in the stomach of a hungry Pakistani child,
because his dad works somewhere where they export Pak goods. :) and you bought them,

however remote however small, drops can make an ocean.

PS

@Star Gazer

Never be put off by doubters, or critics... The best ideas have the biggest critics

Finding fault picking holes and discouraging creativity and patriotism

is sadly an illness that ails some of our brethren (too many)

Be Pakistani, Buy Pakistani Next time I go to the shops..............

famamdani

Kitne bazoo kitne sir gin le dushman dhiyaan se haare ga wo har bazi jab khele hum jee jaan se ......................................(bigsmile)

Kuch tou karne do kuch tou karo...........................................warna ..................zindagi ki yahi reet he haar ke baad hi jeet he.............(bigsmile)

I spend more then 45 euro every month only buy Beloved Pakistan product..................Rice,Mango, soap, detol,daal,flour,dentonic, shan,Rohafza,supence digest,vegetable,and cloths............................why not.................this is our duty Be Pakistani Buy Pakistani...

I am sorry if i hurt gazer'a pretty little feelings, this idea is so juvenile on so many levels. just go back and read @thedude comment. plus what you are talking about PTI government, if Imran Khan did half the things he promised you wouldnt need this Brilliant Idea, you have no idea in months of winter and summer vacation , when most of us visit Pakistan , even the prices are different. all the sales happened when we are back in our respective countries, you know why cuz we spend dollars as it is when we go there. like dude said. Pakistan's collects more money from foreign remittances than tax collection,
Do you how many people filed taaxes in 2010 , 1.9million in a country of 170 million .

are you kidding this kids idea is a JOKE, why would i send my hard earned 25 bucks when *** holes wont even pay taxes, If Imran Khan could only fix this , there wont be no need for 25 bucks a month.,
by the way there are 10 million people are registered to pay taxes in Pakistan , i already gave you the number how many pay .

@jojobubble

Just to let you know that star gazer is a 'dudess' and NOT a 'dude' :biggthumpup:.

She is a young patriotic Pakistani girl and has been a sweetheart of everyone ever since I joined Siasat.pk Dec 2009. Shooting down one's idea is within our rights but let us all do it respectfully and nicely. Lets provide an alternative or keep our keyboard quiet.

We all know that PPP has been installed by the US to destroy Pakistan as it is mentioned in the book written by Conilezza Rice. Specially as Zardari had hinted once to a highly placed PPP member that Shaitan Malik had been installed on instructions from London. May be he meant UK govt or may be Altaf Hussein. Whichever he meant, both are anti Pakistani.

In this scenario and context Imran Khan appears to be a FARISHTA compared to the PPP and time tested Sharifs. We look to the PTI for solution and as the only savior of troubled country. This is the opinion of myself and millions other, you may or may not agree.

no more comment on this thread. Salam