Indian and Afghan Dams Caused Devastating Flood in Pakistan

Horseman

A.Ali.T
Horseman
What is your critrion of determining that Zaid Hamid is lying and Shahid Masood is telling the truth. How can you judge who is lying and who is telling the truth. Please enlighten me.
1. The guests on the program were a retired army general, Farzana Bari and Dr. Farukh Saleem.

2. These people are definitely more credible than ZH.

A.Ali.T

1. The guests on the program were a retired army general, Farzana Bari and Dr. Farukh Saleem.

2. These people are definitely more credible than ZH.

Remember this don't forget it ever, because next time if they say anything against India, don't say that they are not credible.

Pakistan 1st

We should not expect any blessing from India, Israel or Afghanistan. They all are against existence of Pakistan and to tackle their conspiracy we had to deal with them as a nation which unfortunately never happened. I think blaming India or Afghanistan is immaturity I rather blame our internal politicians for not coming to a consensus on Kalabagh damn also the bad governance and its bad planning in handling expected flood in Pakistan

number one

InshaAllah, our grand children will find India on history archive

ab3a19c0d0b5ed2bc886a1999c95f01f.jpg

Gaazzoo stop showing maps and concentrate , and make up your mind, sometimes you people curse india, that india don't give u water, making dams stealing water and doing water terriosm, now u get water more then what u expected, now you say india tried to drown pakistan. what kind of crazyness is this. Please explain?????

number one

Donkeyman donkeyman donkeyman tu kab sudharay ga banyay, makar loomreeee.

Beta Kasam khuda ki, Kasam tere allah ki, or kasam mere bhagwan ki Jis din Pakistan shudray gaya, Usdin Shera a hindustan shuder jayaga, yeh mera wada hai, Kya bolte Shera hindustani.... right ya wrong

JAI HIND
VANDE MATRAM>>

Horseman

Remember this don't forget it ever, because next time if they say anything against India, don't say that they are not credible.
1. These people are relatively more credible than ZH.

2. So, when comparing ZH and these people, listen to them and not ZH.

Pathfinder

Even if Indians are not doing it, then they should do it. that would be good way to bring pakistan to its knee's, and might force it to abandon terrorism against its neighbors.

India Should Be Broken Up So It Stops Crafty Bollywood Style Terrorism.

az.ay

India Causes Fresh Pakistan Floods

water-chenab-baghlihar.jpg

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan—While Pakistani foreign minister and his government were busy accepting Indian aid for Pakistani flood victims, New Delhi released a massive 18,000 cusec feet of water from a dam in Indian-occupied Kashmir into Pakistan, prompting fresh fears of floods in the plains of Punjab and Sindh.

On 17 Aug., Pakistani website PakNationalists.com released a report [titled, “Check Indian, Afghan Dams For Floods In Pakistan”] providing indications that minor flooding in northern Pakistan following torrential rains was worsened by India releasing water form tens of small dams that litter occupied Kashmir. These Indian dams have been full for the past two to three years.

An Afghan dam near the Pakistani border, called the Sarobi Dam, is also suspected of releasing vast amounts of water into river Kabul. The Afghan dam is run by an Indian company.

Until a week ago, on 16 Aug., Pakistan’s Meteorological Office confirmed there was no chance of flooding in the northern rivers of Ravi and Satluj.

According to a report in TheNation today, India has released 18,000 cusec of water into Ravi in the early hours of Saturday. It is not clear if the Indians gave Pakistan a 24-hour advance warning in accordance with the water treaty between the two countries. It is also not clear if the release of this amount of water is warranted considering that India has constructed a network of small- and medium-sized dams across Indian-occupied Kashmir adjoining northern Pakistan.

According to the newspaper report, ‘flood warning has been issued here to five drainages of River Ravi catchment areas in wake of possible flood due to release of water in river Ravi by India here on Saturday. As per details, India has release 18000-cusec water in river Ravi that could cause flood in five drainages of Narowal and Shaker Garh. Metrological department had predicted water level in river Ravi would remain low during next 24 hours but after release of water by India low-level flood has hit drainage Bhutsen and Basantar of River Ravi catchment area.

At least 168 villages along river Ravi have been evacuated in wake of possible flood while district administration has been red alerted in Narowal and Sialkot. The flood center in Lahore has given prior high flood warning in drainage located in Shakar Garh. More four drainages Basantar, Jhajri, Oojh and Khattar could be affected by the possible flood. Water inflow of 70,000 cusec at Shahdara could cause massive destruction.

Despite sharing rivers with Afghanistan and Indian-occupied Kashmir, no flooding has been witnessed in either Afghanistan or Indian-occupied Kashmir. Successive waves of flooding in Pakistan despite no rains for the past ten days raise a question mark on the amount of water India has released from its dozens of dams in Kashmir exploiting torrential rains and what initially started as limited flooding in northern Pakistan.

The key point here is that the initial flooding in pockets of northern Pakistan was natural but the subsequent flood waves in the absence of rain are possibly linked to opening the floodgates of Indian dams and the Indian-run Sarobi Dam in Afghanistan. The selective melting of Himalayan glaciers into Pakistan is also a point of consideration. The theory of some experts that the speed of melting at certain glaciers doubled to coincide with torrential rains is highly unlikely and does not explain the successive flood waves in River Kabul coming in from Afghanistan.

There are no Pakistani observers posted at the main Indian dam of Baglihar to check how much water India released into Pakistan during the last two weeks. Baglihar has been a point of contention between Islamabad and New Delhi since 2005. Some analysts in Pakistan have described the dam as a national security threat. The last two years have confirmed Pakistani fears when India blocked Pakistan’s share of the rivers flowing from Kashmir, turning vast agricultural lands of central Pakistani plains into

A pro-US Pakistani government is loath to raise this issue with New Delhi in order not to alienate Washington and London, the two capitals that worked for the return from exile of key figures in the incumbent Pakistani government.

On US prodding, the Pakistani government officials have been indirectly defending the Indian position by denying that India is stealing Pakistan’s water and that Pakistan’s problem is water wastage.

-via PakNationalists

alibhai

Zaid Hamid is a ****ing idiot at best and an anarchist and enemy of Pakistan at worst. He was going on and on for an year saying our baighairat leaders were letting India steal our water. Now he is saying they flooded us. The water commissioner keeps saying otherwise. Should I listen to a professional engineer or to a professional loudmouth. The flood was Allahs will and design. Weather and natural disasters are part of living on this planet.

The flood is down the entire length of the Indus river. That is our river for its entire length. India has no capability to manipulate the flows there. None of the other rivers in punjab are flooding from indian water. If anything the water is being sent from our dams thru link canals to eleviate the pressure on the indus. Water takes time to flow. The water that started in rivers swat and kabul is still flowing in Indus in sindh province. It hasn't gotten to the sea yet. It doesn't need anymore rains. And when it gets to the sea it will not dissipate. It can't push seawater back. So it will take time to drain. more flooding along the delta with river and sea water back and forth.

Afghanistan has one small silted up dam near jalalabad on the Kabul river that was built by russians in the 1960s. They have no way to control their river. Tomorrow when they build a proper dam and use this water for their own country, ZH will start barking again. The Afghan are our neighbours and our brothers in Islam. All our sacrifices in hosting the refugees count for nothing in light of the games we played after the russians retreated. Our religiously misinspired generals played games and ruined first afghanistan and then nearly Pakistan itself. India, intelligently has been spending money in afghanistan to build infrastructure that millions of afghans can see. be it highways, roads, hospitals and buildings, and now a dam. These projects show the common afghan that India is helping build the country. We haven't built a roadside khokha there. We have missed a massive opportunity to make ammends for our mistakes. But for that to have happened we would have to first recognize the mistake and most forum members here, as most pakistanis I know, dont see it as such.

QADIANITRUTH

Why do we blame everything on India and Aghanistan for whatever troubles we have?

DO WE HAVE HONEST LEADERSHIP?
DID INDIA FORCE US TO ELECT MOST CORRUPT REGIM IN OUR HISTORY?
IS EVERYTHING FINE IN OUR SOCIETY except Indian / Afghan influneces?

WE SOLD OUR SOVEREIGNTY TO US... WHY BLAME INDIA?

AND ON CURRENT FLOODS, Its unprecedented rains coupled with lack of dams (our own fault) that this rain became a devestation than blessing..

PLEASE MY COUNTRYMEN, LEARN TO FACE THE FACTS.

Don't give India too much credit, she cannot solve her problems...... see slosely, we OURSELVES are culprits.

It is true that water is flowing through other countries like India, Afganistan...

But dont we have only this much sense even after 63 years that we should make a interface , a reservoir , a dam at every entry of every river at the border.

It is common technique of receiving any thing coming through others , specially enemies.

Stop , check and then let it go if needed.

But our Engineers, technocrats , politicians , Military dictators, all are not matching the international levels....now we can cry only...

aftabshah

hahahaha well said" oil your bumms for CHITROL" by digitalzygoat to donkeyman.

Indians like donkey, because they are donkey, but im scare if they start worship donkeys. huhuhu

"
Donkeyman and all other Indians are so scared of ZH and for what he stands for, so many propa****a videos and articles but sorry guys he's not going anywhere and time will come we will make you pay for all atrocities, state sponsored terrorism in Pakistan, flood water release, kashmir and for media propa****a, oil your bumms for CHITROL.

aftabshah

razz, theek naam rekha tumharay ma bap nay, baray raaz ki bat ki ha.

It is true that water is flowing through other countries like India, Afganistan...

But dont we have only this much sense even after 63 years that we should make a interface , a reservoir , a dam at every entry of every river at the border.

It is common technique of receiving any thing coming through others , specially enemies.

Stop , check and then let it go if needed.

But our Engineers, technocrats , politicians , Military dictators, all are not matching the international levels....now we can cry only...

Pathfinder

India releases 18000 cusec water in Ravi: Flood warning issued.
Flood warning has been issued here to five drainages of of River Ravi catchment areas in wake of possible flood due to release of water in river Ravi by India here on Saturday. As per details, India has release 18000-cusec water in river Ravi that could cause flood in five drainages of Narowal and Shaker Garh. Metrological department had predicted water level in river Ravi would remain low during next 24 hours but after release of water by India low-level flood has hit drainage Bhutsen and Basantar of River Ravi catchment area.
At least 168 villages along river Ravi have been evacuated in wake of possible flood while district administration has been red alerted in Narowal and Sialkot. The flood center in Lahore has given prior high flood warning in drainage located in Shakar Garh. More four drainages Basantar, Jhajri, Oojh and Khattar could be affected by the possible flood. Water inflow of 70,000 cusec at Shahdara could cause massive destruction.

http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-n...8000-cusec-water-in-Ravi-Flood-warning-issued

Process to release water from Bhakra Dam starts

The Bhakra-Beas Management Board (BBMB) on Saturday morning started the process of releasing nearly 55,000 cusecs of water from the Bhakra Dam. The release of water from the 225 metre high dam, which is located in neighbouring Himachal Pradesh along the border with Punjab, about 130 km from here,
has raised fears that low-lying areas in Ropar and other districts downstream of river Sutlej in Punjab could be flooded.

The Bhakra Dam, built after independence on river Sutlej, was described by India's first prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru as the "temple of modern India".

"There is no immediate threat of flooding in Punjab. We still have a cushion of taking the water level till 1,680 feet. The water level today (Saturday) morning was 1,670.53 feet. We will be releasing 36,000 cusecs water initially followed by more later in the day," Punjab Irrigation Department Chief Engineer Amarjit Singh Dulat said.

Dulat added: "If there is more rain in the catchment area of the (Bhakra) dam, we will have to open the flood gates. Then there can be a threat of flood in Punjab."

Rivers Sutlej, Beas and Ravi flow through Punjab and inflow in all these rivers, from respective catchment areas in Himachal Pradesh, has increased in the last few days due to heavy rain.

District authorities and irrigation department officials say that preventive flood protection measures have been initiated in areas which fall along the rivers.

BBMB officials said the inflow of water into the Pong Dam reservoir of Beas river, located near Talwara town, about 200 km from here, is over 200,000 cusecs.

The water level at the Pong dam till Friday was at 1,360 feet and flood gates can be opened after the level reaches 1,390 feet, Punjab irrigation officials said.

Dulat said the water being released in all three rivers was flowing into neighbouring Pakistan, which has been devastated by floods in recent weeks.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Process-to-r...le1-589729.aspx

YAHYA87

Well what ever might be the reason but I never heard any Dam in Afghanistan on river Kabul as they were interested and India was also providing them funds but things dont get through for some reason....On the other hand just for Information of our group of conspiracy theorist that their was heavy rain also predicted in KPK and also in Punjab so their was possibility of Flood was there even before those rains as well.....BTW looks like our conspiracy theorist are looking for someone to blame for this Natural disaster as well just like they try to put all the blames of Taliban on some US ghost....We have been through discussion of HARP already and now its Indian involvement's turn to create something against our so called enemies...Cant you people have anything else to think except making every issue a conspiracy???We know the intencity of our relations with India but that doesnt mean that we should start thinking as everything wrong going on in Pakistan is just because of India...Stop this mindset cause this mindset would cause wars in the future and dont forget that both Pakistan and India are Nuclear Power so what could wars lead us to...

I am not an expert in making an analysis on the causes of flood due to lack of understanding of Geographic of KPK and Punjab but according to me the flood that came in Pakistan may be because of Heavy rains and melting of Glaciers in the mountain in Pakistan and Afghanistan(Kabul river) due to global warming that is increasing heat day by day....Have you people ever seen the places which were damaged due to these floods???the most effected was KPK and I dont think that India could control water that is coming from KPK....If their was a flood which happened in Raavi and other Eastern rivers of Punjab then it could be justified that India has increased water from their reservoirs which has caused flood in Pakistan but the only rivers which were effected by the flood was eastern rivers where India has no control....About Afghanistan then I dont heard of any such reservoir in Afghanistan for storing Water that much big which could cause flood if they could open their reservoir for water to flow and due to that it might cause flood but I dont know any such facility in Afghanistan....So instead creating wild imaginations on every issue one must also consider the ground reality and other facts about that as well....

alibhai

Only in lala land that topi drama zaid hamid lives does the irrigation system become a weapon. 18000 cusec might bring flood in a nullah but not in a river. Go google news from years past and this happens every year. Its part of living next to rivers and canals in a monsoon. A little lesson in history is due:

The division of punjab between the two countries also led to division of the water in 1960. But land is static and water isn't so this division cuts long along the rivers. The eastern most rivers sutlej, beas, and ravi are now India's. India has extensive networking of these rivers with other river systems thru link canals and the like to make maximum use of these waters. The water are now diverted even towards rajasthan. Completion of these projects has dried these rivers before they get to pakistan. Only monsoon flooding brings some water back into the rivers for a couple of months. This happens every year, same time, same place to various degree depending upon wetness of season.

In Bahawalpur state these river flowed normally and irrigated land providing gainful employment to people. After division, pakistan has been trying to compensate by bringing water from chenab thru mailsi siphon in the bahawalpur canals. Other canals are fed thru head punjnad where all rivers combine before meeting the indus. In monsoon season India has to release excess water that is beyond its storage capacity towards pakistan. At a flow of 100,000 (1 lakh) it would be termed low to medium flood that will only cause damage to people who have illegally taken up residence in the river beds. Kasur, Okara, bahawalpur, and bahawalnagar are in the way of these waters. For most of the people though, this is much needed water as it will go towards replenishment of the aquifers that are getting progressively depleted by extensive use of tube wells for irrigation.

This is going to sound harsh but a lot of our people have sustained damages due to their greed. The forests have been cut mercilessly causing flash flooding. Those of you who live in the west try chopping a tree in a national forest or reserve and tell us what happens to your ass. People have occupied land right on the banks of rivers and sometimes even in the middle of rivers. That is how you get to see spectacular footage of hotels getting torn apart by raging floods in parts of malakand. The plight of the haris farming and living on katcha land in sindh is the same story. That exploitation of land and these slave farmers is the reason sindhi landlords are against kalabagh dam. The dam would control flooding and they will have to buy water from irrigation dept instead of getting it free in form of flood and illegal canals. The great flood that comes every 4 to 6 years is the price the poor pay. Any damages from low flooding in ravi and associated nullah would be because people are occupying river bed and building and farming illegally.

Those from pindi know the flooding of nala lai that happens every year and still people build right into the nala because of greed.