India appeals for calm ahead of Babri mosque verdict

Night_Hawk

India appeals for calm ahead of Babri mosque verdict
17 September 2010 Last updated at 07:13 ET
_49137849_49137848.jpg

The mosque's destruction was one of India's most bitterly contested events
The Indian cabinet has issued a written appeal in major newspapers, calling for calm ahead of a court verdict next week on the long-running Ayodhya dispute.
On Friday, a court in Lucknow city refused to defer the ruling which is due to be announced on 24 September.
The court is to rule who owns land in the northern town of Ayodhya, where the 16th Century Babri mosque was destroyed by Hindu mobs in 1992.
Hindus claim the site is the birthplace of their god, Lord Ram.
The destruction of the mosque led to widespread rioting between Hindus and Muslims, and some 2,000 people died.
It was some of the worst Hindu-Muslim violence since the partition of India in 1947.
'Sensitive issue'
The cabinet appeal carries the name and photograph of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and it takes up half a page in major newspapers.
"The government appeals to all sections of society to maintain peace and order after the delivery of the judgement," the appeal reads.
"There should be no attempt whatsoever made by any section of the people to provoke any other section or to indulge in any expression of emotion that would hurt the feelings of other people," it says.
Officials say the appeal will also be carried in various languages on Indian radio over the coming days.
The BBC's Chris Morris in Delhi says it is a sign of just how sensitive, and potentially inflammatory, the dispute in Ayodhya is.
India's home ministry has already warned that the legal decision is likely to evoke sharp reactions and communal passions.
And the state government in Uttar Pradesh, where Ayodhya is, has asked for 50,000 extra security forces to deal with any law and order problems.
Hindu fundamentalist groups are still determined to build a temple on the disputed site in Ayodhya and now the court is about to issue a legal ruling on what is a contentious matter of faith, our correspondent adds.
Meanwhile, an application to defer the judgment because of fears about the security situation was rejected by court on Friday.
A three-judge special bench of the court rejected the application filed by Ramesh Chandra Tripathi.
Mr Tripathi had asked for the decision to be postponed to give the two sides times to reach an amicable settlement through reconciliation.
The judges also fined him 1m rupees ($21,821) for wasting the court's time.
Now that the plea has been rejected, India is holding its breath and hoping for calm in a week's time.

Classified

We Pakistanies will Rebuilt This Mosque inshallah when we will take over india again ! next time hindus will be ruled by muslims again inshallah till judgement day !!! from slaughter of mohajereens during partition of indopak region to the 1971 separation of bangladesh (east pakistan) , we will take revenge of every single muslim blood from zionist hindus inshallah inshallah

We do not hope any good from India... Mosque is already gone.....so what else ?

IndiaGuy

We Pakistanies will Rebuilt This Mosque inshallah when we will take over india again ! next time hindus will be ruled by muslims again inshallah till judgement day !!! from slaughter of mohajereens during partition of indopak region to the 1971 separation of bangladesh (east pakistan) , we will take revenge of every single muslim blood from zionist hindus inshallah inshallah

According to medical science , day dreaming is not a healthy sign lol

IndiaGuy

We do not hope any good from India... Mosque is already gone.....so what else ?

There is no point of talking about Mosque anymore. Let see when they complete the construction of Ram Mandir. inshallah it will happen soon..

Zionist Hindu

Looks like fresh graduate from tora bora......

There is no point of talking about Mosque anymore. Let see when they complete the construction of Ram Mandir. inshallah it will happen soon..

hmmm ....aray ram mandir .....a joke.......
ok make a mandir ...let see how long it takes before its turned down to rubble......

ghatya hindu mentality was evident hundreds of years ago and the filth is still in every hindu brain....

but we muslim know how to deal with it ..coz we have ruled you for thousand years ,

only_truths

There is no point digging this unfortunate incident once again. I feel the Indian secularism has grown much stronger since the Babri masjid destruction and we have learnt a bitter lesson. The majority of Indians do not approve of the destruction and have punished BJP in the polls as they have lost both Provincial as well as Federal election after the incident.

But during the Rath yatra days, I have always felt that there was a great opportunity for the Muslim community to come forward to an amicable solution whereby the Mandir and masjid could have co-existed. There is no doubt that Muslim rulers like Babar, Aurangazeb did desecrate temples and built high mosques nearby or in the same place. The Kashi-Gyanvapi mosque and Krishnajanmabhoomi-Aurangazeb Friday mosque still exist. There were thousands of mosques built during Mughal period, why only a few are in dispute? Think about it, some consideration for Ram temple or laxity by Muslims could have given the community immense respect as a religion of tolerance.

Saket

My dear Muslim brothers in India and in Pakistan ,,,I am a hindu ... Please see these polititians who done this act to seprate Hindu & Muslims..before this act world was wathching the unity but they had done the crime..I know some ill citizens are working agaist the socity norms but they are hated in India too ,,they are not even agaist Muslims they are agaist hindus too who are comming from diffrent parts of country for work..We are a group from all the part of India and we assure u that Justice will be done..Masjid & Mandir will be made simontaosly.

InshaAllah and ameen

Indians ro-eingey us dinko jis din unhon ney humey barbad karney ki kosish ki hai. us waqt bachaney wala koi nahi milega.....

Aur phir hum aziz-e-hind lo hum shackle karkey laein-gey and Islamabad main prosecute kareingey, InshaAllah

have many mandirs you have demolished in pakistan? Just wondering...

Stop wondering here are the facts for you. Not One.
By the way it took the largest democracy in the world the longest possible time to decide on the issue, how many years? 18 years, one generation time.
Cheetay ho bhai kiya?

My dear Muslim brothers in India and in Pakistan ,,,I am a hindu ... Please see these polititians who done this act to seprate Hindu & Muslims..before this act world was wathching the unity but they had done the crime..I know some ill citizens are working agaist the socity norms but they are hated in India too ,,they are not even agaist Muslims they are agaist hindus too who are comming from diffrent parts of country for work..We are a group from all the part of India and we assure u that Justice will be done..Masjid & Mandir will be made simontaosly.

Some justice! You want to have your cake and eat it too.
You must be under the false impression that you guys are very smart. Blame those who destroyed the masjid, take so long to decide the case that question of punishment is lost in the political drama and then come up with the solution of having the masjid AND the mandir. Oh the web you indians weave! Sab aik jaisay ho!
Maybe you will have this short victory, but remeber strange are the ways of the Lord, we do.

Saket

Some justice! You want to have your cake and eat it too.
You must be under the false impression that you guys are very smart. Blame those who destroyed the masjid, take so long to decide the case that question of punishment is lost in the political drama and then come up with the solution of having the masjid AND the mandir. Oh the web you indians weave! Sab aik jaisay ho!
Maybe you will have this short victory, but remeber strange are the ways of the Lord, we do.

My Dear I know u are hurt but u will see young India will come out of justice..we are with justice that is why we thow shivsena out by not giving them votes , You are a Muslim like u I also belive in 1 god , So if Mandir & Masjid biult togetrher where is the problem

IndiaGuy

Please Please Please STOP Lying ... India demolished one Mosque but Pakistan has destroyed almost every temple and Church without even any reason.
In 1947, Hindus were 20% of total Pakistani population and today it has reduced to 1%. where did they go? Let me tell you. they were killed and forced to convert.
Pakistan is paying price for what they did in last 64 years.