Breaking News on CNN "Osama bin Laden is hiding in northwest Pakistan"

NATO official: Bin laden, deputy hiding in northwest Pakistan

By Barbara Starr, CNN
October 18, 2010 2:43 a.m. EDT

t1larg.binladen.gi.jpg

Kabul, Afghanistan (CNN) -- Osama bin Laden and his deputy Ayman al-Zawahiri are believed to be hiding close to each other in houses in northwest Pakistan, but are not together, a senior NATO official said.
"Nobody in al Qaeda is living in a cave," said the official, who declined to be named because of the sensitivity of the intelligence matters involved.
Rather, al Qaeda's top leadership is believed to be living in relative comfort, protected by locals and some members of the Pakistani intelligence services, the official said.
Pakistan has repeatedly denied protecting members of the al Qaeda leadership.
The official said the general region where bin Laden is likely to have moved around in recent years ranges from the mountainous Chitral area in the far northwest near the Chinese border, to the Kurram Valley which neighbors Afghanistan's Tora Bora, one of the Taliban strongholds during the U.S. invasion in 2001.
Tora Bora is also the region from which bin Laden is believed to have escaped during a U.S. bombing raid in late 2001. U.S. officials have long said there have been no confirmed sightings of bin Laden or Zawahiri for several years.
The area that the official described covers hundreds of square miles of some of the most rugged terrain in Pakistan inhabited by fiercely independent tribes.
The official also confirmed the U.S. assessment that Mullah Omar, the leader of the Taliban, has moved between the cities of Quetta and Karachi in Pakistan over the last several months.
The official would not discuss how the coalition has come to know any of this information, but he has access to some of the most sensitive information in the NATO alliance.
The official, who has day-to-day senior responsibilities for the war, offered a potentially grimmer view than what has been publicly offered by others.
"Every year the insurgency can generate more and more manpower," despite military attacks, he said.
Although there has been security progress, he pointed to an internal assessment that there are 500,000 to 1 million "disaffected" men between the ages of 15 and 25 along the Afghan-Pakistan border region, he said.
Most are Afghan Pashtuns and make up some of the 95 percent of the insurgency who carry out attacks just to earn money, rather than fight for a hard-core Taliban ideology.
The official said it is now absolutely vital for the Afghan government to address the needs of this group with security, economic development and jobs in order for the war to end, and for Afghanistan to succeed.
"We are running out of time," he said.
The entire scenario is made more complex by the fact that "there is a huge criminal enterprise in this country," dealing in human, drug and mineral trafficking, he said. Those crimes are also tied into the insurgency.
He acknowledged the overall strategy now is to increase offensive airstrikes and ground attacks in order to increase the pressure on the Taliban and insurgents groups to come to the negotiating table with the current Afghan government.
There is a growing sense that many insurgent leaders may be willing to accept conditions such as renouncing al Qaeda because they want to come back to Afghanistan.
But, the official cautioned, hard core Taliban groups such as the Quetta Shura run by Mullah Omar, the Haqqanis, the HiG (Hezb-e-Islami Gulbuddin) and the Pakistani Taliban still could potentially muster as many as 30,000 fighters.
The U.S. continues to face a more localized insurgency in the south. In places like Marja and the Helmand River Valley, the majority of the fighters are captured within a few miles of their homes.
The insurgent leader Mullah Abdullah Zakir has increased his strength in the south, the official said. He essentially exerts some levels of control and influence both in the greater Kandahar region and across the south from Zabul to Farah province.
The official continued to stress the urgency of getting the Afghan government to deal with the multitude of problems it faces.
Right now, the U.S. war plan approved by President Barack Obama extends through 2014, the official said. That is the official document that spells out matters such as troop rotation schedules.
The U.S. military could sustain a war "'indefinitely," the official said. But the goal is to achieve reconciliation and allow the Afghan government o function and provide security and services to the people.
Without that, he said, "we will be fighting here forever."

http://www.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/asiapcf/10/18/afghanistan.bin.laden/index.html?hpt=T1&iref=BN1

Young_Blood

Farz kijiay k USAMA agar pakistan k northwest area main hai bhe to ye kiun waha Drone Attack nahi kerte?? maaro aur qissa he khatam karoo,,
magar ye sab topi darama hai, haqeeqat main shaied USAMA Washington DC main he majood ho...

mya

American ke irade khatarnaak lag rahey hein....they are looking for an excuse to attack Pakistan.

omerkuwait

Farz kijiay k USAMA agar pakistan k northwest area main hai bhe to ye kiun waha Drone Attack nahi kerte?? maaro aur qissa he khatam karoo,,
magar ye sab topi darama hai, haqeeqat main shaied USAMA Washington DC main he majood ho...

Man OSAMA IS not any more .
yeh naam OSAMA hi topi drama hai.

digitalzygot

Their paid local informants keep making them fool and feeding them false info to get money, don't forget RAW links which are just feeding CIA wrong info for the sake of perks/military deals/anti Pakistan agenda/ to keep US engaged in Afghanistan so RAW can operate freely in Afghanistan and can do as much dmg to Pakistan's security and economy. All of this is making US spend hundreds of billions of taxpayers $$ and they are losing soilders everyday, I question their wisdom and am surprised at their stupidity.

irtz99

Yea Iran president said usama is in Washington:lol:[hilar]:lol::lol:[hilar][hilar][hilar]:lol::lol::lol:

harisuae

America is making world fool with these kind of rumors. They just want to ask Pakistan for military operation in those areas, to create more hate against our army.

staray khaatir

NATO official: Bin laden, deputy hiding in northwest Pakistan

By Barbara Starr, CNN
October 18, 2010 2:43 a.m. EDT

t1larg.binladen.gi.jpg

Kabul, Afghanistan (CNN) -- Osama bin Laden and his deputy Ayman al-Zawahiri are believed to be hiding close to each other in houses in northwest Pakistan, but are not together, a senior NATO official said.
"Nobody in al Qaeda is living in a cave," said the official, who declined to be named because of the sensitivity of the intelligence matters involved.
Rather, al Qaeda's top leadership is believed to be living in relative comfort, protected by locals and some members of the Pakistani intelligence services, the official said.
Pakistan has repeatedly denied protecting members of the al Qaeda leadership.
The official said the general region where bin Laden is likely to have moved around in recent years ranges from the mountainous Chitral area in the far northwest near the Chinese border, to the Kurram Valley which neighbors Afghanistan's Tora Bora, one of the Taliban strongholds during the U.S. invasion in 2001.
Tora Bora is also the region from which bin Laden is believed to have escaped during a U.S. bombing raid in late 2001. U.S. officials have long said there have been no confirmed sightings of bin Laden or Zawahiri for several years.
The area that the official described covers hundreds of square miles of some of the most rugged terrain in Pakistan inhabited by fiercely independent tribes.
The official also confirmed the U.S. assessment that Mullah Omar, the leader of the Taliban, has moved between the cities of Quetta and Karachi in Pakistan over the last several months.
The official would not discuss how the coalition has come to know any of this information, but he has access to some of the most sensitive information in the NATO alliance.
The official, who has day-to-day senior responsibilities for the war, offered a potentially grimmer view than what has been publicly offered by others.
"Every year the insurgency can generate more and more manpower," despite military attacks, he said.
Although there has been security progress, he pointed to an internal assessment that there are 500,000 to 1 million "disaffected" men between the ages of 15 and 25 along the Afghan-Pakistan border region, he said.
Most are Afghan Pashtuns and make up some of the 95 percent of the insurgency who carry out attacks just to earn money, rather than fight for a hard-core Taliban ideology.
The official said it is now absolutely vital for the Afghan government to address the needs of this group with security, economic development and jobs in order for the war to end, and for Afghanistan to succeed.
"We are running out of time," he said.
The entire scenario is made more complex by the fact that "there is a huge criminal enterprise in this country," dealing in human, drug and mineral trafficking, he said. Those crimes are also tied into the insurgency.
He acknowledged the overall strategy now is to increase offensive airstrikes and ground attacks in order to increase the pressure on the Taliban and insurgents groups to come to the negotiating table with the current Afghan government.
There is a growing sense that many insurgent leaders may be willing to accept conditions such as renouncing al Qaeda because they want to come back to Afghanistan.
But, the official cautioned, hard core Taliban groups such as the Quetta Shura run by Mullah Omar, the Haqqanis, the HiG (Hezb-e-Islami Gulbuddin) and the Pakistani Taliban still could potentially muster as many as 30,000 fighters.
The U.S. continues to face a more localized insurgency in the south. In places like Marja and the Helmand River Valley, the majority of the fighters are captured within a few miles of their homes.
The insurgent leader Mullah Abdullah Zakir has increased his strength in the south, the official said. He essentially exerts some levels of control and influence both in the greater Kandahar region and across the south from Zabul to Farah province.
The official continued to stress the urgency of getting the Afghan government to deal with the multitude of problems it faces.
Right now, the U.S. war plan approved by President Barack Obama extends through 2014, the official said. That is the official document that spells out matters such as troop rotation schedules.
The U.S. military could sustain a war "'indefinitely," the official said. But the goal is to achieve reconciliation and allow the Afghan government o function and provide security and services to the people.
Without that, he said, "we will be fighting here forever."

http://www.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/asiapcf/10/18/afghanistan.bin.laden/index.html?hpt=T1&iref=BN1

They can be anywhere in the tribal region of pakista.
This guy must be joking how come any military can fight forever.

Imavailable

American ke irade khatarnaak lag rahey hein....they are looking for an excuse to attack Pakistan.

Americans ka jidher dil kerta hai waha Osama ko nikal daitay hain... Kooi America ka pichwara chk keroo itnay dinoo tak shaid wahi per ghaib tha OSAMA.... Jo ab bahar nikla hai Gosha e Tanhai say...

wanderer

What nonsense !!!
Obama is make believe now, How can anyone survive carpet bombing in any area ?? This is their way to start an official WAR on Pakistan.

Young_Blood

I will support agar America pakistan per attack ker dey,, pak army peachey hut jaey,, aur un ka muqabla na karey,, america pakistan per qabza ker lay,,
i wish k iss terhan se kam az kam hamarey mulk main khush khaali to aa jaey ge,, living standard to bherh jaey ga, education aur health to achi ho jaey ge,, aur corrupt logo ko jail to jana parey ga, ,, i wish k aisa ho jaey,,
plz guys mind mat kijiay ga,, magar kya karoo,, main aik mayoos pakistani hoo, jis ko koi bhe umeed ki kiran dikhai nahi deti,, kabhi PPPP, kabhi PML (N), Kabhi ARMY, kabhi PML (Q).. wahi chehrey, wahi soch, wahi policies,, Ameer mazeed Ameer hota ja raha hai, aur Gareeb mazeed gareeb honay k baad ab apni jaan de raha hai,,

simple_and_peacefull

 is biggest lier by it's media. They make world fool by their stupid thinks. They want to be master of whole universal just like Satan want. But they will never success.

Zionist Hindu

Looks like USA is one step closer to securing Pakistan's nuclear assets. My third eye sees something fishy!!! Well I would support such action as It will be better for world peace, given Pakistan's bad record with nuclear prolification and unsure / unstable future.

We knew you had some defects and thank you for confirming the details of of your defect - a third eye.

But you are wrong, nature has not created a third eye in your skull but a second exit point. As too much of filth and venom is produced by your brain, nature has created a hole nearby to spit that out or to be taken out. You better arrange for removal of this filth rather spitting it through your mouth.

Cheaper solution will be go to a car wash and use their strongest vaccum, plug it to the spot you think is your third eys and use highest suction degree, repeat the process three times a day, we will tell you after reading your future posts, if it worked.