Baroness Warsi gets heroine's welcome in Pakistan

imemyself89

Baroness Warsi, Britain's first Muslim cabinet minister, has returned to her Pakistani roots to be feted as a heroine in her grandmother's village.

baroness-warsi_1636634c.jpg

More than 2,000 people cheered and threw fragrant rose petals in the air not the sort of reception usually afforded the chairman of the British Conservative Party * as she addressed them deep in rural Punjab.

"My grandmother, she was living in this village of Bewal and no one thought that her granddaughter would ever be a minister in the United Kingdom," she said in Urdu, to cries of "zindabad", which means live-long.

Her father left Pakistan in 1960, arriving in Britain with only 2 in his pocket.
He went from working in a mill to running a bed manufacturing business with a turnover of 2m, providing the inspiration for Baroness Warsi's Conservative politics.
Her appointment to the cabinet in May attracted banner headlines in Pakistan, where people are enthralled by her family's immigrant-to-minister story.

The capital Islamabad had been decked out with welcome banners ensuring a tumultuous welcome by the time she arrived in Bewal. Businessmen tossed handfuls of five-rupee notes in the air.

Baroness Warsi, 39, flanked by security guards armed with automatic weapons, said she was delighted to return to the village where her father began his journey.

But she also had a serious message for her audience, some of whom had arrived carrying visa applications for trips to Britain.
Having spelt out the principles that helped her get on in Britain, she called for Pakistanis to help their country in the same way.

"You could say that with all those principles we should go to the UK," she said. "I say you can bring those principles here.

Baroness Warsi has been given a roving brief in Cabinet and asked to use her Pakistani connections to help strengthen relations with Islamabad, and tackle the issue of immigration.
"Britain has always helped us a lot but now she has come here the relationship will be even better," said Malik Farkh, 60, who had waited for two hours in the sweltering heat to see her.
She is the third cabinet minister to visit Pakistan in the past six weeks, a reflection of the country's importance in terms of trade, immigration and the war in neighbouring Afghanistan.

source

(clap)(clap)

root bhai

Aurton ko bhi HERO hi boltey hain. HERO is a common gender

heroine ka matlab hai drugs LOlz

imemyself89

Gazoo sahab, the news is taken from telegraph Uk. They won't make such mistakes. Heroine indeed is used for females :)

Geek

(clap)(clap)

root bhai

Aurton ko bhi HERO hi boltey hain. HERO is a common gender

heroine ka matlab hai drugs LOlz

Gazoo uncle both words have different spellings.

Heroine = A woman admired for her courage
Heroin = A highly addictive drug derived from morphine.

You are right hero is common gender lakin herione ka matlab drugs nahi bahadur Aurt hay. lolxx

So You are right hero is common gender lakin herione ka matlab drugs nahi bahadur Aurt hay. lolxx

Thank you for the clarification Geek.
So we can say that when our information minister sahib, aka Phakki Wall, will invite her, headlines will be
A Heroine given Heroin Welcome

You are right hero is common gender lakin herione ka matlab drugs nahi bahadur Aurt hay. lolxx

there goes my Englisss (bigsmile)

This is the fate of Poor Pakistanis, don't even dare to do anything for Pakistan. But feel proud for those who deliver and achieve accomplishments for other countries and remain faithful for them.

Greatest foolish Nation on earth "PAKISTANIS"

This is the fate of Poor Pakistanis, don't even dare to do anything for Pakistan. But feel proud for those who deliver and achieve accomplishments for other countries and remain faithful for them.

If it is foolish to appreciate some one's achievment, then yes Pakistanis' are foolish.
If it is foolish to welcome a fellow citizen then yes Pakistanis' are foolish.
If it is foolish to desire to emulate a humble successfull person then yes Pakistanis' are foolish.
If it is foolish to express your happiness for the success of another person then yes Pakistanis' are foolish.

Will you care to elaborate which of these is it in your view that makes Pakistanis' foolish?

yar saray gazoo kay peechay he par gayay hoo

gazoo bhi koi masla nahi.....hum aur aap donoo heroine kay aadi hain .....es liay har jagah wohi nazar aati hai....
hamari degree asli hai......spelling ghalat

You are part of this nation? or oh I forgot....u are not u said you wud happpily renounce your nationality. Well for your information....this site is for Pakistani's not for X-Pakistani's like you. How dare you insuilt my nation? I can't believe how a Pakistani website can get hijacked by these X-Pakistani's....

02_17.gif

yar saray gazoo kay peechay he par gayay hoo

gazoo bhi koi masla nahi.....hum aur aap donoo heroine kay aadi hain .....es liay har jagah wohi nazar aati hai....
hamari degree asli hai......spelling ghalat

:lol:

یار یہ بچے ضعیفوں کی ذرا بھی عزت نہی کرتے - افسوس کی بات ہے نا؟

Bret Hawk

A Failed Nation and its Wishful Aspirations.

I really second you Abbasi bhai on your critical and incisive remarks against this so called heroine Miss Warsi and fully support your point of view on this issue. Being a part of British society for nearly nine years I know very well the “true feelings and thoughts” of these Pakistani origin Asian Britishers for the (relatively new) immigrants of the world residing in UK especially their native countrymen/women from Pakistan and especially the current third generation of Pakistani Britons are "very much honest and blatent" in their appeciation for those foreginers. We as a nation I don’t know for how long would like to view outside of this land (Pakistan) and those personalities which has little or nothing to do with its prosperity and development. May be the losses and bitterment of the last six decades or so have mutilated our sense of judgement and rational thinking as a whole (Though with few exceptions of course).

Muslim MP’s have been selected before in United Kingdom and I’ve seen their “success” and “Campaigning” against the rights of their fellow country men and women there who have immigrated there for decades now and still there’s no prospects of their better education and decent job opportunities. Plus the compounding factor is the absence of Muslim family laws and penal code in UK for Muslim populace, which have always been marginalised on their religious issues.

In the end I see this whole political gimmick (The so called first selection of a Muslim in a ruling party’s cabinet) as an eyewash to show the world that how much accommodating and caring these racist Britishers are when it comes to the integration of non white communities in their homeland. Pretty much is obvious is the fact that Miss Warsi has yet to get any portfolio from her “highly generous” ruling party of Conservatives, which makes me think cynical about her affectability and influence. In addition to that I would also like to see her stance and real concerted efforts to condemn her own Govt (because of its criminal silence and lack of action) on the issues of human rights abuses in Iraq and Afghanistan by its armed forces, the forthcoming suggestion of ban on Muslim women to wear the veils on public spots and of course the “Highly acclaimed” imposition of immigration cap on the highly skilled immigrants of the non EU area.

LeftBrain

Ghulamon ki nafsiyaat aisi hi hoti hey..............puraney aaqaaon ke talwey chatney main bohat khushi hoti hey.....

by the way where is Gojar Khan? I think it is near Rawalpindi - Province of PUNJAB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ghulamon ki nafsiyaat aisi hi hoti hey..............puraney aaqaaon ke talwey chatney main bohat khushi hoti hey.....

by the way where is Gojar Khan? I think it is near Rawalpindi - Province of PUNJAB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

گھر آیے مہمان کی عزت کرنا اچھی بات ہے اور یہ پنجاب سمیت سبھی صوبوں کی روات ہے
لیکن ہمارے بیچ کچھ ایسے چھوٹے ذہن والے بھی آ گیے ہیں جو آدھ کلو گوشت سے پوری سہمائی نکالنا چاہتے ہیں
ان کو کیا پتا کہ مہمان نوازی کیا ہوتی ہے وہ تو بس مفتے کا کھانا جانتے ہیں
رہی بات تلوے چاٹنے کی تو ان کا مہان لیڈر بقلم خود بنفس نفیس اپنے مالکوں کے ہر وقت تلوے چاٹنے کے لئے مالکوں کے گھر میں موجود رہتا ہے

You are part of this nation? or oh I forgot....u are not u said you wud happpily renounce your nationality. Well for your information....this site is for Pakistani's not for X-Pakistani's like you. How dare you insuilt my nation? I can't believe how a Pakistani website can get hijacked by these X-Pakistani's....
lol

This is what you are, emotional fool, now start making noice, prove you are the only patriotic Pakistani, others are X- or etc, so start issuing certificates patriotism, but never ever dare to talk truth, This is the biggest problem of you so called pakistani Patriots, you won't be able to write one positive thing which you would have had done for Pakistan, but you are on the top of issuing Patriotism certificate.

Again for in the language of AZIZI " CHAL DORD JAA"

I really second you Abbasi bhai on your critical and incisive remarks against this so called heroine Miss Warsi and fully support your point of view on this issue. Being a part of British society for nearly nine years I know very well the “true feelings and thoughts” of these Pakistani origin Asian Britishers for the (relatively new) immigrants of the world residing in UK especially their native countrymen/women from Pakistan and especially the current third generation of Pakistani Britons are "very much honest and blatent" in their appeciation for those foreginers. We as a nation I don’t know for how long would like to view outside of this land (Pakistan) and those personalities which has little or nothing to do with its prosperity and development. May be the losses and bitterment of the last six decades or so have mutilated our sense of judgement and rational thinking as a whole (Though with few exceptions of course).

Muslim MP’s have been selected before in United Kingdom and I’ve seen their “success” and “Campaigning” against the rights of their fellow country men and women there who have immigrated there for decades now and still there’s no prospects of their better education and decent job opportunities. Plus the compounding factor is the absence of Muslim family laws and penal code in UK for Muslim populace, which have always been marginalised on their religious issues.

In the end I see this whole political gimmick (The so called first selection of a Muslim in a ruling party’s cabinet) as an eyewash to show the world that how much accommodating and caring these racist Britishers are when it comes to the integration of non white communities in their homeland. Pretty much is obvious is the fact that Miss Warsi has yet to get any portfolio from her “highly generous” ruling party of Conservatives, which makes me think cynical about her affectability and influence. In addition to that I would also like to see her stance and real concerted efforts to condemn her own Govt (because of its criminal silence and lack of action) on the issues of human rights abuses in Iraq and Afghanistan by its armed forces, the forthcoming suggestion of ban on Muslim women to wear the veils on public spots and of course the “Highly acclaimed” imposition of immigration cap on the highly skilled immigrants of the non EU area.
Dear Bret Hawk,
I must appreciate, the way you have given words to my feeling, When I see towards our people, I really sorry for them, who have talent like you, but will never avail opportunity to take the best out of you, Instead they are good back biting or fighting each other.