Alcohol in Pepsi and Coke?

Night_Hawk

Re: Coca-Cola has Alcohol in it

Night Hawk bhai,

waisay to kehtay hain keh mocktail bhi non-alcoholic hoti hay laikin suna hay keh us main bhi alcohol (thori si) hoti hay. Isi tarha Coke main bhi thori si alcohol ko yeh log non-alcoholic consider kartay hon ge. Waisay bhi unhon ne socha ho ga ke kon secret recipe tak pohonche ga? is liye claim karte hon ge keh non alcoholic hay. Yeh sirf mera andaza hay.
Brother Bons,
If an ingredient is less than a certain percentage, according to the FDA regulation you do not have to declare that in the ingredient list.
Almost all of us eat Ice Cream Vanilla flavor! do we know how that Vanilla is extracted for flavoring. Usually Vanilla extract is used for all type of flavors, and they use Vanilla extract.
Here is a description of :

Vanilla: For Flavoring. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vanilla_extract
Vanilla extract
is a solution containing the flavor compound vanillin.[citation needed] Pure vanilla extract is made by macerating/percolating vanilla beans in a solution of ethyl alcohol and water. In the United States, in order for a vanilla extract to be called pure, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration requires that the solution contain a minimum of 35% alcohol and 13.35 ounces of vanilla bean per gallon.[1] Double and triple strength (till 20 fold) vanilla extracts are available.
Vanilla extract is the most common form of vanilla used today. Mexican, Tahitian, Indonesian, and Bourbon vanilla are the main varieties. Bourbon vanilla is named for the period when the island of Runion was ruled by the Bourbon kings of France; it does not contain Bourbon whiskey.
Natural vanilla flavoring is derived from real vanilla beans with little to no alcohol. The maximum amount that is usually found is only 2%-3%. Imitation vanilla extract is usually made by soaking alcohol into wood, which contains vanillin. Vanillin is chemically treated to mimic the taste of vanilla.

There is another Item which is Gelatin: It is there in almost Jams and Jelly, what is origin of that material sometime we inquire and most of the times we don't.
I am in a process of writing a small article about the origin of Gelatin.
Where it is used.
How it is extracted.
Most of us really do not know how it is extracted.

Jazak Allah Khair for your comments.

Filthy words from dirty mouth.I believe in my last Prophet Mohammed(PBUH).***** on any other who claims to be prophet.Homeopaths and their patients should be killed then !
I have no concern about your belief.

Good for u if you r not Qadyani. I think so.

and why they should be killed who use these medicine.. ?...

Go on wikipedia and read about Alcohal. It is arabic word. and Alcohol was used in Islamic countries for sterilizing.

The booze , " Khumar " is ban or any thing who gives the drowsiness " Sukara" in Quranic language.

Anyway , You are good person , calm down please...

But we need to clean up ourself. as much as we can. ...It is hard luck that we ignore one thing saying that it is ok , when we do the other bad.

It is same thing that two wrongs could not make one right.....

I respect you anyways, you are a teacher.. I respect all teachers.... the builder of nation.....

Brother Bons,.
I am in a process of writing a small article about the origin of Gelatin.
Where it is used.
How it is extracted.
Most of us really do not know how it is extracted.

Jazak Allah Khair for your comments.
[/COLOR][/SIZE]

Gelatin is used in Pakistan too and is very nasty thing , made from bones...of all kind of animals....

In this present time we do not have time from corruption and time has changes a lot.

We have no research about any thing , and eating food coming from non halal source.

The lack of knowledge and dishonesty is the reason.

naveed

Coca-Cola and Pepsi 'contain traces of alcohol' - Metro UK reports

[h=1]Coca-Cola and Pepsi 'contain traces of alcohol'[/h][h=2]Teetotalers or designated drivers enjoying a can of Coca-Cola and Pepsi will be stunned to find out the soft drinks contain traces of alcohol.[/h]

article-1340814475301-13D1483D000005DC-847424_304x456.jpg

The fizzy drinks contain about 10mg of alcohol in every litre, according to French magazine 60 Million Consumers.

The research will also affect Muslims who drink the beverage because their religion forbids alcohol.

Of 19 colas tested, nine brands were alcohol-free, including Auchan, Cora, Casino, Leader Price and Man U-Cola. Ten had traces of alcohol, including Coca-Cola, Pepsi Cola, Coca-Cola Classic Light and Coke Zero.

Both Pepsi and Coca-Cola admitted the drinks could contain traces of booze because of ingredients and the production process.

Michel Pepin, scientific director for Coca-Cola France, added that the Paris Mosque agreed Muslims could drink the brand.

Source

indigo

Re: Coca-Cola and Pepsi 'contain traces of alcohol' - Metro UK reports

Yar iska mulk mulk me formula change hota hai.. ab hamare paas bhi barae barae scientist hain... un seh kehdo k investigate kr le, pata chal jaye ga... Tab tak mujhae umeed hai keh Junaid Jamshed hamae sacha rah dikhaye ge

omerkashmiri

mainay aaj tak kisi ko pepsi pee kar tun ho kar phirtay nahin dekha

Pakistani92

pata nahi aisa kuch hai jo pepsi mein nahi........

Petrolhead

mainay aaj tak kisi ko pepsi pee kar tun ho kar phirtay nahin dekha

Try a couple of sips of a beer or whisky and you wouldn't get 'Tun'. A lot of chefs splash liquor on a few of their food for extra taste, again, it doesn't make anyone 'Tun'.

Does it make a few sips or splash of liquor 'Halal'?

The same report appeared in 'The Guardian' re Coke some time ago and I didn't see any denial from Coke. Stopped drinking Coke after that. It's better to not drink than drink. There are a lot of alternatives around.

Khalid

Colas in UAE comply with required standards Abu Dhabi Food Control Authority

Research in France that Coca-Cola and Pepsi contained traces of alcohol had raised concerns

Dubai: Research by a French institute that Coca-Cola and Pepsi contain traces of alcohol has raised concerns about health and consumer issues worldwide.

Effect on residents, patients

Speaking to Gulf News, Dr Hatem Soliman, Specialist Critical Care Medicine at Al Zahra Private Hospital, Sharjah, said that if the research is evidence-based and without bias, the compounds in the colas with traces of alcohol will affect residents, especially patients.

The concentration of alcohol, although very scanty, may interact with a few medications either increasing or decreasing the effect of drugs taken like blood thinners, and a few antibiotics which may alter the drug regimen and its effects. Moreover, the health hazards of these sugary beverages impact the heath of diabetic patients, and even in healthy people who are predisposed to obesity and osteoporosis among other conditions, he said. Gulf News spoke to professionals in the health and fitness industry to gauge the impact of such finding.

Allergies

Hussain Al Beshbeshy, Marketing Manager at Body Balancers, a wellbeing, sports and physiotherapy centre in Dubai, said that clear labelling of ingredients is necessary as a preventive measure. A person with food allergies, for example, should be made aware that a product could contain traces ingredients that could cause a reaction.
Alcohol is toxic; the label should mention that the cola contains alcohol, specifying the percentage. So if a person knows he has a medical condition, he can make an informed decision, he said.

Phill Robson, a sports and fitness consultant and founder of Phill Robson Sports and Fitness Academy in Dubai, said that most people probably wont be affected by trace amounts of alcohol. However, the worry lies in the harmful effects of colas in general. People on weight-loss programmes tend to drink diet colas, he explained. These are harmful due to the sugar substitutes like aspartame that can cause metabolic issues. Colas are harmful anyway whether they contain alcohol or not, he said.
Take charge of your health

Jacques Caluw Sr, a physiotherapist who treats and coaches top athletes, and author of Consciously working with your body, said if the research is true, it proves how big companies make money without considering the health of the consumer. Think about the billions of children consuming colas without awareness and are hooked on it. People should be conscious about their health and take charge of it, he said.

http://gulfnews.com/news/gulf/uae/h...ds-abu-dhabi-food-control-authority-1.1041829

Comments:

Agreeing with SrK, Abu Dhabi. Such a detailed and comprehensive article but not a single mention of the fact that Alcohol is forbidden in Islam and even trace amounts of it would deter its sales in Islamic countries. Such an elephant in the room and we are talking about health and dietery concerns. I drink cola twice a day but this news has made me think otherwise. I would like to request UAE government to investigate the matter and help us put our fears and concerns to rest. Thank you.
Basil, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Such a detailed article and not a single mention of the fact that in an Islamic country, because of these colas, alcohol is being consumed by everyone including children which is totally forbidden for all Muslims. Even in the tiniest of amounts!
SrK, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Mojo-jojo

[h=1]Report Reveals Alcohol Hiding in Major Soda Brands Including Coke and Pepsi[/h]
hX+zQAAAAASUVORK5CYII=

Lisa Gerber
NaturalSociety
July 3, 2012
sodabottles-235x147.jpg
Every can of Coke contains about 10 teaspoons of sugaran inflammatory, an energy sapper, and a leading cause of tooth decaybut its the 10mg of alcohol in every liter that might concern consumers the most. A new report reveals that many leading soda brands including Coke and Pepsi contain a small amount of alcohol per bottle. The findings are particularly startling for those who object alcohol for religious or spiritual reasons and may be unknowingly consuming it through Coke and Pepsi beverages.
[h=2]French Scientists Find Alcohol Hiding in Coke and Pepsi[/h] On June 27, Paris-based National Institute of Consumption (INC) revealed that half of the most popular sodas contain minute traces of alcohol - including incredibly popular Coke and Pepsi. In addition to Coca-Cola and Pepsi Cola, Coca-Cola Classic Light, and Coke Zero also contain the minute alcohol content. Many cheaper supermarket versions are actually alcohol-free.

Admittedly, 10mg per liter isnt much (its about 0.001 percent alcohol). Because the Quran forbids consumption of alcoholic beverages, though, some Muslims may take issue with that small percent, even if the Committee of the Mosque of Paris deems it still in line with their religious beliefs. Others who have decided to abstain from alcohol may also be outraged.
So, what is alcohol doing in soda? Michel Pepin, the scientific director for Coca-Cola France, says that traces of alcohol come from the process of making soda rather than the initial ingredients of its secret recipe. The amount is, however, legal. In fact, even orange juice has some alcohol because ethanol occurs naturally in many citrus fruits, particularly toward the end of harvest season, when the yeasts have had more time to convert sugar into alcohol.
[h=2]Massive Sugar Content Spikes Disease Rates[/h] Meanwhile, sugar and artificial sweetener consumption has been linked repeatedly with obesity, diabetes, cancer, and heart disease. A 2009 study even found that almost half of high-fructose corn syrup (usually in the top two ingredients of soda) contained toxic mercury. So no matter how you look at it, soda is definitely a health destroyer.
Additional sources:
Daily Mail
Oxford Journals
University of Buffalo Department of Psychology

Explore More:

1. Soda Consumption Tied to Increased Coronary Heart Disease Risk
  2. Pepsi Co. Follows Coca-Cola in Changing Recipe to Avoid Cancer Warning
  3. Pepsi Co. Admits Mouse Body Would Disintigrate from Mountain Dew
  4. Soda Consumption Increases Asthma and COPD Risks
  5. Woman Who Drank Over 2 Gallons of Coca-Cola Per Day Dies
  6. Aspartame-Filled Diet Soda Leads to Weight Gain