بھارتی آموں پر یورپ میں پابندی Indian mangoes banned in Europe

Sadia Hashmi

Sabko apne ghar ka khana aur apne yaha ka aam acha lagta hai. Its a developed taste. Amongst Indian mangoes also i prefer hapus because it is grown locally and it is by far the best mango i have eaten. I ate mexican mango in US. Usko mango kehna mango ka insult hai. Mere liye to ONLY HAPUS that also DEVGAD.(bigsmile)

india mein aam jaldi market mein aa jata hy.....
pakistan mein tu june k first week say quality ka mango market mein aata hy......
kea wahan jaldi garmi start ho jati hy?

chandbibi

India ka to nahi pata sadia jee but mumbai me aa jate hain. Actually february end se hee aana shuru ho jate hai. June me barsaat start hogi, usse pehle alphonso ka season khatam ho jata hai. North India ka weather thoda bahut Pakistan jaisa hee hai. But in Western India Garmi shuru hoti hai March end- se till end of May. June 10th monsoon starts and goes on till september end, sometimes till october we have rainfall.
india mein aam jaldi market mein aa jata hy.....
pakistan mein tu june k first week say quality ka mango market mein aata hy......
kea wahan jaldi garmi start ho jati hy?

Joker

India ka to nahi pata sadia jee but mumbai me aa jate hain. Actually february end se hee aana shuru ho jate hai. June me barsaat start hogi, usse pehle alphonso ka season khatam ho jata hai. North India ka weather thoda bahut Pakistan jaisa hee hai. But in Western India Garmi shuru hoti hai March end- se till end of May. June 10th monsoon starts and goes on till september end, sometimes till october we have rainfall.

Chandbibi Chandbibi tum log humari Multani mitti kyun khaate ho ?(serious)

Joker

Multani mitti khate ho? Face pack lagate hai multani mitti ka. Khayenge kyu? People with calcium deficiency eat clay. LOL

acha ...mera aik dost hay Raghuvanshi from Mahabhali, Bhopal. He told me that his younger sister loves to eat Multani mitti (serious)

chandbibi

Then that is some disorder. Multani Mitti is also called fullers earth. It is mineral rich clay. Multan has this kind of soil so its called Multani mitti. Your friend's sister seems to have some deficiency. It is not good to consume such things which contain minerals. Minerals can get deposited in the bones.

acha ...mera aik dost hay Raghuvanshi from Mahabhali, Bhopal. He told me that his younger sister loves to eat Multani mitti (serious)

UKPakistani

EU Bans Indian Mangos. HUGE Opportunity for Pakistan's Mango Growers. Please Rise to the Challenge

[h=1]Forbidden fruit: EU ban on mangoes cuts off Indian summer[/h] British Asians are racing to buy the last 'king' mangoes as the EU halts imports

mango-vendor-old-delhi-011.jpg
A street vendor sells mangoes in a side street in Old Delhi. The EU has banned imports of Indian mangoes for 18 months after inspections found fruit flies. Photograph: Frank Bienewald/LightRocket via Getty Images

At Patco greengrocer's on the Romford Road in east London, there has been a run on Indian mangoes. Boxes cradling a dozen yellow-orange fruits packed in straw, some oozing aromatic juices indicating peak ripeness, have been flying out of the store.
"Customers who usually buy one box a week have been taking four," said the owner, Krunal Parikh. "I stocked 100 boxes and most are already gone."
The reason is a European Union ban. Brussels has blocked imports of Indian mangoes until December 2015 after inspectors found some consignments infested with fruit flies.
The ban has left connoisseurs practically in mourning for an annual ritual that heralds the start of summer, even in Britain.
Mangoes are grown in south-east Asia, India, Pakistan, parts of Africa, South America and in the Caribbean. But many people consider the Indian varieties to be the best.
"You get wine all over the world, but there is only one region where they produce real champagne," said Pushpesh Pant, a food anthropologist in New Delhi. "Mangoes from Mexico, Indonesia, Brazil, China, Thailand or Pakistan don't even bear mentioning in the same breath as Indian mangoes."
Popular Indian varieties include the small Dussehri, grown in northern India, and the big green Langra, from near the Hindu holy city of Varanasi.
But the Alphonso, so-called "king of the mangoes," grown on India's western coast and named after the Portuguese explorer Afonso de Albuquerque, is considered the richest in flavour and is a major export.
"The Hapuz [Alphonso in Indian languages] has a delicate fragrance, firm orange flesh, it's not overly sweet. The juice is not too gooey and its soft yellow skin is just beautiful to look at," said Pant, whose own personal consignment of the season's first mangoes was shipped to him on Wednesday.
"In India, there are very few orchards that produce the best Hapuz mangoes and their crop is usually pre-booked months in advance," he said.
Mango mania begins in mid-April when the first fruits appear, and continues into early July. Unlike strawberries grown for a longer season in greenhouses in Spain, or grapes, which can be sourced from multiple parts of the world, Alphonso mangoes remain one of the few truly seasonal fruits.
"During Indian mango season, it just goes crazy," said Anil Mudumbi, founder of itadka.com, an Asian online grocery retailer in the UK where a box of Alphonso mangoes usually sells for 14.99, the most expensive variety on offer.
Bought mostly by an estimated 2 million British Asian customers, the mangoes are not available in major supermarkets. Rather they are sold by specialist retailers like Mudumbi.
For many British Asians, mangoes can evoke strong memories of extended family picnics in India, where mangoes stored in cold buckets of water are passionately fought over among cousins.
The Indian government has demanded the EU lifts the ban, arguing that measures have now been put in place to address its concerns.
"It's just a few harmless fruit flies," said one customer at Patco. "We've been eating them for years and we're not sick."
With mango stocks in Britain already running low, retailers and customers are wondering how they will cope this summer.
"Eighteen months is just too long," said Mudumbi. "My little girl eats three mangoes after dinner most nights. I'm in two minds. If I let her gorge, how will I wean her off them when they suddenly run out?"
Some Indian farmers and exporters will also be hit hard.
"I only export to the UK, so my business has effectively collapsed," said Desmukh Saudavadiya, who runs Shreeji Mango Farm, a 40-acre orchard in Saurashtra, Gujarat. "Normally I would export up to 250 metric tonnes in a season, but this year I've shipped just six tonnes."
The ban is expected to depress prices in India, a prospect that has delighted mango lovers, including Pant, who is already relishing his next taste.
"The Indian way of eating it is to cut a hole at the top and then squeeze the pulp out," he said. "But I like to eat it the Anglo-Indian way where you cut both sides with a sharp knife, keep the stone aside and then use a spoon to scoop out the flesh, which keeps your hands clean."

If Pakistan truely produces the best Mangos in the World (As I believe) then there will never be another opportunity like this. Indian will get its act together in a year or two. This is a chance for Pakistan's Mango growers to get their act together and corner a market that has opened up, by pure chance.

Please do not let us down. It is worth Billions of Rupees....

chandbibi

There is a marginal difference. Devgad is a very specific area. I don't want to be jingoistic but it has been named as the king of mangoes for a reason. The proof of the pudding lies in eating it.(bigsmile)

Devgad, Ratnagiri hapus is same?......Hapus is best in the world, my favourite is Valsad hapus.........

There is a marginal difference. Devgad is a very specific area. I don't want to be jingoistic but it has been named as the king of mangoes for a reason. The proof of the pudding lies in eating it.(bigsmile)
When I said best in the world, I meant Hapus in general......don't think I have tasted the Ratnagiri hapus, even then I concede that it is the king of mangoes as have heard that it is the best......

chandbibi

I have tasted the valsad variety too. But I have to say this that the real king comes only from devgad. If there is anything which is close to divinity, it is the devgad hapus (and why not dev means god). LOL.

When I said best in the world, I meant Hapus in general......don't think I have tasted the Ratnagiri hapus, even then I concede that it is the king of mangoes as have heard that it is the best......

I have tasted the valsad variety too. But I have to say this that the real king comes only from devgad. If there is anything which is close to divinity, it is the devgad hapus (and why not dev means god). LOL.
ok fine Devgad hapus is divine.....:biggthumpup:...........its in my wishlist now.....;)

only_truths

unquote:

I welcome the Ban on Alphonso in EU. India's population is large enough to buy these mangoes at good price. I do not believe in food exports unless we are self sufficient.
BTW, my favorite Salem malgova. It used to sell for Rs. 1200 a dozen ? But as for as Malgova Mangoes, Dil mange more.

quote:
Alphonso ban may not affect Salem mango growers

Syncro MasterCard - Take Advantage of a Variable Rate. Get you Credit Card & Apply now!www.promonbc.ca/Credit-Card

M. K. ANANTH
SHARE COMMENT PRINT T+

30THORCHARD_1869073f.jpg

The HinduAlphonso mangoes in an orchard at Nangavalli in Salem district. Photo: E. Lakshmi Narayanan

TOPICS
Tamil Nadu

Salem

With about 5,000 acres under Alphonso mango cultivation, Salem may not be affected by the ban on Alphonso imports by European Union from India from May 1.
“Countries in the EU have never been favourite destinations for Salem mangoes,” says A. Jayapal, president of the Mango Growers and Traders Association. The district also exports about 60 tonnes of the Alphonso variety every year.
“One has to follow a lot of formalities from the time a mango sapling is planted. The demand is mostly for organic and pesticide-free mangoes from EU countries. And, the consignment is returned even if one fruit is damaged,” he says.
Apart from Alphonso, the main varieties here are Salem Benglura, Emampasand, Nadusalai, Senthura, Banganapalli and Benglura. Annually 60 tonnes to 70 tonnes of mangoes are exported from Salem and it is mostly the Alphonso variety. At times, exports go up to 100 tonnes.
“Export to Singapore, Malaysia, Taiwan and the West Asian countries is preferred, as the norms are not so stringent as in European Union’’, says Jayapal, who has been in the business for over 55 years.
It will cost about Rs. one lakh for packing and transporting mangoes worth Rs. 50,000 to the European Union. “If it is returned, traders and exporters suffer heavy loss”, he said and added that this was the main reason to stay away from the EU market.
“Exporters from Chennai give the specifications on the size of mangoes and the traders and growers here pack and send them to the exporters accordingly,” says J. Srinivasan, a third-generation mango trader in Salem.
This year the yield has come down drastically due to deficient rainfall resulting in lesser availability of the fruits which has affected exports too, traders say.
R. Arivanantham writes from KrishnagiriThe ban will not affect farmers in Krishnagiri and Dharmapuri districts also as most of the mango produced in the two districts are used for producing pulp.
H.M. Sathyamoorthy, Project Head, KRISHMAA Cluster Development Society (KCDS) told The Hinduthat the ban would not affect the mango growers as they supply to over 40 pulp industries operationing here.
But, the failure of summer showers in March and April will affect the mango yield in over 46,200 hectares in both the districts, says K. Kalaiselvi, Joint Director, Horticulture, Krishnagiri and in-charge for Horticulture department in Dharmapuri.
Varieties such as Alphonso, Senthura, Peethar, Himampasandh, Neelam, and Malgoa varieties are cultivated by the farmers in the districts. Over 85 per cent of the mango-producing belts in these two districts are rain-fed areas.
Deficit rainfall will affect mango yield during this season, she said.
The average yield per hectare is eight tonnes here. Only those farmers who have borewells or installed drip irrigation facility in their orchards have managed to get some yield, “The trees have almost withered and if there is no rain in the coming weeks, the situation will only get worse,” she says.
Quality and yield of the mangoes will be hit by the failure of rainfall, says M.C. Santhakumar, president, Innovative Mango Producers’ Association. Smaller cold storage facilities are the need of the hour. Due to lack of cold storage, 25 per cent to 30 per cent of production goes waste, he says.