Rajesh Khanna Bollywood superstar dies

Indocanadian

Veteran actor Rajesh Khanna, who in his heyday saw amazing success at the box office, (he has unchallenged record of creating 15 hits in a row) dies in Mumbai.

M_Id_301782_Rajesh_Khanna.jpg

Rajesh Khanna, who was ailing for sometime, dies at his Bandra residence, family sources said.The 69-year-old actor had been in and out of hospital since April, was discharged from the Lilavati hospital two days back.He is survived by wife Dimple Kapadia and daughters Twinkle and Rinke.RIP Rajesh Khanna: Pay your tributesScores of worried fans gathered outside his 'Aashirwad' home on Carter Road in Bandra today following the news.Khanna was hailed as India's first superstar after 15 consecutive solo superhits between 1969 and 1972 including "Aradhana", "Haathi Mere Saathi", "Anand" and "Amar Prem".

mrcritic

Re: Rajesh Khanna, Bollywood first superstar, once the heartthrob of millions, 'the Superstar' dies

now our media will go crazy on passing tributes. . . .

Lahori Paa Jee

Re: Rajesh Khanna, Bollywood first superstar, once the heartthrob of millions, 'the Superstar' dies

Yeh baato to thek hai. Humara media already pagal ho raha hai. Lakhon Pakistani aur Musalman martey hain duniya me par koi celeb mar jaye sahi

Anand's Safar ends: India loses its first superstar Rajesh Khanna

images
images

......................................................Accha to hum chalte hain.........................................

Mere Sapno Ki Rani from Aradhana in 1969 swept India off its feet and a phenomenon was born.
Never before and never since the country has seen such frenzy.
A unique way of delivering dialogues, of crinkling his eyes and head tilt made him the nation's heartthrob.
He sparked a hysteria among his female fans and love letters written in blood were height of his stardom.
The only star with 15 consecutive hits, a record still unbroken.
Anand remains his most memorable performance among many others.
His pairings with Sharmila Tagore and Mumtaz. repeatedly set the box office on fire.

Go and manage fire for him...

u need to bring wood and oil to burn him...

Remember to put lots of oil....

We Muslims should recite Inna Lillah even for the non-Muslims death.
because he was Allah's creation and pocession, and as Allah promised, has returned to The Creator.
My condolences for those who held him dear.

GreenMaple

Why should we care if this drunkard Khanna is dead? In 1971 war, he vowed to pick up gun and fight against Pakistan.

Today, we lost 12 more souls in Karachi; shouldn't we be more concerned about their plight?

Why should we care if this drunkard Khanna is dead? In 1971 war, he vowed to pick up gun and fight against Pakistan.

Today, we lost 12 more souls in Karachi; shouldn't we be more concerned about their plight?

We should be very concerned about those who died in any part of Pakistan, absolutely.
But we can spare a few seconds to express sadness for another man/woman who died because evry one is Allah's creation. If we come across such a news then the best thing is to express sadness or don't comment,Allah say "Aur achi baat kia karo" more over Allah does not like for any one to hurt any other persons feelings. So wheather he was hindu, or christian or any other religion or if he drank or not regardless my belief is be sympathetic or stay away.
JazakAllah.

bhasin_parveen

Go and manage fire for him...

u need to bring wood and oil to burn him...

Remember to put lots of oil....
all the word you have written shows your -----?

noman3000

Aman ki asha.... :P

Pakistan goes into mourning mode

Pakistan on Wednesday joined India in mourning the death of Bollywood's first superstar Rajesh Khanna.

As news broke of his passing away in Mumbai, television channels went into 'Stop Press' mode with some even setting aside their regular programming to feature vignettes from the actor's journey on celluloid.

Television news in the afternoon became a medley of some of his most popular songs and dialogues - particularly "Babu Moshay…" from the film Anand and "Pushpa, I hate tears" from Amer Prem.

Geo News, in fact, set aside everything else for nearly an hour-and-a-half and no one was complaining as evergreen songs like 'Mere sapno ki raani kab aayegi tu', 'Zindagi ke safar mein guzar jaate hain jo muqaam', 'Yeh shaam masatani', 'O mere dil ke chaen'… ruled the airwaves.

The print media was not to be left behind. The Dawn Media Group opened a forum online where they invited people to "share your favourite Rajesh Khanna moments: films, songs as we pay tribute to the great actor".

Rajesh Khanna was also trending on social networking sites with people posting his songs and memorable dialogues as they celebrated his life and movies. Cricketer Ramiz Raja recalled this on Twitter: "Had the pleasure of chatting with Rajesh Khanna on a chartered flight in 88. Talked how he worked 14 hrs a day for 6 yrs. Was fan of Pak Soaps!"

In a condolence message, Prime Minister Raja Parvez Ashraf said the contribution of the great actor to the field of films and arts would be long remembered. "Rajesh Khanna had a large fan following across the borders and captivated audiences with his excellent acting skills."
http://www.thehindu.com/arts/cinema/article3653759.ece

He was good at what he did however his life is no more or less important then the millions who die of disease or due to war every day. The Indian media are sensationalising it as if he was a messiah! What a bunch of idiots.

A.G.Uddin

He was a great actor who spread smiles and happiness for millions.What's wrong wih condolences and tributes

only_truths

This is where it takes you to if you practice hatred, looking at some of the negative comments in this thread.

only_truths

You are right. Here you go, the first I saw

Rajesh Khanna dies in MumbaiAFP | 2 days ago
??? ????? ??? ?????

detail-story-font-small.png
detail-story-font-large.png
detail-story-comments.png

rajesh-khanna-670.jpg
Rajesh Khanna—File Photo

MUMBAI: Rajesh Khanna, often referred to as the “first superstar” of Bollywood and the Hindi film industry’s biggest heart-throb in his day, died on Wednesday after months of being unwell. He was 69.
Khanna, who had been sick since April with an undisclosed illness rumoured to be cancer, passed away at his family home in Mumbai after being discharged from hospital on Tuesday, reports said.
Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh led an outpouring of grief on Twitter where fans reminisced over his greatest movies and wished his wife and two daughters well.
“I convey my heartfelt condolences to the members of the bereaved family and countless fans and admirers of Shri Rajesh Khanna,” said Singh’s official Twitter feed.
Known as “Kaka” (uncle) to his fans, Khanna was not from an acting dynasty like many big Bollywood names. He was born in the city of Amritsar in the northwest of India in 1942 and enjoyed being on stage from his school days.
He made his film debut in “Aakhri Khat” (The Last Letter) in 1966 but his big break came with runaway hit “Aaradhna” (Worship) three years later, followed by a string of successes, with Khanna typically as the romantic lead.
His prominent hits of the 1970s included “Kati Patang” (Broken Kite), “Anand” (Happiness) and “Amar Prem” (Everlasting Love).
In total he appeared in more than 150 Hindi films.
Khanna’s entry to the industry came at a time when fans were looking beyond fading stars of Bollywood legends such as Dilip Kumar, Raj Kapoor and Dev Anand.
He was soon getting letters written in blood by his female fans and his car was marked with lipstick stains wherever he went. There were even reports of his female admirers marrying his photographs.
British broadcaster Jack Pizzey in a 1973 BBC documentary “Bombay Superstar” described Khanna as having the charisma of Italian actor Rudolph Valentino and the arrogance of Napoleon.
Many Indian hearts were broken when he married young actress Dimple Kapadia in 1973. They had two daughters and later separated, but she returned to look after him during his final days of illness.

Despite his huge success, Khanna’s star was later eclipsed by that of actor Amitabh Bachchan, who emerged in the early 1970s as an anti-establishment hero in roles as an angry young man.
Indian audiences began to lose their taste for Khanna-style romances and family dramas, while Bachchan’s roles identified with the frustration of the country’s youth, struggling with a lack of opportunities during a closed economy.
Khanna never quite regained his superstar status, although he did make a comeback in 1983 with two hits, including “Avtaar”, a story of a father abandoned by his children. He released another 11 films the following year.

Later in the decade he moved into politics, contesting elections on a Congress Party ticket and becoming a Member of Parliament for New Delhi in the 1990s.
His later film roles were largely insignificant, although he shocked fans in 2008 when he did an intimate scene with then-unknown starlet Laila Khan in the film “Wafaa: A Deadly Love Story”.

Laila, suspected to have had links with banned terror groups, was killed along with her family members last year.
Criticised as too bold for Indian screens, Khanna nevertheless said he was proud of the role.
His last frail onscreen appearance was in his first television commercial for electric appliance company Havells.

What they’re saying on Twitter:
“RIP Rajesh Khanna. The Phenomenon. Thank you for the magic.” – Rahul Bose
“India’s only real Superstar is no more. Rajesh Khanna was and remains ‘The Phenomenon’.” - Shobhaa De
“Rajesh Khanna gave us a crash course in Romance. He introduced us to a special twinkle in the eye that made us feel good about ourselves. RIP” - Anupam Kher
“When we lose a loved one, something within us dies. Our generation loved Rajesh Khanna. Today a bit if us dies with this enigmatic star.” - Mahesh Bhatt
“Just heard the saddest news. The 1st Superstar of India is no more. But the legend that was Rajesh Khanna will live eternally through his films.” - Farah Khan

<font color="#373737"><span style="font-family: Helvetica Neue"><font color="#666666"><span style="font-family: Arial"><em>

<font color="#373737"><span style="font-family: Helvetica Neue">